DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Status:
Claims 1-10 and 20-29 are pending
Claims 11-19 are canceled
Claims 21-29 are new
Claims 1-10 and 20-29 are allowed.
Election/Restrictions
This Office Action is responsive to Election/Restriction, dated 06/16/2026. Applicant elected Group I (claims 1-10 and 20) without traverse. Claims 11-19 have been cancelled from consideration in view of the election.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 20-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20190327661 A1), hereinafter referenced as Li, in view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US 20210243801 A1), hereinafter referenced as Taherzadeh.
Regarding claims 1, 20 and 29, Li teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (Fig. 1, Para. [0006]-Li discloses random access procedure initiated by a terminal device for a target cell, sending, by a base station of the target cell, indication information to the terminal device by using a random access message, to instruct the terminal device to report information about a candidate relay device corresponding to the terminal device. Fig. 7, Para. [0034-0035]-Li discloses network device includes: a memory and a processor, a transmitter, and a receiver that are coupled to the memory ... terminal device includes: a memory and a processor, a transmitter, and a receiver that are coupled to the memory. Para. [0148]-Li discloses computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer readable memory that can instruct the computer or any other programmable data processing device to work in a specific manner, so that the instructions stored in the computer readable memory generate an artifact that includes an instruction apparatus. The instruction apparatus implements a specific function in one or more processes) to cause the UE to:
transmit a random access message to a first network entity (Para. [0071]-Li discloses random access preamble (preamble), or referred to as a message 1 (Msg1 for short). The random access preamble is sent by the terminal device to the base station).
Li fails to explicitly teach receive, from the first network entity, one or more system information blocks in association with transmitting the random access message; and monitor for a response message associated with the random access message within a time span that is based at least in part on receiving the one or more system information blocks in association with transmitting the random access message.
However, Taherzadeh teaches receive, from the first network entity, one or more system information blocks in association with transmitting the random access message (Fig. 2, Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses base station 105-a may broadcast, via the system information (e.g., RMSI), a time window length (e.g., an RAR window length) that the connecting UE 115-a may monitor for an RAR (e.g., both the control information and the data, or RAR message, associated with the RAR). In some cases, the base station 105-a may indicate the RAR window length via an indicator in the system information. For instance, the base station 105-a may indicate the RAR window length via a bit in a bitfield of an RMSI or implicitly via another indicator of an RMSI. Para. [0130]-Taherzadeh discloses the base station 105-a may receive the random access request 210 from the UE 115-a and may respond by transmitting an RAR (e.g., including an RAR message and control information for receiving the RAR message). In some cases, the UE 115-a may expect to receive the RAR within the RAR window indicated by the system information broadcast by the base station 105-a. (See also Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165])); and
monitor for a response message associated with the random access message within a time span that is based at least in part on receiving the one or more system information blocks in association with transmitting the random access message (Fig. 2, Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses base station 105-a may broadcast, via the system information (e.g., RMSI), a time window length (e.g., an RAR window length) that the connecting UE 115-a may monitor for an RAR (e.g., both the control information and the data, or RAR message, associated with the RAR). In some cases, the base station 105-a may indicate the RAR window length via an indicator in the system information. For instance, the base station 105-a may indicate the RAR window length via a bit in a bitfield of an RMSI or implicitly via another indicator of an RMSI).
Li and Taherzadeh are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with random access procedure based on a random access procedure format.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Taherzadeh on random access procedure, with a motivation to monitor for response message, and guarantee stable and reliable communication, (Li, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Li teaches the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 20 respectively,
Li further teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, via the random access message or a second random access message, first information indicative of a request by the UE to enter a connected state associated with the first network entity (Para. [0018-0027]-Li discloses terminal device may indicate the device type of the terminal device by using a random preamble. Correspondingly, the base station may learn of the device type of the terminal device by using the random preamble sent by the terminal device ... the base station may learn of the device type of the terminal device by using the message 3 ... the information about the device type is added to an upper-layer message (for example, an RRC connection request) of the message 3) and
second information indicative of one or more parameters associated with the UE, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a device type associated with the UE, a service type associated with the UE, a radio capability associated with the UE, or any combination thereof (Para. [0018]-Li discloses terminal device may indicate the device type of the terminal device by using a random preamble. Correspondingly, the base station may learn of the device type of the terminal device by using the random preamble sent by the terminal device).
