DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the inner mold, spring and a helical guide groove of clam 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein inner sleeve and/or outer sleeve are made from a second plastic material”. It is not clear from the claim language if “inner sleeve and/or outer sleeve” correspond to the prior recited sleeves, or are additional sleeves.
Claims 15-16 each recite “A method of manufacturing an anti-vibration bracket according to claim 12”, however elements of the bracket according to claim 12 such as the bracket body are recited in the manner of new elements such as “a bracket body”. It is therefore unclear if the method of claims 15-16 require all the components and features of the bracket recited in claim 12, or just the elements defined in claims 15 and 16.
Claim 17 recites “an inner mold forming at least two blades of the bushing is deformed using a spring and a helical guide groove guiding the inner mold.” It is not clear what is meant by this recitation. It is not clear if the “a helical guide groove guiding the inner mold” is part of the deforming of the inner mold, or a separate operation. It is not clear if the helical guide groove is a feature of one of the claimed components, or a separate structure having a groove. It is also not clear if “deformed” refers to a deformation (changing of shape) of the mold, or to remove from a form or demold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kramer et al (US# 2022/0397175).
Kramer er al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a bushing for an anti-vibration bracket, the bushing comprising: an outer structure 2; and an inner sleeve 3, wherein the outer structure comprises a connecting structure 4 connected to the inner sleeve 2 and the outer structure 2 is designed adapted to connect to an opening of said anti-vibration bracket 10, wherein the inner sleeve 12 comprises a through hole 33 adapted to connect to an a least partially tube-shaped member, and wherein the connecting structure comprises a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) [0026].
Regarding claim 2, the outer structure comprises an outer sleeve 2, and wherein the connecting structure 4 is connected to the outer sleeve 2.
Regarding claim 3, inner sleeve 3 and/or outer sleeve 2 are made from a second plastic material [0023][0024].
Regarding claim 4, the bushing is entirely comprised of TPE (note the outer layer elastomer adjacent 2 and the inner layer surrounding 3 are readable on the recited inner and outer sleeves) or a spring element 4 of the bushing is comprised of TPE.
Regarding claim 5, the connecting structure comprises at least two blades connecting the outer structure and the inner sleeve. Note four blades are shown.
Regarding claim 6, the at least two blades have a helically extending structure relative to an axis of the through hole [0029], wherein the at least two blades are equally distributed around a circumference of the inner sleeve ([0065] “asymmetrically and/or helically” suggests symmetrically helically).
Regarding claims 8, 18 and 19, wherein the at least two blades cover a slope angle between 0/1° and 50/80°. Note the blades have a slope angle of 45 degrees relative to the horizontal.
Regarding claim 9, the number of blades is between 2 and 12. Note four blades are shown.
Regarding claim 10, the at least two blades are equally distributed around a circumference of the inner sleeve (figure 1), or the blades have an unequal distribution of blades around the circumference of the inner sleeve [0065].
Regarding claim 11, the at least two blades have smooth transition sections to the outer sleeve and/or the inner sleeve.
Regarding claim 12, Kramer et al disclose an anti-vibration bracket, with a bracket body 2, the bracket body comprising an opening for a bushing according to claim 1, wherein the bushing is connected to the opening via the outer structure 4.
Regarding claim 13, the bushing is made via overmolding the bracket body. [0066]
Regarding claim 14, the bracket body comprises attachments 11 for attaching the bracket to an object. Figure 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer et al (US# 2022/0397175) in view of Thibaulet (US# 2007/0210534)
Regarding claim 15, Kramer et al disclose a method of manufacturing an anti-vibration bracket according to claim 12, but lack the disclosure of the steps of placing a bracket body in an injection mold, overmolding the bracket body with a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) to form a bushing or a spring element of said bushing, and de-molding the bracket after the thermoplastic elastomer material has sufficiently cured. Kramer et al does disclose injection moulding TPE to a bracket body 2 [0066], but does not disclose specifically disclose placing the bracket body in an injection mold. Thibaulet teach injection molding of a similar device, including placing a bracket component 2 in an injection mold, then overmolding the elastomer to form the device [0067]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the bracket body of Kramer et al in an injection mold and overmolding with the elastomer, as taught by Thibaulet, as an obvious means of performing the injection moulding suggested by Kramer et al, and would yield the expected results of an appropriately formed device.
