DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 1-16 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-5, and 9-13 objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims alternate between the phrases “position/orientation/state” (as in claims 1, 2, 4, etc) and “position, state, or orientation” (as in claim 3, 5, etc) – note additionally the ordering of the words changes also (for example, from “position/orientation/state” to “position/state/orientation”); the claims should be amended to only use one of these phrases for consistency and clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4, 6, 12 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is indefinite as in lines 3-4 it recites “the entire chair” which lacks proper antecedent basis. Additionally, it is noted that claim 1, and line 3 of claim 4 recite the position of the “furniture piece”, however in the final line of claim 4, the claim then recites the position of “said chair”. It is unclear if the position of “said chair” is different than that of the “furniture piece.”
Similarly claim 12 is indefinite for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claim 6 and 14 recites the limitation "said chair framework", there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chih Hsiung Liu (US 12082698).
As concerns claim 1, Liu teaches a powered furniture piece, comprising: a framework (Liu, fig. 1: 104); a pair of oppositely disposed seat plates (Liu, fig. 3: 174), mounted upon said framework (Liu, fig. 1: 104), for mounting a seat (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) thereon; a pair of oppositely disposed footrest mounting brackets (Liu, fig. 12: 238 and 250), operatively connected to said pair of oppositely disposed seat plates (Liu, fig. 3: 174), for mounting a footrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) thereon; a pair of oppositely disposed backrest mounting brackets (Liu, fig. 1: 162), operatively connected to said pair of oppositely disposed seat plates (Liu, fig. 3: 174), for mounting a backrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) thereon; and a pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 108 and 110) operatively connected to said framework (Liu, fig. 1: 104) and said seat (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) such that when a first one of said pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 108) is extended (Liu, fig. column 11, lines 17-19), while a second one of said pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 110) is partially extended (Liu, column 11, line 44), said furniture piece is disposed in a SEATED position/orientation/state (Liu, shown in fig. 10) wherein said seat (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) is disposed within a substantially horizontal plane (Liu, column 13, lines 7-8), said footrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) is retracted (Liu, column 13, lines 11-13), and said backrest is disposed upright (Liu, column 13, lines 9-10).
As concerns claim 2, Liu teaches wherein: when said second one of said pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 110) is retracted (Liu, column 10, lines 21-23), said furniture piece is disposed at a TV position/orientation/state (Liu, shown in fig. 12), wherein said seat is disposed within a substantially horizontal plane (Liu, column 13, lines 7-8), said footrest is extended (Liu, shown in fig. 12), and said backrest is disposed upright (Liu, column 13, lines 9-10).
As concerns claim 3, Liu teaches wherein: when said second one of said pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 110) is retracted (Liu, column 10, lines 21-23) further, said furniture piece is disposed at a ZERO-GRAVITY position, state, or orientation (Liu, shown in fig. 13) wherein said seat is reclined (Liu, shown in fig. 1) with a rear portion of said seat being disposed at an elevation which is lower than a front portion of said seat, and wherein said footrest is disposed at a higher elevation than that of said seat (Liu, column 2, lines 26-35).
As concerns claim 4, Liu teaches wherein: when said second one of said pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 110) is extended (Liu, column 11, line 44), said furniture piece is disposed at a LIFT position/orientation/state (Liu, shown in fig. 11) wherein the entire chair (Liu, fig. 1: 100), comprising said footrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23), said seat (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23), and said backrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23), is elevated to an elevational level which is significantly above (Liu, column 11, lines 17-25) where said chair (Liu, fig. 1: 100) is disposed when said chair (Liu, fig. 1: 100) is disposed at said SEATED position/state/orientation (Liu, shown in fig. 10).
As concerns claim 5, Liu teaches wherein: when said first one of said pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 108) is retracted (Liu, column 11, lines 32-33), said backrest of said furniture piece is disposed at a RECLINED position, orientation, or state (Liu, shown in fig. 1).
As concerns claim 6, Liu teaches wherein: said first and second linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 108 and 110) are mounted upon said chair framework (Liu, fig. 1: 104) so as to be disposed in opposite orientations (Liu, shown in fig. 1).
