Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 10 objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “further comprising a control unit controller is configured to”. The addition of the word “is” creates grammatical confusion, and the examiner suggests the removal of the word “is” to recite, “further comprising a control unit controller configured to enter…”.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “a why strainer”, however the examiner believes the Applicant intended to recite a “Y-strainer” or “wye strainer”, and thus suggested to amended as such.
Claim Interpretation
Note MPEP § 2114 recites how functional language in apparatus claims should be interpreted and what limitations should and should not be given patentable weight. For compact prosecution, the examiner has mapped all limitations within the most current claim set, however, the examiner wanted to make the Applicant aware that some of the functional language within the apparatus claims of the present application does not hold patentable weight, if there is no structural change associated with said amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inlet" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outlet" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1, 5, 17, 21, and 30 recite the limitation “the strainer branch has a longitudinal length”. Is it is unclear whether the claimed “longitudinal length” is the same “longitudinal length” recited earlier in the claim, in reference to the “strainer housing has a longitudinal length”. The examiner suggests these limitations be amended to say “a strainer branch longitudinal length” and “a strainer housing longitudinal length”.
Claim 3 recites the phrasing, “at least in part”, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear to the extent of on which this limitation is required due to the “in part” terminology.
Claim 32 recites the limitation “a strainer element”. This limitations renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if one strainer element was part of both of the claimed chambers, or if there are multiple strainer elements. The examiner believes the Applicant intended for multiple strainer elements and thus, will interpret as such. The examiner suggests the applicant to amend to “including a first and second strainer element respectively”.
Claims 2, 4, 6-16, 18-20, 22-29, 31, and 33-39 are rejected due to their dependency of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 12, 17-20, 22-25, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saxton (US20020144952A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saxton teaches a piping apparatus, comprising: a strainer {Abstract re. self-cleaning water filter & [0017] re. mesh screen 6 (strainer)} comprising a strainer housing {[0017] re. filter housing 2} including a strainer branch; {[0017] re. flush pipe 11}
wherein the strainer branch is configured to contain a strainer element in the strainer branch; {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11}
wherein the strainer housing has a longitudinal length extending from the inlet to the outlet, and the longitudinal length extends along a strainer housing longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer branch has a longitudinal length which extends along a strainer branch longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer housing longitudinal axis and the strainer branch longitudinal axis are at an angle (A) with respect to one another;
wherein the strainer housing includes one or more pressure sensors; {[0024] re. pressure sensors 34 and 36}
wherein, when the strainer element is in the strainer branch, {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11} at least one of the one or more pressure sensors is fixed to the strainer housing at a location upstream of the strainer element and/or is fixed to the strainer housing at a location downstream of the strainer element. {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
Regarding claim 2, Saxton teaches further comprising a control unit controller is configured to enter into a cleaning cycle based on an output of the one or more pressure sensors, {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures} wherein during the cleaning cycle, the control unit is configured to cause a valve to open for fluid within the strainer and/or solid matter in the strainer element to exit the strainer through the strainer branch. {[0024] re. open solenoid valve 22 and flushing away sediment blocking flow through the filter}
Regarding claim 3, Saxton teaches the one or more pressure sensors includes an upstream pressure sensor and a downstream pressure sensor each configured to generate an upstream and downstream output, respectively; {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
and the control unit is configured to enter into the cleaning cycle based, at least in part, on a comparison of the upstream output and the downstream output and determine if a difference in the outputs meets or exceeds a pre-set threshold. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Regarding claim 4, Saxton teaches wherein after a pre-set time, the control unit is further configured close the valve and exit the cleaning cycle. {[0029] re. interval of time solenoid valve 22 remains open before closing}
Regarding claim 6, Saxton teaches wherein: the one or more pressure sensors includes an upstream pressure sensor configured to generate an upstream output; {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet}
and the control unit is configured to enter the cleaning cycle based on a comparison of the upstream output with a high-pressure threshold. {[0024] re. flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on comparison with pressure threshold}
Regarding claim 7, Saxton teaches wherein: after a pre-set time, the control unit is further configured to cause valve to close and exit the cleaning cycle. {[0029] re. interval of time solenoid valve 22 remains open before closing}
Regarding claim 8, Saxton teaches wherein: the one or more pressure sensors includes a downstream pressure sensor configured to generate a downstream output; {[0024] re. pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
