DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The pending application is a divisional of US App. No. 17/549,895 filed December 14, 2021, now abandoned. Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of TW 110142497 filed November 16, 2021 as required by 37 CFR 1.55 in the parent application, US App. No. 17/549,895.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claims filed June 3, 2024. The pending claims are directed to an “aluminum alloy melt” (product, claim 1 line 1).
Claims Filing Date
June 3, 2024
Under Examination
1-12
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected to because
Applicant’s specification, such as [0011] and [0024], state Fig. 1 is a schematic diagram of an aluminum alloy melt. Merriam-Webster defines “melt” as a “material in the molten state”. Fig. 1 appears to be a solid state object. Nothing in the image suggests a melt (molten state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 1-2 “by adopting an aluminum alloy powder through laser laminated manufacturing” renders the claim indefinite. What does it mean to adopt a powder through laser laminated manufacturing? Does it mean that the powder is made by laser laminated manufacturing or used in laser laminated manufacturing? How is a powder adopted through laser laminated manufacturing? For the purpose of examination claim 1 will be interpreted as a product-by-process limitation in which the aluminum alloy melt is manufactured by laser laminated manufacturing the claimed aluminum alloy powder.
Claim 2 lines 1-2 “yield strength of the aluminum alloy melt…” renders the claim indefinite. Merriam-Webster defines “melt” as a “material in the molten state”. How can a melt (molten state) have a yield strength? How is it determined? For the purpose of examination claim 2 is interpreted as reciting a property of the solidified melt.
Claim 3 lines 1-2 “yield strength of the aluminum alloy melt…” renders the claim indefinite. Merriam-Webster defines “melt” as a “material in the molten state”. How can a melt (molten state) have a yield strength? How is it determined? For the purpose of examination claim 3 is interpreted as reciting a property of the solidified melt.
Claim 4 lines 1-2 “tensile strength of the aluminum alloy melt…” renders the claim indefinite. Merriam-Webster defines “melt” as a “material in the molten state”. How can a melt (molten state) have a tensile strength? How is it determined? For the purpose of examination claim 4 is interpreted as reciting a property of the solidified melt.
Claim 5 lines 1-2 “tensile strength of the aluminum alloy melt…” renders the claim indefinite. Merriam-Webster defines “melt” as a “material in the molten state”. How can a melt (molten state) have a tensile strength? How is it determined? For the purpose of examination claim 5 is interpreted as reciting a property of the solidified melt.
Claim 6 lines 1-2 “a grain size of the aluminum alloy powder…” renders the claim indefinite. Does grain size refer to the particle size of the powder or does it refer to the size of the grains within the powder?
Claims 7-12 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ota (JP S63-100151 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ota discloses an aluminum alloy melt (casting) (p. 2 paras. 2-3, Table 1).
The aluminum alloy melt being manufactured by adopting an aluminum alloy powder through laser laminated manufacturing has been considered.
During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose of intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. MPEP 2111.02(II). Further, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP 2113(I).
The alloy melt being manufactured by adopting an aluminum alloy powder through laser laminated manufacturing has been determined to recite the purpose or intended use of the melt that does not further limit the structure of the claimed melt. MPEP 2111.03(II).
The aluminum alloy powder composition that the melt is manufactured from has been considered and determined to further limit the composition of the aluminum alloy melt.
Ota discloses a composition that falls within the scope of that claimed (p. 2 paras. 2-3, Table 1). Therefore, the aluminum alloy melt (casting) of the prior art (Ota p. 2 paras. 2-3, Table 1) anticipates or, in the alternative, renders obvious the claimed aluminum alloy melt.
Element
Claim 1
Ota Table 1
Si
2.0 to 4.5
4.5
Mg
0.1 to 1.3
0.5
Fe
0.07 to 0.65
0.15
Cu
0.35 or less
0.3
Cr
0.02 to 0.32
0.3
Zn
0.23 or less
-
Ti
0.23 or less
0.15
Mn
0.13 or less
-
Al
Rest
Balance
Sr
-
0.03
Regarding claim 2, Ota discloses yield strength of the aluminum alloy melt is greater than 100 MPa (13.5 kgf/mm2, 132 MPa) (Table 2:15 m/m (57%)).
Regarding claim 3, Ota discloses yield strength of the aluminum alloy melt is greater than 125 MPa (13.5 kgf/mm2, 132 MPa) (Table 2:15 m/m (57%)).
Regarding claim 4, Ota discloses tensile strength of the aluminum alloy melt is 150 MPa to 300 MPa (16.5 kgf/mm2, 162 MPa) (Table 2: 15m/m (57%)).
Regarding claim 6, the limitation of a grain size of the aluminum alloy powder being 20 um to 65 um has been considered and determined to not further limit the structure of the claimed “aluminum alloy melt”. The prior art discloses the aluminum alloy melt (casting) of claim 1 (Ota p. 2 paras. 2-3, Table 1), such that claim 6 is met.
Regarding claim 8, Ota discloses a content of Mg in the aluminum alloy powder is 0.1 wt% to 1.0 wt% (0.5) (Table 1).
Regarding claim 9, Ota discloses a content of Mg in the aluminum alloy powder is 0.4 wt% to 0.7 wt% (0.5) (Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Ota discloses a content of Ti in the aluminum alloy powder of more than 0 to 0.23 wt% (0.15%) (Table 1).
Regarding claim 12, the limitation of the aluminum alloy powder being manufactured by adding Si and Mg into melted 6061 aluminum alloy has been considered and determined to not further limit the structure of the claimed “aluminum alloy melt”. The prior art discloses the aluminum alloy melt (casting) of claim 1 (Ota p. 2 paras. 2-3, Table 1), such that claim 12 is met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (JP S63-100151 machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, the example composition of Ota includes 4.5% Si.
