DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed October 7, 2025 has been received, Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 3-14, 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoenborn (US 2006/0277792).
Regarding Claim 1, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly comprising: an upper midsole layer (18) defining a first cavity (medial one of 78; para.45) in an aft region (i.e. heel region), the first cavity extending substantially transversely relative to a longitudinal axis (as seen in Fig.1, 3 & 5; 78 extend transversely to the length/longitudinal axis of 18); a lower midsole layer (14,16) connected to the upper midsole layer (as seen in Fig.2), the lower midsole layer transversely covering the cavity (as seen in Fig.5 & 10-11); and an outsole layer (12) connected to the lower midsole layer (as seen in Fig.2); wherein the upper midsole layer defines a second cavity (lateral one of 78 directly across from medial one of 78) in the aft region extending substantially transversely relative to the longitudinal axis (as seen in Fig.1, 3 & 5; 78 extend transversely to the length/longitudinal axis of 18); and wherein the first cavity and the second cavity at least partially define a passageway (82; para.45, as seen in Fig.5 medial & lateral 78 “define” 82, inasmuch as has been claimed, as they shape the ends of 82), and further wherein the passageway is at least partially defined by a rear arch (i.e. arch of medial & lateral 78) of the sole assembly (as seen in Fig.5).
Regarding Claim 3, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the first cavity (medial one of 78) is aligned with the second cavity (lateral one of 78 directly across from medial one of 78)(as seen in Fig.5).
Regarding Claim 4, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the first cavity (medial one of 78) is in communication (via 82; para.45) with the second cavity (lateral one of 78 directly across from medial one of 78)(as seen in Fig.3 & 5).
Regarding Claim 5, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the outsole layer is grooved (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 6, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the lower midsole layer and the outsole layer form one or more pods (as seen in Fig.11 & 12 and annotated Figure below; the portions between grooves in 12 and 56a c of 14,16 are pods, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 7, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the upper midsole layer (18) defines at least one of a medial longitudinal concavity and a lateral longitudinal concavity (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 8, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the lower midsole layer (14) is exposed through at least one of a window and a cut-out (i.e. void between 20 & 22) defined in the outsole layer (12)(as seen in Fig.1 & 12).
Regarding Claim 9, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 8, wherein the cut-out is a first cut-out (i.e. void between 20 & 22), the upper midsole layer (18) is exposed through the first cut-out (i.e. void between 20 & 22), and the upper midsole layer is exposed through a second cut-out (80) defined in the lower midsole layer (14)(as seen in Fig.11-12; para.34).
Regarding Claim 10, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein a side (i.e. top side) of the upper midsole layer defines a plurality of grooves (72)(para.43; as seen in Fig.4).
Regarding Claim 11, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the outsole layer (12) is connected to the upper midsole layer (18) at a toe end and forms a toe wrap (i.e. projection at toe end of 12 that wraps upward on the toe end of 18)(as seen in Fig.2 & 11).
Regarding Claim 12, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the lower midsole layer (14,16) includes a forward portion (44,42) and a rear portion (14,40)(para.35; as seen in Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 13, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the outsole layer (12) includes a forward portion (20) and a rear portion (22)(as seen in Fig.1 & 12).
Regarding Claim 14, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 1, wherein the upper midsole layer (18) is exposed along a midfoot region (as seen in Fig.2, 18 is visible at the midfoot region).
Regarding Claim 16, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly comprising: an outsole layer (12); a lower midsole layer (14,16) connected to the outsole layer; an upper midsole layer (18) connected to the lower midsole layer (as seen in Fig.2), the upper midsole layer defining a well (64), a first cavity (medial one of 78), a second cavity (lateral one of 78 directly across from medial one of 78), and a transverse passageway (82; para.45), the lower midsole layer transversely covering the first cavity and the second cavity (as seen in Fig.5 & 10-11), the transverse passageway being in communication with the first cavity and the second cavity (as seen in Fig.3 & 5), and further wherein the passageway is at least partially defined by a rear arch of sole assembly (i.e. arch of medial & lateral 78)(as seen in Fig.5); and a drop-in layer (62) nested in the well (as seen in Fig.1 & 4; para.42).
Regarding Claim 19, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly comprising: an upper midsole layer (18) having a post (50b) located along a medial centerline (i.e. a transverse line extending from 50b/42 to 50a), defining a valley (42) connected to the post (as seen in Fig.1 & 2), and defining a transverse cavity (78) in an aft region; a lower midsole layer (14,16) connected to the upper midsole layer (as seen in Fig.2), the lower midsole layer transversely covering the transverse cavity (as seen in Fig.5 & 10-11); an outsole layer (12) connected to the lower midsole layer (as seen in Fig.2); wherein the transverse cavity is a first cavity (medial one of 78; para.45) wherein the upper midsole layer defines a second cavity a second cavity (lateral one of 78 directly across from medial one of 78) in the aft region and wherein the first cavity and the second cavity at least partially define a passageway (82; para.45, as seen in Fig.5 medial & lateral 78 “define” 82, inasmuch as has been claimed, as they shape the ends of 82), and further wherein the passageway is at least partially defined by a rear arch (i.e. arch of medial & lateral 78) of the sole assembly (as seen in Fig.5).
Regarding Claim 20, Schoenborn discloses a sole assembly of claim 19, wherein the valley (42) is defined along the medial centerline (i.e. a transverse line extending from 50b/42 to 50a)(as seen in Fig.11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenborn (US 2006/0277792) in view of Nishiwaki (US 2001/0052194).
Regarding Claim 17, Schoenborn discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Schoenborn does not disclose wherein the drop-in layer extends beyond a footbed of the upper midsole layer. However, Nishiwaki teaches an upper midsole layer (2) defining a well (8) and a drop-in layer (7,3) nested in the well (as seen in Fig.5 & 7); and wherein the drop-in layer extends beyond a footbed (i.e. top surface of 2) of the upper midsole layer (as seen in Fig.7; 7 extends over/beyond the top surface of 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drop-in layer of Schoenborn to extend beyond a footbed of the upper midsole layer, as taught by Nishiwaki, in order to provide a drop-in layer which facilitates the shearing transformation and contributes to improved cushioning.
Regarding Claim 18, Schoenborn discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Schoenborn does not disclose wherein the drop-in layer defines a plurality of cuts along a forward region. However, Nishiwaki teaches an upper midsole layer (2) defining a well (8) and a drop-in layer (7,3) nested in the well (as seen in Fig.5 & 7); and wherein the drop-in layer defines a plurality of cuts (32a) along a forward region (i.e. forward, front half of 7,3)(as seen in Fig.6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drop-in layer of Schoenborn to have a plurality of cuts, as taught by Nishiwaki, in order to provide a drop-in layer which facilitates the shearing transformation and contributes to improved cushioning.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but, as they are drawn solely to the newly amended limitations, are moot in view of the newly modified ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732