DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the remarks filed on 03/09/2026.
The amendment filed 03/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (US 20150208981 A1, hereinafter "Oh") in view of Profio et al (US 20180140270 A1, hereinafter "Profio").
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches a medical image diagnostic apparatus that images a subject a bore (CT apparatus [0076]; CT apparatus contains a bore as shown in fig. 12), the apparatus comprising:
a first display unit (1510 [0082]) that is visible to the subject under an examination (in-bore display that outputs an image in a bore of the medical imaging apparatus 100 [0051]); and
a processor (processor 160 [0052]),
wherein the processor (160 [0054]):
acquires first information including information on an examination target part of the subject (The image processor 160 generates the medical image by processing medical data obtained by scanning the object. For example, the image processor 160 generates the medical image by processing image data of different types of modalities including X-ray image, a CT image, an MRI image, for example [0054]; medical data is the first information as claimed), and
information on a specific examination motion (The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]) to be performed by the subject with the examination target part (“guide information” is information used to guide the examinee relating to the detected motion. In more detail, the guide information may be information regarding a command or an instruction determined according to the level of motion of the examinee. For example, the guide information may be information used to instruct the examinee not to move, and may include a message by using at least one of graphical data, text data, and audio data. The output unit 134 may output the guide information expressed as text data, graphical data, and audio data by using the video output unit and the audio output unit [0048]; The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]).
displays, on the first display unit (1510 [0082]), second information including information for causing the subject to perform the specific examination motion with move (Apparatus 100 may display the guide information on the in-bore display 1530 in a gantry of the CT apparatus 1520. [0082]) the examination target part based on the first information (medical imaging apparatus 100 may detect a motion of the examinee while diagnosing the examinee [0040]; The “guide information” is information used to guide the examinee relating to the detected motion. In more detail, the guide information may be information regarding a command or an instruction determined according to the level of motion of the examinee. [0048]).
Oh, however, does not teach wherein the processor: identifies a plurality of feature points corresponding to joints of the subject based on a skeletal model, and wherein the second information includes a visual representation comprising lines connecting the plurality of feature points corresponding to the joints and overlaid on an image of the subject.
Profio is considered analogous to the instant application as “Methods and systems for patient scan setup” is disclosed.
Profio teaches wherein the processor:
identifies a plurality of feature points corresponding to joints of the subject based on a skeletal model (The information from the image sensor may be usable by the image sensor data processor 215 to perform tracking of one or more subjects in the field of view of the image sensor. In one example, the image information (e.g., depth information) may be used to perform skeletal tracking, wherein a plurality of joints of the subject are identified and analyzed to determine movement, pose, position, etc., of the subject. The location of the joints during skeletal tracking may be used to determine the subject parameters described above [0035]), and
wherein the second information includes a visual representation comprising lines connecting the plurality of feature points corresponding to the joints and overlaid on an image of the subject (As shown in FIG. 4, the selected region of interest 406 is schematically shown in the visible light image 410. Further, as explained previously, the visible light and/or depth image information may be used to perform skeletal tracking, and an example skeleton 412 of the subject including a plurality of joints is also shown in visible light image 410 [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Oh to include wherein the processor: identifies a plurality of feature points corresponding to joints of the subject based on a skeletal model, and wherein the second information includes a visual representation comprising lines connecting the plurality of feature points corresponding to the joints and overlaid on an image of the subject, as taught by Profio. Doing so would allow for reproducible and consistent imaging quality may be desired from exam to exam and subject to subject, and across different imaging system operators, as taught by Profio ([0032]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1. Oh further teaches wherein the second information for causing the subject to move the examination target part is information on a motion of physically moving a specific part of a body (“guide information” is information used to guide the examinee relating to the detected motion. In more detail, the guide information may be information regarding a command or an instruction determined according to the level of motion of the examinee. For example, the guide information may be information used to instruct the examinee not to move, and may include a message by using at least one of graphical data, text data, and audio data. The output unit 134 may output the guide information expressed as text data, graphical data, and audio data by using the video output unit and the audio output unit [0048]; The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 2. Oh further teaches wherein the first information further includes information on an examination purpose (Apparatus 100 may display a marker identifying an imaging protocol of which motion is detected from the plurality of imaging protocols or may display a list of extracted imaging protocols [0089]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 3. Oh further teaches wherein the second information includes information on the part of the body to be moved and information on a method of moving the part (The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may display a gauge comparing a level of the detected motion with a threshold value on the output unit 1020 [0072]; [fig. 10] reproduced below).
