DETAILED ACTION
Image
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yanli Zhang et. Al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. App. US-10741128-B2 herein after “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches [a]n image data transmission method, comprising “A computing system or device is disclosed that includes a display (e.g., a panel) and a controller to provide data for separate portions of the display simultaneously. In one embodiment, the computing system and/or display is part of a virtual reality (VR) system, augmented reality (AR) system, mobile phone, portable computer system, etc.” (Zhang, ¶ [0012]).
separating an image data into a first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and a second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) by an image processing module “In one embodiment, the separate portions of the display are left and right halves. In such a case, techniques disclosed herein scan the left and right halves of the image simultaneously by using two sets of column and row drivers (or gate and source drivers). In one embodiment, each set of drivers is driven by a separate pipe in the case of multiple pipes” (Zhang, ¶ [0013]) where separate portions of the display are provided with a respective half by separating the image after scanning;
outputting the first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) from a first connection port of the image processing module (Fig. 1, 1 output from item 101) to a third connection port of a computer device (Fig. 1, into item 103A) “In one embodiment, display data 102 comprises display data from two ports that are feed by two data pipes. In another embodiment, display data 102 comprises display data from two ports that are feed by a single data pipe” (Zhang, ¶ [0014]) where two ports are required to output and input display data, i.e. a first part and a second part connect to their respective port on the corresponding computer device;
outputting the second part (Fig. 1, 1 output from item 101) from a second connection port (Fig. 1, 1 output from 101) of the image processing module to a fourth connection port of a computer device (Fig. 1, into item 103B) “Two display pipes to scan out data at the original pixel clock rate. Two row and column drives that can update two rows of data simultaneously; 3. Scan out from the two display pipes in a time-synchronized manner (one of the pipes being the timing-master). 4. Since two rows are updated simultaneously, the whole display can be updated faster than the traditional single scan case” (Zhang, ¶ [0025]);
The display controller 101 feeds display data 102 through two pipes between two ports to the data transmitter 103A for each respective side.
assembling the first part (Fig. 1, item 115 Left side) and the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 Right side) by a software driver layer (Fig. 1, items 106-107 A&B) of the computer device to obtain a combined data (Fig. 1, item 115) “The data of planes 1 and 2 are provided by pipes 1 and 2 to display panel 302 via ports 1 and 2, respectively. Display panel 301 includes two sets of drivers to drive separate portions of the display screen of display panel 302. In one embodiment, these are part of TCON Embedded Driver 1 (TED 1) and TED 2. The sets of drivers of TED 1 and 2 update two rows of data, one for each portion of the display screen, simultaneously” (Zhang, ¶ [0024]); and
A plurality of drivers receive information from the data transmitters and produce both halves of the display, which are then produced to the screen, combined.
decoding the combined data, by an application layer of the computer device, to display the image data “In one embodiment, processing core 812 includes, but is not limited to, pre-fetch logic to fetch instructions, decode logic to decode the instructions, execution logic to execute instructions and the like” (Zhang, ¶ [0049]);
wherein the first connection port (Fig. 1, output from item 100) and the second connection port (Fig. 1, output from item 100)have the same transmission specification, and the first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) have the same size in each frame of the image data “processing logic (e.g., system software) in the processing device splits the horizontal resolution by two to generate the resolution for left and right data streams (processing block 605). Thus, each eye has a resolution of (m/2)×n. Note that the refresh rate is also retained at rHz” (Zhang, ¶ [0039]) where after being split, both halves retain equal display resolution, refresh rate, and size.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 1, wherein when the first connection port transmits (Fig. 1, 1st port of item 102) the first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) of one frame of the image data, the second connection port (Fig. 1, 2nd port of item 102) simultaneously transmits the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) of the same frame of the image data “Two display pipes to scan out data at the original pixel clock rate. Two row and column drives that can update two rows of data simultaneously” (Zhang, ¶ [0025]) where the two splits from the same image are updated at the same time.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 2, wherein the first part is the left half (Fig. 1, item 115 Left side) of each frame of the image data, and the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) is the right half of the same frame of the image data “In one embodiment, the separate portions of the display are left and right halves. In such a case, techniques disclosed herein scan the left and right halves of the image simultaneously by using two sets of column and row drivers (or gate and source drivers)” (Zhang, ¶ [0013]), additionally, “Under control of a display controller in the processing device, a plane of data from each of the halves is fetched and provided to a separate pipe. For example, plane 1 is fetched from the left half of frame buffer 301 and provided to pipe 1, while plane 2 is fetched in parallel from the right half of frame buffer 301 and provided to pipe 2” (Zhang, ¶ [0024]).
