DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on March 23, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 10 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim is directed to “auxiliary molding equipment”. However, the claim includes a significant amount of language that appears to merely define how and where the auxiliary molding equipment is intended to be used. As set forth in the claim, it is unclear which limitations are necessarily structural limitations that are positively required and which limitations are limitations that that merely describe how the auxiliary molding equipment must be capable of being used. It is clear, for example, that claim 1 does not require an autoclave because claim 9 positively introduces an autoclave as a limitation. However, it remains unclear whether claim 1 positively requires “a bottomed tubular heating object” because it is not clear whether this is a component associated with or part of the not required autoclave that is to be positioned in the heating passage of the autoclave or whether it is positively utilized as a structural requirement in combination with the “auxiliary molding equipment” such that both the auxiliary molding equipment and the bottomed tubular heating target object are required within the scope of the claim. Since the claim is directed to the auxiliary molding equipment and not a combination that requires the bottomed tubular heating target object and the autoclave in addition to the auxiliary molding equipment, the limitation “bottomed tubular heating target object” is understood to limit the claims only to the extent that the relied upon auxiliary molding equipment must be capable of being positioned and utilized with a bottomed tubular heating target object (e.g. (5)) as claimed. It is noted that claims are only limited by positively recited elements (see MPEP 2115). Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
As to claim 9, the claim recites “an inlet port” and “an outlet port”. It is not clear whether this is referring back to the inlet and outlet port set forth in claim 1 or whether something else is intended. Further, claim 1 is directed to “auxiliary molding equipment” and claim 9 now combines the molding equipment and the autoclave recited in claim 1. As such, while it is clear that claim 1 does not positively require anything other than the recited auxiliary molding equipment as discussed above, it is not clear here in claim 9 whether other limitations, such as the bottomed tubular heating target object, are now also required as part of the autoclave or whether these further limitations are not positively required and must only be capable of being utilized with the positively recited equipment. Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
As to claims 2-8, the claims are rejected as dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tulley (US 1,184,151).
Regarding claim 1, Tulley teaches auxiliary molding equipment/a nozzle (1) that is capable of heating a bottomed tubular heating target object in a heating passage with an autoclave to mold a molding target object, the autoclave including the heating passage including an inlet port into which a heating gas flows and an outlet port from which the heating gas flows out, the heating target object including the molding target object and an opening (note: the limitations directed to the heating target object and the autoclave are interpreted as set forth above in the section 112b rejection), the auxiliary molding equipment comprising a tubular body including a first end opening (Figure 1, rear end near (3); page 1, lines 33-81), a second end opening located at an opposite side of the first end opening (Figure 1 front end near bell mouth (2)), and an internal passage through which the first end opening and the second end opening communicate with each other (Figures 1-3), wherein the tubular body includes a first tubular portion that includes the first end opening (Figure 1) and is capable of being located in an internal space of the heating target object and a second tubular portion that includes the second end opening, is capable of being located so as to project to an outside of the heating target object through the opening of the heating target object, and has an outer shape expanding toward the second end opening (Figure 1 bell mouth (2)).
As to claim 2, Tulley teaches the second end opening (Figure 1 bell mouth (2)) is larger than the first end opening (Figure 1, rear end near (3)).
As to claim 3, Tulley teaches the outer shape of the second tubular portion when viewed as claimed is a funnel shape/bell mouth as claimed (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 4, Tulley teaches the nozzle includes a projection on an outer peripheral surface of the first tubular portion (Figures 1-3, any element projecting from the surface, including (3), (10) (11) (13)).
As to claim 5, Tulley teaches at least one hole open in a radial direction as claimed (Figures 1 and 2 (13) (14) (15) – air inlet).
As to claim 6, Tulley teaches a supporting body that is capable of connecting the tubular body as claimed (Figures 1 and 2, any element capable of performing the function, including (5) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12)).
As to claims 7 and 8, the nozzle of Tulley is capable of being utilized in combination with a heating target object having the structures as claimed. As such, the scope of the claims is met by the nozzle of Tulley.
