DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment, filed 06/01/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 5, 8, 9, 12, and 15-20 have been amended. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahawala et al. (“Kahawala”, Pub. No. 2023/0214509), Missig et al. (“Missig”, Pub. No. US 2014/0218372), Fang et al. (“Fang”, Pub. No. 2018/0307390), and Ojha et al. (Pat. No. US 12,511,282).
Per claim 1, Kahawala teaches a method of information processing, comprising:
in the presence of a first page collection, the first page collection comprising at least an open page (figs. 3-5; [0091]…The page tree may also show relationship of one document with another document in the workspace. However, other types of representation may also be used to display one or more documents in the navigational pane and/or editor pane. For example, in some cases, documents in a workspace may be listed alphabetically, by their last update date, and/or by author, and so on. Accordingly, in some cases, while displaying a document hierarchy, relationship between documents may or may not be displayed. [0095]…a page tree may display a document or a node along with its publication status, and showing its relationship with other documents in the page tree. For example, the child documents 408, 410, 412, and 414 are shown with their left indent 420 and/or 422 set to at least one or more tabs more with respect to a left indent set for their parent document 406 in the page tree. A pre-publication status of a document may, for example, be shown as 416, and a published or post-publication status of a document may, for example, be shown as 418. [0096]…In the editor pane, a user may update content of the document. In some cases, a document shown in the navigational pane and/or the editor pane may also display in addition to a title of the document, other information such as information about an owner of the document, last updated date for the document, a project and/or a workspace associated with document, and so on. [0113] in the author view and/or the reader view, content of a document may be displayed in the first GUI and/or the second GUI based on a selection of a document entry by the first user and/or the second user for further processing as described above using FIG. 3. The user may select a document shown in the page tree for viewing and/or editing the selected document in the editor pane as described above using FIG. 3.)
Kahawala does not specifically teach receiving a first instruction from a user through an interaction window between the user and a digital assistant and performing an operation corresponding to the first instruction based on the first page collection.
However, Missig teaches receiving a first instruction from a user through an interaction window between the user and a digital assistant and performing an operation corresponding to the first instruction based on the first page collection (fig. 6A-7E; [0183]…the digital assistant, when activated, optionally provides a dialogue panel in the user interface 602. The user, instead of providing a speech input 610, optionally, provides the task request using a text input (e.g., "Sort these by dates and merge into one document.") in the dialogue panel. [0186]…the device displays a dialogue panel 616 in proximity to the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant, and displays an iconic representation 618 of the first object 614 in the dialogue panel 616. In some embodiments, the device also displays an identifier (e.g., a filename) of the first object 614 that has been dropped onto the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant. In some embodiments, the dialogue panel 616 is displayed at a designated location on the display, e.g., on the left side or the right side of the display screen. [0192]…As shown in FIG. 6I, the sorting of the items in the spreadsheet documents by date have been completed, and the digital assistant proceeds to merge the sorted items into a single document, as requested. When the merging is completed, a status update 642 is provided in the dialogue panel 616. In response to seeing the status update 642, the user provides a second speech input 644 (e.g., "Open.") to open the merged document. In some embodiments, the digital assistant optionally provides a control (e.g., a hyperlink or button) in the dialogue panel 616 for opening the merged document. [0200]…FIG. 6O shows that the digital assistant has generated a new document showing the changes made in the first document 652 as compared to the second document 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant displays the new document in a native application of the two specified source documents 652 and 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, removes the iconic representation of the two documents 652 and 658 from the dialogue panel 616 to indicate that they are no longer going to serve as target objects for subsequent task requests. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, asks the user whether to keep holding the two documents 652 and 658 for subsequent requests. [0209]…the digital assistant displays a dialogue panel 710 on the user interface 702 to show the interactions between the user and the digital assistant. [0213]…In some embodiments, the user optionally takes the input focus briefly away from the document editor window 604 to the dialogue panel 710, e.g., to scroll through the pictures, or to type in a refinement criteria for the search (e.g., "Only show black and white pictures"). However, such brief context switching is still less time consuming and places less cognitive burden on the user than performing the search on the Internet by himself/herself without utilizing the digital assistant. [0214]…In some embodiments, while the user drags the image 714 over an appropriate insertion point in the document 706, the user optionally asks the digital assistant to resize (e.g., enlarge or shrink) the image 714 by providing a speech input (e.g., "Make it larger." or "Make is smaller."). When the image 714 is resized to an appropriate size by the digital assistant while the user is holding the image 714, the user proceeds to drop it into the document 706 at the appropriate insertion point, as shown in FIG. 7D.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
The modified Kahawal does not specifically teach the first page collection comprising a plurality of opened pages, wherein at least one of the plurality of opened pages is opened based on a control or content displayed in another one of the plurality of opened pages and wherein the operation comprises at least one of closing one or more of the plurality of opened pages in the first page collection, opening one or more documents, or editing at least one of the plurality of opened pages in the first page collection.
