DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 6, 12, 18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
ISSUE - CLAIMS 1 AND 12
The phrase 'transmit/transmit ... for a remote service' does not make reasonably clear whether the data is transmitted to the remote service, transmitted on behalf of the remote service, or merely formatted for use by the remote service.
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite because the phrase 'for a remote service' fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the destination or functional relationship of the transmitted data.
Suggested Examiner's Amendment / Correction
Amend to recite, for example, 'transmit the navigation data to a remote service' and 'transmit ... the pod status information and payload status information to a remote service.'
ISSUE - CLAIMS 5, 12, AND 20
The term 'pod network' lacks antecedent basis and conflicts with the previously introduced 'pipe network.' Claim 5 states that the pod traverses the pod network, claim 12 states that the pod traverses the pod network, and claim 20 twice recites traversing the pod network. The claim set otherwise refers to a pipe network.
Claims 5, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite because 'pod network' lacks antecedent basis and creates uncertainty as to whether a separate network of pods or the previously recited pipe network is intended.
Suggested Examiner's Amendment / Correction
Amend 'pod network' to 'pipe network' if that is the intended meaning, or introduce and define the separate pod network with structural and functional boundaries.
ISSUE - CLAIMS 6
Claim 6 recites a 'tow connection' selected from 'a rear tow connection and a push connection.' A push connection is not ordinarily a tow connection, and the claim does not clarify whether the second pod tows, pushes, or performs either type of mechanical coupling.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite because the scope of 'tow connection' is internally inconsistent when the selectable group includes a push connection.
Suggested Examiner's Amendment / Correction
Amend to recite, for example, 'a mechanical coupling selected from a rear tow coupling and a front push coupling,' or separately claim towing and pushing embodiments.
ISSUE - CLAIMS 18
Claim 18 is written as a method claim using a 'further comprising' transition but the final step states 'navigate the pod through the updated route' rather than the grammatically parallel method step 'navigating the pod through the updated route.'
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite because the final limitation is grammatically inconsistent with the method format and fails to clearly recite the act being performed.
Suggested Examiner's Amendment / Correction
Amend 'navigate the pod through the updated route' to 'navigating the pod through the updated route.'
References Relied Upon
Reference 1: US20240241519A1, 'Systems and Methods for Delivering Packages Using Mobile Robots' (George).
Reference 2: US9598239B2, 'Automated System for Transporting Payloads' (Lert).
Reference 3: US20190034857A1, 'Food and Beverage Delivery System on Autonomous and Semi-Autonomous Vehicle' (Roberts et al.).
Reference 4: US20200144838A1, 'Robots for Charging Electric Vehicles (EVs)' (Penilla et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Grouping
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 8 is rejected over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 3.
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 4.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 1 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
A system comprising a delivery pod configured to traverse a pipe network, the delivery pod comprising: a set of wheel assemblies positioned to enable contact with a guide rail extending through a hollow interior of one or more pipe segments of the pipe network; a drive module comprising an electric motor operatively connected to a primary wheel assembly of the set of wheel assemblies; a power module comprising an electric power source electrically connected to the drive module; a cargo module comprising a removable tote; a wireless communication module configured to wirelessly scan navigation beacons as the pod traverses the pipe network; and a control module configured to: (i) record navigation data as the pod traverses the pipe network, and (ii) transmit the navigation data for a remote service to enable tracking of the pod through the pipe network.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches a package-delivery system 100 using mobile package delivery robots 108 that travel through one or more enclosed passageways 110 under control of central controller 102. Each robot 108 includes propulsion system 302 with electric drive components, robot controller 306, communication system 312, sensor system 314, and battery/power components. Reference 1 further teaches beacons 116 for positioning/tracking, central controller 102 with path finder 212 and maps 214, and remote robot control/monitoring through robot controller 216.
Reference 2 teaches the rail/tote structure applied to the enclosed route of Reference 1. Reference 2 discloses a guideway 15, bot-beams 24, R-Bots 40, drive wheels, non-driven guide/keep wheels, C-channel guide members, power subsystem contacts/pickups, and payload totes such as P-Totes and O-Totes. Applying the guideway 15 and bot-beam 24 structure of Reference 2 to the enclosed passageway 110 of Reference 1 provides the claimed pipe-network guide rail extending through a hollow interior, the claimed wheel assemblies contacting that guide rail, and the claimed electric drive module/power module arrangement.
