DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipate by Harada et al. (US 2017/0210277).
Claim 1, Harada discloses a vehicle headlight (80, Fig. 14) comprising:
a lamp unit (Semiconductor light-emitting device 10, Fig. 14) capable of changing a light distribution pattern of emitted light; and
a control unit (Controller 110, Fig. 14) that controls the lamp unit based on information input from a detection device (Camera 106, Fig. 14) that detects a predetermined object (vehicle and/or pedestrian, Fig. 15(b)) located in front of a vehicle, wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit to emit light having a light distribution pattern including a predetermined light distribution pattern (see Fig. 15(a)) in a case where the predetermined object is not detected, and
in a case where the predetermined object is detected (vehicle ahead and pedestrian on walkway, see Fig. 15(b)), controls the lamp unit so that a light amount of a first region overlapping at least a part of the predetermined object in the predetermined light distribution pattern decreases (regions of vehicle ahead and/or pedestrian on walkway, Figs. 15(b) and 16(c) and see P[0091]-[0092]… when a vehicle, pedestrian, or obstacle detected by the vehicle detector 107 is included in the light projection range set by the AFS-setting part 102, light projection range-setting part 103 sets the illuminance distribution so that illuminance is reduced in regions for the directions of the oncoming vehicle and pedestrian so that the driver or pedestrian is not dazzled…) and a light amount of a second region different from the first region increases at a predetermined magnification or by a predetermined amount (see P[0091]-[0092]…. illuminance becomes highest in regions around the vehicle or pedestrian, and gradually reduces towards the outside as shown in FIG. 15(b)) as compared with the case where the predetermined object is not detected.
Claim 2, Harada discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 1, wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that the light amount decreasing in the first region (see Fig. 16c, Oncoming vehicle region which is reduce by 50% compare to Fig. 16a) and the light amount increasing in the second region (see Fig, 16c which reproduce below: region 2 which increase by 50% compare to Fig. 16a) become the same.
Claim 4, Harada discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 1, wherein in a case where a plurality of the predetermined objects to be detected are present (vehicle ahead and pedestrian on walkway, see Fig. 15(b)), the control unit controls the lamp unit so that light amounts of a plurality of the first regions corresponding to the respective predetermined objects decrease (see P[0091]… when a vehicle, pedestrian, or obstacle detected by the vehicle detector 107 is included in the light projection range set by the AFS-setting part 102, light projection range-setting part 103 sets the illuminance distribution so that illuminance is reduced in regions for the directions of the oncoming vehicle and pedestrian so that the driver or pedestrian is not dazzled…) and the second region includes at least a part of a region (the region between the vehicle ahead and the pedestrian on walkway, see Fig. 15b) in a minimum rectangular frame surrounding the plurality of first regions (rectangular frame is Fig. 15b is reproduce below).
Claim 5, Harada discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 4, wherein the second region includes at least a part of a region between the adjacent first regions (the second region that is between the vehicle ahead and the pedestrian on walkway, see Fig. 15b).
Claim 6, Harada discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 5, wherein the second region includes at least a part of a region between all of the sets of adjacent first regions when three or more of the predetermined objects are detected (inherent limitation, see P[0091]-[0092]).
Claim 7, Harada discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 4, wherein the second region includes all other than the first region in the rectangular frame (see Fig. 15b, 16b, and 16c).
Claim 8, Harada discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 4, wherein the second region includes a region outside the rectangular frame (region adjacent to the right side of the vehicle).
Claim 9, Harada discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 5, wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a light amount of a third region different from the first region and the second region in the predetermined light distribution pattern increases and the second region becomes brighter than the third region as compared with the case where the predetermined object is not detected (region that are gradually reduces towards the outside, see P[0091]…. illuminance becomes highest in regions around the vehicle or pedestrian, and gradually reduces towards the outside as shown in FIG. 15(b)…).
Claim 10, Harada discloses the vehicle headlight according to wherein the third region surrounds the second region (region that are gradually reduces towards the outside is surrounded the second region, see Fig. 15b).
4. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipate by Tanaka et al. (JP2015016774A with English translation).
Claim 1, Tanaka discloses a vehicle headlight (Fig. 1) comprising:
a lamp unit (L-HL and R-HL, Fig. 1) capable of changing a light distribution pattern of emitted light; and
a control unit (ECU 4, Fig. 1) that controls the lamp unit based on information input from a detection device (Camera 5, Fig. 1) that detects a predetermined object (car, Fig. 6) located in front of a vehicle, wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit to emit light having a light distribution pattern including a predetermined light distribution pattern in a case where the predetermined object is not detected (PADB, Fig. 3), and
in a case where the predetermined object is detected (car, Fig. 6), controls the lamp unit so that a light amount of a first region overlapping at least a part of the predetermined object in the predetermined light distribution pattern decreases (see Fig. 6 and English translation: P[0027]…the four illumination areas An + 1 to An + 4 are extinguished, English translation) and a light amount of a second region different from the first region increases at a predetermined magnification or by a predetermined amount as compared with the case where the predetermined object is not detected (see English translation: P[0027]…control is performed to increase the luminous intensity of the LEDs of the illumination areas An and An +5 adjacent to the shaded illumination areas An + 1 to An + 4…).