and the control unit is configured to enter the cleaning cycle based on a comparison of the downstream output with a low-pressure threshold. {[0024] re. flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on comparison with pressure threshold}
Regarding claim 9, Saxton teaches wherein: after a pre-set time, the control unit is further configured to cause valve to close and exit the cleaning cycle. {[0029] re. interval of time solenoid valve 22 remains open before closing}
Regarding claim 12, Saxton teaches wherein the angle A is a perpendicular angle. {[0017] re. 'T' joint and Figure 3, See Annotation Below}
Regarding claim 17, Saxton teaches a method of operating a piping apparatus, comprising: obtaining a strainer {Abstract re. method & [017] re. mesh screen 6 (strainer)} comprising a strainer housing {[0017] re. filter housing 2} including a strainer branch, {[0017] re. flush pipe 11} wherein the strainer branch is configured to contain a strainer element in the strainer branch; {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11}
wherein the strainer housing has a longitudinal length extending from the inlet (57) to the outlet, and the longitudinal length extends along a strainer housing longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer branch has a longitudinal length which extends along a strainer branch longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer housing longitudinal axis and the strainer branch longitudinal axis are at an angle (A) with respect to one another; {Figure 3, See Annotation Below}
wherein the strainer housing includes one or more pressure sensors; {[0024] re. pressure sensors 34 and 36}
wherein, when the strainer element is in the strainer branch, {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11} at least one of the one or more pressure sensors is fixed to the strainer housing at a location upstream of the strainer element and/or is fixed to the strainer housing at a location downstream of the strainer element; {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
establishing electronic communication between the one or more pressure sensors and a control unit; {[0024] re. interface logic 38 connecting the sensors}
receiving at least one signal from the one or more pressure sensors at the control unit; {[0024] re. interface logic 38 connecting the sensors through a cable (as shown in Figure 3)}
and determining pressure being applied to the one or more pressure sensors by fluid within the strainer based on the at least one signal with the control unit. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 determining pressure values measured by the two sensors}
Regarding claim 18, Saxton teaches wherein the controller is configured to enter into a cleaning cycle based on an output of the one or more pressure sensors, {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures} wherein during the cleaning cycle, the control unit is configured to cause a valve to open for fluid within the strainer and/or solid matter in the strainer element to exit the strainer through the strainer branch. {[0024] re. open solenoid valve 22 and flushing away sediment blocking flow through the filter}
Regarding claim 19, Saxton teaches wherein the one or more pressure sensors includes an upstream pressure sensor and a downstream pressure sensor configured to generate an upstream output and a downstream output, respectively, {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet} the method further comprising: receiving, at the controller, the upstream and downstream outputs; comparing the upstream output and the downstream output with the control unit; and entering into the cleaning cycle if a difference in the upstream output and the downstream output meets and/or exceeds a pre-set threshold. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Regarding claim 20, Saxton teaches further comprising: closing the valve after a pre-set time with and exiting the cleaning cycle. {[0029] re. interval of time solenoid valve 22 remains open before closing}
Regarding claim 22, Saxton teaches wherein the one or more pressure sensors includes an upstream pressure sensor configured to generate an upstream output, {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet} the method further comprising: receiving, at the controller, the upstream output; and entering into the cleaning cycle based on a comparison of the upstream output with a high-pressure threshold. {[0024] re. flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on comparison with pressure threshold}
Regarding claim 23, Saxton teaches wherein if the high-pressure threshold is meet or exceeded, the control unit is configured to enter the cleaning cycle {[0024] re. flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on comparison with pressure threshold} and, after a pre-set time, the controller is configured to cause the valve to close and exit the cleaning cycle. {[0029] re. interval of time solenoid valve (controlled by interface logic 38) 22 remains open before closing}
Regarding claim 24, Saxton teaches wherein the one or more pressure sensors includes a downstream pressure sensor configured to generate a downstream output; {[0024] re. pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
receiving, at the controller, the downstream output; and entering into the cleaning cycle based on a comparison of the downstream output with a low-pressure threshold. {[0024] re. flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on comparison with pressure threshold}
Regarding claim 25, Saxton teaches wherein if the low-pressure threshold is meet or exceeded, the control unit is configured to enter the cleaning cycle {[0024] re. pressure drop sensor flush controller} and, after a pre-set time, the controller is configured to cause the valve to close and exit the cleaning cycle. {[0029] re. interval of time solenoid valve (controlled by interface logic 38) 22 remains open before closing}
Regarding claim 38, Saxton teaches wherein: after a pre-set time, the control unit is further configured to cause the one or more flushing valves to close and exit the cleaning cycle. {[0029] re. interval of time solenoid valve 22 remains open before closing}
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxton (US20020144952A1).
