DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 12-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: “a sewage discharge pipe” in line 3 of claim 12 is a double inclusion of that in line 2 of claim 1. It should be changed to --the sewage discharge pipe--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by JP-H06-240729-A (hereinafter Matsushita).
Regarding claim 1, Matsushita discloses a sewage discharge box (19) applicable to a toilet (see Fig. 1), wherein the toilet further comprises a sewage discharge pipe (20), the sewage discharge box is provided with a rotary connecting hole (about 16), the rotary connecting hole is configured to be rotatably connected with the sewage discharge pipe (see Figs. 6a-7b), and the sewage discharge pipe is at least partially provided in the sewage discharge box and rotates around the rotary connecting hole; a vertical plane where a central axis of the rotary connecting hole is located is taken as an interface (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), an inner wall surface of the sewage discharge box is divided into a sewage discharge area (see illustrated Fig. 7b above: to the left of the interface) and a non-sewage discharge area (see illustrated Fig. 7b above: to the right of the interface), and the sewage discharge pipe rotates from a side where the non-sewage discharge area is located to a side where the sewage discharge area is located in a rotary sewage discharge process (see Figs. 6a-7b); wherein the non-sewage discharge area and the sewage discharge area are asymmetrically arranged with respect to the interface (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), and a space enclosed by the sewage discharge area is greater than a space enclosed by the non-sewage discharge area (see illustrated Fig. 7b above).
Regarding claim 2, the sewage discharge box according to claim 1, wherein the sewage discharge area comprises a transition area (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), and the transition area is configured such that during the rotation of the sewage discharge pipe relative to the sewage discharge box, a discharge outlet (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) of the sewage discharge pipe faces the transition area; and wherein a distance between the central axis of the rotary connecting hole and the transition area is gradually increased in a direction from top to bottom (see illustrated Figs. 6b and 7b).
Regarding claim 3, the sewage discharge box according to claim 2, wherein the sewage discharge area further comprises an outlet area (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) located below the rotary connecting hole, the outlet area defines a sewage outlet (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) of the sewage discharge box, and a central axis (vertical central axis) of the sewage outlet offsets from the interface.
Regarding claim 4, the sewage discharge box according to claim 3, wherein a longitudinal cross section perpendicular to the interface is designated as a longitudinal perpendicular section (cross section as shown in Figs. 6b or 7b), a contour line of the transition area (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) on the longitudinal perpendicular section comprises a first section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), a second section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) and a third section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) connected sequentially from top to bottom, and a region (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) corresponding to the third section is configured to directly face the discharge outlet of the sewage discharge pipe when the sewage discharge pipe rotates to a sewage discharge position (see illustrated Fig. 7b above); and wherein the third section is provided as an inclined straight section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) and extends downward at an angle in a direction close to the non-sewage discharge area.
Regarding claim 5, the sewage discharge box according to claim 4, wherein the first section is provided in an arc shape (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), and the second section extends in a vertical direction (see illustrated Fig. 7b above).
Regarding claim 6, the sewage discharge box according to claim 4, wherein a contour line of the outlet area on the longitudinal perpendicular section comprises a fourth section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) and a fifth section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), the fourth section is smoothly connected with a lower end (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) of the third section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), the fifth section is configured to be spaced from the fourth section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), and the sewage outlet is formed between the fifth section and the fourth section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above).
Regarding claim 7, the sewage discharge box according to claim 6, wherein the fifth section comprises an outlet section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) and a transition section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), the outlet section is arranged opposite to the fourth section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), and the sewage outlet is formed between the outlet section and the fourth section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), and a dumping surface (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) of the sewage discharge pipe is provided with a flaring part (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) in a sewage discharge dumping direction (the direction as shown in Fig. 7b); the outlet section is configured such that: when the sewage discharge pipe rotates to the sewage discharge position (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), the outlet section is adapted with a contour line (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) of the dumping surface of the sewage discharge pipe on the longitudinal perpendicular section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), so that the outlet section forms a flaring guide part (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) for guiding the sewage discharge; a lower end of the transition section is smoothly connected with an upper end of the outlet section (the two sections are continuous with each other), and an upper end of the transition section is smoothly connected with a contour line (see illustrated Fig. 7b above: the transition section is continuous with the eighth section in the non-sewage discharge area) of the non-sewage discharge area on the longitudinal perpendicular section.
Regarding claim 8, the sewage discharge box according to claim 4,wherein a contour line (see illustrated Fig. 7b above: the line of the box housing) of the non-sewage discharge area on the longitudinal perpendicular section comprises a sixth section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), a seventh section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), and an eighth section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) sequentially connected from top to bottom; the sixth section is smoothly connected with the first section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), and the eighth section is smoothly connected with a contour line (line of fifth section) of the outlet area on the longitudinal perpendicular section.
Regarding claim 9, the sewage discharge box according to claim 8, wherein the sixth section is provided in an arc shape (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), a center (see illustrated Fig. 7b above) of the sixth section is the same as that of the first section, and the seventh section extends in a vertical direction (see illustrated Fig. 7b above).
Regarding claim 10, the sewage discharge box according to claim 9, wherein an upper end of the seventh section is higher than an upper end of the second section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above), and a lower end of the seventh section is higher than a lower end of the second section (see illustrated Fig. 7b above).
Regarding claim 12, Matsushita discloses a sewerage discharge system (see Figs. 6a-7b) comprising the sewage discharge box (19) according to claim 1; the sewage discharge pipe (20) rotatably connected with the sewage discharge box; and a drive device (24) connected with the sewage discharge pipe, and configured to drive the sewage discharge pipe to rotate relative to the sewage discharge box.
