DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejections:
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed on 05/26/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claims 16-17, 22-24 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman et al. (US20200254028).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Goodman et al. teaches compositions related to EVs useful as therapeutic agents (abstract). In certain aspects, provided herein are pharmaceutical compositions comprising bacterial extracellular vesicles (EVs) useful for the treatment and/or prevention of disease (e.g., cancer, autoimmune disease, inflammatory disease, metabolic disease), as well as methods of making and/or identifying such EVs, and methods of using such pharmaceutical compositions (e.g., for the treatment of cancers, autoimmune diseases, inflammatory diseases, metabolic diseases, either alone or in combination with other therapeutics). In some embodiments, the pharmaceutical compositions comprise both EVs and whole bacteria (e.g., live bacteria, killed bacteria, attenuated bacteria). In certain embodiments, provided herein are pharmaceutical compositions comprising bacteria in the absence of EVs. In some embodiments, the pharmaceutical compositions comprise EVs in the absence of bacteria. In some embodiments, the pharmaceutical compositions comprise EVs and/or bacteria from one or more of the bacteria strains or species listed in Table 1 and/or Table 2 ([0002]). In one embodiment, the bacteria strains is Roseburia intestinalis (page 20, [0080], Table 1). EVs are 20-250 nm in diameter ([0100]). In some embodiments, the methods and compositions described herein relate to the treatment or prevention a disease or disorder associated a pathological immune response, such as an autoimmune disease, an allergic reaction and/or an inflammatory disease. In some embodiments, the disease or disorder is an inflammatory bowel disease (e.g., Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis) ([0192]). Several major forms of inflammatory bowel diseases are known, with Crohn's disease (regional bowel disease, e.g., inactive and active forms) and ulcerative colitis (e.g., inactive and active forms) the most common of these disorders ([0199]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Goodman et al. is that Goodman et al. is not specific enough for anticipation.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Regarding claims 16 and 24, Goodman et al. teaches a method of treating inflammatory bowel disease by administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising extracellular vesicles (EVs) from Roseburia intestinalis to a patient with inflammatory bowel disease (a subject in need thereof). Since prior art teaches treating disease, extracellular vesicles from Roseburia intestinalis must be effective amount for treating disease.
Regarding claim 17, Goodman et al. teaches EVs at 20-250 nm in diameter.
Regarding claim 22, Goodman et al. teaches Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis.
Regarding claim 23, this is regarded as results from prior art process. In summary, although the reference is silent about all the functional properties instantly claimed, it does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories, 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “It is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable.” In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145. On this record, it is reasonable to conclude that the same patient is being administered the same active agent by the same mode of administration in the same amount in both the instant claims and the prior art reference. The fact that Applicant may have discovered yet another beneficial effect from the method set forth in the prior art does not mean that they are entitled to receive a patent on that method. Thus, prior art teaches, either expressly or inherently implied, each and every limitation of the instant claims. it remains the Examiner's position that the instantly claimed method is obvious.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613