Regarding claim 14, Saxton teaches wherein the controller is configured to repeat the cleaning cycle if the output of the one or more pressure sensors is not within a range. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Saxton is silent to wherein the controller is configured to repeat the cleaning cycle, however given Saxton continuously monitors pressures and automatically flushes the filters throughout these continuous-inline sensors {[0028] re. automatic flushing based on sensors} one of reasonable skill in the art would find it clear that once the sensor had closed, if the sensors and logic controller still had out of tolerance pressure readings, that the flushing cycle would be repeated until the filter had been cleared of debris.
Regarding claim 15, Saxton teaches wherein the controller is configured to repeat the cleaning cycle at least three times. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Similar to above, while Saxton is silent to the controller is configured to repeat the cleaning cycle at least three times, Saxton continuously monitors pressures and automatically flushes the filters throughout these continuous-inline sensors. {[0028] re. automatic flushing based on sensors} As the repetition of the cleaning cycle is a variable that can be modified, among others, optimizing the repetitions of the claimed cleaning cycle would be considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “at least three times” cannot be considered critical. See Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989) Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the repetitions of the cleaning cycles in the automatic cleaning filter of Saxton to ensure proper cleaning with minimal user invention, while simultaneously ensuring if the filter requires manual intervention, stopping the cleaning cycle to save fluid, time, and energy. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 27, Saxton teaches wherein the controller is configured to repeat the cleaning cycle if the output of the one or more pressure sensors is not within a range. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Saxton is silent to wherein the controller is configured to repeat the cleaning cycle, however given Saxton continuously monitors pressures and automatically flushes the filters throughout these continuous-inline sensors {[0028] re. automatic flushing based on sensors} one of reasonable skill in the art would find it clear that once the sensor had closed, if the sensors and logic controller still had out of tolerance pressure readings, that the flushing cycle would be repeated until the filter had been cleared of debris.
Regarding claim 28, Saxton teaches wherein the controller is configured to repeat the cleaning cycle three times. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Similar to above, while Saxton is silent to the controller is configured to repeat the cleaning cycle at least three times, Saxton continuously monitors pressures and automatically flushes the filters throughout these continuous-inline sensors. {[0028] re. automatic flushing based on sensors} As the repetition of the cleaning cycle is a variable that can be modified, among others, optimizing the repetitions of the claimed cleaning cycle would be considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “at least three times” cannot be considered critical. See Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989) Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the repetitions of the cleaning cycles in the automatic cleaning filter of Saxton to ensure proper cleaning with minimal user invention, while simultaneously ensuring if the filter requires manual intervention, stopping the cleaning cycle to save fluid, time, and energy. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 5, 13, 16, 21, 26, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxton (US20020144952A1), in view of Liu (CN109364567A). *Liu is directed to the attached, machine-translated, English version.