Regarding claims 5, Zhang teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 1, further comprising:
storing the first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) in a register (Memory, item 830) of the image processing module “Memory 830 stores information and instructions to be executed by processor 810” (Zhang, ¶ [0054]) where the stored information includes the image data; and
outputting the first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) from the register via the first connection port and the second connection port (Fig. 1, item 102 outputs), respectively, by the image processing module “… the data is provided to each of the data pipes from a frame buffer” (Zhang, ¶ [0023]), additionally, “… the machine to perform a method comprising: detecting a device having a display with a plurality of sets of drivers, each set of the plurality of sets of drivers to display data on a portion of the display separate from other portions of the display that other sets of the plurality of gate and source drivers display data; configuring a display controller to use a plurality of data pipes for scanout of data to the display; dividing data in the frame buffer into a plurality of regions; fetching frame data for each of the plurality of regions from the frame buffer in parallel; and sending the frame data for each of the plurality of regions to a distinct one of the plurality of pipes for scan out in parallel to the display” (Zhang, ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches [a]n image processing module, comprising “FIG. 1 is a block diagram of one embodiment of a computing system. Referring to FIG. 1, a processing device (e.g., SoC, processor, microcontroller, etc.) 100 includes a display controller 101 that provides sets of display data 102 for a display” (Zhang, ¶ [0014]):
an image splitter (Fig. 1, item 101) for equally dividing each frame of an image data into a first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and a second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right half) “In such a case, techniques disclosed herein scan the left and right halves of the image simultaneously by using two sets of column and row drivers (or gate and source drivers)” (Zhang, ¶ [0013]) where scanning an image data into a left half and a right half is considered splitting the image data;
a register (Fig. 8, item 830), electrically connected to the image splitter (Fig. 1, item 101), for storing the first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) of the image data “In one embodiment, the data is provided to each of the data pipes from a frame buffer. In one embodiment, the frame buffer is divided between the data pipes. If there are two data pipes, in one embodiment, the frame buffer is divided in half, with the data for each data pipe coming from one of the halves” (Zhang, ¶ [0023]) where the data is being stored and read in parts, and ““processing” or “computing” or “calculating” or “determining” or “displaying” or the like, refer to the action and processes of a computer system, or similar electronic computing device, that manipulates and transforms data represented as physical (electronic) quantities within the computer system's registers and memories into other data similarly represented as physical quantities within the computer system memories or registers or other such information storage, transmission or display devices.” (Zhang, ¶ [0086]); and
a first connection port and a second connection port electrically connected to the register (Fig. 1, item 102 outputs) “In one embodiment, display data 102 comprises display data from two ports that are feed by two data pipes” (Zhang, ¶ [0014]);
wherein when the first connection port transmits the first part (Fig. 1, 1st display data 102) of the image data, the second connection port simultaneously transmits the second part of the image data (Fig. 1, 2nd display data 102) “Two display pipes to scan out data at the original pixel clock rate. Two row and column drives that can update two rows of data simultaneously” (Zhang, ¶ [0025]) where the two splits from the same image are updated at the same time.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches [t]he image processing module according to claim 8, wherein the first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) of each frame of the image data are separated either horizontally or vertically “In one embodiment, the separate portions of the display are left and right halves. In such a case, techniques disclosed herein scan the left and right halves of the image simultaneously by using two sets of column and row drivers (or gate and source drivers)” (Zhang, ¶ [0013]) where a left and right half are separated vertically.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches [t]he image processing module according to claim 8, wherein the first connection port and the second connection port (Fig. 1, item 102 outputs) have the same transmission specifications ““processing logic (e.g., system software) in the processing device splits the horizontal resolution by two to generate the resolution for left and right data streams (processing block 605). Thus, each eye has a resolution of (m/2)×n. Note that the refresh rate is also retained at rHz” (Zhang, ¶ [0039]) where after being split, both halves retain equal display resolution, refresh rate, and size”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Larry Richardson (U.S. Pat. Pub. App. US-20080049830 herein after “Richardson”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 2,
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the first part is the upper half of each frame of the image data, and the second part is the lower half of the same frame of the image data.
