DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant’s state a torque tester 10 comprising a torque testing circuit 101, detection shaft 102 (see figs.1-2, see detailed description of spec, pages 5-6), which is not clear as applicant fail to explain what is a torque tester in regard to applicant’s invention? Applicant also failed to explain what is considered as a detection shaft of said torque tester? Applicant also failed to explain what is considered as a torque testing circuit? Spec, page 6, lines 3-4 states “The torque testing circuit 101 is used to calculate and obtain a test data 105 (Nm). Is torque testing circuit is a torque calculation circuit and therefore not clear? Appropriate clarifications and corrections are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1-5 and 6-10, applicant’s state a torque tester at least comprising a detection shaft, which is not clear as applicant fail to explain what is a torque tester in regard to applicant’s invention? Applicant also failed to explain what is considered as a detection shaft of said torque tester? Applicant also failed to explain what is considered as a torque testing circuit as mentioned in claim 7? Spec, page 6, lines 3-4 states “The torque testing circuit 101 is used to calculate and obtain a test data 105 (Nm). So is torque testing circuit is a torque calculation circuit and therefore not clear? Appropriate clarifications and corrections are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seith et al. (Pub.No.: US 2021/0132569 A1 and Seith hereinafter) in view of CHEN (Pub.No.: US 2012/0036970 A1).
As to claim 6, A force-multiplier structure assembled with a torque tester and an electric tool, the force- multiplier structure comprising:
a gear set arranged inside the force-multiplier structure;
a force-output end exposed at one end of the force-multiplier structure and geared and assembled with the gear set;
a force-input end exposed at the other end of the force-multiplier structure and geared and assembled with the gear set;
a signal transmission unit arranged inside the force-multiplier structure; and
a storage unit arranged inside the force-multiplier structure and electrically connected to the signal transmission unit,
wherein the signal transmission unit receives a test data which is detected and transmitted by the torque tester; the storage unit stores the test data.
(As to claim 6, Seith teaches a force-multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 76] (figs.3, 5, para [0062]) assembled with a torque tester [torque calibration measurement system 10] (figs.1-2, para’s [0001], [0002], [0004], [0046], [0050], [0064]-[0065], Seith teaches torque tester, calibration testing, see para. [0074]) and an electric tool [70B/70] (see figs.2-3, para’s [0059]-[0060]), the force- multiplier structure 76 (figs.3, 5, para. [0062]) comprising:
a gear set arranged (see par [0062], figs.3, 5) inside the force-multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 76];
a force-output end [torque output spindle end 78] (figs.3, 5, para. [0062], [0064]-[0065]) exposed at one end of the force-multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 76] (figs.3, 5) and geared and assembled with the gear set (see figs.3, 5, Sieth teaches torque multiplier 76 comprises gearbox and employs geartrains, (see para’s [0062], [0064]);
a force-input end [torque input end] (connecting motor 84 of tool 70, see figs.3 & 5) exposed at the other end of the force-multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 76] (see figs.3, 5) and geared and assembled with the gear as Sieth teaches torque multiplier 76 comprises gearbox and employs geartrains (see para’s [0062], [0064]) and also teaches rotational energy of motor of the electric tool 70 is transferred to the multiplier gearbox, see para. [0065]);
Seith teaches (fig.3, para’s [0059], lines 16-23 & [0060] & [0073]) a signal transmission unit [control unit 86 (90)] and a storage unit [memory 88] electrically connected to the signal transmission unit [control unit 86 (90)],
Wherein the signal transmission unit [control unit 86 (90)] (of electric tool 70/[70B) (figs.2-3) receives a test data [torque measurement data, torque calibration factor], which is detected (via [torque transducer 34], see fig.2, para’s [0050], [0065]) and transmitted (via communication port 36, communication cable 38, fig.2, para. [0050]-[0051]) by the torque tester [torque calibration measurement system 10] (figs.1-2), the storage unit [memory 88] stores the test data (see fig.3, para. [0073], fig.11D, step 2800 and see para’s [0078] thru [0083]).)
