DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/01/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the water outlet unit in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 “and is for providing” requires grammatical revision, examiner suggests “for providing”
In claim 2, “controls on/off” should be “controls an on/off”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “foam cleaning component” in claims 1-8 & 20 and “water outlet unit” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a signal transmission unit, for transmitting a signal to the foam local cleaning device when the foam cleaning component moves to a set position”. Such a statement makes it unclear as to whether the signal transmission unit is part of the foam local cleaning device as it is claimed in a manner that indicates it is separate from the foam local cleaning device (i.e., by the phrasing “transmitting a signal to the foam local cleaning device” it appears that the component is not part of the foam local cleaning device. For examination purposes the limitation will be understood as part of the foam local cleaning device, as it is believed that is what applicant intended.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the housing cavity" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as the “containing cavity”
Claim 7 recites “and an end opposite to the rear end of the housing”. It is unclear to what reference “an end opposite” is referring to. For examination purposes the limitation will be understood as “an end of the foam cleaning component opposite”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a passage switch”. It is unclear as to what the term passage switch denotes. The term is not a term of art known to one of ordinary skill in the art, nor does the specification elaborate as to what the metes and bounds of a “passage switch” are. Thus, the term passage switch is so unclear that prior art cannot be applied for such a limitation for the purposes of examination.
Claim 8 recites “wherein, it also includes a switch part”. It is unclear what “it” refers to. For examination purposes the limitation will be understood as “further comprising a switch part”.
Claim limitation “water outlet unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of any structure to perform the corresponding function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 9 recites “the switch part is provided with one…” the grammatical structure of the limitations renders the limitation unclear. Is applicant indicating a singular switch part or is the limitation incomplete and missing words? For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as applicant attempting to indicate the switch part is in the singular.
The remaining limitations are rejected for being dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv (CN211972776U) and Ryohke (US20050072194A1).
As to claims 1 & 20, Lv discloses a laundry cleaning device (abstract) having a local [0002] cleaning device in the form of a foam dispensing mechanism (see abstract, reads on foam cleaning device as it is utilized to dispense foam for cleaning of laundry) comprising: a housing (ref 3); a foam cleaning component (ref 2 and including ref 33) being connected to the housing and provided a foam detergent during a local cleaning (see Figs.1-2). Lv does not disclose the foam cleaning component being moveable relative to the housing or a signal transmission unit for transmitting a signal to the foam cleaning device when the foam cleaning component moves to a set position. Lv also does not indicate that the device is provided on a washing machine. However such features for a local laundry cleaning device are known in the art, as seen by Ryohke.
Ryohke discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein a local cleaning device (ref 100) is attached to a the washing machine via a housing (ref 140). The cleaning device is provided moveable relative to the housing so as to allow for the washing device to be retracted when not in use and a use position when the device is desired to be used [0023-0026 & 0075]. A position detecting means (ref 170) is provided in order to determine the position of the cleaning device [0079-0080] and allow for operation and control of the cleaning device [0094 & 0112-0113, 0120], thus the detection means operates as a signal transmission unit which transmits a signal when in a use state. Providing a local cleaning device with a washing machine allows for removal of stubborn stains [0019] and then allowing for the cleaning of the clothes via the washing machine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Lv to provide the local cleaning device on a washing machine, as is known in the art (see Ryohke), in order to provide a compact appliance that allows for stubborn stain removal and washing following the stain removal (Ryohke [0019-0020]). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to provide the local cleaning device in a movably mounted manner with respect to the housing in order to allow for storage when not in use (Ryohke [0023-0026 & 0075]).Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would provide the signal transmission unit to detect when the cleaning device reaches the use position and allow for operation, and inhibit operation when the cleaning device is in the not-use position (Ryohke [0079-0080 & 0112-0113].
As to claim 8, Modified Lv teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a switch part (Lv ref 32) which is used to control the foam cleaning component to start up and provide the foam detergent and control the foam cleaning component to stop providing the foam detergent after the foam cleaning component receives a relevant signal (Lv [0064-0065]).
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv (CN211972776U) and Ryohke (US20050072194A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeuchi (JP2019195748A) and Park (US20220341076A1).
As to claim 2, Modified Lv teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the signal transmission unit includes a switch (Ryohke ref 171), and a skilled artisan would reasonably understand that the transmitted signal is an electrical signal (see Ryohke [0080] indicating normally open switch & [0094] indicating electric leads to the transmission unit). The switch controls the on/off state of a circuit of the cleaning component based on the position of the cleaning component (see Ryohke [0079-0080 & 0112-0113]). Although Modified Lv does not disclose the switch explicitly being a microswitch, such switches are known in the field, as seen by Takeuchi and Park.
