DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 05/31/2024, wherein claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 08/23/2024 and 10/14/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 14-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 20, Aman discloses a system, an apparatus, and a video capture device comprising:
a first structure configured to house a first plurality of cameras, each camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with a second plurality of cameras on a second structure and a third plurality of cameras on a third, overhead structure, wherein the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras are controllably directed toward at least one specified entity; the second structure configured to house the second plurality of cameras, each camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with the first; the third, overhead structure configured to house the third plurality of cameras (Aman Fig. 2, [0286]: perspective view camera assemblies 30c to track subject, i.e. first structure with first plurality of first cameras. Filming camera assemblies 40c, i.e. second structure with plurality of second cameras. Overhead camera assembly 20c, i.e. third structure with plurality of cameras, mounted to the ceiling as in [0286]; Fig. 4a and 5a, [0289]: the cameras capture images of a player 10; [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288], [0311], [0313], [0394]: all cameras 20c, 230c and 40c can be synchronized. Motion synchronization of pan and tilt angles of cameras 40c and 30c); and
a controller configured to generate and send control signals to the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within a defined space that is observable by the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras housed in the first, second, and third structures (Aman [0378], [0403], [0454]: processing element 45a receives directives from system 200 and controls the automatic function of pan motor 45b, tilt motor 45c and zoom motor 45d to control the center of view of camera 45f-cv with synchronized camera controlled movement; [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288]: cameras are synchronized).
Aman discloses first and second plurality of cameras being controllably movable in synchronization as discussed in [0288] above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having each third camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with the first and second pluralities of cameras, as taught by Aman, for consistency of image capture for better tracking of object (Aman [0288]).
Regarding claim 14, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman discloses wherein the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras are configured to track a plurality of specified entities as the plurality of specified entities moves within the defined space that is viewable by the cameras in the first, second, and third structures (Aman Figs. 5a and 7-9, [0339]-[0341], [0348], [0350], [0357]-[0359]: tracking of players 10-1, 10-2 and 10-3).
Regarding claim 18, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 15.
Aman discloses a processor configured to stitch video feeds from the first, second, and/or third pluralities of cameras into a combined video feed (Aman [0293], [0310], [0368]: merging multiple fields -of-view of cameras 20c-1 through 20c-40 into a single combined view 20w).
Regarding claim 19, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 18.
Aman discloses wherein the processor uses the combined video feed to create a three-dimensional model of the specified entity (Aman [0286], [0331], [0337], [0350], [0369], [0374], [0382]-[0386]: three-dimensional tracking dataset).
2. Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Pride (U.S. 2018/0063405).
Regarding claim 2, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman does not explicitly disclose at least one modular flooring element, wherein the modular flooring element includes at least one portion of transparent material and at least one camera underneath the portion of transparent material.
However, Pride discloses at least one modular flooring element, wherein the modular flooring element includes at least one portion of transparent material and at least one camera underneath the portion of transparent material (Pride Figs. 2-6, [0023], [0062]-[0069], [0009]: a floor may be constructed or modified to integrate mesh cameras, as in [0045], having a mesh camera insert 310 such that mesh camera sits below a flooring cover 305, and a glass or plastic cover 320 is positioned over the insert 310. Mesh camera 500 in a canister 525 and transparent cover 515 as in Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having at least one modular flooring element, wherein the modular flooring element includes at least one portion of transparent material and at least one camera underneath the portion of transparent material, as taught by Pride, to image object from underneath with camera sealed and protected (Pride [0065], [0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Aman and Pride disclose all limitations of claim 2.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element is configured to pivot from a central axis to maintain focus on the specified entity.
However, Pride discloses the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element is configured to pivot from a central axis to maintain focus on the specified entity (Pride Figs. 2-6, [0069]: mesh camera 500 pivot, rotate, swivel and zoom in order to capture video of object by align lens with a target as in [0041]-[0042], [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element is configured to pivot from a central axis to maintain focus on the specified entity, as taught by Pride, to track movement of object from underneath (Pride [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Aman and Pride disclose all limitations of claim 2.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first structure or the second structure is positioned on the modular flooring element.
However, Pride discloses at least one of the first structure or the second structure is positioned on the modular flooring element (Pride Figs. 1-6, [0026], [0062], [0072]: plurality of mesh cameras such as cameras 130, 135 and 140 can be used with the constructed floor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having at least one of the first structure or the second structure is positioned on the modular flooring element, as taught by Pride, to track movement of object from underneath (Pride [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Aman and Pride disclose all limitations of claim 2.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller additionally generates and sends control signals to the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within the defined space.
However, Pride discloses the controller additionally generates and sends control signals to the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within the defined space (Pride Figs. 1-6, [0042], [0044], [0027]-[0028]: mesh camera pivoting or swivel movement is facilitated by ways of motors receiving instruction from an integrated microcontroller).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the controller additionally generates and sends control signals to the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within the defined space, as taught by Pride, to automatically track movement of object from underneath (Pride [0042], [0008]).
3. Claims 6-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Xu (CN 113676645 – see translation attached).
Regarding claim 6, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman does not explicitly disclose at least one dynamic ceiling element that is part of a dynamic ceiling, wherein the dynamic ceiling element comprises a structural component and at least one controllably moveable camera mounted thereto.
