DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD AND TERMINAL FOR TRANSMISSION OF INFORMATION WITH HIGHEST PRIORITY
Claim Interpretation
None of the instant claims invoke U.S.C. 112(f). A “processor” as claimed is a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 23, 28, 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2022/0225469 A1 to LEE et al. (“Lee”).
As to claim 1, see similar rejection to claim 23. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 2, Lee further discloses the method according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1; Examiner notes: this claim contains and also depends from claim 1 which includes contingent limitation pertaining to the phrase “in the case.” Per MPEP 2111.04, The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Examiner’s position is that none of the cases claimed must be performed, therefore, all of the following limitations are optional and do not need to be given patentable weight ), wherein performing the comparison of the priorities of the first transmission information, the second transmission information and the third transmission information in the case that the time-domain resource of the first transmission information, the time-domain resource of the second transmission information and the time-domain resource of the third transmission information are overlapped comprises: comparing the priorities of pieces of information transmitted on a same transmission channel firstly to determine one piece of transmission information with a higher priority in the case that the time-domain resource of the first transmission information, the time- domain resource of the second transmission information and the time-domain resource of the third transmission information are overlapped; and comparing the one piece of transmission information with the higher priority with a piece of transmission information transmitted on a different transmission channel.
As to claim 3, Lee further discloses the method according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1; Examiner notes: this claim contains and also depends from claim 1 which includes contingent limitation pertaining to the phrase “in the case.” Per MPEP 2111.04, The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Examiner’s position is that none of the cases claimed must be performed, therefore, all of the following limitations are optional and do not need to be given patentable weight ), wherein performing the comparison of the priorities of the first transmission information, the second transmission information and the third transmission information in the case that the time-domain resource of the first transmission information, the time-domain resource of the second transmission information and the time-domain resource of the third transmission information are overlapped comprises: comparing the priorities of the first transmission information and the second transmission information transmitted on the PSFCH to determine one piece of transmission information with a higher priority in the case that the time-domain resource of the first transmission information, the time-domain resource of the second transmission information and the time-domain resource of the third transmission information are overlapped; and comparing the one piece of transmission information with the higher priority with the third transmission information.
As to claim 4, see similar rejection to claim 28. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 5, Lee further discloses the method according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1; Examiner notes: this claim contains and also depends from claim 1 which includes contingent limitation pertaining to the phrase “in the case.” Per MPEP 2111.04, The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Examiner’s position is that none of the cases claimed must be performed, therefore, all of the following limitations are optional and do not need to be given patentable weight ), wherein performing the comparison of the priorities of the first transmission information, the second transmission information and the third transmission information in the case that the time-domain resource of the first transmission information, the time-domain resource of the second transmission information and the time-domain resource of the third transmission information are overlapped comprises: performing the comparison of the priorities of the first transmission information, the second transmission information and the third transmission information in a predetermined sequence in the case that the time-domain resource of the first transmission information, the time-domain resource of the second transmission information and the time-domain resource of the third transmission information are overlapped.
As to claim 6, see similar rejection to claim 30. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 8, see similar rejection to claim 31. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 9, Lee further discloses the method according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1; Examiner notes: this claim contains and also depends from claim 1 which includes contingent limitation pertaining to the phrase “in the case.” Per MPEP 2111.04, The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Examiner’s position is that none of the cases claimed must be performed, therefore, all of the following limitations are optional and do not need to be given patentable weight ), wherein the first transmission information comprises the first transmission information received by the first terminal and the first transmission information sent by the first terminal, and the second transmission information comprises the second transmission information received by the first terminal and the second transmission information sent by the first terminal.
As to claim 10, Lee further discloses the method according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1; Examiner notes: this claim contains and also depends from claim 1 which includes contingent limitation pertaining to the phrase “in the case.” Per MPEP 2111.04, The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Examiner’s position is that none of the cases claimed must be performed, therefore, all of the following limitations are optional and do not need to be given patentable weight ), wherein the priorities are represented by priority values, and the priority values are inversely proportional to the priorities.
As to claim 11, Lee further discloses the method according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1; Examiner notes: this claim contains and also depends from claim 1 which includes contingent limitation pertaining to the phrase “in the case.” Per MPEP 2111.04, The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Examiner’s position is that none of the cases claimed must be performed, therefore, all of the following limitations are optional and do not need to be given patentable weight ), wherein the first transmission information is sidelink potential conflict indication information indicating that a transmission resource of a second terminal is overlapped with a transmission resource of another terminal, and the second transmission information is sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information.