Regarding claims 3 and 22, Li teaches the UE of claim 2 and the method of claim 21 respectively,
Li further teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from the first network entity, an acceptance or a rejection of the request by the UE to enter the connected state associated with the first network entity based at least in part on the one or more parameters (Para. [0071-0075]-Li discloses Random access preamble (preamble), or referred to as a message 1 ... The random access preamble is sent by the terminal device to the base station, and is used to request uplink synchronization ... Random access response (Random Access Response, RAR), or referred to as a message 2 ... The RAR is a response of the base station to the random access preamble ... Message 3. The message 3 is sent by the terminal device to the base station. In the initial random access procedure, the message 3 includes an RRC connection setup request (RRC Connection Request) ... Contention resolution message (Contention Resolution), or referred to as a message 4 ... The contention resolution message is sent by the base station to the terminal device. If the terminal device receives a contention resolution related to a user identifier of the terminal device, it is considered that the terminal device successfully performs random access, the terminal device changes from an RRC idle state to an RRC connected state, and the random access procedure is complete ... RRC connection setup complete message (RRC connection setup complete), or referred to as a message 5 ... The RRC connection setup complete message is sent by the terminal device to the base station. In this way, an RRC connection setup procedure is complete).
Regarding claims 4 and 23, Li teaches the UE of claim 2 and the method of claim 21 respectively,
Li fails to explicitly teach system information block.
However, Taherzadeh teaches the one or more system information blocks are based at least in part on the one or more parameters associated with the UE (Fig. 1, Para. [0083]-Taherzadeh discloses the UEs 115 may be devices in different forms or having different capabilities. Fig. 2, Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message (e.g., via a PBCH) and may identify configuration information associated with the random access procedure based on the system information. For example, the base station 105 may broadcast information about a set of resources or a power level that may be used by the UE 115-a during the random access procedure. Para. [0165]-Taherzadeh discloses the base station 105 may broadcast (e.g., via a PBCH, a BCCH, a BCH, etc.) system information to a quantity of UEs 115. The system information may indicate a variety of information including a length of an RAR window and a quantity of portions of the RAR window ... Additionally or alternatively, the base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request {associated with UE radio capabilities} and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. The quantity of UEs 115 may identify a time window configuration 400 based on the mapping and the connectivity condition {associated with radio capabilities} of the UE 115. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message).
Taherzadeh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with random access procedure based on a random access procedure format.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Taherzadeh on SIB, with a motivation for UE-based SIB, and guarantee stable and reliable communication, (Li, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 5 and 24, Li teaches the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 20 respectively,
Li fails to explicitly teach extension time.
However, Taherzadeh teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: obtain an indication of an extension time associated with a time window corresponding to the response message (Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message),
the time span includes the time window and the extension time in accordance with receiving the one or more system information blocks in association with transmitting the random access message (Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message).
Taherzadeh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with random access procedure based on a random access procedure format.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Taherzadeh on extension time, with a motivation to indicate extension time, and guarantee stable and reliable communication, (Li, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 6 and 25, Li teaches the UE of claim 5 and the method of claim 24 respectively,
Li fails to explicitly teach extension time.
However, Taherzadeh teaches to obtain the indication of the extension time, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive the indication of the extension time from a second network entity via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, one or more medium access control (MAC) control elements (MAC-CEs), or downlink control information (DCI); receive the indication of the extension time from the first network entity via the one or more system information blocks; or retrieve the indication of the extension time from one or more memories of the UE in accordance with a rule triggered by receiving the one or more system information blocks in association with transmitting the random access message (Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message).
Taherzadeh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with random access procedure based on a random access procedure format.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Taherzadeh on extension time, with a motivation to receive indication for extension time via SIB, and guarantee stable and reliable communication, (Li, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 7 and 26, Li teaches the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 20 respectively,
Li fails to explicitly teach time offset.
However, Taherzadeh teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: obtain an indication of a time offset associated with a time window corresponding to the response message (Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message),
the time span includes the time window (Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message), and
the time window is offset from a transmission time of the random access message by the time offset in accordance with receiving the one or more system information blocks in association with transmitting the random access message (Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message).
Taherzadeh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with random access procedure based on a random access procedure format.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Taherzadeh on time offset, with a motivation to obtain indication of time offset, and guarantee stable and reliable communication, (Li, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 8 and 27, Li teaches the UE of claim 7 and the method of claim 26 respectively,
Li fails to explicitly teach system information block.
