REJECTION DETAILED
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 August 2026 was filed is being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued “Sheng does not disclose selecting the earliest of a first timing
reference associated with a first received SLSS and a second timing reference associated with a second received SLSS.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument because Sheng
et al. indeed teaches all features recited in the independent claims.
Sheng et al. discloses: a method of operating a wireless node, comprising:
receiving a first sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) associated with a first timing reference ([0017]: “wireless terminal configured for use in vehicle (V2X) communication comprising receiver circuitry; processor circuitry, a transmitter. The receiver circuitry is configured to receive: a first synchronization signal based on a first timing source which is available throughout a cellular radio access network but maintained external to the cellular radio access network, and a second synchronization signal based on a second timing source maintained by the cellular radio access network”),
receiving a second SLSS associated with a second timing reference (see [0017]); and
selecting an earliest of the first timing reference and the second timing reference; and performing one or more sidelink transmissions based on the selected timing reference ([0017]: “The processor circuitry is configured to make a selection between the first timing source and the second timing source. If the selection is the second timing source, the processor circuitry permits transmission from the wireless terminal of a synchronization sequence based on the second timing source. If the selection is the first timing source, the processor circuitry does not permit transmission of a synchronization sequence. The transmitter is configured, when permitted, to transmit the synchronization sequence based on the second timing source for use in vehicle (V2X) communication.”).
Note: Sheng et al. teaches the selection between the first timing source and the second timing source. The selected timing source is typically interpreted as the earliest timing source among the available options. Therefore, the selected second timing source in Sheng et al. is interpreted as the earliest timing source.
Therefore, Sheng et al. teaches and renders obvious all features as recited in the claims.
In an alternative, SAMSUNG ET AL: “WF on Flat and Hierarchical Synchronization Schemes”, in the same field of invention, described the selection of a synchronization source based on the earliest timing, which also deals with the synchronization of devices via side-link, (see page 3): In addition to the received signal quality, at least one of the following criteria may be used for deriving Tx timing from those synch sources which transmit D2DSS from D2DSSue_oon: ‘Age of timing; -D2D frame number; -Synchronization source ID; -Earliest timing: Absolute timing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform sidelink transmission(s) based on the selected earliest timing reference, as described in D1 (SAMSUNG et al.)
The Examiner believes Sheng et al. in view of SAMSUNG et al. (D1), teaches and render obvious all features of the independent claims. Therefore, the rejections stand. The Office Action hereby made Final.
Figure 10 of the application illustrates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-10, 13, 17-18, 20-23, 25-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. (US 2017/0289934 A1) in view of SAMSUNG ET AL.: “WF on Flat and Hierarchical Synchronization Schemes”, 3GPP DRAFT; R1-144373_WF_FLAT AND HIERARCHICAL SYNCHRONIZATION SCHEMES, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; , vol. RAN WG1, no. Ljubljana, Slovenia; 20141006 – 20141010 8 October 2014 (2014-10-08), XP050896027, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:http://www.3gpp.org/ftp/Meetings_3GPP_SYNC/RAN1/Docs/ [retrieved on 2014-10-08], hereinafter referred as D1.
Regarding claims 1, 13, 25 and 30, SHENG et al. discloses a method of operating a wireless node, comprising:
receiving a first sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) associated with a first timing reference ([0017]: “wireless terminal configured for use in vehicle (V2X) communication comprising receiver circuitry; processor circuitry, a transmitter. The receiver circuitry is configured to receive: a first synchronization signal based on a first timing source which is available throughout a cellular radio access network but maintained external to the cellular radio access network, and a second synchronization signal based on a second timing source maintained by the cellular radio access network”),
receiving a second SLSS associated with a second timing reference (see [0017]); and
selecting an earliest of the first timing reference and the second timing reference; and performing one or more sidelink transmissions based on the selected timing reference ([0017]: “The processor circuitry is configured to make a selection between the first timing source and the second timing source. If the selection is the second timing source, the processor circuitry permits transmission from the wireless terminal of a synchronization sequence based on the second timing source. If the selection is the first timing source, the processor circuitry does not permit transmission of a synchronization sequence. The transmitter is configured, when permitted, to transmit the synchronization sequence based on the second timing source for use in vehicle (V2X) communication.”).
