DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABOTABL (US 20220295554 A1) in view of Ying (US 20210345366 A1).
For claim 1, ABOTABL discloses a User Equipment (UE) (FIG. 1, UE 105 in view of “[0010] FIG. 1 illustrates a system including a network and one or more UE devices each having a cancellation indication monitoring logic section in accordance with some embodiments disclosed herein”) comprising:
transceiver circuitry configured to communicate with an infrastructure equipment (the transceiver of the UE); and
controller circuitry (the controller of the UE) configured to:
control the transceiver circuitry to receive an uplink allocation indication from the infrastructure equipment (FIGs. 1-8 and the associated text, such as FIG. 5, step 505 or “[0005] … a method of providing, by a network to a UE device, a transmission grant. The method may include initiating a process to provide the transmission grant for a transmission within a particular time. …”; or FIG. 2 in view of “[0036] … T.sub.2 may be a decoding time of uplink (UL) grant “),
wherein the uplink allocation indication is transmitted during a first time (t1) to a second time (t2) (FIGs. 1-8 and the associated text, such as 424, 428, 470 of FIG. 4; or “[0005] … a method of providing, by a network to a UE device, a transmission grant. The method may include initiating a process to provide the transmission grant for a transmission within a particular time. …”; note that “a particular time” is a period that has starting time and second time that are considered t1 and t2, as shown in FIG. 2 with t2 being “ending point 255” of [0036]),
determine, based on the uplink allocation indication, uplink communications resources to be used to transmit an uplink transmission (suggested by FIGs. 1-8 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2, 235 in view of FIG. 4: 424, 428, 470; or “[0003] Cancellation indication (CI) is an indication from a network to a UE to cancel a UE transmission including time and frequency resources that the network has previously allocated for the UE. …”),
control the transceiver circuitry to perform the uplink transmission (suggested by FIGs. 1-8 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 or 4, 235 or 435 in view of “[0062] … or a transmission (e.g., 235, 435) within a particular time (e.g., 210, 310, 410) …” or [0039] “… UL transmission (e.g., 235 of FIG. 2)”),
control the transceiver circuitry to receive an indication from the infrastructure equipment while performing the uplink transmission (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 shows CI 220 is received during MO period 205; or “[0035] In some embodiments, the disclosed cancellation system and method can ensure that the network 102 does not provide a dynamic transmission grant (e.g., 245) at the same time as, or after, the network 102 determines to send a CI (e.g., 220).”),
wherein the indication is transmitted during a third time (t3) to a fourth time (t4) (suggested by FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 showing CI is transmitted in a duration 205 between time 250 and time 230),
wherein the third time (t3) is after than the second time (t2) (FIGs. 1-8 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2: time point 260 as t3 is after time point 255 as t2), and
wherein the indication indicates a time duration (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as duration T2 or 210 in FIG. 2),
based on the indication, determine a time period, after the fourth time (t4) (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as a duration T2, or 210 in FIG. 2),
wherein the time period for the starts at a time after the indication is processed by the UE (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 showing T2, or 210 starts after end point 230 as T4),
wherein the indication instructs the UE to cancel the uplink transmission via the determined uplink communications resources so as to enable another UE to the uplink transmission of the UE (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as cancellation window 210 in FIG. 2; or “[0003] Cancellation indication (CI) is an indication from a network to a UE to cancel a UE transmission including time and frequency resources that the network has previously allocated for the UE. The reason behind such a cancellation is to free up some resources for other users that have higher priority information to transmit, e.g., for ultra-reliable and low-latency communication (URLLC).”),
cancel the uplink transmission at the time period (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as cancellation window 210 in FIG. 2; or “… [0004] To perform this cancellation, the UE first needs to receive a CI, which may be delivered via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). To receive via the PDCCH, the UE may monitor potential PDCCH transmissions at each monitoring occasion (MO) …”; note that MO is the time period).
ABOTABL does not specifically state that CI is a pre-emption message. However, a message forcing a cancellation of a UE transmission and freeing up a resource for other users having higher priority is a “pre-emption” message by definition. Furthermore, Ying in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication specified by 3GPP, specifically states that a CI may be a pre-emption message (“[0111] … a pre-emption indication may also include information (e.g., re-scheduling indication) indicating re-scheduling of the pre-empted, impacted, interrupted, punctured, superposed, cancelled and/or dropped UL transmission (e.g., the UE 102 may be indicated by a re-scheduling grant or indication to cancel a previously scheduled UL transmission and start another UL transmission on a different time/frequency resource). …”). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of Ying above to the CI of ABOTABL to yield a predictable result of allocating resources for higher priority communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine ABOTABL and Ying for the benefit of allocating resources for higher priority communication ([0003] of ABOTABL).
