CTNF 18/730,951 CTNF 74535 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-10, 12-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHENG et al PG PUB 2023/0077496 . Re Claims1, 15, 16 and 20, CHENG et al teaches in figure 2, a UE 350 including a Processor 359 coupled to a memory 360; figure 1 teaches the UE 104/remote UE access base station 102 (processor coupled to memory) via a relay UE 104 wherein the UE 104 includes a RRC Timer component for receiving configuration information indicating at least one timer associated with a request message associated with an RRC connection [0068] wherein the request message can be an RRC setup request message among others [0123]. Re Claims 2, 17, CHENG et al teaches T300 timer is started associated with the RRC setup request in response to transmitting a RRC setup request message [0123]. Re Claims 3, 6, 10, 18, CHENG et al teaches the T300/T301/T319 timers associated with the RRC setup request/RRC reestablishment/RRC resume request, in response, stops the T300/T301/T319 timer upon a cell reselection of the relay UE [0123 0128]. Re Claims 4, 18, 19, CHENG et al teaches the upon expiration of the timer, the UE informs the network (an upper layer) about a RLF [0127]. Re Claim 5, CHENG et al teaches a T301 timer started upon transmission of the RRC reestablishment request message [0124]. Re Claim 7, CHENG et al teaches UE determines that the relay UE becomes unsuitable, in response to a cell metric (a channel quality) for the base station/UE relay dropping below a threshold [0137 0198]. Re Claim 8, CHENG et al teaches starting a T319 timer (timer associated with RRC resume request), in response to transmitting a RRC resume request message [0126]. Re Claim 9, CHENG et al teaches in figure 8, multiple steps in the discovery or reselection procedure for the relay UE [0114] until the relay reselection being fulfilled. Re Claim 12, CHENG et al teaches starts a timer in response to transmitting a RRC resume request message [0145] associated with recepetion of RRCReject Message. Re Claim 13, CHENG et al teaches UE stops the timer with reception of the RRC reject, in response [0145] to RLF [0127] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG et al PG PUB 2023/0077496 in view of AGIWAL et al PG PUB 2021/0352548 . Re Claims 11, 14, CHENG et al teaches the UE informs the network (an upper layer) about a RLF [0127]. In response, CHENG et al fails to explicitly teach “configured to cause the UE to enter RRC idle, in response to the timer associated with RRC resume request being running”. However, AGIWAL et al teaches the UE enter RRC idle if the RA procedure is ongoing for the RRC resume (i.e., T319 is running) [0166-0182], perform releasing all radio resources. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have enter RRC idle state and release all radio resources associated with the RLF to conserve resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW LEE whose telephone number is (571)272-3130. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30AM-5PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, KASSIM KHALAD can be reached at 57127 03770 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/730,951 Page 2 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/730,951 Page 3 Art Unit: 2475