Ota discloses the Al alloy includes 4.0-7.5% Si (Abstract, p. 2 para. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the composition of Ota to adjust the Si to be 4.0 to 7.5% to prevent fluidity problems during casting without decreasing forging deformability (p. 2 para. 2). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (JP S63-100151 machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niikura (JP 2012-051028 machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, Ota is silent to a content of Zn in the aluminum alloy powder of more than 0 to 0.23 wt%.
Niikura disclose an aluminum alloy melt (brazing material that melts) ([0006], [0021]) with a content of Zn in the aluminum alloy powder of more than 0 to 0.23 wt% (0.1 to 0.8%) ([0025]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the aluminum alloy melt of Mann to include 0.1 to 0.8% Zn to improve corrosion resistance (Niikura [0025]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann (RU 2752489 machine translation) in view of Niikura (JP 2012-051028 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Mann discloses an aluminum alloy melt ([0002], [0041], [0061]-[0066]).
The aluminum alloy melt being manufactured by adopting an aluminum alloy powder through laser laminated manufacturing has been considered.
During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose of intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. MPEP 2111.02(II). Further, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP 2113(I).
The alloy melt being manufactured by adopting an aluminum alloy powder through laser laminated manufacturing has been determined to recite the purpose or intended use of the melt that does not further limit the structure of the claimed melt. MPEP 2111.03(II).
The aluminum alloy powder composition that the melt is manufactured from has been considered and determined to further limit the composition of the aluminum alloy melt.
Mann discloses an overlapping composition ([0036]-[0037]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Mann is silent to 0.02 to 0.32% Cr.
Niikura disclose an aluminum alloy melt (brazing material that melts) ([0006], [0021]) with 0.02 to 0.32% Cr (0.05 to 0.3%) ([0026], [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the aluminum alloy melt of Mann to include 0.05 to 0.3%% Cr to improve strength through solid solution strengthening without forming large intermetallic compounds that reduce plasticity (Niikura [0034]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Element
Claim 1
Mann [0036]-[0037]
Si
2.0 to 4.5
2.00 to 6.00
Mg
0.1 to 1.3
0.10 to 0.80
Fe
0.07 to 0.65
0.10 to 0.50
Cu
0.35 or less
0.02 or less
Cr
0.02 to 0.32
-
Zn
0.23 or less
-
Ti
0.23 or less
0.02 or less
Mn
0.13 or less
0.02 or less
Al
Rest
Rest
Regarding claim 2, Mann discloses yield strength of the aluminum alloy melt is greater than 100 MPa (more than 210 MPa) ([0039]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I)
Regarding claim 3, Mann discloses yield strength of the aluminum alloy melt is greater than 125 MPa (more than 210 MPa) ([0039]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I)
Regarding claim 4, Mann discloses tensile strength of the aluminum alloy melt is 150 MPa to 300 MPa (more than 290 MPa) ([0039]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, Mann discloses tensile strength of the aluminum alloy melt is 200 MPa to 300 MPa (more than 290 MPa) ([0039]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Mann discloses a grain size of the aluminum alloy powder is 20 um to 65 um ([0040]-[0044], [0056], Fig. 1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, Mann discloses a content of Si in the aluminum alloy powder is 3.0 wt% to 4.0 wt% (2.00 to 6.00%) ([0036]-[0037]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, Mann discloses a content of Mg in the aluminum alloy powder is 0.1 wt% to 1.0 wt% (0.10 to 0.80%) ([0036]-[0037]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 9, Mann discloses a content of Mg in the aluminum alloy powder is 0.4 wt% to 0.7 wt% (0.10 to 0.80%) ([0036]-[0037]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 10, Mann is silent to Zn.
Niikura disclose an aluminum alloy melt (brazing material that melts) ([0006], [0021]) with a content of Zn in the aluminum alloy powder of more than 0 to 0.23 wt% (0.1 to 0.8%) ([0025]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the aluminum alloy melt of Mann to include 0.1 to 0.8% Zn to improve corrosion resistance (Niikura [0025]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 11, Mann discloses a content of Ti in the aluminum alloy powder is more than 0 to 0.23 wt% (no more than 0.02%) ([0036]-[0037]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 12, Mann discloses preparing an aluminum base melt ([0040]-[0044]). The limitation of the aluminum alloy powder being manufactured by adding Si and Mg into melted 6061 aluminum alloy has been considered and determined to not further limit the structure of the claimed “aluminum alloy melt”. The prior art discloses the aluminum alloy melt of claim 1 (Mann [0001]-[0002], [0036]-[0037], [0041]), such that claim 12 is met.
Related Art
Zhu (CN 109487126 machine translation)
Zhu discloses an aluminum alloy melt (selective laser melting, SLM) ([0035]-[0040]) manufactured by adopting an aluminum alloy powder through laser laminated (additive) manufacturing ([0002], [0035]), wherein the aluminum alloy powder comprises an overlapping composition ([0011]-[0012]).
Element
Claim 1
Zhu [0011]-[0012]
Si
2.0 to 4.5
0.01 to 3.00
Mg
0.1 to 1.3
1.00 to 10.00
Fe
0.07 to 0.65
0.02 to 0.1
Cu
0.35 or less
0.02 to 0.15
Cr
0.02 to 0.32
0.03 to 0.07
Zn
0.23 or less
0.01 to 0.50
Ti
0.23 or less
-
Mn
0.13 or less
0.1 to 0.5
Al
Rest
Remainder
Zhou (CN 106636778 machine translation)
Zhou discloses an Al-Zn-Mg-Cu series aluminum alloy ([0009] prepared as a melt with an overlapping composition ([0011]-[0019]).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735