However, Fang teaches the first page collection comprising a plurality of opened pages, wherein at least one of the plurality of opened pages is opened based on a control or content displayed in another one of the plurality of opened pages ([0039]…tasks identified in the task database 206 may be based, either explicitly or implicitly, on prior concurrent access of content by the user 118 and/or by other users. As an example, the task database 206 stores a data set indicating that when a word processing document is open which contains content related to volcanoes, and a slideshow document is concurrently open, that the present task is most likely an academic presentation on the topic of volcanoes. Thus, in the example, the contextual information module 116 determined that content related to researching volcanoes, for instance a web page about famous volcanic eruptions, is most relevant to the context, e.g., the task. [0056]… Consider another example where the user 118 is a student working on a school paper about Albert Einstein. In this scenario, the user 118 interacts with a word processing document, e.g., the school paper, in the tab environment 110…In this example, the next step in the task is determined by the contextual information module 116 to be researching Albert Einstein via a web browser application of the tab environment 110. Responsive to receiving an input selecting the new tab control 128, the contextual information module 116 causes search results from a web browser application to be presented in the new tab 302 as the relevant content 204. In this way, the contextual information module 116 creates a contextual new tab experience in the tab environment 110 for the user 118. [0061]… the tabs 122a-122c are grouped as a tab group such that launching a new tab from one of the tabs 122a-122c will add the new tab to the tab group. In another example, a modified input can be provided that causes a new tab to launch in a new, separate tab group. [0063]…In this scenario, the tab environment 110 is illustrated as having three tabs currently presenting content (the tabs 122a, 122b, and 122c), [0083]… Step 706 determines relevant content for a likely subsequent step in progression of the task. For instance, the contextual information module 116 determines the next likely steps in progressing the present task and calls the contextual APIs 216 to obtain application features and content from the applications 106 that relate to the task. [0084]…Responsive to receiving an input at the interactive control, step 708 launches the new tab configured to display the relevant content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Fang in the invention of the modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with access to concurrently open pages, doing so would enhance efficiency by allowing access to plurality of relevant content/information/documents.
Ojha teaches wherein the operation comprises at least one of closing one or more of the plurality of opened pages in the first page collection, opening one or more documents, or editing at least one of the plurality of opened pages in the first page collection (fig. 3; co. 7, lines 35-58…The chat interface 310 includes a text field 312 in which a user can make requests and ask questions about the current document and the underlying data source that is represented in the visualizations, tables and other data show… In the example, the user has made a request to “change chart color.” The system, with interactions generated using the AI/ML model 140 or another model, generates a response asking which chart the user would like change. The user replies that the bar chart is the one to change. In response, the system uses the model 140 to generate different options that can carry out a type of change as requested by the user. For example, three different modified versions of the bar chart are shown with a question posed to the user of which option is preferred. The user can click one of the options to cause the system to update the main document with the formatting or other characteristics of the generated option selected. If the user does not prefer one of the three options shown, the user can continue interacting with the chatbot to make further requests or changes.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Ojha in the invention of the modified Kahawala to provide interacting with the chatbot to make requests or changes, doing so would enhance efficiency by providing to user with chatbot to assist the user for performing tasks and/or operations associated with one or more documents quickly and easily.
Per claim 5, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first page collection comprises one or more of: a collection of pages that have been manipulated during a pre-determined time period; a collection of pages that have been manipulated during a pre-determined time period and are in an open state upon receiving the first instruction; a collection of pages identified as associated with each other based on a user input; a collection of pages that are in an open state and meet a pre-determined association condition (Kahgawala, [0086]… The recent tab 308 may display a list of one or more documents created and/or accessed by a user, who is logged in into a document management system. Accordingly, for the one or more documents created by the user, the GUI 300 may represent an author view of the GUI, and for the one or more documents that are not created by the user, the GUI 300 may represent a reader view of the GUI. In other words, the author view and/or the reader view may determine which fields and functions/services may be displayed to the user [0100]…FIG. 6 is another example screen of the GUI of the front end application of the document management system, as described herein. In particularly, a view 600 of a GUI of a frontend application may list one or more documents that a user is working on. For example, one or more documents listed in the view 600 may be a document that the user has created and/or accessed for various purposes, including but not limited to, creating, editing, updating, removing, and/or a status update, and so on, over a different time periods, for example, today, in last 7 days, in last 30 days, and so on.).