However, Taherzadeh teaches the UE receives the one or more system information blocks within a duration of the time offset (Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message ... the base station 105-a may indicate the RAR window length via a bit in a bitfield of an RMSI or implicitly via another indicator of an RMSI. Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI)); and
the UE receives the response message within the time window (Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message ... the base station 105-a may indicate the RAR window length via a bit in a bitfield of an RMSI or implicitly via another indicator of an RMSI).
Taherzadeh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with random access procedure based on a random access procedure format.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Taherzadeh on SIB, with a motivation to receive SIB and response message, and guarantee stable and reliable communication, (Li, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 9 and 28, Li teaches the UE of claim 7 and the method of claim 26 respectively,
Li fails to explicitly teach time offset.
However, Taherzadeh teaches to obtain the indication of the time offset, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive the indication of the time offset from a second network entity via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, one or more medium access control (MAC) control elements (MAC-CEs), or downlink control information (DCI); receive the indication of the time offset from the first network entity via the one or more system information blocks; or retrieve the indication of the time offset from one or more memories of the UE in accordance with a rule triggered by receiving the one or more system information blocks in association with transmitting the random access message (Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message).
Taherzadeh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with random access procedure based on a random access procedure format.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Taherzadeh on time offset, with a motivation to receive indication for time offset via SIB, and guarantee stable and reliable communication, (Li, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the UE of claim 1,
Li fails to explicitly teach random access response window.
However, Taherzadeh teaches the time span is associated with a random access response window, a random access contention resolution timer, or a message B (msgB) response window (Para. [0170]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving the indication of the time window configuration. Fig. 4, Para. [0163-0165]-Taherzadeh discloses a time window configuration 400 (e.g., an RAR window configuration) ... base station 105 may transmit an indication {via system information; see claim 19} of a set of types of random access request and a mapping between the set of types of random access request and a time window configuration 400. Para. [0166]-Taherzadeh discloses the time window configuration 400 may illustrate two portions as an example, but may include any quantity of portions without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. For example, an RAR window configuration may include one portion, two portions, three portions, four portions, five portions, six portions, seven portions, or eight portions, etc., where each portion may define a different repetition pattern or repetition level for the control information or the data associated with the RAR, or both. In the example of the time window configuration 400, the base station 105 may configure the RAR window to include a portion 415 with a window length 405 and a portion 420 with a window length 410. Para. [0137]-Taherzadeh discloses the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR. Claim [19]-Taherzadeh discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of the first portion of the time window and the second portion of the time window via a bit in a bitfield of a remaining system information (RMSI). Para. [0129]-Taherzadeh discloses the UE 115-a may receive system information (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), such as SIB1, SIB2, or RMSI) from the base station 105-a via a broadcast message).
Taherzadeh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with random access procedure based on a random access procedure format.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Taherzadeh on RAR window, with a motivation time window based on RAR, and guarantee stable and reliable communication, (Li, Para. [0003]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
T. Boroujeni et al. (US 20210168873 A1)-discloses portions of the initial RAR window length may be time intervals within the initial RAR window length (e.g., an initial time window for the RAR). Similarly, the appended segments to an initial RAR window length may be additional time intervals appended to the initial time window for the RAR, effectively extending the time window for an RAR …. …Fig. 1-2
Boroujeni et al. (US 20210234637 A1)-discloses (in Para. [0035]) base station may signal the RAR window configuration via system information, such as a system information block (SIB). Fig. 2, Para. [0075]-Boroujeni discloses base station 105-a may receive the random access request from the UE 115-a and may respond by transmitting a message 2, including control information and a RAR ..., the UE 115-a may expect to receive the RAR within the RAR window indicated by the system information broadcast by the base station 105-a…. …Fig. 1-2
TAN et al. (US 20230038753 A1)-discloses radio capability information implements the reduced capability NR UE information in at least one of following manners: the reduced capability NR UE information is explicitly included in the random access message 3 in at least one of following manners: the reduced capability NR UE information is indicated by using a reserved bit in an RRC establishment request, an RRC resume request, and/or an RRC reestablishment request; or the reduced capability NR UE information is indicated by using a reserved bit in an RRC establishment request, an RRC resume request, and/or an RRC reestablishment request dedicated for a reduced capability NR UE .… …Fig. 1-2
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472