DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/17/2026, wherein claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 05/13/2026 and 06/12/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment/ Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 12 and 20, filed on 04/17/2026, have been considered but are moot in new ground of rejection. The combination of Aman and Srivastava discloses all the limitations as cited in independent claim 20. See the following rejection.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, 13 and 15, filed on 04/17/2026, have been considered but are not persuasive. The previously cited references Aman discloses all the limitations as cited in independent claim. See the following rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 11, 13-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman.
Regarding claim 1, Aman discloses a system comprising:
a first structure configured to house a first plurality of cameras, each camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with a second plurality of cameras on a second structure and a third plurality of cameras on a third, overhead structure, wherein the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras are controllably directed toward at least one specified entity; the second structure configured to house the second plurality of cameras, each camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with the first; the third, overhead structure configured to house the third plurality of cameras (Aman Fig. 2, [0286]: perspective view camera assemblies 30c to track subject, i.e. first structure with first plurality of first cameras. Filming camera assemblies 40c, i.e. second structure with plurality of second cameras. Overhead camera assembly 20c, i.e. third structure with plurality of cameras, mounted to the ceiling as in [0286]; Fig. 4a and 5a, [0289]: the cameras capture images of a player 10; [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288], [0311], [0313], [0394]: all cameras 20c, 230c and 40c can be synchronized. Motion synchronization of pan and tilt angles of cameras 40c and 30c); and
a controller configured to generate and send control signals to the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within a defined space that is observable by the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras housed in the first, second, and third structures (Aman [0378], [0403], [0454]: processing element 45a receives directives from system 200 and controls the automatic function of pan motor 45b, tilt motor 45c and zoom motor 45d to control the center of view of camera 45f-cv with synchronized camera controlled movement; [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288]: cameras are synchronized),
wherein the controller is further configured to: individually control one or more operational parameters of each camera independently of other cameras, including at least one of zoom, pan, tilt, frame capture rate, or focal setting (Aman Fig. 11g, [0394: filming assemblies 40c-A and 40c-B are jointly mounted onto rack 40c-R. The pan, tilt motions of the assemblies can be separately controlled so that they are under separate operation and their movements will necessary not be identical),
coordinate the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras such that, at a given time, different cameras are configured to capture different aspects of the specified entity, including at least one of a face, a body portion, an object associated with the specified entity, or an action performed by the specified entity (Aman Fig. 2, [0286]: perspective view camera assemblies 30c to track subject, i.e. first structure with first plurality of first cameras. Overhead camera assemblies 20c which capture images from above the object. Perspective filming camera assemblies 40c, i.e. second structure with plurality of second cameras, which captures different aspects of an entity, as in Figs. 11a-11c and Fig. 2 and 18-19, [0416]-[0417], as compared to the overhead camera assemblies 20c. A face, or body, an object associated with the entity, such as a puck, or an action performed by the entity can be captured as in [0331], [0471], [0286]-[0290], [0377]), and
dynamically update the operational parameters of the cameras as the specified entity moves within the defined space (Aman [0377], [0406]: dynamically determine which of the controlled filming stations, such as 40c of camera 45f, is best located to film the on-coming view of an identified player 10 currently carrying the puck. The camera 40c is kept to be strictly centered on puck movement, it may also dedicate other stations similar to 40c to follower key players 10. The system can follow two players on opposing teams; [0378]: the system controls the automatic function of pan motor, tilt motor and zoom motor of the filming station 40c of camera 45f. Hence, dynamically update the operational parameters of the camera including pan, tilt and zoom to keep the camera centered on a specified entity as the entity moves within a space).
Aman discloses first and second plurality of cameras being controllably movable in synchronization as discussed in [0288] above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having each third camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with the first and second pluralities of cameras, as taught by Aman, for consistency of image capture for better tracking of object (Aman [0288]).
