DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 1-20, is/are filed on 6/3/2026 are currently pending. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are withdrawn without traverse, 11-20 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 11, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20190269177 A1) in view of Collins (US 4595399 A) and Zhong (US 20200214349 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses an atomizer from Fig. 14 (Embodiment 4, [0101], which builds on Embodiment 3, [0091]), comprising: a housing (atomizer body 50 and shell 1, [0091]-[0092]) having a gas outlet section (air outflow pipe 12, [0091]) and an atomization cavity (hollow cavity of atomizing cotton 7 over atomizing sheet 5, [0093]) in communication with the gas outlet section (the lower part of air outflow pipe 12 is inserted into the hollow cavity of atomizing cotton 7, [0093]); and a filtration assembly (filter screen 15, [0101]), the filtration assembly being mounted at a position where the gas outlet section is in communication with the atomization cavity (filter screen 15 is located at the lower part of the inner cavity of air outflow pipe 12, where the pipe opens into the atomizing cotton cavity, [0101], [0093]), and the filtration assembly comprising: a filtration mesh disposed at the gas outlet section (filter screen 15 in air outflow pipe 12, [0038], [0101]).
Liu does not disclose the filtration mesh having a first end away from the atomization cavity and a second end close to the atomization cavity, a shape and size of the first end matching a shape and size of the gas outlet section to enable the gas outlet section to be covered, the size of the first end being greater than a size of the second end. The filter screen 15 of Liu is not described as tapered.
Collins teaches a nebulizer having a filtration mesh (conical support screen 29 carrying hydrophobic membrane 28, C3/15-40) at the gas exit of the atomization chamber (outlet 14 of nebulizing vessel 11, C3/15-40). The filtration mesh has a first end away from the atomization cavity (base of the cone secured to top plate 31, C3/15-40) and a second end close to the atomization cavity (apex of the cone, from which collected droplets fall back into reservoir 21 of vessel 11, C4/10-45). The shape and size of the first end match the gas outlet so as to cover it, since the filter covers the exit opening and all exiting gas is forced through it (C2/15-45; claim 1). The size of the first end is greater than the size of the second end, as the base of a cone is necessarily larger than its apex.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the filter screen 15 of Liu as a cone, as taught by Collins, with its base spanning air outflow pipe 12 and its apex directed toward the atomization cavity. Liu wants to keep large droplets and condensed liquid from reaching the user ([0006], [0038]) and to return condensed liquid to the atomizing cotton for secondary atomization ([0043]). Collins shows that a conical filter covering the outlet passes gas with little resistance while collecting entrained droplets and shedding them from the apex back to the liquid source (C2-C5).
Liu as modified by Collins does not disclose a flow guide rod connected to the second end and the atomization cavity.
Zhong teaches guide members in an ultrasonic atomizer that collect liquid and conduct it down into the atomization region. Blocking portion 62 is a spiral baffle on the lower outer wall of air inlet tube 6. It extends into cavity 25, and droplets collected on it flow down by gravity onto atomization cotton 3 to be atomized again ([0058]-[0059]). Similarly, cotton compression spring 5 is connected between boss 61 at the end of tube 6 and atomization cotton 3, and it guides liquid beads to the cotton ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach such a guide member to the tip (second end) of the conical filter of modified Liu so that it extends into the atomization cavity. The guide member would conduct collected liquid back to the atomizing cotton instead of letting it drip freely, which improves liquid utilization (Zhong, [0025], [0059]; see also Liu, [0043]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Liu, Collins and Zhong discloses the atomizer according to claim 11, wherein the housing has a gas outlet (Liu, suction nozzle assembly 3), the gas outlet being in communication with the atomization cavity through the gas outlet section (air outflow pipe 12 connects nozzle assembly 3 to the atomizing region, [0091], [0112]).
