DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Species 2-c with traverse in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 11-20 are examined, claims 5-10 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 12, “the inlet opening” should be amended , since there is no antecedent basis for inlet opening.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-4 and 18-19 are
rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term "about" in these claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "about" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Braun, US 6164325 A.
Claim 1
Braun in figs.1-3 teaches:
A fluid system, comprising:
a storage tank 10,48,14 formed to define a storage reservoir configured to store a fluid (fuel),
a pump system including a pipe 50 coupled to the storage tank 10,48 and a pump 41 in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank 10,48 through the pipe 50 and configured to selectively provide a flow of the fluid to (44,46) and from the storage reservoir of the storage tank 10,48 through the pipe 50,
a pressure sensor 24 configured to measure a hydrostatic pressure (col.3 lines 27-30) in the storage reservoir 10,48 to monitor a tank level (col.2 line 5) of the fluid in the storage reservoir 10,48 and
a pump inlet pressure stabilizer (pressure regulator 45 sets an at least almost constant fuel pressure in the injection system 44, the injection system sees a steady pressure regardless of how much the pump is actually producing at any instant which broadly reads on a pump inlet pressure stabilizer: see e.g., claim 8) coupled to the pipe 50 and the pressure sensor 24 (all components are coupled to each other because of fluid communication1) to place the pressure sensor 24 in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank 10,48, the pump inlet pressure stabilizer 45 configured to reduce a magnitude of pressure spikes from the pump 41 experienced by the pressure sensor 24 to allow the pressure sensor 24 to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure to determine the tank level (via 12) of the fluid in the storage reservoir 10,48,14 while the fluid flows from the storage reservoir 10,48,14 (function broadly met by the same claimed structure).
Examiner notes: (1)The specification of the instant application discloses system uses the terms "storage tank" and "storage reservoir" interchangeably to describe the physical structure and internal holding space, respectively. (2) Although, using broadest reasonable interpretation pressure regulator device 45 broadly reads on the claimed “pump inlet pressure stabilizer”, however, the limitation also can be taught based on obviousness over Braun in view of listed prior art of record teaching pressure stabilizers to eliminate pressure spikes.
Claim 2
Braun teaches the fluid system of claim 1, wherein the pump inlet pressure stabilizer 45 defines a pressure-sensor fluid passageway 50,54,60 in fluid communication with the pressure sensor 24, the pressure-sensor fluid passageway 50,54,60 having a first section 50 that extends axially relative to an axis and a second section 54,60 that extends from the first section at an angle (90 degree angle) relative to the first section 50, and wherein the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway 50 has an inlet opening located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the storage tank 10,48,14 to allow the pressure sensor 24 to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure while the fluid flows from the storage reservoir 10,48,14 ( 50 isolated 40 from tank allowing pressure sensor 24 measurements are performed with no effect from pump ).
Claim 20
Braun in figs.1-3 teaches:
A method, comprising:
providing a storage tank formed to define a storage reservoir 10,48 configured to store a supply of a fluid (fuel),
providing a pipe 50 coupled to the storage tank 10,48 that defines an interior region in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank 10,48,
providing a pressure sensor 24 configured to measure a hydrostatic pressure in the storage reservoir 10,48,
providing a pump inlet pressure stabilizer (45: pressure regulator 45 sets an at least almost constant fuel pressure in the injection system 44, the injection system sees a steady pressure regardless of how much the pump is actually producing at any instant which broadly reads on a pump inlet pressure stabilizer) coupled to the pipe 50 and the pressure sensor 24 to place the pressure sensor 24 in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank 10,48, the pump inlet pressure stabilizer 45 defining a pressure-sensor fluid passageway having a first section that extends axially relative to an axis and a second section that extends from the first section at an angle relative to the first section (this is broadly read by considering each passageway of pressure regulator 45 as divided in two portions with 180,zero angle: an inlet that is connected to the pressure side of the delivery unit 40, a return 47 that feeds into the fuel tank 10),
conducting a flow of the fluid from the storage tank 10,48 through the pipe 50, and
measuring the hydrostatic pressure 24 in the storage reservoir of the storage tank 10,48 using the pressure sensor 24 while conducting the flow of the fluid from the storage tank to monitor a tank level of the fluid in the storage reservoir 10,48,
wherein the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway has an inlet opening located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the storage tank.
Examiner notes: The specification of the instant application discloses system uses the terms "storage tank" and "storage reservoir" interchangeably to describe the physical structure and internal holding space, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown, US 7263448 B2 in view of Kurtz, US20140041457A1.
Claim 1
Brown2 in figs.1-2 teaches:
A fluid system 10, comprising:
a storage tank 14 formed to define a storage reservoir configured to store a fluid (e.g., col.2 l.63),
a pump system including a pipe 12 coupled to the storage tank 14 and a pump 16 in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank 14 through the pipe 12 and configured to selectively provide a flow of the fluid (e.g., col.4 l.38-42) to and from the storage reservoir 14 of the storage tank through the pipe 12,
a pressure sensor 22 configured to measure a hydrostatic pressure in the storage reservoir to monitor a tank level of the fluid (calculating chemical flow rates by continuously monitoring the fluid level and head pressure inside a metering tube correlated to level of fluid in tank 14) in the storage reservoir 14, Brown does not specifically teach: and a pump inlet pressure stabilizer coupled to the pipe and the pressure sensor to place the pressure sensor in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank, the pump inlet pressure stabilizer configured to reduce a magnitude of pressure spikes from the pump experienced by the pressure sensor to allow the pressure sensor to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure to determine the tank level of the fluid in the storage reservoir while the fluid flows from the storage reservoir. However, it is well known to use pressure stabilizers for reducing pressure shocks in hydraulic systems3,4. For example :
In the similar field of endeavor, Kurtz in e.g., figs.3, 4 and 8 teaches a use pressure stabilizers for reducing pressure shocks in hydraulic systems:
Kurtz teaches a pump inlet pressure stabilizer coupled to the pipe (50,52 or the embodiment of fig.8 pipe 805) and the pressure sensor ( right of 52 in the region around 54 inside housing 41/42, or attached to cavity 810 in fig.8) to place the pressure sensor (with housing 41/42) in fluid communication with the fluid system, the pump inlet pressure stabilizer configured to reduce a magnitude of pressure spikes from the pump 60 experienced by the pressure sensor to allow the pressure sensor to directly do measurements (e.g., ¶0028,0032: entry point that initially receives the raw main pressure and actively filters out a portion of the dynamic (varying) pressure component while passing the remaining static/filtered pressure onward, chamber operatively coupled to the inlet tube. It receives the partially filtered pressure and performs a secondary filtering stage to further smooth out any remaining dynamic pressure fluctuations, overall housing that encompasses both the coiled inlet tube and the volume cavity. It is specifically tuned to a predetermined resonance frequency to stabilize the pressure readings). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kurtz‘s pump inlet pressure stabilizer for Brown’s fluid system and the modified Brown's pump inlet pressure stabilizer coupled to Brown's pipe and Brown's pressure sensor to place Brown's pressure sensor in fluid communication with Brown's storage reservoir of Brown's storage tank, the modified Brown's pump inlet pressure stabilizer configured to reduce a magnitude of pressure spikes from Brown's pump experienced by Brown's pressure sensor to allow Brown's pressure sensor to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure to determine the modified Brown's tank level of the fluid in the storage reservoir while Brown’s fluid flows from Brown's storage reservoir. One of ordinary skill in the art knows using pressure stabilizers to regulate pressure would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reducing pressure shocks in hydraulic systems (as suggested by Kurtz).