Seith does not mention a signal transmission unit arranged inside the force-multiplier structure; and a storage unit arranged inside the force-multiplier structure and electrically connected to the signal transmission unit, wherein the signal transmission unit receives a test data.
CHEN teaches a force multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 100] (figs.1-3, para’s [0002]-[0005], [0021]), wherein a signal transmission unit [microprocessor 53] (of information transmission circuit 50, see fig.4) arranged inside (via body 10, see fig.1, para. [0030]) the force-multiplier structure 100; and a storage unit [memory 54] (of information transmission circuit 50, see fig.4, para. [0030]) arranged inside the force-multiplier structure 100 and electrically connected to the signal transmission unit [microprocessor 53], wherein the signal transmission unit [microprocessor 53] receives a test data [torque measurement data] (via torque sensor 30, signal pick-up device123, see fig.4, para’s [0030] thru [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have a signal transmission unit arranged inside the force-multiplier structure; and a storage unit arranged inside the force-multiplier structure and electrically connected to the signal transmission unit, wherein the signal transmission unit receives a test data of CHEN in the system of Seith because the effectiveness of the torque multiplier is that the torque sensor is mounted to the torque input shaft to precisely detect the torque value Further, these data of the torque value and angle value are transmitted by an information transmission circuit, in a wired or wireless fashion, to an electronic device, such as a personal computer, a notebook computer, a mobile phone, and a personal digital assistant (PDA), for storage, display and use, whereby a user may directly access the data of torque value and angle value obtained in the torque multiplier through a handy electronic device in order to ensure the operation quality of tightening/loosening bolts and nuts (see CHEN, para. [0009]).
As to claim 7, The force-multiplier structure of claim 6, wherein the torque tester comprises a torque testing circuit, a detection shaft, and a communication module; the torque testing circuit is electrically connected to the detection shaft and the communication module; the one end of the force-multiplier structure is assembled onto the detection shaft, so that the signal transmission unit is connected with the communication module.
(As to claim 7, Seith teaches a force-multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 76] (figs.3, 5, para [0062]), comprising the torque tester [torque calibration measurement system 10] (figs.1-2, para’s [0001], [0002], [0004], [0046], [0050], [0064]-[0065] & [0074]) comprises a torque testing circuit [torque calibrating processor circuit 18] (see fig.2, para’s [0049]-[0050]), a detection shaft [rotating section 40] of torque measurement transducer 34 (see figs.2, 6-7, para. [0065]), and a communication module [communication port 36, Communication cable 38] (see fig.2); the torque testing circuit [torque calibrating processor circuit 18] is electrically connected to the torque measurement transducer 34, relative to the detection shaft [rotating section 40] (see figs.2, 6-7, see para. [0065]) and the communication module 36, 38; the one end [spindle 78] of the force-multiplier structure [76] (figs.3, 5, 6-7, 8) is assembled onto the detection shaft 40 (see fig.8, para’s [0065], [0067], [0068]), so that the signal transmission unit 86 (90) (of electric tool 70, figs.2-3) is connected with the communication module 36,38 for data upload , see para’s [0051] thru [0054] & [0073].)