Note: Sheng et al. teaches the selection between the first timing source and the second timing source. The selected timing source is typically interpreted as the earliest timing source among the available options. Therefore, the selected second timing source in Sheng et al. is interpreted as the earliest timing source.
Therefore, Sheng et al. teaches and render obvious all features as recited in the claims.
In an alternative, SAMSUNG ET AL: “WF on Flat and Hierarchical Synchronization Schemes”, in the same field of invention, described the selection of a synchronization source based on the earliest timing, which also deals with the synchronization of devices via side-link, (see page 3): In addition to the received signal quality, at least one of the following criteria may be used for deriving Tx timing from those synch sources which transmit D2DSS from D2DSSue_oon: ‘Age of timing; -D2D frame number; -Synchronization source ID; -Earliest timing: Absolute timing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform sidelink transmission(s) based on the selected earliest timing reference, as described in D1 (SAMSUNG et al.)
Regarding claims 2, 14 and 26, SHENG et al. teaches wherein the wireless node corresponds to a roadside unit (RSU), or wherein the wireless node corresponds to a user equipment (UE). See figure 1.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 17-18, D1 teaches wherein the first timing reference associated with the first SLSS is determined based on a strongest detected path associated with the first SLSS and the second timing reference associated with the second SLSS is determined based on a strongest detected path associated with the second SLSS. D1, page 3: “In addition to the received signal quality, at least one of the following criteria may be used for deriving Tx timing from those synch sources which transmit D2DSS from D2DSSue_oon: -Age of timing reference; -D2D frame number; -Synchronization source ID; -Earliest timing; -Absolute timing (e.g. GPS/UTC)”. In other words, when the received signal quality does not allow to decide between two synchronization sources having similar receive qualities, the one with the earliest timing is selected. This corresponds to the timing reference strongest and earliest detected.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, SHENG et al. teaches wherein the selecting is triggered based on one or more condition, from among a set of conditions, being satisfied. ([0015]: “The sidelink controlling circuitry is configured to select a reference source. The transmitting circuitry is configured to transmit reference is Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) and the GNSS is reliable according to a comparison with a threshold value, the sidelink controlling circuitry is configured to select GNSS as the reference source.”)
Regarding claims 9 and 21, SHENG et al. teaches wherein the set of condition comprise:
the first SLSS and the second SLSS being associated with the same radio access technology (RAT), see figures 1 and 2, or
.
Regarding claims 10 and 22, SHENG et al. teaches wherein the one or more conditions comprise two or more condition from the set of conditions.
([0011]: “In D2D sidelink communications, when a UE is within E-UTRAN coverage, a base station (e.g. eNB) may instruct a UE to become a synchronization source to transmit a sidelink direct synchronization signal (SLSS). On the other hand, if there is no eNB configuration, the UE may be itself become a synchronization source to transmit SLSS once the measured RSRP of the cell is below some pre-configured threshold. On the other hand, when a SLD UE is out-of-coverage, if the received signals from another UE are below some pre-configured S-RSRP threshold, the UE can by itself become a synchronization source to transmit SLSS as well.”)
Regarding claims 11 and 23, SHENG et al. teaches wherein the one or more conditions are pre-defined. ([0011]: “the UE may by itself become a synchronization source to transmit SLSS once the measured RSRP of the cell is below some pre-configured threshold.”)
Claim(s) 3, 15 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. (US 2017/0289934 A1) in view of SAMSUNG ET AL.: “WF on Flat and Hierarchical Synchronization Schemes”, 3GPP DRAFT; R1-144373_WF_FLAT AND HIERARCHICAL SYNCHRONIZATION SCHEMES, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; , vol. RAN WG1, no. Ljubljana, Slovenia; 20141006 – 20141010 8 October 2014 (2014-10-08), XP050896027, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:http://www.3gpp.org/ftp/Meetings_3GPP_SYNC/RAN1/Docs/ [retrieved on 2014-10-08], hereinafter referred as D1, further in view of Castaneda et al. (US 2022/0095257 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 15 and 27, SHENG et al. in view of D1 teaches wherein the selected timing reference is associated with an earliest detected path among the first SLSS and the second SLSS.