Per claim 6, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: presenting prompt information in the interactive window to prompt the user that the digital assistant is currently working based on the first page collection (Missig, fig. 6A-7E; [0186], the device also displays an identifier (e.g., a filename) of the first object 614 that has been dropped onto the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant. In some embodiments, the dialogue panel 616 is displayed at a designated location on the display, e.g., on the left side or the right side of the display screen. [0192]…As shown in FIG. 6I, the sorting of the items in the spreadsheet documents by date have been completed, and the digital assistant proceeds to merge the sorted items into a single document, as requested. When the merging is completed, a status update 642 is provided in the dialogue panel 616. In response to seeing the status update 642, the user provides a second speech input 644 (e.g., "Open.") to open the merged document. In some embodiments, the digital assistant optionally provides a control (e.g., a hyperlink or button) in the dialogue panel 616 for opening the merged document. [0200]…FIG. 6O shows that the digital assistant has generated a new document showing the changes made in the first document 652 as compared to the second document 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant displays the new document in a native application of the two specified source documents 652 and 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, removes the iconic representation of the two documents 652 and 658 from the dialogue panel 616 to indicate that they are no longer going to serve as target objects for subsequent task requests. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, asks the user whether to keep holding the two documents 652 and 658 for subsequent requests. [0209]…the digital assistant displays a dialogue panel 710 on the user interface 702 to show the interactions between the user and the digital assistant. [0213]…In some embodiments, the user optionally takes the input focus briefly away from the document editor window 604 to the dialogue panel 710, e.g., to scroll through the pictures, or to type in a refinement criteria for the search (e.g., "Only show black and white pictures"). However, such brief context switching is still less time consuming and places less cognitive burden on the user than performing the search on the Internet by himself/herself without utilizing the digital assistant. [0214]…In some embodiments, while the user drags the image 714 over an appropriate insertion point in the document 706, the user optionally asks the digital assistant to resize (e.g., enlarge or shrink) the image 714 by providing a speech input (e.g., "Make it larger." or "Make is smaller."). When the image 714 is resized to an appropriate size by the digital assistant while the user is holding the image 714, the user proceeds to drop it into the document 706 at the appropriate insertion point, as shown in FIG. 7D.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Per claim 7, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the prompt information comprises an identification of the plurality of open pages or an identification of the first page collection (Missig, fig. 6A-7E; [0186], the device also displays an identifier (e.g., a filename) of the first object 614 that has been dropped onto the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant. In some embodiments, the dialogue panel 616 is displayed at a designated location on the display, e.g., on the left side or the right side of the display screen. [0192]…As shown in FIG. 6I, the sorting of the items in the spreadsheet documents by date have been completed, and the digital assistant proceeds to merge the sorted items into a single document, as requested. When the merging is completed, a status update 642 is provided in the dialogue panel 616. In response to seeing the status update 642, the user provides a second speech input 644 (e.g., "Open.") to open the merged document. In some embodiments, the digital assistant optionally provides a control (e.g., a hyperlink or button) in the dialogue panel 616 for opening the merged document. [0200]…FIG. 6O shows that the digital assistant has generated a new document showing the changes made in the first document 652 as compared to the second document 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant displays the new document in a native application of the two specified source documents 652 and 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, removes the iconic representation of the two documents 652 and 658 from the dialogue panel 616 to indicate that they are no longer going to serve as target objects for subsequent task requests. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, asks the user whether to keep holding the two documents 652 and 658 for subsequent requests. [0209]…the digital assistant displays a dialogue panel 710 on the user interface 702 to show the interactions between the user and the digital assistant. [0213]…In some embodiments, the user optionally takes the input focus briefly away from the document editor window 604 to the dialogue panel 710, e.g., to scroll through the pictures, or to type in a refinement criteria for the search (e.g., "Only show black and white pictures"). However, such brief context switching is still less time consuming and places less cognitive burden on the user than performing the search on the Internet by himself/herself without utilizing the digital assistant. [0214]…In some embodiments, while the user drags the image 714 over an appropriate insertion point in the document 706, the user optionally asks the digital assistant to resize (e.g., enlarge or shrink) the image 714 by providing a speech input (e.g., "Make it larger." or "Make is smaller."). When the image 714 is resized to an appropriate size by the digital assistant while the user is holding the image 714, the user proceeds to drop it into the document 706 at the appropriate insertion point, as shown in FIG. 7D.