Regarding claim 16, Kramer et al disclose a method of manufacturing an anti-vibration bracket according to claim 12, but lack the disclosure of the steps of providing a two-component injection mold, injecting a first plastic material to form a bracket body, letting the first plastic material sufficiently cure, overmolding the bracket body with a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) to form a bushing or a spring element of said bushing, and de-molding the bracket after the thermoplastic elastomer forming the bushing or the spring element of said bushing has sufficiently cured. Kramer et al does disclose injection moulding TPE to a bracket body 2 [0066], but lack any molding details. Thibaulet teach injection molding of a similar device, providing a two-component injection mold, injecting a first plastic material to form a bracket body [0062], letting the first plastic material sufficiently cure, overmolding the bracket body with a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) to form a bushing or a spring element of said bushing [0063], and de-molding the bracket [0071] after the thermoplastic elastomer forming the bushing or the spring element of said bushing has sufficiently cured. [0060] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the bi-injection method taught by Thibaulet, to form the device of Kramer et al in an efficient manner that does not require separate forming or molding of the bracket.
Claim(s) 1-12 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H026208 in view of Kramer et al (US# 2022/0397175).
JP ‘208 discloses a bushing for an anti-vibration bracket, the bushing comprising: an outer structure 11; and an inner sleeve 12, wherein the outer structure comprises a connecting structure 13 connected to the inner sleeve 12 and the outer structure is designed adapted to connect to an opening of said anti-vibration bracket, wherein the inner sleeve 12 comprises a through hole adapted to connect to an a least partially tube-shaped member 7. JP ‘208 lack the disclosure of the connecting structure comprises a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) . Kramer et al disclose a similar device and further teaches the use of TPE for a connecting structure 4 [0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use TPE for the elastomer of JP ‘208, as taught by Kramer et al, as a suitable and easily formed elastomer material.
Regarding claim 2, the outer structure comprises an outer sleeve 11, and wherein the connecting structure 13 is connected to the outer sleeve.
Regarding claim 4, as modified, a spring element 13 of the bushing is comprised of TPE.
Regarding claim 5, the connecting structure comprises at least two blades connecting the outer structure and the inner sleeve. Note four blades are shown.
Regarding claim 6, the at least two blades have a helically extending structure relative to an axis of the through hole, wherein the at least two blades are equally distributed around a circumference of the inner sleeve. Figures 2 and 4.
Regarding claim 7, the at least two blades have a curved cross-section (note cross-sections taken adjacent 12 or 13 would exhibit curves) with parallel or substantially parallel side walls along at least 50% of an extension path of the side walls.
Regarding claims 8, 18 and 19, wherein the at least two blades cover a slope angle between 0/1° and 50/80. Note the blades have a slope angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to the axis of 12. Figure 3. The blades also have a path length of at least 1.1 times a distance between the inner sleeve and the outer sleeve or between the inner sleeve and the opening of the anti-vibration bracket. Figures 3-4.
Regarding claim 9, the number of blades is between 2 and 12. Note four blades are shown.
Regarding claim 10, the at least two blades are equally distributed around a circumference of the inner sleeve (figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, the at least two blades have smooth transition sections to the outer sleeve and/or the inner sleeve. Note the interface between blades 13 and sleeves 12 and 13 appear to be smooth.
Regarding claim 12, JP ‘208 disclose an anti-vibration bracket, with a bracket body 11, the bracket body comprising an opening for a bushing according to claim 1, wherein the bushing is connected to the opening via the outer structure 13.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/832010 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims are different obvious combinations of the application claims.
Reference claim 11 anticipates application claims 1 and 4-5.
Application claim 2 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 2+11.
Application claim 3 corresponds to claim 11 with the obvious specification of plastic for one of the sleeves.
Application claim 6 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 8+11.
Application claim 7 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 10+11.
Application claim 8 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 4+11, 5+11 or 6+11.
Application claim 9 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 7+11.
Application claim 10 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 8+11.
Application claim 11 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 9+11.
Application claim 12 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 12+11.
Application claim 13 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 13+11.
Application claim 14 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 14+11.
Application claim 15 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 15+11.
Application claim 16 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 16+11.
Application claim 17 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 17+11.
Application claim 18 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 4+11, 18+11 or 6+11.
Application claim 19 corresponds to the combination of reference claims 4+11, 19+11 or 6+11.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK