DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG et al PG PUB 2023/0077496 in view of CHOI PG PUB 2022/0377764.
Re Claims 1, 15, 16 and 20, CHENG et al teaches in figure 10, a UE 1002 (comprising a Processor coupled to a memory) access a RAN (a serving cell) 1006 via Relay UE 1004; receive, from the RAN 1006, a System information (configuration information) indicating a value of at least one a timer (T300, T319, T301, T311) associated with at least RRC setup request [0130-0133]; the UE 1002 starting the timer in response to transmitting RRC request (an RRC setup request message) [0123] and stop the timer in response receiving a relay UE reselection [0135 0136] or unsuitable relay UE [0138].
CHENG et al fails to explicitly teach “receive, from the relay UE, a notification a handover of the relay UE”.
However, CHOI teaches the remote UE triggers relay UE reselection (handover of the relay UE) based a configured signal strength threshold value or a layer-2 link release message or higher layer message received from the relay UE [0079]. By combining the teachings, the timer can be stopped upon receiving the higher layer message to perform a NAS recovery [See CHENG 0144]. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have stopped the timer to start the NAS recovery to re-establish connection with the core network after RLF. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have combined the teachings.
Re Claims 3, 18, CHENG et al teaches the response, stops the timer based upon relay UE becomes unsuitable [0137].
Re Claims 4, 18, 19, CHENG et al teaches the upon expiration of the timer, in view of CHOI [0079], the relay UE transmits upper layer message to the remote UE whereby a upper layer of the remote UE receives the reception of relay UE handover.
Re Claime 5, 6, 11, CHENG et al teaches a T301 timer (a second timer) started upon transmission of the RRC reestablishment request message [0124] wherein the value of the T301 is received via the system information, See figure 10 and in view of CHOI, the remote UE stops the timer based on the received upper layer message (the notification) from the relay UE.
Re Claim 7, CHENG et al teaches UE determines that the relay UE becomes unsuitable, in response to a cell metric (a channel quality) for the base station/UE relay dropping below a threshold [0137 0198].
Re Claims 8, 10, CHENG et al teaches starting a T319 timer (a third timer) associated with RRC resume request), in response to transmitting a RRC resume request message [0126].
Re Claim 9, CHENG et al teaches in figure 8, multiple steps in the discovery or reselection procedure for the relay UE [0114] until the relay reselection being fulfilled.
Re Claims 12, 14, CHENG et al teaches starts a T319 timer (fourth timer) in associated with reception of RRC Reject Message [0145] based on the received system information, See figure 10, wherein the timer is started in response to the RRC resume request message.
Re Claims 13, CHENG et al teaches UE stops the timer with reception of the RRC reject, in response [0145], in view of CHOI, based on the remote UE receiving the higher layer message indicating the handover relay UE from the relay UE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475