Liu places filter screen 15 at the lower end of pipe 12, away from nozzle assembly 3 ([0101]), but does not give a value for a distance between the first end of the filtration mesh and the gas outlet being greater than or equal to 10 millimeters. Liu recognizes that smoke condenses as it travels along the outlet passage and that condensed liquid reaching the mouth is a problem ([0006], [0055]). The spacing between the filter and the outlet is therefore a result-effective variable. Selecting a spacing of at least 10 mm would have been a matter of routine optimization. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Liu, Collins and Zhong discloses the atomizer according to claim 11, wherein the filtration mesh is in a tapered shape (Collins, conical screen 29 and membrane 28, col. 3-4), the first end being a bottom surface of the tapered shape (base of the cone at top plate 31, col. 3), and the second end being a tip of the tapered shape (apex of the cone, col. 4). The rationale for combining is the same as set forth for claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Liu, Collins and Zhong discloses the atomizer according to claim 11, wherein the gas outlet section is in a cylindrical shape (Liu, tubular air outflow pipe 12, [0091], [0102]; Figs. 12, 15-19); and the filtration mesh is in a conical shape (Collins, cone support screen 29 and conical membrane 28, col. 3-4). As modified the central axis of the gas outlet section would coincide with a central axis of the filtration mesh. Additionally, aligning the axis of the cone with the axis of the cylindrical pipe would nevertheless have been an obvious design choice. The circular base of the cone has to cover the circular cross-section of the pipe, and a coaxial arrangement does this while giving even flow through the filter and centering the tip over the atomization cavity.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Liu, Collins and Zhong discloses the atomizer according to claim 11, wherein the filtration mesh is a hydrophobic filtration mesh (Collins, Teflon hydrophobic membrane 28 on cone support screen 29, which traps liquid while letting gas exit, col. 2-4).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20190269177 A1) in view of Collins (US 4595399 A) and Zhong (US 20200214349 A1) and Liu ‘408 (US 20150305408 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Liu, Collins and Zhong discloses the atomizer according to claim 11, wherein the filtration mesh disposed at the gas outlet section has the first end away from the atomization cavity and the second end close to the atomization cavity (see the rejection of claim 11). The combination does not disclose the gas outlet section having a recess, and a periphery of the first end having a boss engaged with the recess to limit a position of the filtration mesh in the gas outlet section.
Liu ‘408 teaches an atomizer in which mating parts are located by an annular protrusion on the inner wall of atomizing sleeve 201 that engages a retaining groove on first outer electrode 902 ([0035], [0125]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide this kind of protrusion-and-groove engagement between the periphery of the cone base and air outflow pipe 12 of modified Liu. The engagement would hold the filter in place during assembly and use and seal around its edge (Liu ‘408, [0125]). Placing the boss on the filter and the recess on the pipe, rather than the other way around as in Liu ‘408, is a mere reversal of parts. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20190269177 A1) in view of Collins (US 4595399 A) and Zhong (US 20200214349 A1) Saygili (US 20220015433 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Liu, Collins and Zhong discloses the atomizer according to claim 11. The combination does not disclose wherein the filtration mesh is a mesh woven from hydrophobic microfibers, a diameter of the hydrophobic microfibers being smaller than a diameter of a mesh opening of the filtration mesh to allow for passing of atomized droplets.
Saygili teaches an outlet filter 26 located between atomization chamber 23 and air outlet 28 of an aerosol-generating device ([0018], [0078]). The filter is a mesh that may be woven from filaments ([0023]). The filaments may be given a hydrophobic coating before the mesh is formed ([0022]). The filaments are wire about 3-50 µm in diameter, which reads on microfibers, and the outlet filter mesh is identical to the inlet filter mesh ([0091]). The wire diameter is smaller than the mesh openings, which are about 10-100 µm ([0091]; see also [0021]). The outlet filter lets aerosol droplets pass through to the user ([0084], [0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the filtration mesh of modified Liu from the woven, hydrophobic-coated filament mesh of Saygili. Saygili provides specific mesh parameters for an outlet filter that passes aerosol while stopping large droplets ([0018], [0087]), which is the same job filter screen 15 does in Liu ([0038]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Liu, Collins, Zhong and Saygili discloses the atomizer according to claim 17, wherein the mesh opening of the filtration mesh is in a polygonal shape (Saygili teaches a square weave with filaments crossing at about 90°, or at 30° to 90°, which gives square or rhombic openings, [0023]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other limitations of claim 19, the flow guide rod comprising a base and a body fixed at the base, the body having an insertion groove, the second end being partially accommodated in the insertion groove. Zhong teaches guide members that return collected liquid to the atomization cotton, and its air inlet tube 6 is tapered ([0011], [0049]). However, no reference of record shows a guide rod body with an insertion groove that receives the tip of the filtration mesh. Claim 20 is allowable for at least the same reason by virtue of its dependency on claim 19.
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777