Richardson teaches wherein the first part is the upper half of each frame of the image data (Fig. 2, item I1), and the second part is the lower half of the same frame of the image data (Fig. 2, item I2) “The separate image streams are connected to an output unit 46, which may be a data storage unit for storing the two image streams for later viewing, or a computer or monitor for viewing and processing the image streams together or separately” (Richardson, ¶ [0027]) where the single display for viewing multiple image inputs is not limited to the direction of the split, additionally, “… combines each image frame of the first stream with an image frame of the second stream to produce a single combined image frame. In the illustrated embodiment, an image frame I1 from the first stream is disposed on top of an image frame I2 from the second stream, to produce a combined image frame I1+2 of size n×2m. This combining process is repeated for each frame of the first stream and second stream, so that a single output stream of combined images is produced at output 39” (Richardson, ¶ [0023]).
Richardson Fig. 2: The provided figure 2 discloses two image sources 1 & 2 being provided to an image combiner 35 with a portrait display of dimensions.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of image data transmission taught by Zhang with the vertical display taught by Richardson to produce a combined image that can fit on different display ratios or meet different display needs “alternative techniques may be used for combining each pair of image frames in other embodiments, such as disposing them side-by-side or in other relative positions in the combined frame. Additionally, it will be understood that the same basic method can be used for combining images from more than two separate image streams” (Richardson, ¶ [0025]).
The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to allow for a combined image to be viewed in portrait display rather than landscape.
Claims 6, 7, 11-15, 17, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Wei-Te Lee (U.S. Pat. Pub. App. US-20220269630 herein after “Lee”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 1,
Zhang teaches multiple ports for transferring data, but does not explicitly teach wherein the image processing module receives the image data via a high-definition multimedia interface connection port
Lee teaches wherein the image processing module receives the image data via a high-definition multimedia interface connection port “In addition to USB protocol, a USB data transmission path may be applied to other communication protocols, such as DisplayPort (DP) protocol, Thunderbolt protocol, High Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) protocol or other communication protocols, based on application requirements” (Lee, ¶ [0014]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of image data transmission taught by Zhang with the use of an HDMI connection port taught by Lee to receive an image via HDMI (Lee, ¶ [0014]).
The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to allow for HDMI cables to feed information to the processor.
Regarding claims 7 & 12, Zhang teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 1
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the first connection port and the second connection port are universal serial bus connection ports.
Lee teaches wherein the first connection port (Lee, Fig. 1, item 132a) and the second connection port (Fig. 1, item 132b) are universal serial bus connection ports ”FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a circuit block of a multi-image output system and a USB hub 100 thereof according to an embodiment of the disclosure. The multi-image output system shown in FIG. 1 includes a USB host 11, a USB host 12, a USB hub 100, an image display device 21, and an image display device 22” (Lee, ¶ [0015]).
Lee, Fig. 1.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of image data transmission taught by Zhang with the use of a USB connection port taught by Lee to output the image via USB, as it is commonly used, efficient, and versatile (Lee, ¶ [0014]).
In regards to claim 12, claim 7 is substantially similar to claim 12, hence the rejection analysis for claim 7 is also applied to claim 12. Zhang teaches the additional limitations The image processing module … “FIG. 1 is a block diagram of one embodiment of a computing system. Referring to FIG. 1, a processing device (e.g., SoC, processor, microcontroller, etc.) 100 includes a display controller 101 that provides sets of display data 102 for a display” (Zhang, ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches [t]he image processing module according to claim 8,
Zhang teaches multiple ports for transferring data, but does not explicitly teach wherein the image data is transmitted to the image processing module via a high-definition multimedia interface connection port.