The cargo module comprising a removable tote is taught by Reference 2 through the R-Bot/tote arrangement and by Reference 1 through robot loading system 304 for receiving and unloading packages. The wireless scanning and navigation-data limitations are met by Reference 1 beacons 116, communication system 312, sensor system 314, robot controller 306, and central controller 102 tracking the robot along the path. The claimed transmission to a remote service is met by Reference 1 central controller 102 and associated package location/path repository functions.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 1's autonomous robot delivery network with Reference 2's guideway/tote transport architecture to obtain predictable constrained movement, precise routing, and automated tote transfer in an enclosed delivery network. Both references address automated payload movement by mobile robots in controlled transportation paths, and the substitution of Reference 2's rail-guided bot structure into Reference 1's enclosed passageways would have yielded a reliable, self-propelled pod with predictable results.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 2 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 1, wherein the control module is further configured to: determine an initial route through the pipe network for delivering the removable tote to a first destination portal; receive a notification, via an adjacent pod of the pipe network, indicating that an intended destination of the removable tote has been modified to a second destination portal, wherein the notification was broadcasted to the pod by an external service through a distributed network of pods including the adjacent pod; calculate an updated route through the pipe network for delivering the removable tote to the second destination portal; and navigate the pod through the updated route.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches central controller 102 determining paths from warehouse 104 to destination 106 using path finder 212 and maps 214, and instructing robot 108 to travel the selected path through enclosed passageways 110. Reference 1 also teaches multi-robot operation, wireless communications, beacons 116, package location tracking, and service-robot intervention when a robot malfunctions or an obstacle is detected.
Reference 2 teaches a guideway network with switches/segments and multiple bots moving payload totes. In the combined system, the first destination portal corresponds to a delivery destination or portal in the enclosed passageway/guideway network, and the second destination portal corresponds to an alternate destination or maintenance/delivery portal. The adjacent pod communication is an obvious implementation of Reference 1's wireless robot fleet communications in an enclosed passageway where peer relaying through a distributed network of robots improves communications coverage.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to update a delivery route when a destination changes because Reference 1 already uses central path planning and package tracking, and because Reference 2's switched guideway network requires route selection. Relaying updated destination information through adjacent pods would predictably improve communication reliability in enclosed or underground passages where direct remote-service coverage may be obstructed.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 3 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 1, wherein navigation beacons are configured for one-way communication of location information to the pod, and wherein the wireless communication module is further configured for two-way communication with a set of junction terminals of the pipe network.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches beacons 116 used to identify robot position/location and communication system 312 used by robot 108 to communicate with central controller 102. Reference 2 teaches guideway switches, segment switches 26, and control of route changes along the guideway 15.
The one-way beacon limitation is met or rendered obvious by using the beacon 116 as a low-cost location transmitter that provides location information to the pod without requiring the beacon to negotiate. The two-way junction-terminal limitation is rendered obvious by applying Reference 1 communication system 312 and controller communications to Reference 2 segment switches 26/junction locations so that routing commands and status are exchanged at junctions.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use one-way beacons for fixed location information and two-way junction terminals for route-control exchange because fixed beacons need only broadcast location while junctions must receive routing/status messages and transmit switching instructions. This division reduces cost and complexity while preserving control reliability.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 4 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 1, wherein the set of wheel assemblies comprises: the primary wheel assembly operatively connected to the drive module; and a passive secondary wheel assembly.