Fig. 10 of Oh reproduced above
Regarding claim 5, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 4. Oh further teaches wherein the second information on the method of moving the part includes information on a start position of the movement of the part and second information on an end position of the movement of the part (FIG. 14 is a diagram for explaining about providing of an examinee with guide information regarding a motion. …. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may capture a medical image of an examinee's head and may detect that the examinee's head has rotated during the capturing. The medical imaging apparatus 100 detects a motion of the examinee's head and outputs the guide information to guide the examinee to rotate his/her head at an angle suitable for the capturing. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may indicate a line 1420 on an image of the examinee and may display a relationship between a reference angle and a rotated angle of the examinee's head. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may display information regarding a rotational angle of the examinee's head by using graphical data 1410 and text data 1430 [0080]; the angle by which the subject has to rotate from the start position to get to the end position is shown in 1410 and 1430).
Regarding claim 6, Oh teaches modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 4. Oh further teaches, wherein, in a case where the specific part of the body is moved in stages, the information on the method of moving the part includes information on a position at which the part is stopped (Accordingly, the medical imaging apparatus 100 may provide a different type of guide information based on an angle section including the angle of the examinee's head. For example, the medical imaging apparatus 100 may provide guide information indicating that capturing starts and is resumed if the angle of the examinee's head is included in a reference angle section. If the angle of the examinee's head is included in a section other than the reference angle section, the medical imaging apparatus 100 may provide guide information indicating that rotation of the angle of the examinee's head is necessary as well as guide information indicating that the capturing is suspended [0081]; [0057]-[0059] also discloses capturing an image in stages/resuming a protocol in steps, and obtaining/saving motion information throughout the different steps of imaging).
Regarding claim 7, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 3. Oh further teaches wherein the second information includes information representing the part of the body to be moved and a method of moving the part in an illustration or an animation (FIG. 14 is a diagram for explaining about providing of an examinee with guide information regarding a motion. …. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may capture a medical image of an examinee's head and may detect that the examinee's head has rotated during the capturing. The medical imaging apparatus 100 detects a motion of the examinee's head and outputs the guide information to guide the examinee to rotate his/her head at an angle suitable for the capturing. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may indicate a line 1420 on an image of the examinee and may display a relationship between a reference angle and a rotated angle of the examinee's head. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may display information regarding a rotational angle of the examinee's head by using graphical data 1410 and text data 1430 [0080]).
Fig. 10 of Oh reproduced above
Regarding claim 8, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 2. Oh further teaches
a camera configured to capture an image of the subject in the bore (the capturing unit 150 may include at least one of, an infrared camera, a high-speed camera, and a wide viewing angle camera. The capturing unit 150 may be disposed in a shield room in which the medical imaging apparatus 100 is positioned or in a bore of the medical imaging apparatus 100 [0054])
wherein the processor: detects the motion of the subject in the bore based on the captured image determines whether or not a requested motion has been performed (The sensor 110 may detect the motion of the examinee based on the medical image as well as a physical characteristic value and may obtain a difference between image characteristic values by comparing a plurality of medical images obtained via a protocol which is a group of sequential signals or pulses for diagnosing the examinee, and may detect the motion according to a calculated difference value. In response to examinee movement during a medical imaging operation, a motion artifact may occur in a medical image. The sensor 110 may compare the most recently obtained medical image from among generated medical images with other images and may compare a previously stored reference medical image with a currently obtained medical image with respect to a protocol currently being used [0042]) based on a detection result, and notifies the subject of a determination result (medical imaging apparatus 100 may detect a motion of the examinee while diagnosing the examinee [0040]; “guide information” is information used to guide the examinee relating to the detected motion. In more detail, the guide information may be information regarding a command or an instruction determined according to the level of motion of the examinee. For example, the guide information may be information used to instruct the examinee not to move, and may include a message by using at least one of graphical data, text data, and audio data. The output unit 134 may output the guide information expressed as text data, graphical data, and audio data by using the video output unit and the audio output unit [0048]; informing the subject not to move is the notification of the determination result).
