DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0201315 A1 (“Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a video decoding method comprising: receiving data (e.g. see video decoder 300 receives encoded video bitstream as shown in Fig. 4) for a block of pixels to be decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video (e.g. see video decoder 300 apply multi-pass DMVR to a motion vector for a block (e.g., block 1200) of video data to determine a refined motion vector and decode the block based on the refined motion vector, paragraphs [0126], [0198]-[0200]); receiving a motion vector that references a block of pixels in a reference picture based on the received data (e.g. see motion vector, paragraphs [0126], [0198]-[0200]); refining the motion vector by examining pixels in the reference picture that are identified based on the refined motion vector (e.g. see motion vector refinement, for example, decoder-side motion vector refinement as shown in Fig. 10, paragraphs [0166]-[0175], and see multi-pass DMVR, paragraphs [0126], [0198]-[0200]), wherein the refinement of the motion vector is constrained by a refinement range (e.g. see range, paragraphs [0205], [0227]-[0232], [0242]-[0243]), upon determining that an activated reference pictures pair exists in two reference picture lists (e.g. see L0 and L1, paragraphs [0166], [0177], [0248]-[0250]), receiving signaled information related to the refinement of the motion vector (e.g. see flag indicates whether the decoder-side motion vector derivation (e.g. DMVR, bilateral merge, template matching, etc.) is applied to the current block or not, paragraphs [0166], [0177], [0248]-[0250]), wherein the signaled information comprises an indication for enabling or disabling the refinement of the motion vector (e.g. see flag indicates whether the decoder-side motion vector derivation (e.g. DMVR, bilateral merge, template matching, etc.) is applied to the current block or not, paragraphs [0166], [0177], [0248]-[0250]); decoding the current block by using the refined motion vector to reconstruct the current block (e.g. see decode the block based on the refined motion vector 1402 in Fig. 14, paragraphs [0346]-[0347]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further discloses further comprising deriving the refinement range based on a characteristic of the current block or the current picture (e.g. see range based on characteristic such as width W, height H, etc., paragraphs [0244]-[0260]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further discloses wherein the refinement range is applied to two or more refinement passes (e.g. see three-pass, paragraphs [0126], [0198]-[0200]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang further discloses wherein the refinement of the motion vector in each refinement pass is constrained by a different refinement range (e.g. see range, paragraphs [0205], [0227]-[0232], [0242]-[0243]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang further discloses wherein the motion vector is refined in a plurality of refinement process (e.g. see video decoder 300 apply multi-pass DMVR to a motion vector for a block (e.g., block 1200) of video data to determine a refined motion vector and decode the block based on the refined motion vector, paragraphs [0126], [0198]-[0200]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang further discloses wherein the refinement range limits the modification of the motion vector in each refinement pass (e.g. see range, paragraphs [0205], [0227]-[0232], [0242]-[0243]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang further discloses wherein the modification of the motion vector is constrained to maintain the integer portion of the motion vector (e.g. see shortened multi-pass DMVR, paragraph [0213]; also see integer-pel precision, paragraph [0241]).
Regarding claims 14-15, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of US 2022/0167001 A1 (“Zhang2”).
Regarding claim 2, although Zhang discloses the refinement range (e.g. see range, paragraphs [0205], [0227]-[0232], [0242]-[0243]) and in at least one of a sequence level, a picture level, and slice level (e.g. see SPS, PPS, etc., paragraph [0070]), it is noted Zhang differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose wherein the refinement range is signaled. Zhang2 however, teaches wherein the refinement range is signaled (e.g. see syntax elements associated with the search area, paragraph [0233]; a person having ordinary skill in the art would have no difficulty recognizing to include such syntax elements in the parameter set such as SPS disclosed by Zhang).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Zhang and Zhang2 before him/her, to modify the Multi-pass decoder-side motion vector refinement of Zhang with the teachings of Zhang2 in order to improve DMVR processes by signaling the size of the DMVR search area.
Regarding claim 7, although Zhang discloses a plurality of refinement ranges (e.g. see range, paragraphs [0205], [0227]-[0232], [0242]-[0243]), it is noted Zhang differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose wherein a plurality of refinement ranges are signaled for the plurality of refinement passes. Zhang however, teaches wherein a plurality of refinement ranges are signaled for the plurality of refinement passes (e.g. see syntax elements associated with the search area, paragraph [0233]; a person having ordinary skill in the art would have no difficulty recognizing to signal the plurality of refinement ranges disclosed by Zhang). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 2 applies here.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of US 2020/0236389 A1 (“Esenlik”).
