1. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 08/21/2025, with respect to claim 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 15-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2025, with respect to claims 1 and 8 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the combination of Hayton and Goldman fails to teach “receive an encrypted version of a first set of secrets data corresponding to a target supply chain state of a device” (note Remarks, pages 11-13).
Examiner disagrees. Hayton discloses validating an electronic device through event attestations during the device lifecycle (note Abstract). As noted by Applicant (note Remarks, pages 12-13), Hayton discloses a 3rd party generates keys/identities/other messages, encrypts this data with a transport key and sends it to the device (note paragraphs [0165]-[0166]). Hayton further discloses that when the attestation information in the device is validated, one possible resulting action is enabling the device to access a service (note paragraph [0053]).
Applicant asserts “Determining whether a predetermined action is permitted for an electronic device, as taught by Hayton, does not expressly or inherently require a transition to a target supply chain state of the electronic device” (note Remarks, page 12) and “Hayton neither teaches nor suggests that such encrypted keys, identifiers, or messages correspond to a target supply chain state of a device” (note Remarks, page 13).
Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s Specification identifies one possible “supply chain state of a device” could be an “operational state” (note paragraph [0021]). When the device of Hayton is enabled for access to a service, it is entering an “operational state” (i.e. target supply chain state). The encrypted keys transmitted to the device by a service provider are “an encrypted version of a first set of secrets data” that “correspond” to the target “operational state” of the device during the “Birth” phase of the device (note paragraphs [0143] and [0175]).
Therefore, Hayton teaches “receive an encrypted version of a first set of secrets data corresponding to a target supply chain state of a device” as required by the claims.
Applicant further argues the combination of Hayton and Goldman fails to teach “receive a permission to cause a transition to the target supply chain state” and (note Remarks, pages 13-14).
Examiner disagrees. In paragraph [0178], Hayton discloses a service provider validates the device attestation and if the device is accepted, provides service-specific information to be stored on the device to be used to access the service.
Applicant asserts,” receiving a permission to access a service offered by a service provider is not analogous to receiving a permission to cause a transition to the target supply chain state” (note Remarks, page 14).
Examiner disagrees. As noted above, when a device is enabled to access a service, it has transitioned to an “operational” state. Hayton discloses a device that transitions from a manufacturing state to an operational state during a “Birth” phase (note paragraphs [0075] and [0175]). Therefore, when the service provider validates the attestation of the device and provides permission for the device to access the service, the service provider is providing “permission” for the device to transition to an “operational” state.
Thus, Hayton discloses “receive a permission to cause a transition to the target supply chain state” as required by the claims.
Claim Interpretation
3. For claims 3, 5-7, 10, 12-14, 16 and 18-20, the phrases “is one of”, “at least one of” and “selected from the group consisting of” have been given the broadest, reasonable interpretation of only requiring a single element from the given options in order to satisfy the requirements of the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayton et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0198604; hereafter “Hayton”), and further in view of Goldman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0099532; hereafter “Goldman”).
For claims 1 and 8, Hayton teaches a system and method (note Fig. 2) comprising:
a memory (note paragraph [0076], secure memory); and
at least one processor, operatively coupled to the memory (note paragraph [0076], processing circuitry), to:
receive an encrypted version of a first set of secrets data (note paragraphs [0165]-[0166], service encrypts keys/identities/other messages with a transport key and sends it to the device) corresponding to a target supply chain state of a device (note paragraph [0053] validated device are enabled to access services from a service provider; i.e. operational state);
receive a permission to cause a transition to the target supply chain state (note paragraph [0178], step S17, if the service accepts the device, the service provides the device service-specific information to access the server; i.e. operational state); and
in response to receiving the permission to cause the transition to the target supply chain state, cause the transition to the target supply chain state, wherein, to cause the transition to the target supply chain state, the at least one processor is to cause the first set of secrets data to be stored in a protected memory (note paragraph [0178], step S19 device stores any new service-specific keys, identifiers or data).