As to claim 23, Lee discloses a terminal (fig. 11, RX UE), comprising: a processor (para. 0272, processor); and a transceiver connected to the processor (para. 0272, transceiver); wherein the processor is configured to (para. 0272, processes controlled by the processor): perform a comparison of priorities of first transmission information, second transmission information and third transmission information in a case that a time-domain resource of the first transmission information, a time-domain resource of the second transmission information and a time-domain resource of the third transmission information are overlapped (para. 0157, a plurality of PSFCH transmissions overlap on the same time point (i.e. first and second)…priority; para. 0159, a PSFCH transmission (i.e. first or second) and a UL control/data transmission (i.e. third) overlap on the same time point…priority; para. 0191, various embodiments of the present disclosure may be combined with each other); and transmit, based on the comparison, one with a highest priority among the first transmission information, the second transmission information and the third transmission information (para. 0157, when a plurality of PSFCH transmissions overlap at the same time point, some or all of the plurality of PSFCH transmissions may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH; para. 0159, from the viewpoint of a specific UE, when a PSFCH transmission and a UL control/data transmission overlap on the same time point, the PSFCH transmission may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH (i.e. UL control has highest priority), a priority of UL control/data, and the maximum number of PSFCHs capable of simultaneous transmission by the UE. Here, for example, the UL control/data may include a UL channel through which SL HARQ feedback, SL BSR, and/or SL SR are transmitted/piggybacked); wherein the first transmission information and the second transmission information are both carried on a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) (para. 0157, plurality of PSFCH transmissions), and the third transmission information is transmission information other than transmission information carried on the PSFCH (para. 0159, UL control/data transmission).
As to claim 28, Lee further discloses the terminal according to claim 23, wherein the processor is further configured to: sort, according to the priorities, the first transmission information, the second transmission information and the third transmission information in the case that the time-domain resource of the first transmission information, the time-domain resource of the second transmission information and the time-domain resource of the third transmission information are overlapped (para. 0157, when a plurality of PSFCH transmissions overlap at the same time point, some or all of the plurality of PSFCH transmissions may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH; para. 0159, from the viewpoint of a specific UE, when a PSFCH transmission and a UL control/data transmission overlap on the same time point, the PSFCH transmission may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH (i.e. UL control has highest priority), a priority of UL control/data, and the maximum number of PSFCHs capable of simultaneous transmission by the UE. Here, for example, the UL control/data may include a UL channel through which SL HARQ feedback, SL BSR, and/or SL SR are transmitted/piggybacked); and transmit, based on the sorting, the one with the highest priority among the first transmission information, the second transmission information and the third transmission information (para. 0157, when a plurality of PSFCH transmissions overlap at the same time point, some or all of the plurality of PSFCH transmissions may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH; para. 0159, from the viewpoint of a specific UE, when a PSFCH transmission and a UL control/data transmission overlap on the same time point, the PSFCH transmission may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH (i.e. UL control has highest priority), a priority of UL control/data, and the maximum number of PSFCHs capable of simultaneous transmission by the UE. Here, for example, the UL control/data may include a UL channel through which SL HARQ feedback, SL BSR, and/or SL SR are transmitted/piggybacked).
As to claim 30, Lee further discloses the terminal according to claim 23, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit other transmission information that is remaining in sequence according to the priorities; or abandon transmissions of other transmission information that is remaining (para. 0157, when a plurality of PSFCH transmissions overlap at the same time point, some or all of the plurality of PSFCH transmissions may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH; para. 0159, from the viewpoint of a specific UE, when a PSFCH transmission and a UL control/data transmission overlap on the same time point, the PSFCH transmission may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH (i.e. UL control has highest priority), a priority of UL control/data, and the maximum number of PSFCHs capable of simultaneous transmission by the UE. Here, for example, the UL control/data may include a UL channel through which SL HARQ feedback, SL BSR, and/or SL SR are transmitted/piggybacked).
As to claim 31, Lee further discloses the terminal according to claim 23, wherein the third transmission information comprises at least one of fourth transmission information carried on an uplink transmission channel (para. 0157, when a plurality of PSFCH transmissions overlap at the same time point, some or all of the plurality of PSFCH transmissions may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH; para. 0159, from the viewpoint of a specific UE, when a PSFCH transmission and a UL control/data transmission overlap on the same time point, the PSFCH transmission may be skipped/omitted based on a priority of PSSCH and/or SL data related to the PSFCH (i.e. UL control has highest priority), a priority of UL control/data, and the maximum number of PSFCHs capable of simultaneous transmission by the UE. Here, for example, the UL control/data may include a UL channel through which SL HARQ feedback, SL BSR, and/or SL SR are transmitted/piggybacked) or long-term evolution technology (LTE) sidelink transmission information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26, 27, 29, 32-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200351057 A1 at para. 0336 discloses: If the priority value that is included in the SCI included in the PSCCH 2612 transmitted together when terminal 1 transmits the PSSCH in slot 1 is “1”, and the priority value included in the PSCCH for scheduling the PSSCH 2612 received from terminal 2 in slot is “4” (it is assumed that priority 1 is higher than priority 4), terminal 1 receives the PSFCH in the slot 4 2620, terminal 2 transmits the PSFCH in the slot 4 2620, and the PSFCH may include the HARQ-ACK feedback information for the PSSCH transmitted by terminal 1 in the slot 1 2600. If the QoS values corresponding to the PSSCHs transmitted by the terminals are equal to each other, whether to transmit the PSFCH may be determined so that the PSFCH including the HARQ-ACK information for the earlier transmitted PSSCH is transmitted based on the earlier transmitted PSSCH.
US 20220286243 A1 at para. 0088 discloses: In cases of overlap for transmissions and reception of the PSFCH, the UE 115-b may compare the priority field values for the PSFCH transmissions such that if the highest priority is associated with the transmitted PSFCH, then the UE 115-b may transmit the PSFCH, and if the highest priority is associated with the received PSFCH, then the UE 115-b may receive the PSFCH.
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463