Analysis:
Reference 2 teaches a driven vehicle structure including drive wheels for propulsion on guideway surfaces and additional non-driven guide wheels that maintain vehicle alignment within the guideway. The driven wheels correspond to the primary wheel assembly operatively connected to the drive module, while the non-driven guide/keep wheels correspond to a passive secondary wheel assembly.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include driven and passive wheel assemblies because Reference 2's guideway vehicle uses drive wheels for propulsion and guide wheels for alignment. Separating propulsion from alignment reduces friction, simplifies control, and improves tracking within a narrow guideway.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 5 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 3, wherein the primary wheel assembly comprises: a set of drive wheels configured to propel the pod forward by making contact with a drive wheel contact surface of the guide rail, wherein an axis of the set of drive wheels is horizontal relative to the pod; and a set of keep wheels configured to maintain lateral alignment with the guide rail by making contact with a keep wheel contact surface of the guide rail as the pod traverses the pod network, wherein an axis of the set of keep wheels is vertical relative to the pod.
Analysis:
Reference 2 teaches drive wheels positioned to bear on drive/support surfaces of the guideway/bot-beam 24 and non-driven guide wheels positioned to bear laterally against vertical guide surfaces. The drive wheels propel the bot forward along the guideway 15 and have a horizontal rotational axis relative to the vehicle. The guide/keep wheels contact side or vertical surfaces of the guide structure to maintain lateral alignment and have a vertical rotational axis relative to the vehicle.
In the combined Reference 1/Reference 2 system, those surfaces are the drive wheel contact surface and keep wheel contact surface of the guide rail extending through the enclosed pipe network. The claim's use of 'pod network' is treated as 'pipe network' for prior-art mapping, subject to the §112(b) issue above.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to orient propulsion wheels and lateral guide wheels on different axes because Reference 2's guideway vehicle uses horizontal support/drive surfaces and vertical side guide surfaces. This wheel arrangement is a predictable way to propel a vehicle forward while resisting lateral deviation in a constrained guide rail.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 6 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 1, further comprising: a second pod configured to: establish a tow connection with the pod, wherein the tow connection is one selected from a group consisting of a rear tow connection and a push connection; and transport the pod to a maintenance portal location; and wherein the pod further comprises: a linkage assembly configured to enable the second pod to establish the tow connection, wherein the pod is configured to enter a passive transport mode while the tow connection is engaged.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches service robots 114 used when a package delivery robot 108 malfunctions or an obstacle is detected, and teaches a central controller 102 coordinating remediation. Reference 2 expressly teaches a transport or towing bot that pulls or pushes a failed R-Bot 40, with the failed bot moved in a passive condition to a service/maintenance location.
The claimed second pod, rear tow/push connection, linkage assembly, maintenance portal, and passive transport mode are therefore taught or rendered obvious by Reference 2's T-Bot/R-Bot towing and pushing arrangement applied to Reference 1's service robots 114 and maintenance handling.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide a second pod or service robot capable of towing or pushing a disabled pod to maintenance because both references identify failure/remediation needs in automated delivery networks. Such a coupling prevents blocked guideways and avoids manual retrieval inside enclosed passages.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 7 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 1, wherein the cargo module comprises a sensor element, and wherein the system further comprises: a set of cache locations each configured to store at least one removable tote; and a tote lift mechanism comprising a sensor configured to detect the sensor element to determine that the removable tote is in alignment for removal from the pod, wherein the tote lift mechanism includes functionality to: upon determining that the removable tote is in alignment for removal from the pod, engage and lift the removable tote by moving along a linear guide rail; and deposit the removable tote into a first cache location of the set of cache locations for storage.
Analysis:
Reference 2 teaches payload totes stored and transferred by automated mechanisms, including R-Bots 40 carrying totes, tote locations/caches, and transfer mechanisms using telescoping transfer arms/lift elements that engage and move totes into storage positions. Reference 1 teaches sensor system 314 and robot/controller feedback for confirming positions and operations.
Providing a sensor element on the cargo module/removable tote and a sensor on the tote lift mechanism to verify alignment before lifting is an expected automation safeguard in the combined system, because Reference 1 already uses sensors 314 for robot state/position and Reference 2's automated tote transfer requires alignment before a tote is lifted and deposited into a cache location.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide sensor-confirmed tote alignment before lift transfer because automated tote lifting without alignment confirmation risks jams, dropped payloads, and damage. Reference 1 already teaches robot sensors, and Reference 2 requires accurate tote transfer into storage/cache locations.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 8 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 3
Claim Text:
The system of claim 1, wherein the cargo module further comprises: a refrigeration module configured to refrigerate the contents of the removable tote, wherein the removable tote is insulated and configured to transport perishable cargo.