Hayton teaches:
wherein, to cause the transition to the target supply chain state, the at least one processor is to cause the first set of secrets data to be stored in a protected memory
Goldman teaches:
wherein, to cause the transition to the target supply chain state, the at least one processor is to cause the first set of secrets data to be stored in a protected memory (note paragraph [0065], secret information is sealed in the trusted platform module)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access a service of Hayton and sealing secrets in a TPM of Goldman. It would have been obvious because combining prior art elements according to known methods would yield the predictable results of storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access to the service (Hayton) where the secrets are sealed in the device TPM and the device requests authorization to unseal the secrets to use them (Goldman).
For claims 3 and 10, the combination of Hayton and Goldman claims 1 and 8, wherein: the target supply chain state is one of: a manufacturer provisioning state corresponding to a manufacturing stage of a supply chain associated with a manufacturer of the device, a vendor provisioning state corresponding to a vendor stage of the supply chain associated with a vendor in possession of the device, an end-use provisioning state corresponding to an end-use stage of the supply chain, or an operational state corresponding to an operational stage of the supply chain (note paragraph [0053] of Hayton, validated device are enabled to access services from a service provider; i.e. operational state after manufacturing state); and
the first set of secrets data comprises at least one of: a set of manufacturer provisioning secrets, a set of vendor provisioning secrets, a set of end-use provisioning secrets, or a set of operational secrets (note paragraph [0165] of Hayton, secrets are any keys/identities/other data that are used to access the service).
For claims 4 and 11, the combination of Hayton and Goldman teaches claims 1, and 8, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving a request to perform a cryptographic function utilizing the set of secrets data (note paragraph [0093] of Goldman, client devices sends a request to the TPM to unseal and access secrets); and
generating a response to perform the cryptographic function in satisfaction of the request (note paragraphs [0044] and [0046] of Goldman, secrets stored in TPM may be encryption key for accessing a database, symmetric encryption, decryption, signing or transport layer security).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access a service of Hayton and sealing secrets in a TPM of Goldman. It would have been obvious because combining prior art elements according to known methods would yield the predictable results of storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access to the service (Hayton) where the secrets are sealed in the device TPM and the device requests authorization to unseal the secrets to use them (Goldman).
For claims 5 and 12, the combination of Hayton and Goldman teaches claims 4 and 11, wherein: the request comprises a request to perform at least one of: obtaining a single-use ephemeral key, obtaining a proof of origin for a data item, generating a session key to establish a paired device session, creating a digital proof of integrity for verifying a transferred message (note paragraph [0077] of Goldman, client requests TPM to sign a message including a nonce and PCR values verifies integrity of request message), generating a verification code to track supply chain asset security for a supply chain asset, implementing a security posture change, or tracking device trust; and
the response comprises at least one of: the single-use ephemeral key, the proof of origin, the session key, the digital proof of integrity (note paragraph [0077] of Goldman, client requests TPM to sign a message including a nonce and PCR values that verifies integrity request message), the verification code, the security posture change, or a configuration sequence used to track device trust.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access a service of Hayton and sealing secrets in a TPM of Goldman. It would have been obvious because combining prior art elements according to known methods would yield the predictable results of storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access to the service (Hayton) where the secrets are sealed in the device TPM and the device requests authorization to unseal the secrets to use them (Goldman).
For claims 6 and 13, the combination of Hayton and Goldman teaches claims 4, and 11, wherein: the request comprises a request to perform at least one of: creating a proof of origin for a data item (note paragraph [0077] of Goldman, client requests TPM to sign a message including a nonce and PCR values to proof the origin of the request message), retrieving an asymmetric session public key for creating a device pairing session, initializing a primary asymmetric session, verifying the proof of origin, committing the primary asymmetric session, implementing a secondary asymmetric session, or retrieving an asymmetric session public certificate; and
the response comprises at least one of: an authentication signature to perform a digital signing operation to create the proof of origin (note paragraph [0077] of Goldman, client requests TPM to sign a message including a nonce and PCR values to proof the origin of the request message), the asymmetric session public key, a set of data to initialize the primary asymmetric session generated based on the asymmetric session public key, a proof of origin verification generated using asymmetric decryption, a full session key to commit the primary asymmetric session, a secondary system session response and session key, or the asymmetric session public certificate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access a service of Hayton and sealing secrets in a TPM of Goldman. It would have been obvious because combining prior art elements according to known methods would yield the predictable results of storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access to the service (Hayton) where the secrets are sealed in the device TPM and the device requests authorization to unseal the secrets to use them (Goldman).