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo et al. (US 2013/0313760).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo et al. teach auxiliary molding equipment/pipe (13) (paragraphs [0054] and [0062]) that is capable of heating a bottomed tubular heating target object (Figures 1-3 (4) (4a) (4b) (11) (12); paragraphs [0054], [0062], [0089] and [0090]) in a heating passage with an autoclave (1) to mold a molding target object, the autoclave (1) including the heating passage including an inlet port into which a heating gas flows and an outlet port from which the heating gas flows out (Figures 1 and 2 (5) (9) (10)), the heating target object including the molding target object and an opening (note: the limitations directed to the heating target object and the autoclave are interpreted as set forth above in the section 112b rejection), the auxiliary molding equipment comprising a tubular body including a first end opening (Figures 1, 4, 5, 7 (13) – guide pipe), a second end opening located at an opposite side of the first end opening (Figures 1, 4, 5, 7 (13) – the opposite end of (13)), and an internal passage through which the first end opening and the second end opening communicate with each other (Figures 1, 4, 5 and 7 (13); paragraph [0054]), wherein the tubular body includes a first tubular portion that includes the first end opening (Figures 1, 4, 5 and 7 (13)) and is capable of being located in an internal space of the heating target object and a second tubular portion that includes the second end opening, is capable of being located so as to project to an outside of the heating target object through the opening of the heating target object, and has an outer shape expanding toward the second end opening (Figures 1, 4, 5 and 7 (13)).
As to claim 2, Kondo et al. teach the second end opening ((13) – funnel shape end; paragraphs [0054] and [0062]) is larger than the first end opening ((13) – cylindrical end).
As to claim 3, Kondo et al. teach the outer shape of the second tubular portion when viewed as claimed is a funnel shape as claimed (13) (paragraphs [0054] and [0062]).
As to claim 6, Kondo et al. teach a supporting body that is capable of connecting the tubular body as claimed (paragraph [0054]).
As to claims 7 and 8, the pipe (13) of Kondo et al. is capable of being utilized in combination with a heating target object having the structures as claimed and is positioned within jig ((4) (4a) (4b); paragraphs [0054], [0062], [0089] and [0090]).
As to claim 9, Kondo et al. teach the auxiliary molding equipment/pipe (13) as set forth in claim 1 and further include an autoclave (1) with an inlet port and an outlet port as claimed (Figures 1 and 2 (5) (9) (10)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al. (US 2013/0313760), as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-9 above, and further in view of Jackson et al. (US 2010/0186899).
As to claim 4, Kondo et al. teach the auxiliary molding equipment as set forth above. Kondo et al. do not teach the equipment includes a projection on an outer peripheral surface of the first tubular portion. However, Jackson et al. disclose analogous molding equipment wherein the equipment includes a projection on an outer peripheral surface as claimed (Figure 2 (13) attached to (10)/(11)).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Kondo et al. and Jackson et al. and to have included a projection on an outer peripheral surface of the equipment (13) of Kondo et al., as suggested by Jackson et al., for the purpose, as suggested by Jackson et al. of facilitating the connecting/supporting/sealing of the equipment to the molding/heating/jig equipment.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al. (US 2013/0313760), as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-9 above, and further in view of Lemelson (US 3,875,275).
As to claim 5, Kondo et al. teach the auxiliary molding equipment as set forth above. Kondo et al. do not teach the equipment includes at least one hole open in a radial direction of the first tubular portion. However, Lemelson discloses analogous molding equipment wherein the equipment includes at least one hole open in a radial direction of the first tubular portion (Figure 1 (26) and (27))
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Kondo et al. and Lemelson and to have included a at least one hole open in a radial direction of the first tubular portion of the equipment (13) of Kondo et al., as suggested by Lemelson, for the purpose, as suggested by Lemelson of facilitating the flow of heat transfer material/gas within the body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Leduc (US 5,364,602) discloses analogous auxiliary equipment/venturi outlet (46) for use with autoclave (10).
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742