Analysis:
Reference 3 teaches autonomous delivery/storage systems for food and beverage items, including removable or modular storage structures, insulated storage, temperature sensors, and temperature-control systems 1730/1830 for preserving perishable cargo. In the combined delivery-pod system of References 1 and 2, the removable tote is the cargo container carrying goods through the enclosed guideway network.
Adding Reference 3's insulated temperature-controlled/refrigerated module to the removable tote of References 1 and 2 satisfies the refrigeration module limitation and enables the pod to transport perishable cargo without spoilage.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add Reference 3's refrigerated/insulated cargo module when transporting perishables because temperature control is a known requirement for food and beverage delivery. The modification merely adapts the known cargo container of the pod for predictable preservation of perishable payloads.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 9 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 1, wherein the pod further comprises: an electrical charging contact configured to make contact with a charging element affixed to an interior of a portal location, wherein the pod is configured to charge during traversal of the portal location while the electrical charging contact is in contact with the charging element.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches charging stations 112 for robots 108 in the delivery system. Reference 2 teaches power pickup/charging arrangements using conductive or inductive power contacts associated with the guideway or station structure. Applying these teachings to a portal location results in an electrical charging contact on the pod making contact with a charging element fixed inside a portal while the pod traverses the portal.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to charge the pod at a portal using fixed contacts because automated robots require periodic charging and a portal is a predictable location where speed, alignment, and access are controlled. Reference 1's charging stations and Reference 2's power pickups provide the design motivation.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 10 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 1, wherein the power module further comprises a battery compartment comprising a removable battery, and wherein the pod is configured to: exit the pipe network at a portal location; and open the battery compartment to enable automatic swapping of the removable battery with a substitute battery.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches battery-powered package delivery robots 108 and charging/replenishment within the robot delivery network. Reference 2 teaches bot maintenance/servicing at guideway stations and automated material-handling arrangements. A removable battery compartment that opens at a portal to exchange a depleted battery for a substitute battery is the predictable portal-service implementation of the robot battery/maintenance functions taught by References 1 and 2.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide automatic battery exchange at a portal to reduce robot downtime relative to waiting for a full recharge. A portal/maintenance location in the combined network is a predictable controlled site for opening a battery compartment and substituting a charged battery.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 11 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 4
Claim Text:
The system of claim 1, wherein the power module further comprises a battery compartment comprising a battery, and wherein the pod is configured to: establish physical contact with an adjacent pod; and charge the battery using a second power supply of the adjacent pod while the pod is in motion.
Analysis:
Reference 4 teaches a mobile charging robot 118 having an energy storage/power supply and a physical charging connection, including a connection arm 122 and connector for delivering charge to another electric vehicle/robot. Reference 1 teaches multiple mobile robots operating in a coordinated delivery network, and Reference 2 teaches constrained guideway travel in which adjacent vehicles can be positioned predictably.
Using Reference 4's physical charge-transfer connection between adjacent mobile units in the combined pod network provides the claimed physical contact with an adjacent pod and charging of the battery from a second power supply while the pod is in motion or moving through the guideway network.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to allow one pod to charge another because mobile robots in a constrained delivery network may not reach a fixed charger during low-power conditions. Reference 4's mobile robot-to-vehicle charging connector supplies a known charge-transfer solution, and applying it to adjacent pods provides predictable emergency or in-route energy sharing.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 12 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
A system comprising a delivery pod configured to traverse a pipe network, the delivery pod comprising: a set of wheel assemblies positioned to enable contact with a guide rail extending through a hollow interior of one or more pipe segments of the pipe network; a drive module comprising an electric motor operatively connected to a primary wheel assembly of the set of wheel assemblies; a cargo module comprising a removable tote and a set of payload sensors positioned to monitor a payload of the removable tote; a pod sensor configured to monitor a status of at least one component of the pod; a wireless communication module configured to communicate pod status information and payload status information as the pod traverses the pod network; and a control module configured to: (i) record sensor data from the set of payload sensors and the pod sensor, (ii) generate pod status information and payload status information based on the sensor data, (iii) transmit, via the wireless communication module, the pod status information and payload status information for a remote service to enable monitoring of the pod as it traverses the pipe network.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches robot 108 including propulsion, communication system 312, sensor system 314, robot controller 306, and central controller 102 that tracks robot/package status. Reference 2 supplies the guide rail/guideway 15, wheel assemblies, electric drive/guide-wheel arrangement, removable totes, and tote handling structure. Together, the references teach a delivery pod traversing an enclosed pipe/guideway network with wheel assemblies contacting a guide rail and an electric drive module connected to a primary wheel assembly.