Regarding claim 10, although Zhang discloses wherein using the refined motion vector to reconstruct the current block (e.g. see reconstruction unit 310 in Fig. 4, paragraph [0128]) comprises generating a set of prediction samples for motion compensation based on the refined motion vector (e.g. see motion compensation unit 316 including multi-pass DMVR unit 317, paragraphs [0126], [0198]-[0200], e.g. see DMVR as shown in Fig. 10, paragraphs [0166]-[0175]), wherein prediction samples within a retrieval range (e.g. see motion vector, paragraphs [0126], [0198]-[0200]) are generated by retrieving pixel samples of a reference picture from a memory (e.g. see decoded picture buffer DPB 314 in Fig. 4, paragraphs [0117], [0125], [0130]), it is noted Zhang differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose and prediction samples beyond the retrieval range are generated without accessing the memory. Esenlik however, teaches and prediction samples beyond the retrieval range are generated without accessing the memory (e.g. see replacing or padding the values which are located outside a predefined memory access window for the purpose of motion vector refinement, paragraph [0017], e.g. see padding examples in Fig. 10, paragraph [0117] and Fig. 11, paragraphs [0126]-[0130]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Zhang and Esenlik before him/her, to modify the Multi-pass decoder-side motion vector refinement of Zhang with the teachings of Esenlik in order to provide motion vector prediction which facilitates taking into account the number of accesses to the external memory and the number of samples which are necessary to be accessible for motion vector refinement of a motion vector for a coding block.
Regarding claim 11, although Zhang discloses the set of prediction samples for motion compensation (e.g. see motion compensation unit 316 including multi-pass DMVR unit 317, paragraphs [0126], [0198]-[0200], e.g. see DMVR as shown in Fig. 10, paragraphs [0166]-[0175]), it is noted Zhang differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose wherein the retrieval range encompasses only pixel samples of the reference picture that are identified by the original motion vector for generating the set of prediction samples for motion compensation and not pixel samples that are not identified by the original motion vector for generating the set of prediction samples for motion compensation. Esenlik however, teaches wherein the retrieval range encompasses only pixel samples of the reference picture (e.g. see replacing or padding the values which are located outside a predefined memory access window for the purpose of motion vector refinement, paragraph [0017], e.g. see padding examples in Fig. 10, paragraph [0117] and Fig. 11, paragraphs [0126]-[0130]) that are identified by the original motion vector for generating the set of prediction samples for motion compensation (e.g. see initial motion vector, paragraph [0017] and Fig. 11, paragraphs [0126]-[0130]) and not pixel samples that are not identified by the original motion vector for generating the set of prediction samples for motion compensation (e.g. see replacing or padding the values which are located outside a predefined memory access window for the purpose of motion vector refinement, paragraph [0017], e.g. see padding examples in Fig. 10, paragraph [0117] and Fig. 11, paragraphs [0126]-[0130]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 10 applies here.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on pages 8-10 of the Remarks that Zhang fails to disclose “refining the motion vector by examining pixels in the reference picture that are identified based on the refined motion vector, wherein the refinement picture that are identified based on the refined motion vector, wherein the refinement of the motion vector is constrained by a refinement range, wherein upon determining that an activated reference pictures pair exists in two reference picture lists, receiving signaled information related to the refinement of the motion vector, wherein the signaled information comprises an indication for enabling or disabling the refinement of the motion vector” because paragraphs [0166], [0177], and [0248]-[0249] of Zhang appears to only disclose “to provide a method for inferring the DMVR flag according to the enabling conditions … [h]owever, ‘implying’ a flag is not the same as a flag that is explicitly received … Zhang does not disclose … ‘receiving signaled information’, and although Zhang discloses in paragraph [0249] that “this flag can be explicitly signaled in the bitstream to avoid a complex condition check by video decoder 300”, Zhang does not disclose that “any conditions must be checked in advance when directly transmitting (i.e., the conditions for receiving a signal) a flag using a signal” and does not disclose “the specific condition for an explicitly flagged transmission by signal”.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0249] of Zhang discloses a flag that indicates whether the decoder-side motion vector derivation (e.g. DMVR, bilateral merge, template matching, etc.) is applied to the current block or not. Also, paragraph [0249] discloses that the flag is inferred from decoding elements in the bitstream… the inference scheme of the flag can be the same as but not limited to enabling conditions for DMVR. Paragraph [0177] discloses the enabling conditions and include “DMVR may be enabled if the following conditions are all satisfied… 2) One reference picture is in the past and another reference picture is in the future with respect to the current picture”. Thus, upon determining of 2) whether one reference picture is in the past and another picture is in the future, inferring of the flag that indicates whether the DMVR is applied or not is performed. It is noted that the inferring of the flag appears to meet the limitations “receiving signaled information” because the claim does not specifically recite how exactly the information is received/signaled, e.g. the term “explicitly received” is not in the claims contrary to applicant’s arguments. Thus, Zhang’s disclosure of implicitly receiving signaled information by inferring the flag meet the limitations under BRI.
Further, paragraph [0249] discloses that the flag can be explicitly signaled in the bitstream, e.g. see “this flag can be explicitly signaled in the bitstream to avoid a complex condition check by video decoder 300”; in view of paragraph [0177], the explicit signaling of the flag is performed to avoid a complex condition check of 1) – 8) by video decoder 300. That is, they are already checked by the encoder, e.g. encoder 200, (including 2) whether one reference picture is in the past and another picture is in the future) to appropriately and explicitly signal the value of the flag to indicate whether DMVR is enabled or not to the decoder.
Therefore, for at least these reasons, the claim limitations are met in the broadest reasonable sense.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2025/0039371 A1, Kim et al., Video signal processing method and apparatus therefor
US 2023/0007238 A1, Chen et al., Using unrefined motion vectors for performing decoder-side motion vector derivation
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619