DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figs. 1,9: (l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning. MPEP 608.02.V; 37 CFR 1.84.(l).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 209906481) in view of WANG (CN 215516743).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches an outdoor water purification device (title, Figs.) including a portable non-electrical water purification system (abstract; L187), comprising:
a filter element set (Fig. 1 #7) including a pre-filter element (Fig. 1 #71) and a mid-filter element (Fig. 1 #71), wherein the mid-filter element includes a reverse osmosis filter element (L160-163);
a water pipeline including an inlet pipe head (Fig. 2 #5) and an outlet pipe head (Fig. 2 #6), wherein, from the inlet pipe head to the outlet pipe head, the pre-filter element and the mid-filter element are connected in series to the water pipeline sequentially (Fig. 3);
a manual pressurizer (Fig. 3 #2) provided on the water pipeline; and
a case (Fig. 1 #1) capable of accommodating part of the filter element set, the water pipeline, and the manual pressurizer, wherein the inlet pipe head and the outlet pipe head are connected to outside of the case (Figs. 1-2).
ZHANG does not teach the manual pressurizer is located between the pre-filter element and the mid-filter element. However, WANG teaches a water purification system and water purifier with same (title, Figs.) including a non-electrical water purification system, comprising:
a filter element set including a pre-filter element (Fig. 1 #10) and a mid-filter element (Fig. 1 #3), wherein the mid-filter element includes a reverse osmosis filter element (L104-105);
a water pipeline including an inlet pipe head (Fig. 1 #5) and an outlet pipe head (Fig. 1 #15), wherein, from the inlet pipe head to the outlet pipe head, the pre-filter element and the mid-filter element are connected in series to the water pipeline sequentially; and,
a booster pump (Fig. 1 #2) provided on the water pipeline and located between the pre-filter element and the mid-filter element.
One having ordinary skill in art would recognize that a booster pump may be provided before a reverse osmosis membrane module for the purpose of pressurizing the feed flow into the reverse osmosis membrane module for improved permeation and separation efficiency.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of ZHANG to locate the pump between the pre-filter element and the mid-filter element as taught by WANG in order to pressurize the feed flow into the reverse osmosis membrane module for improved permeation and separation efficiency. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filtration. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG teaches the filter element set further includes a post-filter element (Fig. 3 #8), and from the inlet pipe head to the outlet pipe head, the pre-filter element, the mid-filter element, and the post-filter element are connected in series to the water pipeline sequentially (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG’s modified device teaches a pressure relief return pipeline (WANG Fig. 1 #4);
a water inlet end of the pressure relief return pipeline is connected to e.g. a water inlet end of the RO filter (Fig. 1);
a water outlet end of the pressure relief return pipeline is connected to a water inlet end of the booster pump; and,
from the water inlet end of the pressure relief return pipeline to the water outlet end of the pressure relief return pipeline, a pressure relief device (Fig. 1 #6) and a pressure relief return one-way valve (check valve; Fig. 1 #9) are connected in series to the pressure relief return pipeline sequentially (WANG L155-160).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG’s modified device teaches a pressure gauge (WANG Fig. 1 #7) is provided between the pump and the RO filter.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 209906481) in view of WANG (CN 215516743) and REEVES (US 20130146514).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG teaches a water outlet end of the mid-filter element is connected to a drain pipeline (ZHANG Fig. 3 #9).
ZHANG does not teach a proportional valve. However, REEVES teaches a membrane treatment/separation plant and control system (title, Figs.) including a membrane unit (Fig. 2 #55) in a reverse osmosis plant (par. [0016]) comprising a water outlet end of the RO filter is connected to a concentrate pipeline (Fig. 2 #59); and
a proportional valve (Fig. 2 #63) is provided on the concentrate pipeline.