Reference 1's sensor system 314 and controller 306 monitor robot conditions, while its package location/tracking functions monitor package status. Reference 2's tote carried by R-Bot 40 corresponds to the removable tote and payload. It would have been obvious to place payload sensors on or adjacent to the tote and a pod sensor on the pod to generate payload status and pod status for transmission through communication system 312 to the remote central controller 102.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add payload and pod status sensors because Reference 1 already tracks robot and package conditions and because reliable logistics require condition monitoring. Applying sensors to the removable tote and pod components improves diagnostics and payload integrity in the same predictable manner.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 13 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 12, wherein the control module is further configured to: determine an initial route through the pipe network for delivering the removable tote to a first destination portal; determine, based on the pod status information, that the pod has encountered a malfunction; modify, based on determining that the pod has encountered the malfunction, an intended destination of the removable tote to a second destination portal; calculate an updated route through the pipe network for delivering the removable tote to the second destination portal; and navigate the pod through the updated route.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches detecting abnormal robot conditions, obstacles, and malfunctions using sensor system 314 and controller communications, and further teaches service robots 114 for remediation. Reference 1 also teaches central controller 102/path finder 212 updating robot paths based on system conditions.
Reference 2 teaches moving a failed R-Bot 40 by a towing/pushing bot to a service location. In the combined system, the pod status information indicating malfunction causes the intended delivery destination to be changed to a maintenance or alternate portal, followed by calculation of an updated route through the guideway/pipe network.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to reroute a malfunctioning pod to a maintenance or alternate portal because Reference 1 teaches service response for malfunctioning robots and Reference 2 teaches movement of failed bots to service locations. The modification prevents network blockage and preserves payload recovery.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 14 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 12, wherein navigation beacons are configured for one-way communication of location information to the pod, and wherein the wireless communication module is further configured for two-way communication with a set of junction terminals of the pipe network.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches beacons 116 and wireless communications by communication system 312. Reference 2 teaches guideway routing through segment switches 26. For the same reasons stated for claim 3, the combined system teaches or renders obvious one-way navigation beacons and two-way communications with junction terminals.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious for the reasons stated for claim 3; beacon broadcast and junction two-way control allocate communication functions according to device complexity and network-control need.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 15 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The system of claim 12, wherein the set of wheel assemblies comprises: the primary wheel assembly operatively connected to the drive module; and a passive secondary wheel assembly.
Analysis:
Reference 2 teaches drive wheels and non-driven guide wheels on the bot/guideway arrangement. For the same reasons stated for claim 4, those structures teach the claimed primary wheel assembly connected to the drive module and passive secondary wheel assembly.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious for the reasons stated for claim 4; driven and passive guide wheels are a predictable guided-vehicle architecture for propulsion and alignment.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 16 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
A method for traversing a pipe network of a delivery system, comprising: inserting a self-powered pod into the pipe network by positioning a set of wheel assemblies to enable contact with a guide rail extending through a hollow interior of one or more pipe segments of the pipe network; propelling the pod along the guide rail using an electric motor operatively connected to a primary wheel assembly of the set of wheel assemblies; wirelessly scanning a set of navigation beacons as the pod traverses the pipe network; recording navigation data associated with a payload of the pod based on the set of navigation beacons; transmitting the navigation data to a remote service to enable tracking of the pod through the pipe network; and delivering the payload by docking the pod into a first destination portal and offloading a removable tote comprising the payload into a cache location of the first destination portal.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches a method of delivering packages with mobile robots 108 traveling through enclosed passageways 110, including loading a package, determining a path, navigating to a destination, tracking location using beacons 116 and communication system 312, and unloading the package. Reference 2 teaches inserting and operating R-Bots 40 on guideway 15/bot-beams 24 with drive wheels, guide wheels, electric drive, and tote handling/caching.