Independent claim 9 is rejected because it is a claim of the method that is performed by the UE of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
Independent claim 17 is rejected because it is a claim of BS/infrastructure device that interfaces with the UE of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
Independent claim 18 is rejected because it is a claim of the method that is performed by the UE of claim 17 and has the same subject matter.
As to claims 2 and 10, ABOTABL in view of Ying discloses claims 1 and 9, ABOTABL further discloses: wherein the controller circuitry is configured to monitor for the pre-emption indication in accordance with a monitoring schedule that comprises one or more of a monitoring start time, a monitoring periodicity or a monitoring end time (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 showing a monitoring start time 250, FIG.3 showing a monitoring periodicity 305/308 and a monitoring end time 330 or 365).
As to claims 3 and 11, ABOTABL in view of Ying discloses claims 2 and 10, ABOTABL further discloses: wherein the time after the pre-emption indication is processed by the UE is a predetermined processing time (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 in view of “[0031] … The time period T.sub.1 can be determined based on a processing time of the CI 220, which can include a decoding time of the CI 220, and/or preparation time of a cancellation operation of the one or more scheduled transmissions 235.”), and
wherein the monitoring schedule for the pre-emption indication comprises the monitoring start time, and the monitoring start time is determined based on a start time of the determined uplink communications resources and the predetermined processing time (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 in view of “[0031] Given a particular MO 205 for a CI (e.g., 220), the cancellation window 210 of a potential cancellation region may be determined, which is associated with the particular MO 205. In other words, based on a CI (e.g., 220) detected within the MO 205, one or more scheduled transmissions 235 that would otherwise occur within the cancellation window 210 may be cancelled. A starting point in time of the cancellation window 210 may be at 225, which may be a distance of T.sub.1 from an ending point 230 of the MO 205, as shown in FIG. 1. The time period T.sub.1 can be determined based on a processing time of the CI 220, which can include a decoding time of the CI 220, and/or preparation time of a cancellation operation of the one or more scheduled transmissions 235.”).
As to claims 4 and 12, ABOTABL in view of Ying discloses claims 2 and 10, ABOTABL further discloses: wherein the time after the pre-emption indication is processed by the UE is a predetermined processing time (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 in view of “[0031] … The time period T.sub.1 can be determined based on a processing time of the CI 220, which can include a decoding time of the CI 220, and/or preparation time of a cancellation operation of the one or more scheduled transmissions 235.”), and
wherein the monitoring schedule for the pre-emption indication comprises the monitoring end time, and the monitoring end time is determined based on an end time of the determined uplink communications resources and the predetermined processing time (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 in view of “[0031] … The time period T.sub.1 can be determined based on a processing time of the CI 220, which can include a decoding time of the CI 220, and/or preparation time of a cancellation operation of the one or more scheduled transmissions 235.”).
As to claims 5 and 13, ABOTABL in view of Ying discloses claims 2 and 10, ABOTABL further discloses:
wherein the time after the pre-emption indication is processed by the UE is a predetermined processing time (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 “[0031] … The time period T.sub.1 can be determined based on a processing time of the CI 220, which can include a decoding time of the CI 220, and/or preparation time of a cancellation operation of the one or more scheduled transmissions 235.”), and
wherein the monitoring schedule for the pre-emption indication comprises the monitoring periodicity, and the monitoring periodicity is determined based on one or more of a predetermined time for processing the uplink allocation indication or the predetermined processing time for processing the pre-emption indication (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 showing a monitoring start time 250, FIG.3 showing a monitoring periodicity 305/308 and a monitoring end time 330 or 365).
As to claims 6 and 14, ABOTABL in view of Ying discloses claims 2 and 10, ABOTABL further discloses: wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control the transmitter and the receiver so that the communications device is operable to receive an indication of the one or more of the monitoring start time, the monitoring periodicity or the monitoring end time (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 showing a monitoring start time 250, FIG.3 showing a monitoring periodicity 305/308 and a monitoring end time 330 or 365).
As to claims 7 and 15, ABOTABL in view of Ying discloses claims 2 and 10, Hold further discloses:
the monitoring schedule identifies a plurality of instances of the pre-emption indication, and
the controller is configured to control the transmitter and the receiver (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as [0036] “… uplink (UL) grant or downlink (DL) grant scheduling acknowledgment (ACK) and/or negative acknowledgment (NACK) associated with a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”; note that UL suggests transmitter and DL suggests receiver) so that the communications device is operable:
to determine that an instance of the plurality of instances of the pre-emption indication corresponds to only a portion of the determined uplink communications resources (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as “”), and
in response to determining that the instance of the plurality of instances of the pre-emption indication corresponds to only the portion of the determined uplink communications resources, to determine the corresponding portion of the determined uplink communications resources (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as “[0003] … The reason behind such a cancellation is to free up some resources for other users that have higher priority information to transmit, e.g., for ultra-reliable and low-latency communication (URLLC).”).