Regarding claim 9, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 8. Oh further teaches:
wherein the processor displays, on the first display unit, (in-bore display that outputs an image in a bore of the medical imaging apparatus 100 [0051]) information on the motion of the subject in the bore together with the second information based on the detection result (FIG. 10 shows providing guide information by detecting motion of an examinee (1010) and providing guide information. Apparatus 100 displays the guide information used to move an imaging part of the examinee on an output unit 1020. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]; Apparatus 100 may use the in-bore display 1510 to display and output the guide information in a gantry of the MRI apparatus 1500. Apparatus 100 may display the guide information on the in-bore display 1530 in a gantry of the CT apparatus 1520 [0082]; the display within the gantry of the CT scanner displays the guide information, i.e. the second information, the initial head position is determined by scanning, i.e. the detection result of the first detection unit).
Fig. 10 of Oh reproduced above
Regarding claim 10, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 2. Oh further teaches:
a camera configured to capture an image of the subject in the bore (the capturing unit 150 may include at least one of, an infrared camera, a high-speed camera, and a wide viewing angle camera. The capturing unit 150 may be disposed in a shield room in which the medical imaging apparatus 100 is positioned or in a bore of the medical imaging apparatus 100 [0054])
wherein the processor (processor or hardware implement the processing methods described herein [0094]) detects the motion of the subject in the bore based on the captured image (FIG. 10 shows providing guide information by detecting motion of an examinee (1010) and providing guide information. Apparatus 100 displays the guide information used to move an imaging part of the examinee on an output unit 1020. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072];
generates guide information for the subject to perform a requested motion based on a detection result, and notifies the subject of the guide information (FIG. 10 shows providing guide information by detecting motion of an examinee (1010) and providing guide information. Apparatus 100 displays the guide information used to move an imaging part of the examinee on an output unit 1020. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]; Apparatus 100 may use the in-bore display 1510 to display and output the guide information in a gantry of the MRI apparatus 1500. Apparatus 100 may display the guide information on the in-bore display 1530 in a gantry of the CT apparatus 1520 [0082]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 10. Oh further teaches:
wherein the processor displays, on the first display unit (in-bore display that outputs an image in a bore of the medical imaging apparatus 100 [0051]), information on the motion of the subject in the bore together with the second information based on the detection result (FIG. 10 shows providing guide information by detecting motion of an examinee (1010) and providing guide information. Apparatus 100 displays the guide information used to move an imaging part of the examinee on an output unit 1020. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]; Apparatus 100 may use the in-bore display 1510 to display and output the guide information in a gantry of the MRI apparatus 1500. Apparatus 100 may display the guide information on the in-bore display 1530 in a gantry of the CT apparatus 1520 [0082]; the display within the gantry of the CT scanner displays the guide information, i.e. the second information, motion in the bore is captured by the imaging apparatus, i.e. within the bore).