Claim 2
Brown in view of Kurtz teaches the fluid system of claim 1, Kurtz (teaching pressure stabilizing between a process fluid and pressure sensor) teaches wherein the pump inlet pressure stabilizer defines a pressure-sensor fluid passageway (schematically fig.3: 30,32 illustrating fluid passages that conduct the process pressure to pressure sensor 33 also 810 and 805, i.e., the pressure sensor is coupled or communicating to these fluid passages) in fluid communication with the pressure sensor (fig.3 schematically illustrates connection of pressure sensor connected to system via 810), the pressure-sensor fluid passageway (805,810 equivalent with schematically shown with 30,32) having a first section that extends axially relative to an axis (e.g., 805) and a second section (e.g., 810) that extends from the first section 805 at an angle (here zero angle) relative to the first section (this is broadly read by considering each passageway as divided in two portions e.g., 30 and 32 with zero angle), and wherein the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway 805 has an inlet opening (inlet end of 805 similar to 51 in embodiment fig.4) located near (broadly is interpreted) a center of the flow of the modified Brown’s fluid from the modified Brown’s storage tank to allow the pressure sensor to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure while the fluid flows from the modified Brown’s storage reservoir for the same reason and motivation as cited above, i.e., eliminating pressure spikes as suggested by Kurtz.
Claim 3
Brown in view of Kurtz teaches the fluid system of claim 2, although the modification teaches wherein the angle of the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway ( see e.g., 805 of Fig.8 of Kurtz) defined by the pump inlet pressure stabilizer 800 relative to the second section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway (810) defined by the pump inlet pressure stabilizer 800 is zero not specifically between about 45 degrees and about 135 degrees. Nonetheless, the skilled artisan would know too that the first and second portion of pump inlet pressure stabilizer coupled to the pipe and the pressure sensor dampens fluid pulsations. The specific claimed about 45 degrees and about 135 degrees, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” angle between these two sections disclosed by Kurtz that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)) based, among other things, on the desired dampening of pulsations, manufacturing costs, etc. (see In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), and neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e. results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as these ranges used, as already suggested by Kurtz. Since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph) of the ranges of angles stated and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use these values in the device of Kurtz. Please note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed range or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 4
Brown in view of Kurtz teaches the fluid system of claim 3, although the combination in view of Kurtz teaches wherein the angle of the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway defined by the pump inlet pressure stabilizer relative to the second section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway defined by the pump inlet pressure stabilizer 800 is zero but as cited above, unless the specification supports these range as unexpected range it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to determine these ranges via routine experiments and use these values in the device of Brown combined by Kurtz.
Claim 11
Brown in view of Kurtz teaches the fluid system of claim 2, Kurtz teaches wherein the pump inlet pressure stabilizer 800 includes a pressure stabilizer body shaped 800 to define the pressure-sensor fluid passageway and a main fluid passageway (810 is axial) that extends axially through the pressure stabilizer body (800: 810 extends axially through 800), wherein the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway (805: spiral/radial in-plane, not axial) is spaced apart radially from the main fluid passageway (first part of 805: 805 is a spiral channel that winds from the outer edge of the end plate inward toward a central hole, where it meets 810. First part of 805 is spaced apart radially from the axis 810) for the same reason and motivation as cited above, i.e., eliminating pressure spikes as suggested by Kurtz.
Claim 12
Brown in view of Kurtz teaches the fluid system of claim 1, Kurtz teaches wherein the inlet opening to the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway (opening connected to inlet end of 805 similar to 51 in embodiment of fig.4) is offset from the center of the flow ( see fig.8) of the fluid from the fluid process or the modified Brown’s storage tank based on obviousness for the same reason and motivation as cited above, i.e., eliminating pressure spikes as suggested by Kurtz.
Claim 13
Brown in view of Kurtz teaches the fluid system of claim 12, Kurtz teaches wherein the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway has a first diameter 805 and the main fluid passageway has a second diameter 810 that is greater than the first diameter of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway 805 for the same reason and motivation as cited above, i.e., eliminating pressure spikes as suggested by Kurtz.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurtz, US20140041457A1 in view of Braun, US 6164325 A.