Claim 2, Tanaka discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 1, wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that the light amount decreasing in the first region and the light amount increasing in the second region become the same (see English translation: P[0031]…control is performed to increase the light intensity of another illumination area when reducing the illumination area of a part of the illumination area. In this case, the light intensity is increased by the amount of electricity that has decreased due to light reduction…).
Claim 3, Tanaka discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 1, wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that the light amount in the second region increases with lapse of time (see English translation: P[0031]…it is preferable to perform it slowly in time when increasing the light intensity of the LED…).
Claims 12, 18, and 21 are rejected as above claims 1-3.
Claim(s) 1, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipate by Tanaka et al. (JP4730284 B2 with English translation).
Claim 1, Tanaka discloses a vehicle headlight (Fig. 1) comprising:
a lamp unit (headlight 12, Fig. 1) capable of changing a light distribution pattern of emitted light; and
a control unit (ECU 14, Fig. 1) that controls the lamp unit based on information input from a detection device (Camera 18, Fig. 1) that detects a predetermined object (oncoming vehicle, Fig. 6) located in front of a vehicle, wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit to emit light having a light distribution pattern including a predetermined light distribution pattern in a case where the predetermined object is not detected (see, Figs. 2, 4), and
in a case where the predetermined object is detected (oncoming vehicle, Figs. 6, 8), controls the lamp unit so that a light amount of a first region overlapping at least a part of the predetermined object in the predetermined light distribution pattern decreases (see Figs. 6, 8 and English translation: P[0046], P[0063], light in divided areas 6 and 7 are turn off) and a light amount of a second region different from the first region increases at a predetermined magnification or by a predetermined amount as compared with the case where the predetermined object is not detected (see English translation: P[0060]…In this case, it is also possible to increase the amount of light in the divided region adjacent to the outside of the vehicle specified in step 210 and further in the divided region adjacent to the outside of the vehicle. The adjacent area is close to the light source of the oncoming vehicle and is particularly difficult to see. By increasing the amount of light in this area, the visibility of the driver is improved…).
Claim 11, Tanaka discloses the vehicle headlight according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined light distribution pattern is an additional light distribution pattern in which a light distribution pattern of a high beam is formed by being added to a light distribution pattern of a low beam, and the control unit controls the lamp unit so that the first region becomes a part of the additional light distribution pattern (see P[0066]…the light distribution control may be performed only on the high beam region, or the light distribution may be performed on the high beam and the low beam region…) and the second region becomes all other than the first region in the additional light distribution pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17, 19-21, 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP2015016774A with English translation).
Claim 13, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a light amount increasing per unit time in the second region becomes constant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that a light amount increasing per unit time in the second region becomes constant, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involved only routine skill in the art.
Claim 14, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a light amount increasing per unit time in the second region increases with lapse of time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that a light amount increasing per unit time in the second region increases with lapse of time, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involved only routine skill in the art.
Claim 15, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a period until the light amount of the second region becomes the predetermined amount increases as an area of the second region increases. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that a period until the light amount of the second region becomes the predetermined amount increases as an area of the second region increases, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involved only routine skill in the art.
Claim 16, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a light increase amount per unit area of the second region increases as a light reduction amount in the first region increases. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that a light increase amount per unit area of the second region increases as a light reduction amount in the first region increases, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involved only routine skill in the art.
Claim 17, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a width of the second region in a direction in which the second region is perpendicular to a direction along an outer edge of the first region becomes wider as a light reduction amount of the first region increases. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that a width of the second region in a direction in which the second region is perpendicular to a direction along an outer edge of the first region becomes wider as a light reduction amount of the first region increases.
Claim 19, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a light increase amount per unit area of the second region increases as an area of the first region increases. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that a light increase amount per unit area of the second region increases as an area of the first region increases.
Claim 20, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a width of the second region in a direction in which the second region is perpendicular to a direction along an outer edge of the first region becomes wider as an area of the first region increases. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that a width of the second region in a direction in which the second region is perpendicular to a direction along an outer edge of the first region becomes wider as an area of the first region increases.
Claim 21, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a region in which the light amount increases in the second region spreads from a side of the first region toward a side opposite to the first region with lapse of time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that a region in which the light amount increases in the second region spreads from a side of the first region toward a side opposite to the first region with lapse of time.
Claim 23, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that the light amount of the first region increases with the lapse of time and returns to the light amount of the first region in the light distribution pattern, and the light amount of the second region decreases with the lapse of time and returns to the light amount of the second region in the light distribution pattern. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that the light amount of the first region increases with the lapse of time and returns to the light amount of the first region in the light distribution pattern, and the light amount of the second region decreases with the lapse of time and returns to the light amount of the second region in the light distribution pattern.
Claim 24, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a timing at which the light amount of the first region returns to the light amount of the first region in the light distribution pattern and a timing at which the light amount of the second region returns to the light amount of the second region in the light distribution pattern become the same. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the lamp unit so that a timing at which the light amount of the first region returns to the light amount of the first region in the light distribution pattern and a timing at which the light amount of the second region returns to the light amount of the second region in the light distribution pattern become the same.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Waragaya et al. (US 2019/0092222) discloses a vehicle headlight comprising: a lamp unit capable of changing a light distribution pattern of emitted light; and a control unit that controls the lamp unit based on information input from a detection device that detects a predetermined object located in front of a vehicle, wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit so that a light amount of a third region different from the first region and the second region in the predetermined light distribution pattern increases and the second region becomes brighter than the third region as compared with the case where the predetermined object is not detected.
/ANH Q TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 7/16/26