DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 1-6 and 8-9 are in grayscale.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: after each preamble of the claim there should be a “,” following what claim it depends from. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at at least” in line 2 should read “[[at]] at least”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “two flexible arches” in line 1 should read “two flexible arches of the at least one flexible arch”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at at least” in line 2 should read “[[at]] at least”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crapet (US 20230172341).
Regarding Claim 1, Crapet discloses an applicator device (figures 1-6) for applying a fluid and/or paste product to keratin fibers (paragraph [0057]), including a core (2; figures 1-6) and a plurality of protuberances (7.1 and 7.2; figure 6) connected directly or indirectly to the core (figure 6 via either direct connection on 2 or through 9 which connects to the core via 5a; paragraph [0064] and [0091]), these protuberances (figures 1-6) being arranged along a surface (figures 1-6) the shape of which corresponds to the surface defined by the keratin fibers intended to receive said product (paragraph [0097]; figure 3 depicts that the shape of the device is similar to the shape of the eye; further the cross section and shape of the surface in figures 1-6 is the same as applicants).
Regarding Claim 2, Crapet discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 1. Crapet discloses at least one flexible arch (9 which is connected to 5; figures 1-6) connected at least one of its ends to the core (via 5a; figures 1-6; paragraph [0064]), the flexible arch (figures 1-6) supporting a plurality said the protuberances (figures 1-6 depict 7.1 on 9; figures 1-6; paragraph [0092]).
Regarding Claim 3, Crapet discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 2. Crapet discloses two flexible arches (9; figure 4) disposed on respective opposite sides of the core (figure 4; two arches on a top side and one arch on a bottom side).
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Befve et al. (US 20140246043, hereinafter Befve).
Regarding Claim 1, Befve discloses an applicator device (figures 1-4) for applying a fluid and/or paste product to keratin fibers (paragraph [0001]), including a core (figure 3) and a plurality of protuberances (38; figure 3) connected directly or indirectly to the core (via 18a, 18b, 18c, 18d; figure 3), these protuberances (figures 1-4) being arranged along a surface (figures 1-4) the shape of which corresponds to the surface defined by the keratin fibers intended to receive said product (paragraph [0056]; figure 1 depicts that the shape of the device is similar to the shape of the eye; further the cross section and shape of the surface in figures 1-4 is the same as applicants).
Regarding Claim 4, Befve discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 1. Befve discloses at least one groove (20; figure 3) formed in the core (figure 3) and extending along a length (figure 3) of the core.
Regarding Claim 5, Befve as modified discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 1. Befve discloses at least some of the protuberances (figure 3) are disposed at the edge of the groove (figure 3).
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Bardonneche (US 20190014895).
Regarding Claim 1, De Bardonneche discloses an applicator device (figure 3) for applying a fluid and/or paste product to keratin fibers (paragraph [0001]), including a core (1; figure 3) and a plurality of protuberances (23; figure 1) connected directly or indirectly to the core (via 2; figure 3), these protuberances (figure 2) being arranged along a surface (figure 3) the shape of which corresponds to the surface defined by the keratin fibers intended to receive said product (paragraph [0002]; figure 3 depicts that the shape of the device is similar to the shape of the eye; further the cross section and shape of the surface in figure 3 is the same as applicants).
Regarding Claim 6, De Bardonneche discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 1. De Bardonneche discloses made in one piece by injection molding a plastic material (paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 7, De Bardonneche discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 6. De Bardonneche discloses said plastic material includes portions of different hardness (paragraph [0019], [0025], [0049]).
Regarding Claim 8, Crapet discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 6. Crapet discloses wherein the applicator device includes at least one flexible arch (5 and 9; figures 1-6) connected at least one of its ends to the core (via 5a; figures 1-6; paragraph [0064]), the flexible arch (figures 1-6) supporting a plurality said the protuberances (figures 1-6 depict 7.1 on 9; figures 1-6; paragraph [0092]), the least one flexible arch (2; paragraph [0046]) and said the protuberances (23 (which is part of 2); paragraph [0046]) have a hardness lower than that of said the core (figure 1a-1b; paragraph [0025] and claim 1 discloses the difference between the first material (the core) and the second plastic material (the arch and the protuberances) is at least 5 Shore A or 5 shore D, this the arch and protuberances may be harder than the core).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crapet (US 20230172341) in view of De Bardonneche (US 20190014895).
Regarding Claim 6, Crapet discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 1. Crapet discloses made in one piece by injection molding (paragraph [0122]), but does not disclose it is a plastic material.
De Bardonneche discloses an applicator (figure 3) made in one piece by injection molding a plastic material (paragraph [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the injection molding as taught by Crapet to specify it is a plastic material as taught by De Bardonneche in order to have to have a material that is best suited to the needs and which displays good behavior during the injection molded process (paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 7, Crapet discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 6. Crapet does not disclose said plastic material includes portions of different hardness.
De Bardonneche discloses said plastic material includes portions of different hardness (paragraph [0019], [0025], [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the applicator of Crapet to have plastic material includes portions of different hardness in order to allow the bristles/protuberances able to deflect more to when force is applied by the user when applying it to the eyelash.
Regarding Claim 8, Crapet discloses the applicator as claimed in Claim 6. Crapet discloses wherein the applicator device includes at least one flexible arch (5 and 9; figures 1-6) connected at least one of its ends to the core (via 5a; figures 1-6; paragraph [0064]), the flexible arch (figures 1-6) supporting a plurality said the protuberances (figures 1-6 depict 7.1 on 9; figures 1-6; paragraph [0092]).
Crapet does not discloses wherein the least one flexible arch (5a, 5b) and said the protuberances (3a, 3b, 3c) have a hardness lower than that of said the core (1).
De Bardonneche discloses the least one flexible arch (2; paragraph [0046]) and said the protuberances (23 (which is part of 2); paragraph [0046]) have a hardness lower than that of said the core (figure 1a-1b; paragraph [0025] and claim 1 discloses the difference between the first material (the core) and the second plastic material (the arch and the protuberances) is at least 5 Shore A or 5 shore D, this the arch and protuberances may be harder than the core).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the applicator of Crapet to have plastic material includes portions of different hardness in order to allow the bristles/protuberances able to deflect more to when force is applied by the user when applying it to the eyelash.
Conclusion
/SYDNEY J PULVIDENTE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772