Lee teaches wherein the image data is transmitted to the image processing module via a high-definition multimedia interface connection port “In addition to USB protocol, a USB data transmission path may be applied to other communication protocols, such as DisplayPort (DP) protocol, Thunderbolt protocol, High Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) protocol or other communication protocols, based on application requirements” (Lee, ¶ [0014]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of image data transmission taught by Zhang with the use of an HDMI connection port taught by Lee to receive an image via HDMI, this would allow for high quality, lossless transmission (Lee, ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches [a]n image data transmission method, comprising “A computing system or device is disclosed that includes a display (e.g., a panel) and a controller to provide data for separate portions of the display simultaneously. In one embodiment, the computing system and/or display is part of a virtual reality (VR) system, augmented reality (AR) system, mobile phone, portable computer system, etc.” (Zhang, ¶ [0012]):
separating an image data into a plurality of parts by an image processing module “In one embodiment, the separate portions of the display are left and right halves. In such a case, techniques disclosed herein scan the left and right halves of the image simultaneously by using two sets of column and row drivers (or gate and source drivers). In one embodiment, each set of drivers is driven by a separate pipe in the case of multiple pipes” (Zhang, ¶ [0013]) where separate portions of the display are provided with a respective half by separating the image after scanning;
combining the plurality of parts by a software driver layer (Zhang, Fig. 1, items 106-107 A & B) of the computer device to obtain a combined data “The data of planes 1 and 2 are provided by pipes 1 and 2 to display panel 302 via ports 1 and 2, respectively. Display panel 301 includes two sets of drivers to drive separate portions of the display screen of display panel 302. In one embodiment, these are part of TCON Embedded Driver 1 (TED 1) and TED 2. The sets of drivers of TED 1 and 2 update two rows of data, one for each portion of the display screen, simultaneously” (Zhang, ¶ [0024]) where the plurality of parts are the left and right halves and the combined data is the assembled images; and
decoding the combined data by an application layer of the computer device to display the image data “In one embodiment, processing core 812 includes, but is not limited to, pre-fetch logic to fetch instructions, decode logic to decode the instructions, execution logic to execute instructions and the like” (Zhang, ¶ [0049]);
wherein the plurality of parts have at least a first part (Zhang, Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and a second part (Zhang, Fig. 1, item 115 right side), and the first part (Zhang, Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) occupy the same size in each frame of the image data ““processing logic (e.g., system software) in the processing device splits the horizontal resolution by two to generate the resolution for left and right data streams (processing block 605). Thus, each eye has a resolution of (m/2)×n. Note that the refresh rate is also retained at rHz” (Zhang, ¶ [0039]) where after being split, both halves retain equal display resolution, refresh rate, and size”.
Zhang does not explicitly teach outputting the plurality of parts from a first set of universal serial bus connection ports of the image processing module to a second set of universal serial bus connection ports of a computer device;
wherein the first set of universal serial bus connection ports and the second set of universal serial bus connection ports are connected one-to-one;
Lee teaches outputting the plurality of parts from a first set of universal serial bus connection ports (Lee, Fig. 5, items 132a & b) of the image processing module to a second set of universal serial bus connection ports of a computer device (Lee, Fig. 5, items 173 & 174) “The communication protocol transmitted on the downstream port 173 is in the DP ALT mode, therefore the multiplexer 160 may couple at least one of the data channels of the downstream port 173 to the second terminal 132a of the image processing unit 132, and couple the remaining data channels of the downstream port 173 to the downstream terminal 140d3 of the USB hub unit 140. The communication protocol transmitted on the downstream port 174 is in the DP ALT mode. Therefore, the multiplexer 160 may couple all of the data channels of the downstream port 174 to the third terminal 132b of the image processing unit 132” (Lee, ¶ [0033]) where all mentioned ports can be USB ports;
wherein the first set of universal serial bus connection ports and the second set of universal serial bus connection ports are connected one-to-one “The USB upstream ports include a first USB upstream port and a second USB upstream port. The downstream ports include a first downstream port and a second downstream port. The image processing units include a first image processing unit and a second image processing unit. The first multiplexer is coupled to the first USB upstream port, the second USB upstream port, the first image processing unit, the second image processing unit, and the USB hub unit. The second multiplexer is coupled to the first image processing unit, the second image processing unit, the USB hub unit, the first downstream port, and the second downstream port” (Lee, ¶ [005]);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of image data transmission taught by Zhang with the use of a set of USB connection ports taught by Lee to process an image faster, with more modern technology (Lee, ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Lee teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 13, wherein when any of the first set of universal serial bus connection (Lee, Fig. 5, item 132a) ports transmits the first part of one frame (Zhang, Fig. 1, item 115 left side) of the image data, another of the first set of universal serial bus connection ports (Lee, Fig. 5, item 132b) simultaneously transmits the second part (Zhang, Fig. 1, item 115 right side) of the same frame of the image data “Two display pipes to scan out data at the original pixel clock rate. Two row and column drives that can update two rows of data simultaneously” (Zhang, ¶ [0025]) where the two splits from the same image are updated at the same time.