As concerns claim 7, Liu teaches wherein: said pair of oppositely disposed footrest mounting brackets (Liu, fig. 12: 238 and 250) are operatively connected to said pair of oppositely disposed seat plates (Liu, fig. 3: 174) by a plurality of linkage members (Liu, fig. 1: 106).
As concerns claim 8, Liu teaches wherein: said furniture piece is selected from the group comprising a chair, a love seat, and a sofa (Liu, column 1, lines 15-17).
As concerns claim 9, Liu teaches A powered furniture piece, comprising: a framework (Liu, fig. 1: 104); a pair of oppositely disposed seat plates (Liu, fig. 3: 174), mounted upon said framework (Liu, fig. 1: 104), for mounting a seat (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) thereon; a pair of oppositely disposed footrest mounting brackets (Liu, fig. 12: 238 and 250), operatively connected to said pair of oppositely disposed seat plates (Liu, fig. 3: 174), for mounting a footrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) thereon; a pair of oppositely disposed backrest mounting brackets (Liu, fig. 1: 162), operatively connected to said pair of oppositely disposed seat plates (Liu, fig. 3: 174), for mounting a backrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) thereon; and a pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 108 and 110) operatively connected to said framework (Liu, fig. 1: 104) and said seat (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) such that when said pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 108 and 110) are actuated, said furniture piece can attain different positions/orientations/states (Liu, column 2, line 67 through column 3, lines 1-4), comprising a SEATED position/orientation/state (Liu, shown in fig. 10), a TV position/orientation/state (Liu, shown in fig. 12), a ZERO- GRAVITY position/orientation/state (Liu, shown in fig. 13), a LIFT position/orientation/state (Liu, shown in fig. 11), and a backrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) RECLINED position/orientation/state (Liu, shown in fig. 1).
As concerns claim 10, Liu teaches wherein: when said furniture piece is disposed at said SEATED position, orientation, or state, (Liu, shown in fig. 10) said seat (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) is disposed within a substantially horizontal plane (Liu, column 13, lines 7-8), said footrest is retracted (Liu, column 13, lines 11-13), and said backrest is disposed upright (Liu, column 13, lines 9-10).
As concerns claim 11, Liu teaches wherein: when said furniture piece is disposed at said ZERO-GRAVITY position/state/orientation (Liu, shown in fig. 13), said seat is reclined with a rear portion of said seat being disposed at an elevation which is lower than a front portion of said seat, and wherein said footrest is disposed at a higher elevation than that of said seat (Liu, column 2, lines 26-35).
As concerns claim 12, Liu teaches wherein: when said furniture piece is disposed at said LIFT position, state, or orientation (Liu, shown in fig. 11), the entire chair (Liu, fig. 1: 100), comprising said footrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23), said seat (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23), and said backrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23), is elevated to an elevational level which is significantly above (Liu, column 11, lines 17-25) where said chair (Liu, fig. 1: 100) is disposed when said chair (Liu, fig. 1: 100) is disposed at said SEATED position, state, or orientation (Liu, shown in fig. 10).
As concerns claim 13, Liu teaches wherein: when said backrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) of said furniture piece is disposed at said RECLINED position/orientation/state (Liu, shown in fig. 1), said backrest (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) is disposed at a reclined position/state/orientation (Liu, shown in fig. 1) relative to an upright position (Liu, column 13, lines 9-10).
As concerns claim 14, Liu teaches wherein: said pair of linear actuators (Liu. Fig. 3: 108 and 110) are mounted upon said chair framework (Liu, fig. 1: 104) so as to be disposed in opposite orientations (Liu, shown in fig. 1).
As concerns claim 15, Liu teaches wherein: said at least one footrest mounting bracket (Liu, fig. 12: 238 and 250) is operatively connected to said seat (Liu, column 2, lines 18-23) by a plurality of linkage members (Liu, fig. 1: 106).
As concerns claim 16, Liu teaches wherein: said furniture piece is selected from the group comprising a chair, a love seat, and a sofa (Liu, column 1, lines 15-17).
Conclusion
JESSICA K THOMPSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636