Claim 17
Kurtz in figs.3-4 and 8 teaches:
A pump inlet pressure stabilizer system adapted for use with (a fluid system of which pressure fluctuations is conditioned or stabilized) comprising:
a pressure stabilizer body 800 coupled to a pipe 52,805 that is in fluid communication (with a fluid system) and a pressure sensor (right of 52 in the region around 54 inside housing 41/42 ) to place the pressure sensor (similar to pressure sensor with housing 41/42 in embodiment of fig.4, but connected to cavity 810 for embodiment of fig.8) in fluid communication (with the fluid system), the pressure stabilizer body 800 formed to define a pressure-sensor fluid passageway in fluid communication with the pressure sensor (connected to cavity 810 similar with sensor housing 41/42 in fig.4),
wherein the pressure-sensor fluid passageway has a first section (805: a spiral channel machined into an end cap/plate, sitting at one axial end of the cylindrical body 800) that extends axially relative to an axis (the axis of spiral: in FIG. 8's Section "A-A" view, the spiral groove is drawn as a set of concentric rings winding down to a small central hole, and that central hole aligns with the axial bore 810 shown in the main cross-section, so the spiral's center point ,where its second end meets 810, sits exactly on 810's central axis — meaning the whole spiral is arranged concentrically around that same axis, even though the spiral itself lies in a plane perpendicular to it) and a second section 810 that extends from the first section 805 at an angle (zero angle) relative to the first section 805, the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway 805 has an inlet opening located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the fluid system (inlet end connected to 805 which is similar to 51 which is other embodiment located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the fluid system and near is broad as claim does not further limit how much is broad or far, therefore, broadly reads on fluid system) to reduce a magnitude of pressure spikes experienced by the pressure sensor (e.g., ¶0028,0032) as fluid flows from the (fluid system) to allow the pressure sensor to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure (pressure sensor connected to cavity 810).
Kurtz does not specifically teach a pump inlet pressure stabilizer adapted for use with a storage tank having a storage reservoir configured to store a supply of a fluid, a pressure stabilizer body coupled to a pipe that is in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank and a pressure sensor to place the pressure sensor fluid communication the storage reservoir of the storage tank, an inlet opening located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the storage tank, as fluid flows from the storage reservoir to allow the pressure sensor to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure to determine a tank level of the fluid in the storage reservoir while the fluid flows from the storage reservoir (emphasis added to make those parts which is not disclosed by Kurtz).
In the similar field of endeavor, Braun teaches a storage tank having a storage reservoir 48,10 configured to store a supply of a fluid (fuel), to a pipe 54 that is in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank 48 and a pressure sensor 24 to place the pressure sensor 24 in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank 48,10, an inlet opening located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the storage tank 48,10 , as fluid flows from the storage reservoir 48,10 to allow the pressure sensor 24 to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure to determine a tank level of the fluid (measuring level 12) in the storage reservoir 48 while the fluid flows from the storage reservoir 48,10. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Braun‘s storage tank having a storage reservoir for Kurtz’s pump inlet pressure stabilizer system the modified Kurtz’s pump inlet pressure stabilizer adapted for use with the modified Kurtz’s storage tank having a storage reservoir configured to store a supply of a fluid, the modified pressure stabilizer body coupled to a pipe that is in fluid communication with the modified Kurtz’s storage reservoir of the storage tank and a pressure sensor to place the pressure sensor fluid communication with the modified Kurtz’s storage reservoir of the storage tank, an inlet opening located near a center of the modified Kurtz’s flow of the fluid from the storage tank, as fluid flows from the storage reservoir to allow the pressure sensor to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure to determine a tank level of the modified Kurtz’s fluid in the storage reservoir while the fluid flows from the storage reservoir . One of ordinary skill in the art knows the pumps as the main source of pressure ripple that could benefit from the dampening chamber would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the accuracy of pressure measurements and therefore, level measurements.
Claim 18
Kurtz in view of Braun teaches the pump inlet pressure stabilizer of claim 17, wherein the angle of the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway 805 defined by the pump inlet pressure stabilizer relative to the second section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway 810 defined by the pump inlet pressure stabilizer is zero not specifically between about 45 degrees and about 135 degrees.
