DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on August 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 8 has been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 18, 2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) based upon an application filed in the People’s Republic of China on February 22, 2023. The claim for priority cannot be based on said application because the subsequent nonprovisional or international application designating the United States was filed more than twelve months thereafter and no petition under 37 CFR 1.55 or request under PCT Rule 26bis.3 to restore the right of priority has been granted.
Applicant may wish to file a petition under 37 CFR 1.55(c) to restore the right of priority if the subsequent application was filed within two months from the expiration of the twelve-month period and the delay was unintentional. A petition to restore the right of priority must include: (1) the priority claim under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) in an application data sheet, identifying the foreign application to which priority is claimed, by specifying the application number, country (or intellectual property authority), day, month, and year of its filing (unless previously submitted); (2) the petition fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(m)(3); and (3) a statement that the delay in filing the subsequent application within the twelve-month period was unintentional. The petition to restore the right of priority must be filed in the subsequent application, or in the earliest nonprovisional application claiming benefit under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) to the subsequent application, if such subsequent application is not a nonprovisional application. The Director may require additional information where there is a question whether the delay was unintentional. The petition should be addressed to: Mail Stop Petition, Commissioner for Patents, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450.
The effective filing date of the instant application is May 31, 2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “and GaN” should read “or GaN” (line 5). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bu et al. Light: Science & Applications (2023) 12:176 (hereinafter “Bu”).
Regarding claim 1, Bu discloses an integrated configurable photodetector with an ultra-high circular polarization extinction ratio (see Title, Abstract, and the paragraph on page 8 beginning with “In summary”), comprising a bottom substrate layer (SiO2 (285 nm)/Si; page 8, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, line 2), a metal reflective layer (Ti/Au/Ti, 10/100/5 nm; page 8, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, line 1), a dielectric layer (Al2O3, 200 nm; page 8, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, line 3), an electrode layer (Ti/Au (3/27 nm); page 8, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, lines 5-10), and a two-dimensional material layer (MoS2; pages 8-9, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, lines 10-21) from bottom to top, wherein the electrode layer and the two-dimensional material layer are able to be arranged in a reverse order; the electrode layer comprises a metallic two-dimensional chiral metamaterial (“plasmonic planar chiral structures”; Fig. 1a; page 2, Results, Concept and principle, line 5; note: Bu’s plasmonic planar chiral structures qualify as metamaterials based on the definition and description provided in the attached Wikipedia article “Metamaterial”) integrated in a source electrode (S in Fig. 1a) and a metallic two-dimensional chiral metamaterial (“plasmonic planar chiral structures”; Fig. 1a; page 2, Results, Concept and principle, line 5) integrated in a drain electrode (D in Fig. 1a), which are symmetrically arranged (Fig. 1a); the metallic two-dimensional chiral metamaterial integrated in the source electrode (“left-handed chiral structure”; page 2, Results, Concept and principle, lines 10-11) and the metallic two-dimensional chiral metamaterial integrated in the drain electrode (“right-handed chiral structure”; page 2, Results, Concept and principle, lines 13-15) are Z-shaped metallic optical antenna arrays with opposite chiral structures (“left-handed Z-antenna array on the left contact” and “right-handed Z-antenna array on the right contact”; Fig. 1 caption, lines 5-6);
when the integrated configurable photodetector with the ultra-high circular polarization extinction ratio operates at zero bias state, a photo-response is photovoltaic effect, hot electron injection, and photo-thermoelectric effect induced by a Schottky junction composed of the source electrode, the drain electrode and the two-dimensional material (page 2, Results, Concept and principle, lines 15-24; Fig. 1b and its caption; see also lines 438-439 on page 23 of the Supplementary Information which read: “Our device operates under zero-bias”); an intensity ratio of incident light of two Z-shaped metallic optical antenna arrays at the source electrode and the drain electrode is configured by moving an incident light spot, and thus the source electrode and the drain electrode are able to generate photocurrents with a same magnitude but opposite directions under irradiation of a circularly polarized light in any specific rotation direction, a net photocurrent output from the photodetector is zero (see paragraph beginning with “In this work” on page 2; see also Figs. 1f-g and 3a-i and their captions), and noise is reduced by 1 to 2 orders of magnitude (page 5, Ultrahigh-CPER mode, lines 14-18); and the photodetector continues to stably output a photocurrent (i=i1-i2; Fig. 1g) under irradiation of a circularly polarized light in another rotation direction ([Symbol font/0x63]; Fig. 1g).
Regarding claim 2, Bu discloses the bottom substrate layer is a support layer of the photodetector; the bottom substrate layer is made of a semiconductor process base material, and the semiconductor process base material comprises Si, GaAs, and (or) GaN (page 8, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, line 2).
Regarding claim 3, Bu discloses a thickness of the metal reflective layer (the thickness of the gold sublayer is 100 nm, and the total thickness of the Ti/Au/Ti multilayer is 115 nm; see page 8, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, line 1) is not less than twice a skin depth of electromagnetic waves in the metal reflective layer (skin depths of titanium and gold at a wavelength of 1.48 [Symbol font/0x6D]m (see Fig. 1 caption, line 11) are approximately 30 nm and 12 nm, respectively).
Regarding claim 4, Bu discloses the dielectric layer is a medium with a transparent operating band (Al2O3 is transparent over a broad wavelength range of approximately 150 nm to 5,500 nm); and a thickness of the dielectric layer is less than a quarter of a detection wavelength (the Al2O3 layer has a thickness of 200 nm (page 8, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, line 3), which is less than a quarter of a detection wavelength of 1.48 [Symbol font/0x6D]m = 1480 nm (Fig. 1 caption, line 11)).
Regarding claim 5, Bu discloses the electrode layer comprises the source electrode, the drain electrode, and the metallic two-dimensional chiral metamaterials (page 2, Results, Concept and principle, lines 1-5; see also Fig. 1a);
the source electrode and the drain electrode are symmetrically arranged (Fig. 1a), and a channel is provided between the source electrode and the drain electrode (page 9, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, lines 17-19); and
the metallic two-dimensional chiral metamaterials are integrated in the source electrode and the drain electrode, respectively (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 6, Bu discloses the two-dimensional material is arranged on the metallic two-dimensional chiral metamaterial, and the two-dimensional material is used to cross the channel and electrically connect the source electrode and the drain electrode (pages 8-9, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, lines 10-21; see also Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 7, Bu discloses a thickness of the electrode layer (3 nm Ti + 27 nm Au = 30 nm total thickness; see page 8, Materials and methods, Device fabrication, line 8) is not less than twice a skin depth of electromagnetic waves in the electrode layer (a skin depth of gold (Au) at a wavelength of 1.48 [Symbol font/0x6D]m is approximately 12 nm).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: J. Peng et al., “Direct detection of photon spin angular momentum by a chiral graphene mid-infrared photodetector,” Optics Letters, Vol. 44, No. 12, 15 June 2019. Peng et al. utilize chiral surface plasmon nanostructures as photodetector electrodes to generate photocurrents of equal and opposite sign according to incident photon spin.
/PETER M ALBRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811