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Per claim 8, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the interaction window is one of the plurality of open pages (Kahawala, [0102]…a page tree 702a may include a parent document 702b and a child document 702c. A page status for both of the parent document 702b and 702c may be a pre-publication state. When the child document 702c is published, in other words, a draft status of the child document 702c is set by the author of the child document 702c is set to published, in one embodiment, the page status of the child document 702c may be updated to published or post-publication state, but the draft status of the parent document 702b may still remain as pre-publication state. And, when the parent document 702b is published, both the parent document 702b and the child document 702c may have their draft status updated to post-publication state); Missig, fig. 6A-7E; [0186], the device also displays an identifier (e.g., a filename) of the first object 614 that has been dropped onto the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant. In some embodiments, the dialogue panel 616 is displayed at a designated location on the display, e.g., on the left side or the right side of the display screen. [0192]…As shown in FIG. 6I, the sorting of the items in the spreadsheet documents by date have been completed, and the digital assistant proceeds to merge the sorted items into a single document, as requested. When the merging is completed, a status update 642 is provided in the dialogue panel 616. In response to seeing the status update 642, the user provides a second speech input 644 (e.g., "Open.") to open the merged document. In some embodiments, the digital assistant optionally provides a control (e.g., a hyperlink or button) in the dialogue panel 616 for opening the merged document. [0200]…FIG. 6O shows that the digital assistant has generated a new document showing the changes made in the first document 652 as compared to the second document 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant displays the new document in a native application of the two specified source documents 652 and 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, removes the iconic representation of the two documents 652 and 658 from the dialogue panel 616 to indicate that they are no longer going to serve as target objects for subsequent task requests. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, asks the user whether to keep holding the two documents 652 and 658 for subsequent requests.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Per claim 10, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, the interaction window comprises a conversational mode window between the user and the digital assistant, and a plurality of interaction messages related to the first page collection between the user and the digital assistant are presented in an aggregated form in the conversational mode window (Missig, Figs. 7A-7V shows conversational mode window 710; [0205]…FIGS. 7A-7V illustrate some example user interfaces and interactions in which a digital assistant is employed to assist the user in performing a secondary task while the user is engaged in a primary task, and in which the outcome of the second task is later utilized in the completion of the primary task. [0209]…the digital assistant displays a dialogue panel 710 on the user interface 702 to show the interactions between the user and the digital assistant. [0211]…As shown in FIG. 7C, the digital assistant has located a number of search results from the Internet, and displayed thumbnails 712 of the search results in the dialogue panel 710. Each of the search results displayed in the dialogue panel 710 links a respective picture of a terrestrial globe retrieved from the Internet. [0213]…In some embodiments, the user optionally takes the input focus briefly away from the document editor window 604 to the dialogue panel 710, e.g., to scroll through the pictures, or to type in a refinement criteria for the search (e.g., "Only show black and white pictures"). [0214]…In some embodiments, while the user drags the image 714 over an appropriate insertion point in the document 706, the user optionally asks the digital assistant to resize (e.g., enlarge or shrink) the image 714 by providing a speech input (e.g., "Make it larger." or "Make is smaller."). When the image 714 is resized to an appropriate size by the digital assistant while the user is holding the image 714, the user proceeds to drop it into the document 706 at the appropriate insertion point, as shown in FIG. 7D.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of the modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Per claim 11, the modified Kahawala teches the method of claim 10, wherein the aggregated form comprises a topic message form (Missig, Fig. 7A-7V show conversational mode window 710 comprise a topic message form related to context information of a current task of the user; [0209]…the digital assistant displays a dialogue panel 710 on the user interface 702 to show the interactions between the user and the digital assistant. [0210]…the context information includes the location, type, content of the object that has the current input focus. In this example, the digital assistant optionally uses the title and or text of the document 706 to determine that the user is interested in finding a picture of a terrestrial globe, rather than a regular sphere or a celestial globe. [0211]…As shown in FIG. 7C, the digital assistant has located a number of search results from the Internet, and displayed thumbnails 712 of the search results in the dialogue panel 710. Each of the search results displayed in the dialogue panel 710 links a respective picture of a terrestrial globe retrieved from the Internet. [0213]…In some embodiments, the user optionally takes the input focus briefly away from the document editor window 604 to the dialogue panel 710, e.g., to scroll through the pictures, or to type in a refinement criteria for the search (e.g., "Only show black and white pictures"). [0214]…In some embodiments, while the user drags the image 714 over an appropriate insertion point in the document 706, the user optionally asks the digital assistant to resize (e.g., enlarge or shrink) the image 714 by providing a speech input (e.g., "Make it larger." or "Make is smaller."). When the image 714 is resized to an appropriate size by the digital assistant while the user is holding the image 714, the user proceeds to drop it into the document 706 at the appropriate insertion point, as shown in FIG. 7D.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of the modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Per claim 12, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the identification of the plurality of open pages or the identification of the first page collection is presented in the conversational mode window together with the plurality of interaction messages in the aggregated form (Missig, Fig. 7A-7V show conversational mode window 710 comprise a topic message form related to context information of a current task of the user; [0186], the device also displays an identifier (e.g., a filename) of the first object 614 that has been dropped onto the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant. In some embodiments, the dialogue panel 616 is displayed at a designated location on the display, e.g., on the left side or the right side of the display screen. [0192]…As shown in FIG. 6I, the sorting of the items in the spreadsheet documents by date have been completed, and the digital assistant proceeds to merge the sorted items into a single document, as requested. When the merging is completed, a status update 642 is provided in the dialogue panel 616. In response to seeing the status update 642, the user provides a second speech input 644 (e.g., "Open.") to open the merged document. In some embodiments, the digital assistant optionally provides a control (e.g., a hyperlink or button) in the dialogue panel 616 for opening the merged document. [0200]…FIG. 6O shows that the digital assistant has generated a new document showing the changes made in the first document 652 as compared to the second document 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant displays the new document in a native application of the two specified source documents 652 and 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, removes the iconic representation of the two documents 652 and 658 from the dialogue panel 616 to indicate that they are no longer going to serve as target objects for subsequent task requests. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, asks the user whether to keep holding the two documents 652 and 658 for subsequent requests; [0209]…the digital assistant displays a dialogue panel 710 on the user interface 702 to show the interactions between the user and the digital assistant. [0210]…the context information includes the location, type, content of the object that has the current input focus. In this example, the digital assistant optionally uses the title and or text of the document 706 to determine that the user is interested in finding a picture of a terrestrial globe, rather than a regular sphere or a celestial globe. [0211]…As shown in FIG. 7C, the digital assistant has located a number of search results from the Internet, and displayed thumbnails 712 of the search results in the dialogue panel 710. Each of the search results displayed in the dialogue panel 710 links a respective picture of a terrestrial globe retrieved from the Internet. [0213]…In some embodiments, the user optionally takes the input focus briefly away from the document editor window 604 to the dialogue panel 710, e.g., to scroll through the pictures, or to type in a refinement criteria for the search (e.g., "Only show black and white pictures"). [0214]…In some embodiments, while the user drags the image 714 over an appropriate insertion point in the document 706, the user optionally asks the digital assistant to resize (e.g., enlarge or shrink) the image 714 by providing a speech input (e.g., "Make it larger." or "Make is smaller."). When the image 714 is resized to an appropriate size by the digital assistant while the user is holding the image 714, the user proceeds to drop it into the document 706 at the appropriate insertion point, as shown in FIG. 7D.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of the modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Per claim 13, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the interaction window further comprises a non-conversational mode window between the user and the digital assistant, and the method further comprises: synchronizing, to the conversational mode window, interaction information about the first page collection in the non-conversational mode window (Missig, fig. 7O shows a non-conversational mode window 734 (i.e. a floating window) which is in synchronized with conversational mode window 710 during interaction with the user. (It is noted that the interpretation of non-conversational mode window is in light of the specification the non-conversational mode is the floating window mode, see applicant’s specification [0071] and [0072]). [0231]… FIG. 7N illustrates that, after the digital assistant has acknowledged the user's request, the user terminates his or her own input on the user input device (e.g., releases the mouse button or lift-off the finger on the touch screen), and moves the pointer cursor 721 away from the selected icons 722, 724, and 726. When the pointer cursor 721 is moved away from the selected icons 722, 724, and 726, the icons remain selected in response to the emulated input provided by the digital assistant. The selected icons 722, 724, and 726 are neither returned to their original locations in the folder window 716 nor dropped onto the desktop 702, when the point cursor 721 is moved away from them. [0232]…FIG. 7O illustrates that, once the user and the pointing device are freed up by the digital assistant, the user proceeds to use the pointing device to create a new folder on the desktop 702. In some embodiments, the user invokes a context menu 734 on the desktop 702 using the pointing device, and selects the option for creating a new folder in the expanded context menu 734. In the meantime, the selected icons 722, 724, and 726 remain selected (e.g., shown in a suspended state over the desktop 702) in response to the emulated input provided by the digital assistant.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of the modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Per claim 14, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 1, wherein before receiving the first instruction from the user, the method further comprises: in response to presence of a plurality of page collections comprising the first page collection, presenting a page collection selection control and receiving selection of the user on the first page collection through the page collection selection control (Kahawala, (figs. 3-5; [0091]… As shown in FIG. 3, document hierarchy of a workspace may be displayed in the navigational pane and/or editor pane of the GUI. The document hierarchy is referred in the present disclosure as a page tree, but may also be referenced using other terms not described herein by a person skilled in the art. The page tree may also show relationship of one document with another document in the workspace. However, other types of representation may also be used to display one or more documents in the navigational pane and/or editor pane. For example, in some cases, documents in a workspace may be listed alphabetically, by their last update date, and/or by author, and so on. [0095]…a page tree may display a document or a node along with its publication status, and showing its relationship with other documents in the page tree. For example, the child documents 408, 410, 412, and 414 are shown with their left indent 420 and/or 422 set to at least one or more tabs more with respect to a left indent set for their parent document 406 in the page tree. A pre-publication status of a document may, for example, be shown as 416, and a published or post-publication status of a document may, for example, be shown as 418. [0096]…In the editor pane, a user may update content of the document. In some cases, a document shown in the navigational pane and/or the editor pane may also display in addition to a title of the document, other information such as information about an owner of the document, last updated date for the document, a project and/or a workspace associated with document, and so on).
