DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 9,682,973).
The claims are drawn to combination of pharmaceutical compositions for co-administration to prevent or treat cancer, wherein the combination comprises a first composition comprising a compound of formula 1 as an active ingredient, and a second composition comprising at least one anticancer drug. The claims are also drawn to a method of treating or preventing cancer by co-administering the combination of claim 1, and to a kit for the treatment of cancer comprising the combination of claim 1, wherein the first composition is to be administered simultaneously, separately, or sequentially.
Kang et al. teach phthalazinone derivatives and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the same, for treating cancers that may be caused by PARP activity or generic defect of BRCA1, BRCA2m and ERG fusion gene. Such cancers include breast cancer, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, gastric cancer, lung cancer, and others (col. 29, lines 55-65). A specific phthalazinone derivative that may be used in the pharmaceutical composition is found at the top of column 28, or at the bottom of column 29 of the reference.
Kang et al. further teach that compounds of their invention may be combined in a pharmaceutical combination formulation, or dosing regimen as combination therapy, with a second compound having anticancer properties, or at least two kinds of pharmaceutical active ingredients. Examples of agents include, inter alia, oxaliplatin or irinotecan (anticancer drugs), rapamycin or sirolimus (T-cell therapeutics), sutent, e.g., SUNITINIB, SU11248 (angiogenesis inhibitor), anti-metabolites, such as methotrexate and 5-fluorouracil, antibiotics such as the enediyne antibiotics, androgens such as calusterone, anti-adrenals such as aminoglutethimide (hormone therapy).
The compounds taught by Kang et al. may be administered simultaneously, gradually, or individually with at least one of the therapeutic agents recited. The combined therapeutics may be administered orally or parenterally. The precise daily dose administered will depend on factors such as age, weight, sex, and condition of the patient being treated. For example, the compound of the invention may be administered in a range from 0.05 to 1000 mg daily (col. 30 line 1, to col. 31, line 67; col. 33, lines 1-64).
The difference between the present invention and the method taught by Kang et al. is that the instant claims teach a phthalazinone derivative that is not identical to the compounds taught by Kang et al. For example, the compound at the top of column 28 in Kang et al., having an aminocyclopropyl group, differs from the compound in the present invention, as the aminocyclopropyl group is attached to a four-membered nitrogen ring in the present invention, and a 5-membered nitrogen ring in Kang et al. The compound at the bottom of column 29 in the reference has a nitrogen-containing ring attached to an aminocyclobutyl, not an aminocyclopropyl as in the present invention.
The examiner does not find that this is a patentable distinction, as the generic structure of the phthalazinone derivative taught by Kang et al. encompasses the compound recited in the present invention, and the specific derivatives recited by Kang et al. are close enough to the compound of instant formula 1 that the activity of the instant compound would be reasonably expected to mimic the examples taught by Kang et al. in treating cancers.
The reference does not teach the specific dosages recited in the instant claims; however, as previously stated, precise daily dose administered will depend on factors such as age, weight, sex, and condition of the patient being treated.
The instant claims are deemed obvious over Kang et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-8 and 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/566,503 in view of Kang et al. (US 9,682,973). Both sets of claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition for treating cancer comprising a compound of formula 1, the difference being that the instant claims include a second composition comprising at least one anticancer drug. However, Kang et al. teach phthalazinone derivatives and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the same, for treating cancers that may be caused by PARP activity or generic defect of BRCA1, BRCA2m and ERG fusion gene. Such cancers include breast cancer, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, gastric cancer, lung cancer, and others (col. 29, lines 55-65). Specifically, Kang et al. teach that the phthalazinone derivatives may be combined in a pharmaceutical combination formulation, or dosing regimen as combination therapy, with a second compound having anticancer properties, or at least two kinds of pharmaceutical active ingredients. Examples of agents include, inter alia, oxaliplatin or irinotecan (anticancer drugs), rapamycin or sirolimus (T-cell therapeutics), sutent, e.g., SUNITINIB, SU11248 (angiogenesis inhibitor), anti-metabolites, such as methotrexate and 5-fluorouracil, antibiotics such as the enediyne antibiotics, androgens such as calusterone, anti-adrenals such as aminoglutethimide (hormone therapy).
The compounds taught by Kang et al. may be administered simultaneously, gradually, or individually with at least one of the therapeutic agents recited. The combined therapeutics may be administered orally or parenterally. The precise daily dose administered will depend on factors such as age, weight, sex, and condition of the patient being treated. For example, the compound of the invention may be administered in a range from 0.05 to 1000 mg daily (col. 30 line 1, to col. 31, line 67; col. 33, lines 1-64).
The instant claims are rendered obvious by the claims of the ‘503 application, in view of Kang et al., since the reference application teaches the same phthalazinone compound as recited in the instant claims, in a composition for treating cancer, and Kang et al. teaches that such phthalazinone derivatives may be used with other anticancer agents in a combination of pharmaceutical compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692