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Lee teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 14, wherein the first part (Zhang, Fig. 1, item 115 left side) is the left half of each frame of the image data, and the second part (Zhang, Fig. 1, item 115 right side) is the right half of the same frame of the image data “In one embodiment, the separate portions of the display are left and right halves. In such a case, techniques disclosed herein scan the left and right halves of the image simultaneously by using two sets of column and row drivers (or gate and source drivers)” (Zhang, ¶ [0013]), additionally, “Under control of a display controller in the processing device, a plane of data from each of the halves is fetched and provided to a separate pipe. For example, plane 1 is fetched from the left half of frame buffer 301 and provided to pipe 1, while plane 2 is fetched in parallel from the right half of frame buffer 301 and provided to pipe 2” (Zhang, ¶ [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Lee teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 13, further comprising:
storing the first part (Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and the second part (Fig. 1, item 115 right side) in a register of the image processing module “Memory 830 stores information and instructions to be executed by processor 810” (Zhang, ¶ [0054]); and
simultaneously outputting the first part (Zhang, Fig. 1, item 115 left side) and the second part (Zhang, Fig. 1, item 115 right side) from the register ““Two display pipes to scan out data at the original pixel clock rate. Two row and column drives that can update two rows of data simultaneously” (Zhang, ¶ [0025])”.
Lee teaches via any two of the first set of universal serial (Lee, Fig. 5, items 132a & b) bus connection ports by the image processing module “The communication protocol transmitted on the downstream port 173 is in the DP ALT mode, therefore the multiplexer 160 may couple at least one of the data channels of the downstream port 173 to the second terminal 132a of the image processing unit 132, and couple the remaining data channels of the downstream port 173 to the downstream terminal 140d3 of the USB hub unit 140. The communication protocol transmitted on the downstream port 174 is in the DP ALT mode. Therefore, the multiplexer 160 may couple all of the data channels of the downstream port 174 to the third terminal 132b of the image processing unit 132” (Lee, ¶ [0033])
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Lee teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 13, wherein the image processing module receives the image data via a high-definition multimedia interface connection port “In addition to USB protocol, a USB data transmission path may be applied to other communication protocols, such as DisplayPort (DP) protocol, Thunderbolt protocol, High Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) protocol or other communication protocols, based on application requirements” (Lee, ¶ [0014]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lee and further in view of Richardson.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Lee teaches [t]he image data transmission method according to claim 14,
Zhang in view of Lee do not teach wherein the first part is the upper half of each frame of the image data, and the second part is the lower half of the same frame of the image data.
Richardson teaches wherein the first part is the upper half (Richardson, Fig. 2, item I1) of each frame of the image data, and the second part is the lower half (Richardson, Fig. 2, item I2) of the same frame of the image data “The separate image streams are connected to an output unit 46, which may be a data storage unit for storing the two image streams for later viewing, or a computer or monitor for viewing and processing the image streams together or separately” (Richardson, ¶ [0027]) where the single display for viewing multiple image inputs is not limited to the direction of the split, additionally, “… combines each image frame of the first stream with an image frame of the second stream to produce a single combined image frame. In the illustrated embodiment, an image frame I1 from the first stream is disposed on top of an image frame I2 from the second stream, to produce a combined image frame I1+2 of size n×2m. This combining process is repeated for each frame of the first stream and second stream, so that a single output stream of combined images is produced at output 39” (Richardson, ¶ [0023]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of image data transmission taught by Zhang with the use of USB ports for connection and data transmission taught by Lee with the vertical display taught by Richardson to produce a combined image that can fit on different display ratios or meet different display needs “alternative techniques may be used for combining each pair of image frames in other embodiments, such as disposing them side-by-side or in other relative positions in the combined frame. Additionally, it will be understood that the same basic method can be used for combining images from more than two separate image streams” (Richardson, ¶ [0025]). The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to allow for a combined image to be viewed in portrait display rather than landscape.
Conclusion
/C.A.U./Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/TAMMY PAIGE GODDARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611