As to claims 8 and 16, ABOTABL in view of Ying discloses claims 7 and 15, ABOTABL further discloses:
wherein the time after the pre-emption indication is processed by the UE is a predetermined processing time (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 in view of “[0031] … The time period T.sub.1 can be determined based on a processing time of the CI 220, which can include a decoding time of the CI 220, and/or preparation time of a cancellation operation of the one or more scheduled transmissions 235.”), and
wherein the corresponding portion of the determined uplink communications resources is determined based on one or more of the monitoring schedule, a predetermined time for processing the uplink allocation indication or the predetermined processing time for processing the pre-emption indication (FIGs. 1-13 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2 shows monitoring schedule 205, CI 220 in view of “[0031] … The time period T.sub.1 can be determined based on a processing time of the CI 220, which can include a decoding time of the CI 220, and/or preparation time of a cancellation operation of the one or more scheduled transmissions 235.”).
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hole (CN 102461311 B8) in view of Schiliwa (MA 40810 A1).
For claim 1, Hole discloses a User Equipment (UE) (p2, 2nd para of Background, “The UE may operate in a wireless communication network for providing high speed data communication. …”) comprising:
transceiver circuitry configured to communicate with an infrastructure equipment (p3, 2nd para “…UE can communicate with the base station. …”; note that the transceiver of UE that interfaces with corresponding BS/infrastructure equipment); and
controller circuitry (the controller of the UE) configured to:
control the transceiver circuitry to receive an uplink allocation indication from the infrastructure equipment (p3, last para, “… using the uplink state flag (USF) to send a signal to inform the uplink allocation, and a signal notifying the uplink allocation in each downlink radio block,”),
wherein the uplink allocation indication is transmitted during a first time (t1) to a second time (t2) (p3, last para “… on the time slot (s) USF indication to the uplink allocation for the UE …”; note that a slot has two times: starting time and ending time of the slot),
determine, based on the uplink allocation indication, uplink communications resources to be used to transmit an uplink transmission (p3, last full para “… if the UE has uplink TBF is assigned, it may need to monitor send uplink state flag (USF) all slots for dynamic allocation of uplink resources. …”),
control the transceiver circuitry to perform the uplink transmission (p14, 3rd para “… allocating uplink resources to the UE for sending predetermined time of the data in the period. …” ),
control the transceiver circuitry to receive a pre-emption indication from the infrastructure equipment while performing the uplink transmission (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; note that USF is a pre-emption indication from BS/infrastructure equipment),
wherein the pre-emption indication is transmitted during a third time (t3) to a fourth time (t4) (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; note that “a subset of the radio block period” has two end time points, which are interpreted as t3 and t4),
wherein the third time (t3) is after than the second time (t2) (t2 is the end of the period that the uplink allocation indication for configuration uplink resources, which is after t3, the earliest time the pre-emption indication received), and
wherein the pre-emption indication indicates a pre-emption time duration (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”),
based on the pre-emption indication, determine a time period, after the fourth time (t4), for the pre-emption (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; note that pre-emption indication specifies a pre-emption period specified by t3 and t4, and the time periods outside of the pre-emption period is for the pre-emption),
wherein the time period for the pre-emption starts at a time after the pre-emption indication is processed by the UE (suggested by p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”).
Hole is silent but Schiliwa, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication specified by 3GPP, discloses:
wherein the pre-emption indication instructs the UE to cancel the uplink transmission via the determined uplink communications resources so as to enable another UE to pre-empt the uplink transmission of the UE (p17, 3rd para “… the RAN 102 ة node (for example, BSS 102 ة) can transmit the PUAN 210 message a number of times of specific implementation and then cancel the uplink transmission, …”),
cancel the uplink transmission at the time period for the pre-emption (p17, 3rd para “…cancel the uplink transmission, …”). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of Schiliwa above to the wireless communication system disclosed by Hold to yield a predictable result of efficiently using resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Hold and Schiliwa for the benefit of efficiently using wireless resources (Schiliwa: p17, 3rd para).
Independent claim 9 is rejected because it is a claim of the method that is performed by the UE of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
Independent claim 17 is rejected because it is a claim of BS/infrastructure device that interfaces with the UE of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
Independent claim 18 is rejected because it is a claim of the method that is performed by the UE of claim 17 and has the same subject matter.