Regarding claim 15, Aman discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first structure configured to house a first plurality of cameras, each camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with a second plurality of cameras on a second structure and a third plurality of cameras on a third, overhead structure, wherein the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras are controllably directed toward at least one specified entity; the second structure configured to house the second plurality of cameras, each camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with the first; the third, overhead structure configured to house the third plurality of cameras (Aman Fig. 2, [0286]: perspective view camera assemblies 30c to track subject, i.e. first structure with first plurality of first cameras. Filming camera assemblies 40c, i.e. second structure with plurality of second cameras. Overhead camera assembly 20c, i.e. third structure with plurality of cameras, mounted to the ceiling as in [0286]; Fig. 4a and 5a, [0289]: the cameras capture images of a player 10; [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288], [0311], [0313], [0394]: all cameras 20c, 230c and 40c can be synchronized. Motion synchronization of pan and tilt angles of cameras 40c and 30c); and
a controller configured to generate and send control signals to the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within a defined space that is observable by the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras housed in the first, second, and third structures (Aman [0378], [0403], [0454]: processing element 45a receives directives from system 200 and controls the automatic function of pan motor 45b, tilt motor 45c and zoom motor 45d to control the center of view of camera 45f-cv with synchronized camera controlled movement; [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288]: cameras are synchronized),
the controller is further configured to: identify, within the defined space, a plurality of entities including the specified entity and at least one additional entity, allocate a first subset of the cameras to capture image data of the specified entity and a second subset of the cameras to simultaneously capture image data of the additional entity (Aman [0276]: a player and referee identification system 500; [0286]-[0287]: create tracking database of the player with their location information and automatically direct one or more camera assemblies 40c to capture action of the players 10 with puck; [0377], [0406]: determine which of the controlled filming stations, such as 40c of camera 45f, is best located to film the on-coming view of an identified player 10 currently carrying the puck. The camera 40c is kept to be strictly centered on puck movement, it may also dedicate other stations similar to 40c to follower key players 10. Hence, allocate a first subset of cameras for a specified entity. The system can follow two players on opposing teams. Hence, another second subset of cameras can be allocated for additional entity; [0378]: the system controls the automatic function of pan motor, tilt motor and zoom motor of the filming station 40c of camera 45f),
dynamically adjust an allocation of cameras between the first subset and the second subset based on a determined relative importance of the specified entity and the additional entity (Aman [0377]: dynamically determine which of its controlled cameras, such as 40c, is best to film the on-coming view of the player currently carrying the puck. Identities of players, such as players 10-1, 10-2 and 10-3, currently on the tracking surface can be matched against information characterizing each player’s popularity and relative importance of the game action as well as tendencies to effect play by carrying the puck, shooting or checking. The system can dedicate camera stations similar to 40c to following a key player 10 or follow two known “hitters” on opposing teams. Hence, dynamically adjust allocation of camera subsets based on determined relative importance of specified entity and additional entity), and
control the cameras such that a proportion of cameras assigned to each entity varies over time as the entities move within the defined space (Aman [0044]: automatically direct any number of perspective tracking cameras to follow and record participants such as players. Hence, any number of cameras can be assigned to follow each entity, hence any proportion of cameras and which can vary over time).
Aman discloses first and second plurality of cameras being controllably movable in synchronization as discussed in [0288] above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having each third camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with the first and second pluralities of cameras, as taught by Aman, for consistency of image capture for better tracking of object (Aman [0288]).