REEVES teaches that the proportional valve allows for flow control of concentrate fluid leaving the membrane unit, and control of fluid pressure on the membrane within the membrane unit (par. [0022]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of ZHANG with a proportional valve on the drain line as taught by REEVES in order to control the concentrate flow and the pressure of the reverse osmosis membrane module for improved operational and separation efficiency. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filtration. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 209906481) in view of WANG (CN 215516743), REEVES (US 20130146514), and LINONG (CN 201864606).
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG does not teach a flushing pipeline and switching valve. However, LINONG teaches a reverse osmosis water purifier without waste water (title, Figs.) including a system comprising a pre-processor (Fig. 1 #2’), a booster pump (Fig. 1 #4’), RO filter (Fig. 1 #5’), a faucet (Fig. 1 as shown); and,
a flushing pipeline and a switching valve (Fig. 1 #9’) is led out between a concentrate valve (Fig. 1 #8’) and the RO filter.
LINONG teaches that the switching valve discharges water used for flushing the reverse osmosis membrane (L50-56).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of ZHANG with a flushing pipeline and valve as taught by LINONG in order to flush the reverse osmosis membrane module to clean the membrane for improved operational efficiency. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filtration. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 209906481) in view of WANG (CN 215516743), and LINONG (CN 201864606).
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG does not teach an outlet faucet. However, LINONG teaches a reverse osmosis water purifier without waste water (title, Figs.) including a system comprising a pre-processor (Fig. 1 #2’), a booster pump (Fig. 1 #4’), RO filter (Fig. 1 #5’); and,
a faucet (Fig. 1 as shown or Fig. 2 #3), which provides a conventional means of discharging clean water to an end user (L267-268).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of ZHANG with an outlet faucet as taught by LINONG in order to provide a conventional means of discharging clean water to an end user. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filtration. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 209906481) in view of WANG (CN 215516743), and FIFE (US 5266196).
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG does not teach the inlet pipe head is connected to a filter head. However, FIFE teaches a water filter (title, Figs.) including an inlet assembly (Fig. 2 #12) comprising a prefiltering foam tip (abstract; Fig. 2 #26), which prevents large particles from entering the filter and provides an efficient, effective prefiltering device (C5/L49-62).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of ZHANG with a filter head as taught by FIFE in order to prevent large particles from entering the filter and provide an efficient, effective prefiltering device. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filtration. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 209906481) in view of WANG (CN 215516743), and WU (CN 114483508).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG teaches the manual pressurizer includes a pressurizing pump (Fig. 4 #23), and a handle (Fig. 4 #24),
the pressurizing pump is located inside the case (Fig. 1); and,
the handle is detachably located outside the case (L59).
ZHANG does not teach details such as a speed-increasing gearbox. However, WU teaches a miniature manual two-dimensional plunger pump (title, Figs.) including a manual pressurizer comprising a speed-increasing gearbox (abstract; Fig. 2 #27) is connected between a pressurizing pump (Fig. 2 #9) and a handle (Figs. 1-2 #30).
WU teaches the pump has good sealing performance, and a prolonged life with high speed and efficiency (abstract).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of ZHANG with the pump/gear box as taught by WU in order to provide a pump that has good sealing performance, and a prolonged life with high speed and efficiency. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filtration. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 have allowable subject matter over the prior art of record. The prior art neither teaches, suggests, nor makes obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a portable non-electrical water purification system comprising the combination of elements as claimed.
WANG (CN 114165419) discloses a booster pump and water purifier, but does not teach a gearbox or a handle.
EVANS (US 2351113) discloses a water purification apparatus having a handle and a pump and a filter.
BAUMGARTNER (WO 2008058613) discloses a device for the treatment of drinking water (title, Figs.) comprising a filter element set including a pre-filter element (Fig. 1 #2,3) and a RO filter element (Fig. 1 #5);
a manual pressurizer (Fig. 1 #4);
a case (Fig. 1 #1); and
a speed reduction gearbox (Fig. 1 #43-45).
Telephonic Inquiries
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773