Regarding claim 12, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 2. Oh further teaches:
a camera configured to capture an image of the subject in the bore (the capturing unit 150 may include at least one of, an infrared camera, a high-speed camera, and a wide viewing angle camera. The capturing unit 150 may be disposed in a shield room in which the medical imaging apparatus 100 is positioned or in a bore of the medical imaging apparatus 100 [0054])
a second display unit that is visible to an operator (The output unit 134 may output the guide information both to the user positioned in a console room and to the examinee positioned in a shield room ….The medical imaging apparatus 100 may include two or more video output units. The video output unit may include an in-bore display that outputs an image in a bore of the medical imaging apparatus 100. [0051]),
wherein the processor (processor or hardware implement the processing methods described herein [0094]) detects the motion of the subject in the bore based on the captured image (FIG. 10 shows providing guide information by detecting motion of an examinee (1010) and providing guide information. Apparatus 100 displays the guide information used to move an imaging part of the examinee on an output unit 1020. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072];
and displays, on the second display unit, information on the motion of the subject in the bore (The system advantageously provides the examinee or a user with the guide information regarding the motion. That is, the examinee and the user may easily compare a position of a current imaging part with a position suitable for the imaging [0086]) based on a detection result (FIG. 10 shows providing guide information by detecting motion of an examinee (1010) and providing guide information. Apparatus 100 displays the guide information used to move an imaging part of the examinee on an output unit 1020. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 12. Oh further teaches
wherein the processor determines whether or not a requested motion has been performed based on the detection result (the medical imaging apparatus 100 may provide at least one of a user and the examinee with the guide information. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may capture a medical image of an examinee's head and may detect that the examinee's head has rotated during the capturing. The medical imaging apparatus 100 detects a motion of the examinee's head and outputs the guide information to guide the examinee to rotate his/her head at an angle suitable for the capturing [0080]; The output unit 134 provides the guide information in response to a comparison result of the motion calculation unit 120. If the level of the detected motion of the examinee is higher than the threshold value, the output unit 134 may provide the guide information that guides the examinee to stop moving since the motion of the examinee affects a diagnosis [0049]), and
notifies the operator of a determination result (the medical imaging apparatus 100 may provide at least one of a user and the examinee with the guide information [0080]; the user is the operator).
Regarding claim 14, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 12. Oh further teaches
wherein the processor generates guide information for the subject to perform a requested motion based on the detection result (the medical imaging apparatus 100 may provide at least one of a user and the examinee with the guide information. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may capture a medical image of an examinee's head and may detect that the examinee's head has rotated during the capturing. The medical imaging apparatus 100 detects a motion of the examinee's head and outputs the guide information to guide the examinee to rotate his/her head at an angle suitable for the capturing [0080]), and notifies the operator of the guide information (the medical imaging apparatus 100 may provide at least one of a user and the examinee with the guide information [0080]; the user is the operator).
Regarding claim 15, modified Oh teaches medical image diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1. Oh further teaches:
a camera configured to capture an image of the subject in the bore (the capturing unit 150 may include at least one of, an infrared camera, a high-speed camera, and a wide viewing angle camera. The capturing unit 150 may be disposed in a shield room in which the medical imaging apparatus 100 is positioned or in a bore of the medical imaging apparatus 100 [0054]);
wherein the processor (processor or hardware implement the processing methods described herein [0094]) detects the motion of the subject in the bore based on the captured image (FIG. 10 shows providing guide information by detecting motion of an examinee (1010) and providing guide information. Apparatus 100 displays the guide information used to move an imaging part of the examinee on an output unit 1020. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]).