Regarding claim 5, Saxton teaches a piping apparatus, comprising: a strainer {Abstract re. self-cleaning water filter & [0017] re. mesh screen 6 (strainer)} comprising a strainer housing {[0017] re. filter housing 2} including a strainer branch; {[0017] re. flush pipe 11}
wherein the strainer branch is configured to contain a strainer element in the strainer branch; {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11}
wherein the strainer housing has a longitudinal length extending from the inlet to the outlet, and the longitudinal length extends along a strainer housing longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer branch has a longitudinal length which extends along a strainer branch longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer housing longitudinal axis and the strainer branch longitudinal axis are at an angle (A) with respect to one another; {Figure 3, See Annotation Below}
wherein the strainer housing includes one or more pressure sensors; {[0024] re. pressure sensors 34 and 36}
wherein, when the strainer element is in the strainer branch, {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11} at least one of the one or more pressure sensors is fixed to the strainer housing at a location upstream of the strainer element and/or is fixed to the strainer housing at a location downstream of the strainer element; {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
a control unit controller is configured to enter into a cleaning cycle based on an output of the one or more pressure sensors, {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures} wherein during the cleaning cycle, the control unit is configured to cause a valve to open for fluid within the strainer and/or solid matter in the strainer element to exit the strainer through the strainer branch; {[0024] re. open solenoid valve 22 and flushing away sediment blocking flow through the filter}
wherein in response to entering the cleaning cycle, the control unit is further configured to communicate with at least one electronic device. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve (electronic device) to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Saxton fails to teach a computer network.
Liu teaches a computer network. {[0046] re. central controller, display screen, and remote server user terminal}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxton with Liu’s teachings of a computer network as Liu, similar to Saxton, teaches an automatic cleaning filter within a wastewater system. {Liu, [0007]}. Doing so would increase the control of the user as this computer network allows the user to remotely monitor and control parameters of the system, not requiring the user to be on-site for this control, saving time and energy of the user. {Liu, [0046]}.
Regarding claim 13, Saxton teaches to configure a pressure threshold, a cleaning cycle duration, a valve opening time, and/or a valve closing time. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Saxton fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to remotely receive instructions.
Liu teaches wherein the controller is configured to remotely receive instructions. {[0046] re. central controller, display screen, and remote server user terminal}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxton with Liu’s teachings wherein the controller is configured to remotely receive instructions as Liu, similar to Saxton, teaches an automatic cleaning filter within a wastewater system. {Liu, [0007]}. Doing so would increase the control of the user as this computer network allows the user to remotely monitor and control parameters of the system, not requiring the user to be on-site for this control, saving time and energy of the user. {Liu, [0046]}.
Regarding claim 16, Saxton fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to cause an alarm to be generated if the output of the one or more pressure sensors is not within a range after a predetermined number of cleaning cycles is reached and/or exceeded.
Liu teaches wherein the controller is configured to cause an alarm to be generated if the output of the one or more pressure sensors is not within a range after a predetermined number of cleaning cycles is reached and/or exceeded. {[0010] re. moderate or serious jams}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxton with Liu’s teachings wherein the controller is configured to cause an alarm to be generated if the output of the one or more pressure sensors is not within a range after a predetermined number of cleaning cycles is reached and/or exceeded as Liu, similar to Saxton, teaches an automatic cleaning filter within a wastewater system. {Liu, [0007]}. Doing so creates a failsafe for manual intervention wherein the system cannot properly clean the filter, if sediment is stuck. This manual intervention alarm can save the machine and prevent further maintenance. {Liu, [0013]}
Liu is silent to after a predetermined number of cleaning cycles is reached and/or exceeded; however, Liu teaches wherein the alarm sounds after a predetermined set time between cleaning or blocking warnings. {Liu, [0052]}Given the preset time is based on a unit of measure once one or more cleaning and warning cycles have occurred, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be capable of modifying Liu to an alarm after a number of cleaning cycles in light of an alarm after a preset time.