Regarding claim 11, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1
Aman discloses the controller is further configured to: identify, within the defined space, a plurality of entities including the specified entity and at least one additional entity, allocate a first subset of the cameras to capture image data of the specified entity and a second subset of the cameras to simultaneously capture image data of the additional entity (Aman [0276]: a player and referee identification system 500; [0286]-[0287]: create tracking database of the player with their location information and automatically direct one or more camera assemblies 40c to capture action of the players 10 with puck; [0377], [0406]: determine which of the controlled filming stations, such as 40c of camera 45f, is best located to film the on-coming view of an identified player 10 currently carrying the puck. The camera 40c is kept to be strictly centered on puck movement, it may also dedicate other stations similar to 40c to follower key players 10. Hence, allocate a first subset of cameras for a specified entity. The system can follow two players on opposing teams. Hence, another second subset of cameras can be allocated for additional entity; [0378]: the system controls the automatic function of pan motor, tilt motor and zoom motor of the filming station 40c of camera 45f),
dynamically adjust an allocation of cameras between the first subset and the second subset based on a determined relative importance of the specified entity and the additional entity (Aman [0377]: dynamically determine which of its controlled cameras, such as 40c, is best to film the on-coming view of the player currently carrying the puck. Identities of players, such as players 10-1, 10-2 and 10-3, currently on the tracking surface can be matched against information characterizing each player’s popularity and relative importance of the game action as well as tendencies to effect play by carrying the puck, shooting or checking. The system can dedicate camera stations similar to 40c to following a key player 10 or follow two known “hitters” on opposing teams. Hence, dynamically adjust allocation of camera subsets based on determined relative importance of specified entity and additional entity), and
control the cameras such that a proportion of cameras assigned to each entity varies over time as the entities move within the defined space (Aman [0044]: automatically direct any number of perspective tracking cameras to follow and record participants such as players. Hence, any number of cameras can be assigned to follow each entity, hence any proportion of cameras and which can vary over time).
Regarding claim 13, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman discloses an illumination system configured to illuminate the defined space; wherein the illumination system comprises one or more strobe light sources that are synchronized with image capture operations of the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras; and wherein the controller is further configured to coordinate operation of the strobe light sources with the cameras to reduce motion blur of the specified entity during capture of image data (Aman [0313], [0356], Fig. 9c: synchronize camera assemblies such as 20c, 30c and 40c to area strobe lighting thereby ensuring that images are captured only when the strobe is firing; [0406]: shutter of camera 55f is only activated when both the lamps providing ambient light are discharging and the camera 55f is at an allowed pan, tilt and zoom setting. Synchronize camera with venue lighting thereby supporting higher speed image capture and crisper images for better image as in [0072], [0084], hence can reduce motion blur).
Regarding claim 14, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman discloses wherein the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras are configured to track a plurality of specified entities as the plurality of specified entities moves within the defined space that is viewable by the cameras in the first, second, and third structures (Aman Figs. 5a and 7-9, [0339]-[0341], [0348], [0350], [0357]-[0359]: tracking of players 10-1, 10-2 and 10-3).
Regarding claim 18, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 15.
Aman discloses a processor configured to stitch video feeds from the first, second, and/or third pluralities of cameras into a combined video feed (Aman [0293], [0310], [0368]: merging multiple fields -of-view of cameras 20c-1 through 20c-40 into a single combined view 20w).
Regarding claim 19, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 18.
Aman discloses wherein the processor uses the combined video feed to create a three-dimensional model of the specified entity (Aman [0286], [0331], [0337], [0350], [0369], [0374], [0382]-[0386]: three-dimensional tracking dataset).
2. Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Pride (U.S. 2018/0063405).
Regarding claim 2, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman does not explicitly disclose at least one modular flooring element, wherein the modular flooring element includes at least one portion of transparent material and at least one camera underneath the portion of transparent material.
However, Pride discloses at least one modular flooring element, wherein the modular flooring element includes at least one portion of transparent material and at least one camera underneath the portion of transparent material (Pride Figs. 2-6, [0023], [0062]-[0069], [0009]: a floor may be constructed or modified to integrate mesh cameras, as in [0045], having a mesh camera insert 310 such that mesh camera sits below a flooring cover 305, and a glass or plastic cover 320 is positioned over the insert 310. Mesh camera 500 in a canister 525 and transparent cover 515 as in Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having at least one modular flooring element, wherein the modular flooring element includes at least one portion of transparent material and at least one camera underneath the portion of transparent material, as taught by Pride, to image object from underneath with camera sealed and protected (Pride [0065], [0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Aman and Pride disclose all limitations of claim 2.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element is configured to pivot from a central axis to maintain focus on the specified entity.
