DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on July 21, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of prior patent No. 12, 030,545 has been reviewed and is NOT accepted.
This application was filed on or after September 16, 2012. The person who signed the terminal disclaimer is not the applicant, the patentee or an attorney or agent of record. See 37 CFR 1.321(a) and (b). Please file a power of attorney that gives power to the attorney of record who is signing the terminal disclaimer, along with another copy of the terminal disclaimer form (or file a terminal disclaimer that is signed by the applicant). No additional fee is required with the resubmission.
Double Patenting
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,030,545. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as the handle of the ‘545 patent reads upon the means language from claim 9 and the drawbar language in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter (4,789,171) in view of Johnson (4,740,008)
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 9-10, 13-16, and 19, Porter discloses a utility trailer, comprising:
a tub (20);
a chassis (34);
a pair of wheels (66, 68);
a handle/drawbar (75, 76) comprising a stand (90) at one end and a grip (86) / tongue means for hauling (100, see Figs. 8-9) at the other end;
a bracket (70/71) mounted on the chassis (34); and
wherein the handle/drawbar is coupled to the bracket (70/71) and is shiftable between a parallel-to-ground towing orientation (see Fig. 8) and a pulling orientation (see Fig. 2) wherein the stand (90) contacts a ground surface upon which the pair of wheels rest when the handle is in the pulling orientation (Fig. 2) .
While Porter discloses that the handle(s) extend linearly along a plane (see handle extensions 76), it does not disclose that the shaft of the handles are linear in construction.
Johnson teaches another utility trailer including a linear shaft (38; see Figs. 1-2 showing the linearly constructed pivoting handle that terminates at a grip 50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the handle/drawbar of Porter with the straight handle shaft extension taught by Johnson to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of one known element (straight wheelbarrow arms) for another (inwardly bending wheelbarrow arms) to obtain predictable results (a wheelbarrow having simpler configuration to ease manufacturing).
Regarding claims 3-4, 6-7, 11-12, and 17, Porter further discloses that the bracket (70/71) comprises a pair of pin orifices (87) where a bracket pin (see Col. 3, lines 40-47) is used to lock the handle shaft in one of the two orifices when in either the towing or pulling orientation.
Claims 8, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter in view Johnson as applied to claims 7, 9, and 19 above, and further in view of Piccirillo (8,505,932).
Regarding claims 8, 18, and 20, while Porter discloses that the first end of the handle/drawbar shaft has means for towing (e.g., via hitch 100) and pulling (via grips 86) and that one of these two elements is de-mountable from the end of the shaft (see Figs. 8-9), it does not disclose that the handle grip axially slidable along the shaft’s longitudinal axis between the first end and second end.
Piccirillo discloses another utility trailer having a wheeled chassis (8) having a longitudinally extending handle/drawbar (31) having a hitch connected (68) at a first end and a grip (43/44, see last paragraph of Col. 6) that is mounted on the handle shaft and is slidable along the shaft between the two ends (see Col. 5, lines 38-43 describing the adjustment/repositioning of the grippable elements 43/44).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the handle/drawbar of the Porter combination with the fixed hitch/slidable handles taught by Piccirillo to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., replacing on known connector configuration for another) to known devices (e.g., trailers having both handles and trailer hitch connectors at the end of their handle/drawbar) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g., -------a convertible trailer having its two connectors secured to the device to prevent loss).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE CLEMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618