Takeuchi discloses an art related local cleaning device (abstract) for clothing [0030] wherein is it known that a microswitch can be utilized for detecting a position and providing an on/off signal output [0064-0067].
Park discloses an art related additive device for a clothing treating machine (abstract, also [0001-0002]), wherein it is known that a microswitch, when actuated, can allow current to flow [0112-0113]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Lv to utilize a microswitch which generates and electrical signal for the position detection of the foam cleaning component as such is a well-known type of switch for detecting a position in the art (Takeuchi [0064-0067] & Park [0112-0113]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known type of switch in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 3, Modified Lv teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the housing is provided with a containing cavity (see Ryohke ref 141), and the cleaning component is movable relative to the housing between a storage position and a cleaning position; in the storage position the foam cleaning component is stored in the housing cavity of the housing (e.g., see Ryohke Fig.2) and in the cleaning position the foam cleaning component is located outside the housing cavity of the housing (e.g., see Ryohke Fig.3); the microswitch closes the circuit when the foam cleaning component is in the cleaning position and the circuit is in an off state when the foam cleaning component is in the storage position (Ryohke [0112-0113]).
As to claim 4, Modified Lv teaches the device of claim 3, wherein the microswitch is arranged on the housing (Ryohke [0079]) and when the foam cleaning component moves to the cleaning position or the storage position the microswitch is in a triggered state to control the circuit of the foam cleaning component to be turned on or off (Ryohke [0079-0080 & 0112-0113]).
As to claim 5, Modified Lv teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the microswitch is arranged in the containing cavity (see Ryohke ref 172 of switch & Takeuchi ref 364 showcasing a microswitch lever is provided in contact with the element whose position is to be detected).
As to claim 6, Modified Lv teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the limitations are optional as the claim is directed towards the optional embodiment including a moving contact of the microswitch, not required by claim 4.
As to claim 7, Modified Lv teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the limitations are optional as the claim is directed towards the optional embodiment including a fixed contact of the microswitch, not required by claim 4.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv (CN211972776U) and Ryohke (US20050072194A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yonezawa (WO2022001210A1), Mamiya (WO2022001223A1), hereafter NPL1, and Carpenter (US20220290356A1).
As to claim 9, Modified Lv teaches the device of claim 8, further comprising: a foam generating unit (Lv [0054-0056]) for providing the foam detergent during the local cleaning; the switch part is used for controlling the opening and closing the foam generating unit (Lv [0064-0065]). Modified Lv does not explicitly disclose the presence of a water outlet unit, however such a feature would be obvious in view of Yonezawa, Mamiya, NPL1. Further, Modified Lv does not disclose the use of a switch part for opening and closing of the water outlet, however such a feature is known in the art as seen by Carpenter.
Yonezawa discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), which includes a local treating device (ref 50). The local treating device also includes a water outlet unit (ref 500) in order to supply water when needed [0092-0094, & 106-108].
Mamiya discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), which includes a local treating device (ref 13) having a water outlet unit (e.g., outlet from ref 46 to ref 48) in order to supply water when desired.
NPL1 discloses an art related manner of treating of various stains, wherein it is well known that rinsing may occur after treatment of the stain via a treating agent in order to evaluate whether the stain has been removed and repeating treatment if necessary (page 2-4).
Carpenter discloses an art related laundry treating appliance (abstract), wherein a water spray element for local pretreating of laundry [0003]. Carpenter indicates that actuation of a pretreating water supply can be performed via the use of a button [0048] that is present on a control panel [0049]. Carpenter also indicates that two separate buttons can be utilized to control different operations of the spraying element, or a single button can be utilized [0049, 0053, & 0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Lv to include a water outlet in order to allow for pretreating of different stains and rinsing of said stains with water to determine whether the stain still exists and the treatment process needs to be repeated (NPL1 pages 2-4). As it is known that a water outlet unit can be provided with a local cleaning device (see Yonezawa and Mamiya), a skilled artisan would find it obvious to supply the water outlet unit with the local cleaning device. Further, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide a button for allowing actuation the water outlet unit (Carpenter [0049, 0053, & 0056]) in order to allow a user to control when water is supplied.
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711