Per claim 15, the modified Kahawala teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the operation comprises a first operation and a second operation, and performing the operation comprises: presenting an interaction message from the digital assistant through the interaction window, the interaction message indicating the user to confirm a result of the first operation and in response to receiving confirmation of the user on the result, performing the second operation based on the result (Missig, [0174]… when responding to the speech input 514 received from the user, the digital assistant invokes a dialogue module to provide a speech output to confirm which movie is to be played. As shown in FIG. 5D, the digital assistant provides a confirmation speech output 518 (e.g., "Did you mean this movie `How Gears Work?`"), where the name of the identified movie is provided in the confirmation speech output 518. [0175]…In some embodiments, a dialogue panel 520 is displayed in the user interface 502 to show the dialogue between the user and the digital assistant. As shown in FIG. 5D, the user has provided a confirmation speech input 522 (e.g., "Yes.") in response to the confirmation request by the digital assistant. Upon receiving the user's confirmation, the digital assistant starts executing the requested task, namely, playing the video "How Gears Work" in full screen mode, as shown in FIG. 5D. [0188]…In some embodiments, the prompt is provided as a text output 632 shown in the dialogue panel 616. In some embodiments, the prompt is a speech output provided by the digital assistant.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of the modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant with prompt request for user confirmation, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Per claim 16, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the operation comprises updating a target page, and the method further comprises: in response to completion of the operation, providing, in the interaction window, an option regarding whether to display the updated target page (Missig, (fig. 6A-7E; [0183]…the digital assistant, when activated, optionally provides a dialogue panel in the user interface 602. The user, instead of providing a speech input 610, optionally, provides the task request using a text input (e.g., "Sort these by dates and merge into one document.") in the dialogue panel. [0186]…the device displays a dialogue panel 616 in proximity to the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant, and displays an iconic representation 618 of the first object 614 in the dialogue panel 616. In some embodiments, the device also displays an identifier (e.g., a filename) of the first object 614 that has been dropped onto the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant. In some embodiments, the dialogue panel 616 is displayed at a designated location on the display, e.g., on the left side or the right side of the display screen. [0192]…As shown in FIG. 6I, the sorting of the items in the spreadsheet documents by date have been completed, and the digital assistant proceeds to merge the sorted items into a single document, as requested. When the merging is completed, a status update 642 is provided in the dialogue panel 616. In response to seeing the status update 642, the user provides a second speech input 644 (e.g., "Open.") to open the merged document. In some embodiments, the digital assistant optionally provides a control (e.g., a hyperlink or button) in the dialogue panel 616 for opening the merged document. [0200]…FIG. 6O shows that the digital assistant has generated a new document showing the changes made in the first document 652 as compared to the second document 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant displays the new document in a native application of the two specified source documents 652 and 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, removes the iconic representation of the two documents 652 and 658 from the dialogue panel 616 to indicate that they are no longer going to serve as target objects for subsequent task requests. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, asks the user whether to keep holding the two documents 652 and 658 for subsequent requests. [0209]…the digital assistant displays a dialogue panel 710 on the user interface 702 to show the interactions between the user and the digital assistant. [0213]…In some embodiments, the user optionally takes the input focus briefly away from the document editor window 604 to the dialogue panel 710, e.g., to scroll through the pictures, or to type in a refinement criteria for the search (e.g., "Only show black and white pictures"). However, such brief context switching is still less time consuming and places less cognitive burden on the user than performing the search on the Internet by himself/herself without utilizing the digital assistant. [0214]…In some embodiments, while the user drags the image 714 over an appropriate insertion point in the document 706, the user optionally asks the digital assistant to resize (e.g., enlarge or shrink) the image 714 by providing a speech input (e.g., "Make it larger." or "Make is smaller."). When the image 714 is resized to an appropriate size by the digital assistant while the user is holding the image 714, the user proceeds to drop it into the document 706 at the appropriate insertion point, as shown in FIG. 7D.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 8 respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claims 1.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahawala et al. (“Kahawala”, Pub. No. 2023/0214509), Missig et al. (“Missig”, Pub. No. US 2014/0218372), Fang et al. (“Fang”, Pub. No. 2018/0307390), and Ojha et al. (Pat. No. US 12,511,282), and Sarceda (Pub. No. 2022/0329545).
