DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sledkov (U.S. Patent Application No. 20170358865), hereinafter known as Sledkov, in view of Guo et al. (CN112864548A, made of record in IDS dated 19 March 2026), hereinafter known as Guo.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Sledkov teaches (Figs. 1-6) a plurality of phase shifters (2), wherein each phase shifter comprises a phase shifter cavity (see Fig. 3), phase shifter cavities of the plurality of phase shifters are disposed in parallel (see Fig. 3), two adjacent phase shifter cavities of the phase shifter cavities are connected such that the phase shifter cavities form a reflection plate (4) of the antenna (see Fig. 1).
Sledkov does not expressly teach how the phase shifter cavities are connected.
Guo teaches (para. bridging pp. 11-12) attaching a phase shifter with welding.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of invention to one of ordinary skill in the art use welding to connect the phase shifter cavities of Sledkov since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) Welding provides a secure connection between metal which is well known to a skilled artisan.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Sledkov teaches (Figs. 1-6) wherein each phase shifter cavity comprises a first side wall, first side walls of adjacent phase shifter cavities are connected through welding, and first side walls of the phase shifter cavities of the plurality of phase shifters form the reflection plate (see Fig. 3, top of 2 form 4).
Regarding claim 6, Sledkov teaches (Figs. 1-6) wherein the adjacent phase shifter cavities are connected by a continuous weld, or the adjacent phase shifter cavities are connected by a weld having a plurality of segmented welds that are spaced apart (see Fig. 3, rejection of claim 1, parts being welded will fall into one of these categories).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 11-12, 14-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 19 March 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL MUNOZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845