Claim 19
Kurtz in view of Braun teaches the pump inlet pressure stabilizer of claim 18, wherein the angle of the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway defined by the pump inlet pressure stabilizer relative to the second section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway defined by the pump inlet pressure stabilizer is about 90 degrees. However, Kurtz teaches most aspects of the instant invention. However, Kurtz does not explicitly teach about 90 degrees . Nonetheless, the skilled artisan would know too that the first and second portion of pump inlet pressure stabilizer coupled to the pipe and the pressure sensor dampens fluid pulsations. The specific claimed about 90 degrees, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” angle between these two sections disclosed by Kurtz that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)) based, among other things, on the desired dampening of pulsations, manufacturing costs, etc. (see In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), and neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e. results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as these ranges used, as already suggested by Kurtz. Since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph) of the ranges of angles stated and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use these values in the device of Kurtz. Please note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed range or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 17 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurtz, US20140041457A1 in view of Brown, US 7263448 B2.
Claim 17
Kurtz in figs.3-4 and 8 teaches:
A pump inlet pressure stabilizer system adapted for use with (a fluid system of which pressure fluctuations is conditioned or stabilized) comprising:
a pressure stabilizer body 800 coupled to a pipe 52,805 that is in fluid communication (with a fluid system) and a pressure sensor (right of 52 in the region around 54 inside housing 41/42 ) to place the pressure sensor (similar to pressure sensor with housing 41/42 in embodiment of fig.4, but connected to cavity 810 for embodiment of fig.8) in fluid communication (with the fluid system), the pressure stabilizer body 800 formed to define a pressure-sensor fluid passageway in fluid communication with the pressure sensor (connected to cavity 810 similar with sensor housing 41/42 in fig.4),
wherein the pressure-sensor fluid passageway has a first section (805: a spiral channel machined into an end cap/plate, sitting at one axial end of the cylindrical body 800) that extends axially relative to an axis (the axis of spiral: in FIG. 8's Section "A-A" view, the spiral groove is drawn as a set of concentric rings winding down to a small central hole, and that central hole aligns with the axial bore 810 shown in the main cross-section, so the spiral's center point ,where its second end meets 810, sits exactly on 810's central axis — meaning the whole spiral is arranged concentrically around that same axis, even though the spiral itself lies in a plane perpendicular to it) and a second section 810 that extends from the first section 805 at an angle (zero angle) relative to the first section 805, the first section of the pressure-sensor fluid passageway 805 has an inlet opening located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the fluid system (inlet end connected to 805 which is similar to 51 which is other embodiment located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the fluid system and near is broad as claim does not further limit how much is broad or far, therefore, broadly reads on fluid system) to reduce a magnitude of pressure spikes experienced by the pressure sensor (e.g., ¶0028,0032) as fluid flows from the (fluid system) to allow the pressure sensor to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure (pressure sensor connected to cavity 810).
Kurtz does not specifically teach a pump inlet pressure stabilizer adapted for use with a storage tank having a storage reservoir configured to store a supply of a fluid, a pressure stabilizer body coupled to a pipe that is in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank and a pressure sensor to place the pressure sensor fluid communication the storage reservoir of the storage tank, an inlet opening located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the storage tank, as fluid flows from the storage reservoir to allow the pressure sensor to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure to determine a tank level of the fluid in the storage reservoir while the fluid flows from the storage reservoir (emphasis added to make those parts which is not disclosed by Kurtz).
In the similar field of endeavor, Brown teaches a storage tank having a storage reservoir 14 configured to store a supply of a fluid (e.g., col.2 l.63), to a pipe 12 that is in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank 14 and a pressure sensor 22 to place the pressure sensor 22 in fluid communication with the storage reservoir of the storage tank 14, an inlet opening located near a center of the flow of the fluid from the storage tank 14 , as fluid flows from the storage reservoir 14 to allow the pressure sensor 22 to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure to determine a tank level of the fluid (calculating chemical flow rates by continuously monitoring the fluid level and head pressure inside a metering tube correlated to level of fluid in tank 14) in the storage reservoir 14 while the fluid flows from the storage reservoir 14. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Brown‘s storage tank having a storage reservoir for Kurtz’s pump inlet pressure stabilizer system the modified Kurtz’s pump inlet pressure stabilizer adapted for use with the modified Kurtz’s storage tank having a storage reservoir configured to store a supply of a fluid, the modified pressure stabilizer body coupled to a pipe that is in fluid communication with the modified Kurtz’s storage reservoir of the storage tank and a pressure sensor to place the pressure sensor fluid communication with the modified Kurtz’s storage reservoir of the storage tank, an inlet opening located near a center of the modified Kurtz’s flow of the fluid from the storage tank, as fluid flows from the storage reservoir to allow the pressure sensor to directly measure the hydrostatic pressure to determine a tank level of the modified Kurtz’s fluid in the storage reservoir while the fluid flows from the storage reservoir . One of ordinary skill in the art knows the pumps as the main source of pressure ripple that could benefit from the dampening chamber would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the accuracy of pressure measurements.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown, US 7263448 B2 in view of Kurtz, US20140041457A1 and Hedtke, US20150083245A1.