Per claim 2, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the interaction window is presented in response to an invoking operation on the digital assistant as described above, but does not teach invoking operation on the digital assistant in the first page collection.
However, Sarceda teaches invoking operation on the digital assistant in the first page collection ([0045]… GUI 300 may further include an intelligent assistant prompt 304. Intelligent assistant prompt 304 may be representative of a graphical element, which, when interacted with, may establish an interactive communication session with intelligent assistant 126. [0046]… Graphical user interface 320 (hereinafter “GUI 320”) may correspond to an updated view responsive to the user interacting with intelligent assistant prompt 304 in GUI 300. In some embodiments, GUI 320 may be a webpage presented in web browser 112 of client device 102. In some embodiments, GUI 320 may be a graphical user interface generated by application 110 executing on client device 102. [0052]…intelligent assistant 126 may further prompt a user of client device 102 for further information. For example, as shown, intelligent assistant 126 may prompt a user to upload relevant documents. To do so, a document upload prompt 344 may appear within the webpage. As illustrated, document upload prompt 344 may appear within intelligent assistant area 322. In this manner, a user may drag and drop relevant documents within intelligent assistant area 322. Organization computing system 104 may review and analyze the relevant documents to determine whether any additional content may be provided to the user.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Sarceda in the invention of modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with graphical representation element of the intelligent assistant, doing so would improve a user's experience by providing easily accessible to the digital assistant.
Per claim 3, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the invoking operation on the digital , the modified assistant in the first page collection comprises: triggering an entry control for the digital assistant displayed at a pre-determined position on a first page, or performing a pre-determined operation on the first page to invoke the entry control for the digital assistant and triggering the invoked entry control; wherein the first page is one of pages comprised in the first page collection (Sarceda, ([0045]… GUI 300 may further include an intelligent assistant prompt 304. Intelligent assistant prompt 304 may be representative of a graphical element, which, when interacted with, may establish an interactive communication session with intelligent assistant 126. [0046]… Graphical user interface 320 (hereinafter “GUI 320”) may correspond to an updated view responsive to the user interacting with intelligent assistant prompt 304 in GUI 300. In some embodiments, GUI 320 may be a webpage presented in web browser 112 of client device 102. In some embodiments, GUI 320 may be a graphical user interface generated by application 110 executing on client device 102. [0052]…intelligent assistant 126 may further prompt a user of client device 102 for further information. For example, as shown, intelligent assistant 126 may prompt a user to upload relevant documents. To do so, a document upload prompt 344 may appear within the webpage. As illustrated, document upload prompt 344 may appear within intelligent assistant area 322. In this manner, a user may drag and drop relevant documents within intelligent assistant area 322. Organization computing system 104 may review and analyze the relevant documents to determine whether any additional content may be provided to the user.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Sarceda in the invention of modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with graphical element of intelligent assistant, doing so would improve a user's experience by providing easily accessible to the digital assistant.