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 8, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 6 & 7, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-5 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 1, Seith teaches (figs1, 2, 3) an electric tool torque calibration control system 10 (figs.1-5, para’s [0046]-[0049]) comprising:
a torque tester [torque calibrating processor 18] (see fig.2, para’s [0049]-[0050]) at least comprising a detection shaft [rotating section 40] of torque measurement transducer 34 (see figs.2, 6-7, para. [0065]), and a communication module [communication port 36, Communication cable 38] (see fig.2);
Seith teaches a force-multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 76] (figs.3, 5, para [0062]) comprising [torque output spindle end 78] (figs.3, 5, para. [0062], [0064]-[0065]) exposed at one end of the force-multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 76] (figs.3, 5), and a force-input end [torque input end] (connecting motor 84 of tool 70, see figs.3 & 5) exposed at the other end of the force-multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 76] (see figs.3, 5); and
an electric tool [70B/70] (figs.2-3, 5) at least comprising a force-output terminal [torque output of motor 84 of tool 70], fig.3, para. [0065]), a control circuit 86, and a signal transmission module [internal torque transducer 94] (see fig.3, para. [0060]), wherein the signal transmission module [internal torque transducer 94] is electrically connected to the control circuit 86 (90) (see para. [0060]),
wherein the one end [spindle 78] of the force-multiplier structure [76] (figs.3, 5, 8-9) is assembled onto the detection shaft 40 (rotating section 40 of transducer 34, see figs. 8-9, para’s [0065], [0067], [0068]),
Seith teaches (fig.3, para’s [0059], lines 16-23 & [0060] & [0073]) a signal transmission unit [control unit 86 (90)] and a storage unit [memory 88] electrically connected to the signal transmission unit [control unit 86 (90)],
Wherein the signal transmission unit [control unit 86 (90)] (of electric tool 70/[70B) (figs.2-3) receives a test data [torque measurement data, torque calibration factor], which is detected (via [torque transducer 34], see fig.2, para’s [0050], [0065]) and transmitted (via communication port 36, communication cable 38, fig.2, para. [0050]-[0051]) by the torque tester [torque calibration processor 18] (of torque calibrating measurement system 10, see figs.1-2), the storage unit [memory 88] stores the test data (see fig.3, para. [0073], fig.11D, step 2800 and see para’s [0078] thru [0083]).)
Seith does not mention the signal transmission unit and the storage unit are arranged inside the force- multiplier structure, and the storage unit is electrically connected to the signal transmission unit;
CHEN teaches a force multiplier structure [torque multiplier structure 100] (figs.1-3, para’s [0002]-[0005], [0021]), wherein a signal transmission unit [microprocessor 53] (of information transmission circuit 50, see fig.4) arranged inside (via body 10, see fig.1, para. [0030]) the force-multiplier structure 100; and a storage unit [memory 54] (of information transmission circuit 50, see fig.4, para. [0030]) arranged inside the force-multiplier structure 100 and electrically connected to the signal transmission unit [microprocessor 53], wherein the signal transmission unit [microprocessor 53] receives a test data [torque measurement data] (via torque sensor 30, signal pick-up device123, see fig.4, para’s [0030] thru [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have the signal transmission unit and the storage unit are arranged inside the force- multiplier structure, and the storage unit is electrically connected to the signal transmission unit, wherein the signal transmission unit receives a test data of CHEN in the system of Seith because the effectiveness of the torque multiplier is that the torque sensor is mounted to the torque input shaft to precisely detect the torque value Further, these data of the torque value and angle value are transmitted by an information transmission circuit, in a wired or wireless fashion, to an electronic device, such as a personal computer, a notebook computer, a mobile phone, and a personal digital assistant (PDA), for storage, display and use, whereby a user may directly access the data of torque value and angle value obtained in the torque multiplier through a handy electronic device in order to ensure the operation quality of tightening/loosening bolts and nuts (see CHEN, para. [0009]).
However, as to claim 1, (Seith and CHEN in combination) fails to teach the signal transmission unit transmits the test data to the signal transmission module; the signal transmission module transmits the test data to the control circuit; the control circuit drives the force-multiplier structure to rotate based on the test data.
As to claim 8, (Seith and CHEN) fails to teach the force-output terminal of the electric tool is assembled with the force-input end of the force-multiplier structure, so that the signal transmission unit is electrically connected to the signal transmission module. Claims 9-10 depend on allowable claim 8.
However, formal requirements outstanding (Objection to spec, 35 USC 112 rejection) needs to be corrected and clarified.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846