Claim 16
Brown in view of Kurtz teaches the fluid system of claim 1, although the modified Brown with Kurtz as cited above does not teach wherein the pump inlet pressure stabilizer further includes a valve coupled to the pump inlet pressure stabilizer, the valve configured to change between an open position in which the pressure sensor is able to measure the hydrostatic pressure in the storage reservoir and a closed position in which the pressure sensor is isolated from the pipe.
However, isolating a pressure sensor is standard practice typically incorporate an isolation valve for the purposes such as maintenance or safety and troubleshooting. for example :
In the similar field of endeavor, Hedtke teaches isolating a pressure sensor 14 is standard practice typically incorporate an isolation valve 12: a valve 12 coupled to the process fluid vessel 24, the valve 12 configured to change between an open position in which the pressure sensor 14 is able to measure the hydrostatic pressure in the vessel 24 and a closed position in which the pressure sensor is isolated from the pipe 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hedtke‘s isolating valve for the modified Brown‘s pump inlet pressure stabilizer further include a valve coupled to the modified Brown‘s pump inlet pressure stabilizer, the modified Brown‘s valve configured to change between an open position in which the pressure sensor is able to measure the hydrostatic pressure in the storage reservoir and a closed position in which the pressure sensor is isolated from the Brown‘s pipe. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow safely removing, clean, or calibrate the pressure sensor without depressurizing the entire chemical injection pipe or stopping the pump.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14: The prior art, alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious a fluid system wherein a second pipe section coupled to an outlet end of the pressure stabilizer body spaced apart axially from the inlet end of the pressure stabilizer body so that the pressure stabilizer body of the pump inlet pressure stabilizer extends between and interconnects the first pipe section and the second pipe section, in conjunction with the remaining claim limitations.
Claim 15 depends on claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 6089837 A: teaches a pump inlet stabilizer for positive displacement reciprocating pumps, The stabilizer regulates pressure on the suction side of pump using a fluid-isolated gas chamber and an adjustable control unit, actively conditions the system for varying operating requirements by utilizing a compound pressure gauge to monitor levels and a venturi valve.
CN113720389A: This system stabilizes pressure primarily by using a stabilized water tank in conjunction with a proportional valve and a flowmeter on the return line. A water pump continually pumps the dyeing fluid from the storage tank into the stabilized water tank. This tank acts as a buffer to maintain a steady head of pressure for the measuring tubes. A proportional valve is installed on the return pipe connecting the measuring tubes to the liquid storage tank. The proportional valve works continuously with the flowmeter to make dynamic adjustments to the fluid's flow rate. By carefully restricting or opening the fluid path based on flowmeter readings, the system absorbs fluctuations and keeps the pressure uniform across the measuring tubes.
/FATEMEH ESFANDIARI NIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 a hydrodynamic coupling or a hydraulic transmission system where rotational power is transferred smoothly without direct mechanical contact
2 Prior art of record
3 See also prior art of record: RU2156912C1for using a specialized tool with flexible pipes, as pump operates, pressure surges force the walls of the pipes to undergo safe, unhindered axial deformation, expansion safely absorbs the pressure spikes and dampens vibration
4 Also RU 2044208 C1 : flow fluctuations by directing the working fluid through a perforated pipe encased in resilient, rubber pipeline walls and a damping chamber, which expands to absorb sudden spikes to effectively filter debris and maintains operational efficiency in fluid systems by allowing the resilient walls to expand into an interconnected damping chamber