As to claims 2 and 10, Hold in view of Schiliwa discloses claims 1 and 9, Hold further discloses: wherein the controller circuitry is configured to monitor for the pre-emption indication in accordance with a monitoring schedule that comprises one or more of a monitoring start time, a monitoring periodicity or a monitoring end time (p18, 2nd full para “… UE102 by using control block indicative of the current status of the polling (poll) request or USF makes a response to notify the network 104. This may be completed periodically, …” in view of the parent claims, wherein the t3 is a monitoring start time and t4 is monitoring end time).
As to claims 3 and 11, Hold in view of Schiliwa discloses claims 2 and 10, Hold further discloses: wherein the time after the pre-emption indication is processed by the UE is a predetermined processing time (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; note that uplink allocation demand can only be received and processed in the predetermined time period), and
wherein the monitoring schedule for the pre-emption indication comprises the monitoring start time, and the monitoring start time is determined based on a start time of the determined uplink communications resources and the predetermined processing time (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; in view of the parent claims, wherein the t3 is a monitoring start time and t4 is monitoring end time).
As to claims 4 and 12, Hold in view of Schiliwa discloses claims 2 and 10, Hold further discloses: wherein the time after the pre-emption indication is processed by the UE is a predetermined processing time (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; note that uplink allocation demand can only be received and processed in the predetermined time period), and
wherein the monitoring schedule for the pre-emption indication comprises the monitoring end time, and the monitoring end time is determined based on an end time of the determined uplink communications resources and the predetermined processing time.
As to claims 5 and 13, Hold in view of Schiliwa discloses claims 2 and 10, Hold further discloses:
wherein the time after the pre-emption indication is processed by the UE is a predetermined processing time (p11, 2nd para “… bidirectional assignment of coordination between the BS120 and the UE102 may be associated with difficult. scene (such as, data transmission the user corresponding to some " thinking/processing time of the pause …”), and
wherein the monitoring schedule for the pre-emption indication comprises the monitoring periodicity, and the monitoring periodicity is determined based on one or more of a predetermined time for processing the uplink allocation indication or the predetermined processing time for processing the pre-emption indication (p18, 2nd full para “… UE102 by using control block indicative of the current status of the polling (poll) request or USF makes a response to notify the network 104. This may be completed periodically, …” in view of the parent claims, e.g., the t3 is a monitoring start time and t4 is monitoring end time).
As to claims 6 and 14, Hold in view of Schiliwa discloses claims 2 and 10, Hold further discloses: wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control the transmitter and the receiver so that the communications device is operable to receive an indication of the one or more of the monitoring start time, the monitoring periodicity or the monitoring end time (as disclosed by the parent claims, such as claim 1 “… receive an uplink allocation indication … during a third time (t3) to a fourth time (t4) …” and claim 2 ”… configured to monitor for the pre-emption indication in accordance with a monitoring schedule …”).
As to claims 7 and 15, Hold in view of Schiliwa discloses claims 2 and 10, Hold further discloses:
the monitoring schedule identifies a plurality of instances of the pre-emption indication, and
the controller is configured to control the transmitter and the receiver (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; note that uplink allocation demand can only be received and processed in the predetermined time period)so that the communications device is operable:
to determine that an instance of the plurality of instances of the pre-emption indication corresponds to only a portion of the determined uplink communications resources (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; note that USF is a pre-emption indication from BS/infrastructure equipment), and
in response to determining that the instance of the plurality of instances of the pre-emption indication corresponds to only the portion of the determined uplink communications resources, to determine the corresponding portion of the determined uplink communications resources (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; note that USF is a pre-emption indication from BS/infrastructure equipment).
As to claims 8 and 16, Hold in view of Schiliwa discloses claims 7 and 15, Hold further discloses:
wherein the time after the pre-emption indication is processed by the UE is a predetermined processing time (p11, 2nd para “… bidirectional assignment of coordination between the BS120 and the UE102 may be associated with difficult. scene (such as, data transmission the user corresponding to some " thinking/processing time of the pause …”), and
wherein the corresponding portion of the determined uplink communications resources is determined based on one or more of the monitoring schedule, a predetermined time for processing the uplink allocation indication or the predetermined processing time for processing the pre-emption indication (p23, last para “… considering uplink allocation demand from other mobile stations and/or by a single USF to allow UE102 sending the multiple benefits of uplink radio blocks, network 104 may allocate resources only on a subset of the radio block period. …”; note that USF is a pre-emption indication from BS/infrastructure equipment).
Conclusion
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462