Regarding claim 14, Matsushita discloses a toilet (see Fig. 1) comprising a toilet seat (about 2 in Fig. 1) provided with a bowl (1 in Fig. 1), the bowl provided with a sewage discharge outlet (14); and the sewage discharge system according to claim 12, wherein the sewage discharge pipe of the sewage discharge system is communicated with the sewage discharge outlet, and a central axis of the sewage discharge outlet (14) is collinear with a rotation axis of the sewage discharge pipe (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita, as applied to claims 1-3 above.
Regarding claim 11, Matsushita discloses the sewage discharge box according to claim 1, wherein the space enclosed by the sewage discharge area is configured such that a maximum rotation angle provided for the sewage discharge pipe is shown to be greater than 90 degree. Matsushita is silent as to the maximum rotation angle is in a range of 100° to 120°. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range of the maximum rotation angle of Matsushita between 100° to 120° as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 19, Matsushita discloses the sewage discharge box according to claim 2, wherein the space enclosed by the sewage discharge area is configured such that a maximum rotation angle provided for the sewage discharge pipe is shown to be greater than 90 degree. Matsushita is silent as to the maximum rotation angle is in a range of 100° to 120°. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range of the maximum rotation angle of Matsushita between 100° to 120° as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 20, Matsushita discloses the sewage discharge box according to claim 3, wherein the space enclosed by the sewage discharge area is configured such that a maximum rotation angle provided for the sewage discharge pipe is shown to be greater than 90 degree. Matsushita is silent as to the maximum rotation angle is in a range of 100° to 120°. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range of the maximum rotation angle of Matsushita between 100° to 120° as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita, as applied to claim 12 above, in view of JP-2016-113818-A (hereinafter Panasonic).
Regarding claim 13, Matsushita discloses the sewage discharge system according to claim 12 except for a cleaning device connected with the sewage discharge box, and configured to spray a cleaning liquid into the sewage discharge box.
Attention is directed to the Panasonic reference which teaches analogous device further a cleaning device (17) connected with a sewage discharge box (3), and configured to spray a cleaning liquid into the sewage discharge box (see Fig. 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ, in the discharge box of Matsushita, a cleaning device as taught by Panasonic in order to clean the interior of the discharge box and prevent waste build up therein.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita, as applied to claim 14 above, in view of Panasonic and US 2022/0064929 (hereinafter Garrels).
Regarding claim 15, the toilet according to claim 14 above, wherein the toilet seat is provided with a flush port (3 in Fig. 1) communicated with the bowl; however, Matsushita is silent as to the toilet further comprises a water diverter valve provided with a water inlet, a first water outlet and a second water outlet, wherein one of the first water outlet and the second water outlet is communicated with the water inlet, the water inlet is configured to connect to a water source, the first water outlet is configured to be communicated with the flush port to supply water to the bowl, and the second water outlet is configured to be communicated with a cleaning device of the sewage discharge system to supply water to the cleaning device.
Attention is directed to the Panasonic reference which teaches an analogous toilet (1) and a cleaning device (17) of the sewage discharge system to supply water to the cleaning device via hose 41. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ, in the toilet of Matsushita, a cleaning device as taught by Panasonic in order to clean the toilet bowl and the interior of the discharge box and prevent waste build up therein.
Matsushita obvious teaches a flush valve but is silent as to a water diverter valve. Attention is also directed to the Garrels reference with teaches an analogous toilet having a water diverter valve (424) provided with a water inlet (404), a first water outlet (406) and a second water outlet (408), wherein one of the first water outlet and the second water outlet is communicated with the water inlet, the water inlet is configured to connect to a water source (flush tank 3304), the first water outlet is configured to be communicated with the flush port to supply water to a bowl, and the second water outlet is configured to be communicated with a cleaning jet. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ, in the toilet of Matsushita, a water diver valve as taught by Garrels in order to control water flow to multiple outlets such as a toilet bowl and a cleaning jet.
Regarding claim 16, the toilet according to claim 15 above, wherein the toilet seat of Matsushita is provided with a plurality of water diverter ports (see Fig. 1 of Matsushita), the plurality of water diverter ports are provided at the top of the bowl, and the flush port is communicated with the bowl by the plurality of water diverter ports.
Regarding claim 17, the above combination’s toilet according to claim 15, Garrels teaches a water storage tank (3304); and a water pump (450), wherein an input end of the water pump is communicated with the water storage tank, and an output end of the water pump is communicated with the water inlet and is configured to pump the water in the water storage tank into the water diverter valve.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita, Panasonic, and Garrels, as applied to claim 17 above, in view of CN 114016584 A (hereinafter Li).
The combination of Matsushita, Panasonic, and Garrels teaches the toilet according to claim 17 discussed above, wherein the toilet seat of Matsushita is provided with a mounting cavity, the mounting cavity is located on a rear side of the bowl, and the sewage discharge system, wherein Garrels teaches at least a portion of the water diverter valve located in the mounting cavity at a rear side of a bowl.
Although the arrangement of the water storage tank, and the water pump are not located in the mounting cavity. Attention is directed to the Li reference which teaches an analogous toilet further having a water storage tank (10) and a water pump (9)are being arranged in a mounting cavity that is located on a rear side of a bowl.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the water source of Matsushita with the water storage tank and pump arranged in a mounting cavity that is located on a rear side of a bowl as taught by Li, wherein doing so would merely be substituting equivalents known for the same purpose. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
/TUAN N NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754