Regarding claim 21, Saxton teaches a method of operating a piping apparatus, comprising: obtaining a strainer {Abstract re. method & [017] re. mesh screen 6 (strainer)} comprising a strainer housing {[0017] re. filter housing 2} including a strainer branch, {[0017] re. flush pipe 11} wherein the strainer branch is configured to contain a strainer element in the strainer branch; {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11}
wherein the strainer housing has a longitudinal length extending from the inlet (57) to the outlet, and the longitudinal length extends along a strainer housing longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer branch has a longitudinal length which extends along a strainer branch longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer housing longitudinal axis and the strainer branch longitudinal axis are at an angle (A) with respect to one another;
wherein the strainer housing includes one or more pressure sensors; {[0024] re. pressure sensors 34 and 36}
wherein, when the strainer element is in the strainer branch, {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11} at least one of the one or more pressure sensors is fixed to the strainer housing at a location upstream of the strainer element and/or is fixed to the strainer housing at a location downstream of the strainer element; {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
establishing electronic communication between the one or more pressure sensors and a control unit; {[0024] re. interface logic 38 connecting the sensors}
receiving at least one signal from the one or more pressure sensors at the control unit; {[0024] re. interface logic 38 connecting the sensors through a cable (as shown in Figure 3}
and determining pressure being applied to the one or more pressure sensors by fluid within the strainer based on the at least one signal with the control unit; {[0024] re. interface logic 38 determining pressure values measured by the two sensors}
wherein the controller is configured to enter into a cleaning cycle based on an output of the one or more pressure sensors, {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures} wherein during the cleaning cycle, the control unit is configured to cause a valve to open for fluid within the strainer and/or solid matter in the strainer element to exit the strainer through the strainer branch; {[0024] re. open solenoid valve 22 and flushing away sediment blocking flow through the filter}
wherein the one or more pressure sensors includes an upstream pressure sensor and a downstream pressure sensor configured to generate an upstream output and a downstream output, respectively, {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
the method further comprising: receiving, at the controller, the upstream and downstream outputs; {[0024] re. interface logic 38 connecting the sensors through a cable (as shown in Figure 3}
comparing the upstream output and the downstream output with the control unit; and electronically communicating to at least one electronic device {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve (electronic device) to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures} and to report when the control unit enter the cleaning cycle. {[0024] re. open solenoid valve 22 and flushing away sediment blocking flow through the filter}
Saxton fails to teach of a computer network with the control unit.
Liu teaches of a computer network with the control unit. {[0046] re. central controller, display screen, and remote server user terminal}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxton with Liu’s teachings of a computer network with the control unit as Liu, similar to Saxton, teaches an automatic cleaning filter within a wastewater system. {Liu, [0007]}. Doing so would increase the control of the user as this computer network allows the user to remotely monitor and control parameters of the system, not requiring the user to be on-site for this control, saving time and energy of the user. {Liu, [0046]}.
Regarding claim 26, Saxton fails to teach further comprising remotely receiving instructions to configure a pressure threshold, a cleaning cycle duration, a valve opening time, and/or a valve closing time at the controller.
Liu teaches further comprising remotely receiving instructions to configure a pressure threshold, a cleaning cycle duration, a valve opening time, and/or a valve closing time at the controller. {[0046] re. central controller, display screen, and remote server user terminal}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxton with Liu’s teachings further comprising remotely receiving instructions to configure a pressure threshold, a cleaning cycle duration, a valve opening time, and/or a valve closing time at the controller as Liu, similar to Saxton, teaches an automatic cleaning filter within a wastewater system. {Liu, [0007]}. Doing so would increase the control of the user as this computer network allows the user to remotely monitor and control parameters of the system, not requiring the user to be on-site for this control, saving time and energy of the user. {Liu, [0046]}.
Regarding claim 29, Saxton fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to cause an alarm to be generated if the output of the one or more pressure sensors is not within a range after a predetermined number of cleaning cycles is reached and/or exceeded.
Liu teaches wherein the controller is configured to cause an alarm to be generated if the output of the one or more pressure sensors is not within a range after a predetermined number of cleaning cycles is reached and/or exceeded. {[0010] re. moderate or serious jams}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxton with Liu’s teachings wherein the controller is configured to cause an alarm to be generated if the output of the one or more pressure sensors is not within a range after a predetermined number of cleaning cycles is reached and/or exceeded as Liu, similar to Saxton, teaches an automatic cleaning filter within a wastewater system. {Liu, [0007]}. Doing so creates a failsafe for manual intervention wherein the system cannot properly clean the filter, if sediment is stuck. This manual intervention alarm can save the machine and prevent further maintenance. {Liu, [0013]}.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxton (US20020144952A1), in view of Ku (US20050023196A1).