The combined teachings satisfy the method steps of inserting a self-powered pod by positioning wheels to contact a guide rail, propelling the pod along the rail with an electric motor, scanning navigation beacons, recording and transmitting navigation data, docking at a destination portal, and offloading a removable tote into a cache location.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to perform the method using the combined system of References 1 and 2 because the method merely recites operating the rail-guided delivery pod to deliver and offload a tote. The steps follow directly from predictable use of the combined apparatus.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 17 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 4
Claim Text:
The method of claim 16, further comprising: establishing physical contact with an adjacent pod; and charging a battery of the pod using a second power supply of the adjacent pod while the pod is in motion.
Analysis:
Reference 4 teaches physical electrical coupling between a mobile charging robot 118 and another electric vehicle/robot using charging hardware such as connection arm 122. Applying this to the multi-pod network of References 1 and 2 teaches establishing contact with an adjacent pod and charging the battery using the adjacent pod's power supply while the pod continues in the network.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious for the reasons stated for claim 11; adjacent-pod charging provides a known mobile charge-transfer solution for low-power conditions without requiring immediate access to a fixed charger.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 18 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 18 - Rejection: Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text:
The method of claim 16, further comprising: determining an initial route through the pipe network for delivering the removable tote to an original destination portal; receiving a notification, via an adjacent pod of the pipe network, indicating that an intended destination of the removable tote has been modified to the first destination portal, wherein the notification was broadcasted to the pod by an external service through a distributed network of pods including the adjacent pod; calculating an updated route through the pipe network for delivering the removable tote to the first destination portal; and navigate the pod through the updated route.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches initial path determination by central controller 102/path finder 212 and subsequent path adjustment based on destination, obstruction, malfunction, or system conditions. Reference 1 further teaches multi-robot communications and tracking; Reference 2 teaches guideway switches/segments enabling route changes.
The adjacent-pod notification and distributed-pod-network broadcast limitations are rendered obvious as a peer-relay implementation of Reference 1's robot communications in a constrained enclosed network. The final step is treated as 'navigating the pod' for mapping purposes, subject to the §112(b) grammatical issue noted above.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious for the reasons stated for claim 2; route changes and peer-relayed notifications improve delivery reliability and network resiliency in enclosed multi-pod systems.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 19 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The method of claim 16, wherein navigation beacons are configured for one-way communication of location information to the pod, and wherein the pod is configured for two-way communication with a set of junction terminals of the pipe network.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches beacons 116 providing location information and communication system 312 providing two-way wireless communication with the central controller. Reference 2 teaches guideway switches 26 and junction routing. The combined method teaches one-way beacon scanning and two-way communication with junction terminals for route control.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious for the reasons stated for claim 3; low-complexity one-way beacons and two-way junction communications are a predictable architecture for location awareness and route control.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 20 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim Text:
The method of claim 16, wherein the pod maintains lateral alignment with the guide rail while traversing the pod network using a set of keep wheels aligned to make contact with a keep wheel contact surface of the guide rail as the pod traverses the pod network, and wherein an axis of the set of keep wheels is vertical relative to the pod.
Analysis:
Reference 2 teaches non-driven guide/keep wheels contacting vertical guide surfaces of guideway/bot-beam 24 to maintain lateral alignment, with the wheel axis vertical relative to the vehicle. Applied to the pipe/guideway network of References 1 and 2, these guide wheels satisfy the keep wheel and keep wheel contact surface limitations. The term 'pod network' is treated as 'pipe network' for the prior-art mapping, subject to the §112(b) issue above.
Motivation:
It would have been obvious for the reasons stated for claim 5; keep wheels contacting vertical guide surfaces provide predictable lateral stabilization in a constrained guide rail network.
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615