However, Pride discloses the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element is configured to pivot from a central axis to maintain focus on the specified entity (Pride Figs. 2-6, [0069]: mesh camera 500 pivot, rotate, swivel and zoom in order to capture video of object by align lens with a target as in [0041]-[0042], [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element is configured to pivot from a central axis to maintain focus on the specified entity, as taught by Pride, to track movement of object from underneath (Pride [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Aman and Pride disclose all limitations of claim 2.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first structure or the second structure is positioned on the modular flooring element.
However, Pride discloses at least one of the first structure or the second structure is positioned on the modular flooring element (Pride Figs. 1-6, [0026], [0062], [0072]: plurality of mesh cameras such as cameras 130, 135 and 140 can be used with the constructed floor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having at least one of the first structure or the second structure is positioned on the modular flooring element, as taught by Pride, to track movement of object from underneath (Pride [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Aman and Pride disclose all limitations of claim 2.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller additionally generates and sends control signals to the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within the defined space.
However, Pride discloses the controller additionally generates and sends control signals to the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within the defined space (Pride Figs. 1-6, [0042], [0044], [0027]-[0028]: mesh camera pivoting or swivel movement is facilitated by ways of motors receiving instruction from an integrated microcontroller).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the controller additionally generates and sends control signals to the camera underneath the portion of transparent material in the modular flooring element to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within the defined space, as taught by Pride, to automatically track movement of object from underneath (Pride [0042], [0008]).
3. Claims 6-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Xu (CN 113676645 – see translation attached).
Regarding claim 6, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman does not explicitly disclose at least one dynamic ceiling element that is part of a dynamic ceiling, wherein the dynamic ceiling element comprises a structural component and at least one controllably moveable camera mounted thereto.
However, Xu discloses at least one dynamic ceiling element that is part of a dynamic ceiling, wherein the dynamic ceiling element comprises a structural component and at least one controllably moveable camera mounted thereto (Xu Fig. 1, [0025], [0014]: a slide rail 1 can be installed on a ceiling of a room and camera 4 can move on the side rail 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having at least one dynamic ceiling element that is part of a dynamic ceiling, wherein the dynamic ceiling element comprises a structural component and at least one controllably moveable camera mounted thereto, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient monitoring task of a desired location (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Aman and Xu disclose all limitations of claim 6.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the structural component of the dynamic ceiling element is configured to telescope upward or downward relative to the dynamic ceiling.
However, Xu discloses wherein the structural component of the dynamic ceiling element is configured to telescope upward or downward relative to the dynamic ceiling (Xu Fig. 1, [0007]-[0008], [0014], [0025]-[0026], [0032]: a control telescopic rod 3 is connected to the lower surface of the conductive slider 2 that is slidably connected to slide rail 1. The camera 4 is connected to bottom end of the control telescopic rod 3 and can be lowered to a certain height).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having wherein the structural component of the dynamic ceiling element is configured to telescope upward or downward relative to the dynamic ceiling, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient monitoring task of a desired location (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 8, Aman and Xu disclose all limitations of claim 7.
Aman does not explicitly disclose the dynamic ceiling comprises a plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements, each with controllably moveable cameras attached thereto.
However, Aman discloses plurality of ceiling cameras 20c.
Xu further discloses the dynamic ceiling comprises telescoping, dynamic ceiling element, each with controllably moveable camera attached thereto (Xu Fig. 1, [0007]-[0008], [0014], [0025]-[0026], [0032]: a control telescopic rod 3 is connected to the lower surface of the conductive slider 2. The camera 4 is connected to bottom end of the control telescopic rod 3 and can be lowered to a certain height).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the dynamic ceiling comprises a plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements, each with controllably moveable cameras attached thereto, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient monitoring task of a desired location (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Aman and Xu disclose all limitations of claim 8.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements dynamically telescope upward or downward based on a current position of the specified entity.