Regarding claims 10-11, Saxton fails to teach wherein the strainer includes a why strainer; (Claim 10) and wherein the angle A is an acute angle. (Claim 11)
Ku teaches wherein the strainer includes a why strainer; (Claim 10) {Title re. Y-Strainer} and wherein the angle A is an acute angle. (Claim 11) {Title re. Y-Strainer & Figure 4, See Annotation Below}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxton by adjusting the angle of the taught T-strainer (perpendicular angle) with Ku’s teachings wherein the strainer includes a why strainer; (Claim 10) and wherein the angle A is an acute angle (Claim 11) as Ku, similar to Saxton, teaches a joint strainer with automatic flushing/cleaning capabilities, wherein changing the angle of the strainer to acute, thus making a wye strainer would increase the speed and ease of filter replacement. {Ku, [0010]}.
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxton (US20020144952A1), in view of Yin (CN113209684A). *Yin is directed to the attached, machine-translated, English version.
Regarding claim 30, Saxton teaches a piping apparatus, comprising: a strainer {Abstract re. self-cleaning water filter & [0017] re. mesh screen 6 (strainer)} comprising a strainer housing {[0017] re. filter housing 2} including a strainer branch; {[0017] re. flush pipe 11}
wherein the strainer branch is configured to contain a strainer element in the strainer branch; {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11}
wherein the strainer housing has a longitudinal length extending from the inlet to the outlet, and the longitudinal length extends along a strainer housing longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer branch has a longitudinal length which extends along a strainer branch longitudinal axis; wherein the strainer housing longitudinal axis and the strainer branch longitudinal axis are at an angle (A) with respect to one another;
wherein, when the strainer element is in the strainer branch. {[0017] re. filter bowl 4 in connection with flush pipe 11}
Saxton fails to teach wherein the strainer housing includes one or more temperature sensors; and at least one of the one or more temperature sensors is fixed to the strainer housing at a location upstream of the strainer element and/or is fixed to the strainer housing at a location downstream of the strainer element.
Yin teaches wherein the strainer housing includes one or more temperature sensors; {[0030-0031] re. temperature sensor one and temperature sensor two} and at least one of the one or more temperature sensors is fixed to the strainer housing at a location upstream of the strainer element and/or is fixed to the strainer housing at a location downstream of the strainer element. {[0030-0031] re. temperature sensor one above the filter screen and temperature sensor two in the circulating chamber}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxton to include Yin’s teachings wherein the strainer housing includes one or more temperature sensors; and at least one of the one or more temperature sensors is fixed to the strainer housing at a location upstream of the strainer element and/or is fixed to the strainer housing at a location downstream of the strainer element as Yin teaches a filter screen with pressure sensors, similar to Saxton, along with the additional temperature sensors. {Yin, [0034} It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Saxton by the addition of the temperature sensors of Yin, along with the already present pressure sensors because, as known in the art, pressure and temperature are directly correlated; thus, having sensors to measure the temperature in additional to pressure sensors, provides the user with more accurate properties of fluid within the filtration process.
Regarding claim 31, Saxton teaches wherein the strainer housing includes one or more pressure sensors. {[0024] re. pressure sensors 34 and 36}
Claim(s) 32-37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxton (US20020144952A1), in view of Rogers (US20170021289A1).
Regarding claim 32, Saxton teaches a piping apparatus, comprising: a strainer {Abstract re. self-cleaning water filter & [0017] re. mesh screen 6 (strainer)} comprising: a strainer housing including: {[0017] re. filter housing 2} an inlet passage; an outlet passage; {Figure 3, See Annotation Below}
one or more flushing valves configured to selectively provide a flow of a flushing fluid through at least a portion of a selected one or more of the first and/or second strainer chambers {[0024] re. open solenoid valve 22} to remove contaminants/debris from the strainer element within the selected one or more of the first and/or second strainer chambers; {[0024] re. open solenoid valve 22 and flushing away sediment blocking flow through the filter}
and one or more one or more pressure sensors configured to be located upstream of the first and/or second strainer elements and/or located downstream of the first and/or second strainer elements. {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
Saxton fails to teach and a first and a second strainer chamber each including a strainer element; and a valve arrangement configured to selectively fluidly couple the inlet passage and the outlet passage to the first strainer chamber when in a first configuration and to selectively fluidly couple the inlet passage and the outlet passage to the second strainer chamber when in a second configuration.
