DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “output unit” in claim 3.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
output unit – paragraph 93, wherein the output unit is part of a printer unit, which is structure, paragraph 26
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sueshige (US 2012/0224207).
Regarding Claim 1, Sueshige teaches a printing apparatus that performs printing and is communicably connected to an information processing apparatus (Paragraph 40), which processes information,
the printing apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (Element 113, wherein there is a controller); and
a memory coupled to the processor storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (Paragraph 135, wherein there is memory with a program), cause the processor to function as:
a registering section that registers a plurality of print settings, which have different output conditions including printing conditions when performing the printing with the printing apparatus (Paragraph 69, wherein the print settings are registered in the print server. The server can be a part of the printer, paragraph 10);
a transmitting unit that transmits at least one print setting of the plurality of print settings to the information processing apparatus (Paragraph 83, wherein the client acquires the print settings, which are sent from the server);
a determining section that, prior to transmission of the print setting performed by the transmitting unit, determines a priority order with respect to the plurality of print settings, which have been registered in the registering section (Paragraph 78, wherein the print settings are set based on priority); and
a control unit that exchanges an order of the plurality of print settings to be transmitted into the priority order when the transmitting unit transmits the plurality of print settings (Paragraphs 78 and 81, wherein the print settings are arranged accordingly).
Regarding Claim 2, Sueshige further teaches wherein the transmitting unit transmits the plurality of print settings whose order has been exchanged into the priority order by the control unit (Paragraph 83, wherein the settings are displayed based on the acquired information and therefore transmitted).
Regarding Claim 3, Sueshige further teaches wherein in the information processing apparatus, the plurality of print settings are displayed in the exchanged priority order, and one print setting from among the plurality of print settings is capable of being selected (Paragraph 83, wherein the settings are displayed based on the acquired information), and
the printing apparatus comprises an output unit configured to perform an output based on the print setting selected by the information processing apparatus (Paragraph 44, wherein the printer can print).
Regarding Claim 4, Sueshige further teaches wherein the information processing apparatus includes an operating system (OS) (Paragraph 7, wherein there is an OS),
the printing apparatus is communicably connected to a plurality of the information processing apparatuses (Paragraph 10, wherein there can be multiple computers),
the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to function as an identifying unit that identifies the OS for each the information processing apparatus (Paragraph 7 and 49, wherein there is identification of the driver, which corresponds to the OS), and
the transmitting unit transmits the plurality of print settings whose order has been exchanged into the priority order by the control unit according to the OS identified by the identifying unit (Paragraph 83, wherein the client acquires the print settings, which are sent from the server).
Regarding Claim 5, Sueshige further teaches wherein the transmitting unit transmits the print setting in response to a request to transmit the print setting from the information processing apparatus (Paragraph 83, wherein the client acquires the print settings, which are sent from the server).
Regarding Claim 8, Sueshige further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to function as a switching section that switches presence/absence of execution of determining the priority order performed by the determining section (Paragraphs 78 and 80, wherein the settings can be arranged based on the priority based on each setting).
Regarding Claim 10, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 11, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sueshige (US 2012/0224207) in view of Takei (US 2012/0236361).
Regarding Claim 6, Sueshige does not teach wherein the determining section determines the priority order based on one of the following determining conditions: a descending order of a use frequency of the print setting in the printing apparatus, a descending order of a registration date and time of the print setting registered in the registering section, and a descending order of a last use date and time of the print setting in the printing apparatus.
Takei does teach wherein the determining section determines the priority order based on one of the following determining conditions: a descending order of a use frequency of the print setting in the printing apparatus, a descending order of a registration date and time of the print setting registered in the registering section, and a descending order of a last use date and time of the print setting in the printing apparatus (Paragraph 42, wherein the settings can be arranged based on frequency of use).
Sueshige and Takei are combinable because they both teach priority order of print settings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sueshige with the teachings of Takei for the purpose of improving user-friendliness for utilizing print settings (Takei: Paragraph 7).
Regarding Claim 7, Takei further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to function as a changing section that changes the determining condition (Paragraph 42, wherein the log would be updated and therefore the favorite settings would be changed).
Sueshige and Takei are combinable because they both teach priority order of print settings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sueshige with the teachings of Takei for the purpose of improving user-friendliness for utilizing print settings (Takei: Paragraph 7).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sueshige (US 2012/0224207) in view of official notice.
Regarding Claim 9, Sueshige does not teach wherein the output conditions include post-processing conditions when performing post-processing after the printing.
Official notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a printer have post-processing functions. These functions include known functions of stapling, binding, folding, etc. These functions allow for further processing of print jobs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Sueshige with the teachings of post-processing for the purpose of including additional functions for the user which enhances ability for the user to produce requested print jobs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art of A-F, I, and J all relate to determining order of print settings.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699