Aman discloses control cameras based on a current position of the specified entity [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288]: cameras are synchronized).
Xu further discloses the plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements dynamically telescope upward or downward based on a current position of a specified entity (Xu Fig. 1, [0007]-[0008], [0014], [0025]-[0026], [0032]: a control telescopic rod 3 is connected to the lower surface of the conductive slider 2. The camera 4 is connected to bottom end of the control telescopic rod 3 and can be lowered to a certain height to monitor a specific location).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the plurality of telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements dynamically telescope upward or downward based on a current position of the specified entity, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient viewing and monitoring task of a desired location or object (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Aman and Xu disclose all limitations of claim 7.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements include one or more vertical actuators that activate telescoping upon receiving a specified control signal.
Xu further discloses the telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements include one or more vertical actuators that activate telescoping upon receiving a specified control signal (Xu Fig. 1, [0008], [0025]-[0026], [0032]: A control board and controller to control the camera slider system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having the telescoping, dynamic ceiling elements include one or more vertical actuators that activate telescoping upon receiving a specified control signal, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient viewing and monitoring task of a desired location or object (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 15.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure are mobile.
However, Xu discloses at least one of the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure are mobile (Xu Fig. 1, [0025], [0014]: a slide rail 1 can be installed on a ceiling of a room and camera 4 can move on the side rail 1 to capture images of different scene, hence camera 4 is mobile).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having at least one of the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure are mobile, as taught by Xu, to improve efficient monitoring task of desired locations (Xu [0014], [0003], [0025]).
5. Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Srivastava et al. (U.S. 2018/0314877) hereinafter Srivastava.
Regarding claim 12, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Aman discloses the controller is further configured to: coordinate the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras such that, at a given time, image data of the specified entity is captured simultaneously by multiple cameras from different perspectives relative to the specified entity, and generate a composite representation of the specified entity based on the image data captured simultaneously from some of the multiple cameras (Aman Fig. 2, [0286]: perspective view camera assemblies 30c to track subject, i.e. first structure with first plurality of first cameras. Overhead camera assemblies 20c which capture images from above the object. Perspective filming camera assemblies 40c, i.e. second structure with plurality of second cameras, which captures different aspects of an entity, as in Figs. 11a-11c and Fig. 2 and 18-19, as compared to the overhead camera assemblies 20c and camera assemblies 30c; [0394]: controlling the pan, tilt and zoom motion of the cameras to simultaneous capture image; [0288], [0311], [0313], [0394]: all cameras 20c, 230c and 40c can be synchronized; [0286]: combined field of views 20v of multiple overhead camera assemblies 20c are large enough; [0293], [0322], [0339], [0366], Figs. 7 and 10: merging multiple field-of-views of camera assemblies 20c-1 through 20c-4 into a single combined view 20w).
Srivastava discloses coordinate the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras such that, at a given time, image data of the specified entity is captured simultaneously by multiple cameras from different perspectives relative to the specified entity, and generate a composite representation of the specified entity based on the image data captured simultaneously from the multiple cameras (Srivastava Figs. 2, 4 and 6, [0057], [0078], [0046]: the images are taken by each of the cameras simultaneously; [0067]: multiple cameras each has a different view of the objects are used as in Figs. 4 and 6; [0020]-[0021], [0098]: combining object data from the captured object images of the cameras to obtain a composite object data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate generating a composite representation of the specified entity based on the image data captured simultaneously from some of the multiple cameras, as taught by Srivastava, to improve recognition of objects (Srivastava [0003], [0016]).