wherein, in a case where the specific motion is detected by the second detection unit, the processor notifies an operator of the detected motion (medical imaging apparatus 100 may detect a motion of the examinee while diagnosing the examinee by using different methods such as a sensor, a medical image and an image captured by a camera, while diagnosing the examinee. The medical imaging apparatus 100 may provide at least one of a user and the examinee with various types of information according to the motion of the examinee. The sensor 110 detects the motion of the examinee and measures a level of the detected motion of the examinee on a diagnosis table or a cradle for medical diagnosis [0040]; compares a level of the detected motion with a predetermined threshold value and adaptively selects and provides guidance information enabling reducing impairment of image quality due to examinee physical motion, ….In a feature, the guidance information includes information regarding the level of the detected motion and information regarding the threshold value, provided by using at least one of text data, graphical data, and audio data. Further, if the level of the detected motion is equal to or greater than the threshold value, the guidance information includes information indicating that recapture of an image of the examinee is necessary [0009]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 16, Oh teaches an operation method of a medical image diagnostic apparatus that images a subject in a bore (CT apparatus [0076]; CT apparatus contains a bore as shown in fig. 12), the method comprising:
acquiring first information including information on an examination target part of the subject (The image processor 160 generates the medical image by processing medical data obtained by scanning the object. For example, the image processor 160 generates the medical image by processing image data of different types of modalities including X-ray image, a CT image, an MRI image, for example [0054]; medical data is the first information as claimed) and information on a specific examination motion (The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]) to be performed by the subject with the examination target part (“guide information” is information used to guide the examinee relating to the detected motion. In more detail, the guide information may be information regarding a command or an instruction determined according to the level of motion of the examinee. For example, the guide information may be information used to instruct the examinee not to move, and may include a message by using at least one of graphical data, text data, and audio data. The output unit 134 may output the guide information expressed as text data, graphical data, and audio data by using the video output unit and the audio output unit [0048]; The medical imaging apparatus 100 may accurately detect a position and pose of an examinee brain using a scan of an examinee brain. If an examinee's head moves left from a reference position, the apparatus 100 may provide the guide information to guide the examinee to move his/her head right [0072]); and
displaying, on a first display unit (1510 [0082]), that is visible to the subject under an examination(Apparatus 100 may display the guide information on the in-bore display 1530 in a gantry of the CT apparatus 1520. [0082]),
second information including information for causing the subject to perform the specific examination motion with (Apparatus 100 may display the guide information on the in-bore display 1530 in a gantry of the CT apparatus 1520. [0082]) the examination target part based on the first information (medical imaging apparatus 100 may detect a motion of the examinee while diagnosing the examinee [0040]; The “guide information” is information used to guide the examinee relating to the detected motion. In more detail, the guide information may be information regarding a command or an instruction determined according to the level of motion of the examinee. [0048]).
Oh, however, does not teach identifying a plurality of feature points corresponding to joints of the subject based on a skeletal model, and wherein the second information includes a visual representation comprising lines connecting the plurality of feature points corresponding to the joints and overlaid on an image of the subject.
Profio is considered analogous to the instant application as “Methods and systems for patient scan setup” is disclosed.
Profio teaches:
identifying a plurality of feature points corresponding to joints of the subject based on a skeletal model (The information from the image sensor may be usable by the image sensor data processor 215 to perform tracking of one or more subjects in the field of view of the image sensor. In one example, the image information (e.g., depth information) may be used to perform skeletal tracking, wherein a plurality of joints of the subject are identified and analyzed to determine movement, pose, position, etc., of the subject. The location of the joints during skeletal tracking may be used to determine the subject parameters described above [0035]), and
wherein the second information includes a visual representation comprising lines connecting the plurality of feature points corresponding to the joints and overlaid on an image of the subject (As shown in FIG. 4, the selected region of interest 406 is schematically shown in the visible light image 410. Further, as explained previously, the visible light and/or depth image information may be used to perform skeletal tracking, and an example skeleton 412 of the subject including a plurality of joints is also shown in visible light image 410 [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Oh to include identifying a plurality of feature points corresponding to joints of the subject based on a skeletal model, and wherein the second information includes a visual representation comprising lines connecting the plurality of feature points corresponding to the joints and overlaid on an image of the subject, as taught by Profio. Doing so would allow for reproducible and consistent imaging quality may be desired from exam to exam and subject to subject, and across different imaging system operators, as taught by Profio ([0032]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot.
Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1 and 16, applicant arguments on pages 7-9 are premised upon the assertion that the prior art does not teach the newly added amendment to claims 1 and 16 regarding “…identifies a plurality of feature points corresponding to joints of the subject based on a skeletal model” and “wherein the second information includes a visual representation comprising lines connecting the plurality of feature points corresponding to the joints and overlaid on an image of the subject”. This argument is moot in view of new grounds of rejection which relies upon Profio et al. (US 20180140270 A1) to teach these limitations. Accordingly, the argument is moot.
Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 2-15, applicant arguments are premised upon the assertion that the claim is allowable for the same reasons as stated above for claim 1 on page 8 of remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons stated above. Accordingly, the arguments are moot and are rejected on new grounds.
Conclusion
/N.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798