For claims 7 and 14, the combination of Hayton and Goldman teaches claims 4, and 11, wherein: the request comprises a request to perform at least one of: retrieving an operational symmetric key (note paragraph [0046] of Goldman, client requests symmetric key from TPM), initializing a roll sequence to roll an old operational symmetric key to a new operational symmetric key, confirming the roll sequence, retrieving a verification code to perform message authentication, verifying the message authentication, committing the message authentication, or retrieving a one-time pad (OTP); and
the response comprises at least one of: the operational symmetric key (note paragraph [0046] of Goldman, client requests symmetric key from TPM), initialization of the roll sequence, confirmation of the roll sequence and deletion of the old operational symmetric key, the verification code, an authentication package to verify the message authentication, a verification package to commit the message authentication, or the OTP.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access a service of Hayton and sealing secrets in a TPM of Goldman. It would have been obvious because combining prior art elements according to known methods would yield the predictable results of storing service secrets in a device that is authorized to access to the service (Hayton) where the secrets are sealed in the device TPM and the device requests authorization to unseal the secrets to use them (Goldman).
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,045,355. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application
12,045,355
Claims 1, 8 and 15- A system comprising: a memory; and at least one processor, operatively coupled to the memory, to:
receive an encrypted version of a first set of secrets data corresponding to a target supply chain state of a device;
receive a permission to cause a transition to the target supply chain state; and
in response to receiving the permission to cause the transition to the target supply chain state, cause the transition to the target supply chain state, wherein, to cause the transition to the target supply chain state, the at least one processor is to cause the first set of secrets data to be stored in a protected memory.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 - A device comprising: a protected memory; and a processor, operatively coupled to the protected memory, to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a secrets and service provider system via a brokering agent, an encrypted version of a first set of secrets data corresponding to a target supply chain state of the device associated with a target stage of a supply chain lifecycle of the device; in response to receiving the encrypted version of the first set of secrets data, requesting, from the secrets and service provider system via the brokering agent, a permission to cause a transition to the target supply chain state;
receiving, from the secrets and service provider system via the brokering agent, the permission to cause the transition to the target supply chain state; and
in response to receiving the permission to cause the transition to the target supply chain state, causing the transition to the target supply chain state, including: storing the first set of secrets data in the protected memory; and cryptographically sealing a second set of secrets data in the protected memory, wherein the second set of secrets data corresponds to a previous supply chain state of the device associated with a previous stage of the supply chain lifecycle of the device.
Claims 2, 9 and 15
Claims 1 and 8 - …cryptographically sealing...
Claims 3, 10 and 16
Claims 7, 14 and 16
Claims 4, 11 and 17
Claims 3, 10 and 17
Claims 5, 12 and 18
Claims 4, 11 and 18
Claims 6, 13 and 19
Claims 5, 12 and 19
Claims 7, 14 and 20
Claims 6, 13 and 20
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,045,355 contain every element of claims 1-20 of the instant application and as such anticipate claim of the instant application.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2, 9 and 15-20 would be allowable with a timely filed terminal disclaimer to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
For claims 2, 9 and 15, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach the following limitations in conjunction with the rest of the claimed limitations:
wherein, to cause the transition to the target supply chain state, the at least one processor is further to cryptographically seal a second set of secrets data maintained in the protected memory, and wherein the second set of secrets data corresponds to a previous supply chain state of the device
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID J. PEARSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2407
/David J Pearson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407