DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Double Patenting
Claim 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,026,993. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would not be possible for one of ordinary skill in the art to put into practice the claimed invention without infringing on the issued patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Da Deppo et al. (2021/0061027).
Regarding claim 1: Da Deppo discloses a trailer diagnostic and monitoring system, comprising:
a system controller having a controller body that is configured to be positioned along a vehicular trailer (Fig. 4a and Paragraph 153, hub 103 is positioned along a vehicle trailer);
a power unit that is configured to engage a wiring harness of the trailer (Paragraph 0153 and 0240, wherein hub 103 may provide vehicle control functions, doing so would require engagement with a wiring harness, in addition a camera may be included which is engaged to wiring harness for power);
a wireless communication device that is positioned within the controller body, said wireless communication unit including functionality for communicating with an external device (Paragraph 0153);
a plurality of hub sensor assemblies, that are communicatively linked to the system controller (Fig 3 and Paragraph 153), and
a machine learning module having at least one processor and memory that is in communication with the plurality of hub sensor assemblies (Paragraph 146),
wherein each of the plurality of hub sensor assemblies are positioned adjacent to a tire of the trailer (Fig 3 and Paragraph 153).
Regarding claim 2: Da Deppo discloses wherein each of the plurality of hub sensor assemblies further comprises:
a main body (Fig. 3, 6 and Paragraph 0171); and
a hub connector for securing the main body against an axle hub of the trailer (Paragraph 0230).
Regarding claim 3: Da Deppo discloses a temperature sensor that is positioned along the main body, said temperature sensor being configured to measure a temperature of the axle hub of the trailer (Paragraph 0034, 0052, 0149).
Regarding claim 14: Da Deppo discloses a trailer diagnostic and monitoring application, said application comprising machine readable instructions for execution on a computing device having a processor, a memory, and a display screen, wherein the application includes functionality for communicating with the wireless communication device of the system controller (Paragraph 0182 and 0183).
Regarding claim 15: Da Deppo discloses wherein the machine learning module is configured to identify patterns indicative of a performance of the vehicular trailer and to provide the patterns to the application (Paragraph 0146).
Regarding claim 16: Da Deppo discloses wherein the identified patterns are based on data provided to the controller by the plurality of hub sensor assemblies, and said data includes at least one of a tire pressure and a hub temperature (Paragraph 0145-0146).
Regarding claim 17: this claim contains the same features and limitations as claims 1-3 above and is therefore rejected under the same basis and rationale.
Regarding claims 18-20: these claims contain the same features and limitations as claims 15-16 and are therefore rejected under the same basis and rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As discussed above, Da Deppo discloses the claimed invention except a serial forwarder device that is communicatively linked to the system controller, said forwarder device being configured to receive power and operating instructions from the system controller. Therefore, the prior art of record does not anticipate nor render obvious a serial forwarder device that is communicatively linked to the system controller, said forwarder device being configured to receive power and operating instructions from the system controller when taken in combination with all the features and limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D LANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667