Rogers teaches a first and a second strainer chamber each including a strainer element; {[0017] re. dual strainers} and a valve arrangement configured to selectively fluidly couple the inlet passage and the outlet passage to the first strainer chamber when in a first configuration {[0017] re. how the dual strainers allow for one side of the system to remain closed for maintenance and cleaning while the other side is in process (one side in process is one configuration, while the other side in process is the second configuration)} and to selectively fluidly couple the inlet passage and the outlet passage to the second strainer chamber when in a second configuration. {[0017] re. how the dual strainers allow for one side of the system to remain closed for maintenance and cleaning while the other side is in process (one side in process is one configuration, while the other side in process is the second configuration)}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the filtration line of Saxton with Rogers’ teachings a first and a second strainer chamber each including a strainer element; and a valve arrangement configured to selectively fluidly couple the inlet passage and the outlet passage to the first strainer chamber when in a first configuration and to selectively fluidly couple the inlet passage and the outlet passage to the second strainer chamber when in a second configuration as Rodgers, similar to Saxton, teaches a filtration system with strainers for catching debris. {Rodgers, Abstract} It is well known in the art that providing an additional “parallel” filtration line allows for increased efficiency, as downtime can be reduced or eliminated as maintenance can be performed on one line, while the other line is in operation. Similarly, providing this additional filtration line and valve arrangement would increase the safety of the operators as they no longer need to clean or change the strainers while the system is in operation. {Rodgers, [0017]}.
Regarding claim 33, Saxton teaches further comprising a controller is configured to enter into a cleaning cycle based on an output of the one or more pressure sensors. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Saxton modified by Rodgers is silent to the control unit transitioning between the first and second configurations, however, Rodgers teaches the switching of configurations in reference to the operators switching the system and Saxton teaches monitoring the thresholds and when to begin a cleaning cycle, MPEP section 2144.04 (III) states, "The court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art", thus this limitation is not distinguishable over Saxton modified by Rodgers.
Regarding claim 34, Saxon teaches wherein during the cleaning cycle, the control unit is further configured to cause the one or more flushing valves to provide the flow of the flushing fluid to the first strainer chamber. {[0024] re. open solenoid valve 22 and flushing away sediment blocking flow through the filter}
Regarding claim 35, Saxon teaches wherein: the one or more pressure sensors includes an upstream pressure sensor and a downstream pressure sensor each configured to generate an upstream and downstream output, respectively; {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet and pressure sensor 36 at filter head outlet}
and the control unit is configured to enter into the cleaning cycle based, at least in part, on a comparison of the upstream output and the downstream output and determine if a difference in the outputs meets or exceeds a pre-set threshold. {[0024] re. interface logic 38 comparing pressures between sensors and programmed to open a solenoid valve to start the flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on difference threshold between pressures}
Regarding claim 36, Saxton teaches wherein after a pre-set time, the control unit is further configured close the one or more flushing valves and exit the cleaning cycle. {[0029] re. interval of time solenoid valve 22 remains open before closing}
Regarding claim 37, Saxton teaches wherein: the one or more pressure sensors includes an upstream pressure sensor configured to generate an upstream output; {[0024] re. pressure sensor 34 at filter head inlet}
and the control unit is configured to enter the cleaning cycle based on a comparison of the upstream output with a high-pressure threshold. {[0024] re. flush cycle (cleaning cycle) based on comparison with pressure threshold}
Regarding claim 39, Saxton teaches the one or more flushing valves provide the flow of the flushing fluid to the first strainer chamber. {[0024] re. open solenoid valve 22 and flushing away sediment blocking flow through the filter}
While Saxton modified by Rodgers is silent to the fluid configured to flow into the inlet passage and exit the outlet passage substantially uninterrupted while the valve arrangement transitions from the first configuration to the second configuration, as mentioned above regarding the MPEP guidelines on automatic means to replace a manual activity, given Saxton modified by Rodgers teaches to one of ordinary skill in the art, and automated switching between first and second configurations, it would similarly be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the automated switching between the two flow paths, through the valve circled below, would result in substantially uninterrupted flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jin (CN107648911A), directed to a self-cleaning mesh filter with a control system for intelligent, automated usage, T-shaped, pressure differential comparison, inlets, outlets, and electrical components. *Jin is directed to the attached, machine-translated, English version.
/CONNOR J ROTONDI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1773 /JOSEPH W DRODGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773