SHENG et al. in view of D1 fails to explicitly teach wherein the first SLSS and the second SLSS are received on the same time-frequency resource.
Castaneda et al. in the same field of invention, teaches ([0010]: “It is to be noted that, when the UE is in coverage, it could be out of coverage on the frequency used for the sidelink transmission (e.g., for V2X sidelink communication). In addition, the frequency used by the reference cell may or may not be the same as the frequency used for a sidelink transmission.”).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first SLSS and the second SLSS on the same time-frequency resource.
Claim(s) 4, 16 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. (US 2017/0289934 A1) in view of SAMSUNG ET AL.: “WF on Flat and Hierarchical Synchronization Schemes”, 3GPP DRAFT; R1-144373_WF_FLAT AND HIERARCHICAL SYNCHRONIZATION SCHEMES, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; , vol. RAN WG1, no. Ljubljana, Slovenia; 20141006 – 20141010 8 October 2014 (2014-10-08), XP050896027, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:http://www.3gpp.org/ftp/Meetings_3GPP_SYNC/RAN1/Docs/ [retrieved on 2014-10-08], hereinafter referred as D1, further in view of CHENG et al. (US 2020/0196255 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 16 and 28, SHENG et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the first SLSS is associated with a first time-frequency resource, and wherein the second SLSS is associated with a second time-frequency resource that is different than the first time-frequency resource.
CHENG et al. in the same field of invention, teaches ([0050]: “an RX UE may receive a first SLSS transmission configuration and a second SLSS transmission configuration from a scheduler source device, wherein the content of the second SLSS transmission configuration may be different from that of the first SLSS transmission configuration. For example, the second SLSS transmission configuration may include a different TX power, a different time/frequency domain resource allocation, or a different time/frequency domain offset than the first SLSS transmission configuration. In this manner, an RX UE of a group, which may be in the middle/edge area of the group, may act as a synchronization source for the UEs that are outside the group, and meanwhile, the RX UE may avoid causing interferences with the other UEs inside the group. For example, when the RX UE is located in the middle (or on the edge) area of a group, the scheduler UE of the group may indicate to the RX UE to perform, based on the second SLSS transmission configuration, the SLSS transmissions for the UEs on the edge area of the group. On the other hand, the scheduler UE of the group may perform SLSS transmissions to the UEs inside the group based on the first SLSS transmission configuration. Thus, the interference with the SLSSs for the UEs outside/inside the group may be reduced.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first SLSS transmission and the second SLSS transmission with different frequencies domain.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 12, 19 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant disclosure:
LIU et al. (US 2017/0289870 A1) discloses ([0032]: “shown in FIG. 2, are UEs 212, 214 and 216. These UEs are outside of coverage area 207 and in OOC 220, therefore, they may be referred to as OOC UEs. The OOC UEs may select a synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE according to priority rules as specified in the technical standards. As an illustrative example, UE 212 selects a SyncRef UE with eNB timing (“SLSS 1”) with higher priority, while UE 214 cannot receive from SyncRef UE with eNB timing (“SLSS 1”) and selects a SyncRef UE with hopped eNB timing (“SLSS 2”) with higher priority. The priority may be indicated by an “inCoverage” field in the MIB-SL and an identifier of an SLSS (SLSSID), per 3GPP TS 36.331, Section 5.10.8.2).
CHAE et al. (US 2019/0098589 A1) discloses method and device for transmitting and receiving synchronization signal of device-to-device communication terminal in wireless communication system. ([0101]: “An eNB-based UE may have the same priority as that of a GNSS-based UE. Regarding SS transmission in this case, an in-coverage UE may select an SLSS ID and transmit an SLSS generated based on the selected SLSS ID.
Khoryaev et al. (US 11,533,695 B2) discloses User Equipment (UE) and method of synchronization for sidelink based on priorization of synchronization signals.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412