Per claim 4, the modified Khawala teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: in response to the invoking operation on the digital assistant in the first page collection, obtaining information of the first page collection to enable the target operation corresponding to the first instruction to be perform based on the first page collection upon receiving the first instruction (Missig, fig. 6A-7E; [0186],the device displays a dialogue panel 616 in proximity to the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant, and displays an iconic representation 618 of the first object 614 in the dialogue panel 616. In some embodiments, the device also displays an identifier (e.g., a filename) of the first object 614 that has been dropped onto the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant. In some embodiments, the dialogue panel 616 is displayed at a designated location on the display, e.g., on the left side or the right side of the display screen. [0192]…As shown in FIG. 6I, the sorting of the items in the spreadsheet documents by date have been completed, and the digital assistant proceeds to merge the sorted items into a single document, as requested. When the merging is completed, a status update 642 is provided in the dialogue panel 616. In response to seeing the status update 642, the user provides a second speech input 644 (e.g., "Open.") to open the merged document. In some embodiments, the digital assistant optionally provides a control (e.g., a hyperlink or button) in the dialogue panel 616 for opening the merged document. [0200]…FIG. 6O shows that the digital assistant has generated a new document showing the changes made in the first document 652 as compared to the second document 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant displays the new document in a native application of the two specified source documents 652 and 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, removes the iconic representation of the two documents 652 and 658 from the dialogue panel 616 to indicate that they are no longer going to serve as target objects for subsequent task requests. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, asks the user whether to keep holding the two documents 652 and 658 for subsequent requests. Sarceda, [0052]…intelligent assistant 126 may further prompt a user of client device 102 for further information. For example, as shown, intelligent assistant 126 may prompt a user to upload relevant documents. To do so, a document upload prompt 344 may appear within the webpage. As illustrated, document upload prompt 344 may appear within intelligent assistant area 322. In this manner, a user may drag and drop relevant documents within intelligent assistant area 322. Organization computing system 104 may review and analyze the relevant documents to determine whether any additional content may be provided to the user.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig and Sarceda in the invention of the modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahawala et al. (“Kahawala”, Pub. No. 2023/0214509), Missig et al. (“Missig”, Pub. No. US 2014/0218372), Fang et al. (“Fang”, Pub. No. 2018/0307390), and Ojha et al. (Pat. No. US 12,511,282) and Dasdan et al. (“Dasdan”, Pat. No. US 11,606,614).
Per claim 9, the modified Kahawala teaches the method of claim 8, comprising in response to invoking/re-invoking of the digital assistant, adjusting an order of the interaction window in the first page collection so that the interaction window is presented in the client interface (Missig, fig. 6A-7E; [0186], the device also displays an identifier (e.g., a filename) of the first object 614 that has been dropped onto the iconic representation 606 of the digital assistant. In some embodiments, the dialogue panel 616 is displayed at a designated location on the display, e.g., on the left side or the right side of the display screen. [0192]…As shown in FIG. 6I, the sorting of the items in the spreadsheet documents by date have been completed, and the digital assistant proceeds to merge the sorted items into a single document, as requested. When the merging is completed, a status update 642 is provided in the dialogue panel 616. In response to seeing the status update 642, the user provides a second speech input 644 (e.g., "Open.") to open the merged document. In some embodiments, the digital assistant optionally provides a control (e.g., a hyperlink or button) in the dialogue panel 616 for opening the merged document. [0200]…FIG. 6O shows that the digital assistant has generated a new document showing the changes made in the first document 652 as compared to the second document 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant displays the new document in a native application of the two specified source documents 652 and 658. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, removes the iconic representation of the two documents 652 and 658 from the dialogue panel 616 to indicate that they are no longer going to serve as target objects for subsequent task requests. In some embodiments, the digital assistant, optionally, asks the user whether to keep holding the two documents 652 and 658 for subsequent requests.), and excluding the interaction window, (Missig, fig. 6A-7E; which show the user can exclude the dialogue panel by not invoking the digital assistant or suspending the digital assistant by providing user’s input/command, see [0150]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Missig in the invention of the modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with a digital assistant to fulfill user’s requests, doing so would improve a user's experience in interacting with the system and promote the user's confidence in the system's services and capabilities.
The modified Kahawala does not teach a client interface of the user is configured to display N pages simultaneously with N being a positive integer, and the method further comprises: in response to that the number of the plurality of open pages is greater than N, presenting, in the client interface, N pages ranked lower in the first page collection, the N pages ranked lower.
However, Dasdan teaches a client interface of the user is configured to display N pages simultaneously with N being a positive integer, and the method further comprises: in response to that the number of the plurality of open pages is greater than N, presenting, in the client interface, N pages ranked lower in the first page collection, the N pages ranked lower (fig. 2a; simultaneously display a number document feeds, which are prioritized/ranked and displayed higher in the list order; col. 15, lines 1-6… The notifications 120 may also include information that may be used to prioritize or rank feed items in a user's feed. For example, notifications 120 may include a date on which an action item is due or is requested to be completed. A feed item corresponding to that notification may be ranked and/or prioritized in a user's event feed based on that date; col. 18, lines 30-36… In FIG. 2A, the event feed 202 is displayed in the GUI of a collaborative document system (e.g., the software application and/or software environment is that of a collaborative document system). Accordingly, feed items 204-1 and 204-2, which relate to user-generated documents in the collaborative document system, are prioritized and displayed higher in the list order; col. 18, lines 40-42…The event feed 202 may be scrollable, such that displayed feed items 204 may be scrolled out of view (e.g., towards the top of the GUI 200), while new feed items 204 may populate at the bottom of the event feed 202). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Dasdan in the invention of the modified Kahawala in order to provide the user with a prioritized and ranked of documents, doing so would improve a user's experience by providing the user with most relevant documents.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179