However, Xu discloses at least one dynamic ceiling element that is part of a dynamic ceiling, wherein the dynamic ceiling element comprises a structural component and at least one controllably moveable camera mounted thereto (Xu Fig. 1, [0025], [0014]: a slide rail 1 can be installed on a ceiling of a room and camera 4 can move on the side rail 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having at least one dynamic ceiling element that is part of a dynamic ceiling, wherein the dynamic ceiling element comprises a structural component and at least one controllably moveable camera mounted thereto, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient monitoring task of a desired location (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Aman and Xu disclose all limitations of claim 6.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the structural component of the dynamic ceiling element is configured to telescope upward or downward relative to the dynamic ceiling.
However, Xu discloses wherein the structural component of the dynamic ceiling element is configured to telescope upward or downward relative to the dynamic ceiling (Xu Fig. 1, [0007]-[0008], [0014], [0025]-[0026], [0032]: a control telescopic rod 3 is connected to the lower surface of the conductive slider 2 that is slidably connected to slide rail 1. The camera 4 is connected to bottom end of the control telescopic rod 3 and can be lowered to a certain height).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having wherein the structural component of the dynamic ceiling element is configured to telescope upward or downward relative to the dynamic ceiling, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient monitoring task of a desired location (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 8, Aman and Xu disclose all limitations of claim 7.
Aman does not explicitly disclose the dynamic ceiling comprises a plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements, each with controllably moveable cameras attached thereto.
However, Aman discloses plurality of ceiling cameras 20c.
Xu further discloses the dynamic ceiling comprises telescoping, dynamic ceiling element, each with controllably moveable camera attached thereto (Xu Fig. 1, [0007]-[0008], [0014], [0025]-[0026], [0032]: a control telescopic rod 3 is connected to the lower surface of the conductive slider 2. The camera 4 is connected to bottom end of the control telescopic rod 3 and can be lowered to a certain height).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the dynamic ceiling comprises a plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements, each with controllably moveable cameras attached thereto, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient monitoring task of a desired location (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Aman and Xu disclose all limitations of claim 8.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements dynamically telescope upward or downward based on a current position of the specified entity.
Aman discloses control cameras based on a current position of the specified entity [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288]: cameras are synchronized).
Xu further discloses the plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements dynamically telescope upward or downward based on a current position of a specified entity (Xu Fig. 1, [0007]-[0008], [0014], [0025]-[0026], [0032]: a control telescopic rod 3 is connected to the lower surface of the conductive slider 2. The camera 4 is connected to bottom end of the control telescopic rod 3 and can be lowered to a certain height to monitor a specific location).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements dynamically telescope upward or downward based on a current position of the specified entity, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient viewing and monitoring task of a desired location or object (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Aman and Xu disclose all limitations of claim 7.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements include one or more vertical actuators that activate telescoping upon receiving a specified control signal.
Xu further discloses the telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements include one or more vertical actuators that activate telescoping upon receiving a specified control signal (Xu Fig. 1, [0008], [0025]-[0026], [0032]: A control board and controller to control the camera slider system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements include one or more vertical actuators that activate telescoping upon receiving a specified control signal, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient viewing and monitoring task of a desired location or object (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 15.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure are mobile.
However, Xu discloses at least one of the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure are mobile (Xu Fig. 1, [0025], [0014]: a slide rail 1 can be installed on a ceiling of a room and camera 4 can move on the side rail 1 to capture images of different scene, hence camera 4 is mobile).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having at least one of the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure are mobile, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient monitoring task of desired locations (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
4. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Li et al. (U.S. 2021/0183041) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 11, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the cameras in the first, second, or third pluralities of cameras includes a motorized zoom lens.
However, Aman discloses zoom motor for cameras (Aman [0378], [0406]: zoom motor 45d).
Furthermore, Li discloses cameras includes a motorized zoom lens (Li [0061]: motorized zoom lens can be used).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate at least one of the cameras in the first, second, or third pluralities of cameras includes a motorized zoom lens, as taught by Li, for capturing image in desired range (Li [0061]).
5. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Price et al. (U.S. 2019/0295273) hereinafter Price.
Regarding claim 12, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the cameras in the first, second, or third pluralities of cameras includes an infrared light sensor (Aman [0099], [0594]: infrared cameras can be used).
Aman does not explicitly disclose the infrared light sensor configured to detect textures associated with the specified entity.
However, Price discloses the infrared light sensor configured to detect textures associated with the specified entity ([0077]: infrared cameras can detect added texture on an object, hence texture associated with a specified entity).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the infrared light sensor configured to detect textures associated with the specified entity, as taught by Price, for improved object tracking (Price [0009]).
6. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Sonoura (U.S. 2009/0052740).
Regarding claim 13, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman does not explicitly disclose at least one laser configured to track movements of and follow the specified entity.
However, Sonoura discloses at least one laser configured to track movements of and follow the specified entity (Sonoura [0042]-[0043], [0003]: laser can be used to detect and follow a moving object for tracking)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having at least one laser configured to track movements of and follow the specified entity, as taught by Sonoura, for accurately tracking of object (Sonoura [0041], [0056], [0094]).
7. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Daniels (U.S. 2021/0185296).
Regarding claim 17, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 16.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller directs the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure to follow and maintain a specified distance away from the specified entity.
However, Daniels discloses wherein the controller directs the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure to follow and maintain a specified distance away from the specified entity (Daniels Figs. 2-4, [0032], [0068]: distance from the cameras 21-24 to a moving target is maintained).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having wherein the controller directs the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure to follow and maintain a specified distance away from the specified entity, as taught by Price, for desired clear views of object (Daniels [0009], [0032], [0068]).
Conclusion
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486