Regarding claim 20, Aman discloses a video capture device comprising:
a first structure configured to house a first plurality of cameras, each camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with a second plurality of cameras on a second structure and a third plurality of cameras on a third, overhead structure, wherein the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras are controllably directed toward at least one specified entity; the second structure configured to house the second plurality of cameras, each camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with the first; the third, overhead structure configured to house the third plurality of cameras (Aman Fig. 2, [0286]: perspective view camera assemblies 30c to track subject, i.e. first structure with first plurality of first cameras. Filming camera assemblies 40c, i.e. second structure with plurality of second cameras. Overhead camera assembly 20c, i.e. third structure with plurality of cameras, mounted to the ceiling as in [0286]; Fig. 4a and 5a, [0289]: the cameras capture images of a player 10; [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288], [0311], [0313], [0394]: all cameras 20c, 230c and 40c can be synchronized. Motion synchronization of pan and tilt angles of cameras 40c and 30c); and
a controller configured to generate and send control signals to the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras to track the specified entity as the specified entity moves within a defined space that is observable by the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras housed in the first, second, and third structures (Aman [0378], [0403], [0454]: processing element 45a receives directives from system 200 and controls the automatic function of pan motor 45b, tilt motor 45c and zoom motor 45d to control the center of view of camera 45f-cv with synchronized camera controlled movement; [0174], [0083], [0102]: pan, tilt and zoom of cameras are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon object movement; [0288]: cameras are synchronized).
Aman discloses first and second plurality of cameras being controllably movable in synchronization as discussed in [0288] above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having each third camera being controllably moveable in synchronization with the first and second pluralities of cameras, as taught by Aman, for consistency of image capture for better tracking of object (Aman [0288]).
Aman discloses coordinate the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras such that, at a given time, image data of the specified entity is captured simultaneously by multiple cameras from different perspectives relative to the specified entity, and generate a composite representation of the specified entity based on the image data captured simultaneously from some of the multiple cameras (Aman Fig. 2, [0286]: perspective view camera assemblies 30c to track subject, i.e. first structure with first plurality of first cameras. Overhead camera assemblies 20c which capture images from above the object. Perspective filming camera assemblies 40c, i.e. second structure with plurality of second cameras, which captures different aspects of an entity, as in Figs. 11a-11c and Fig. 2 and 18-19, as compared to the overhead camera assemblies 20c and camera assemblies 30c; [0394]: controlling the pan, tilt and zoom motion of the cameras to simultaneous capture image; [0288], [0311], [0313], [0394]: all cameras 20c, 230c and 40c can be synchronized; [0286]: combined field of views 20v of multiple overhead camera assemblies 20c are large enough; [0293], [0322], [0339], [0366], Figs. 7 and 10: merging multiple field-of-views of camera assemblies 20c-1 through 20c-4 into a single combined view 20w).
Srivastava discloses coordinate the first, second, and third pluralities of cameras such that, at a given time, image data of the specified entity is captured simultaneously by multiple cameras from different perspectives relative to the specified entity, and generate a composite representation of the specified entity based on the image data captured simultaneously from the multiple cameras (Srivastava Figs. 2, 4 and 6, [0057], [0078], [0046]: the images are taken by each of the cameras simultaneously; [0067]: multiple cameras each has a different view of the objects are used as in Figs. 4 and 6; [0020]-[0021], [0098]: combining object data from the captured object images of the cameras to obtain a composite object data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate generating a composite representation of the specified entity based on the image data captured simultaneously from some of the multiple cameras, as taught by Srivastava, to improve recognition of objects (Srivastava [0003], [0016]).
6. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aman et al. (U.S. 2007/0279494) hereinafter Aman, in view of Daniels (U.S. 2021/0185296).
Regarding claim 17, Aman discloses all limitations of claim 16.
Aman does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller directs the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure to follow and maintain a specified distance away from the specified entity.
However, Daniels discloses wherein the controller directs the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure to follow and maintain a specified distance away from the specified entity (Daniels Figs. 2-4, [0032], [0068]: distance from the cameras 21-24 to a moving target is maintained).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system with plurality of ceiling cameras, as disclosed by Aman, and further incorporate having wherein the controller directs the first structure, the second structure, or the third structure to follow and maintain a specified distance away from the specified entity, as taught by Price, for desired clear views of object (Daniels [0009], [0032], [0068]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486