DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims 1, 13, 23, and 34 in the submission dated 7/30/2026 in response to the office action mailed 5/18/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 7 and 19 are canceled. Claims 1-6, 8-18, and 20-34 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 3 on page 8 of 12 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 7/30/2026, with respect to Drawings Objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections of the Drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 7/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 10-11, 13-15, and 22 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and claims 3-9, 12, 16-18 and 20-34 12 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Komanduri et al., US 2025/0147330 A1, and Takeshi, JP 2003143617 A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11, 13, 15, 17-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komanduri et al., US 2025/0147330 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Komanduri), in view of Takeshi JP 2003143617 A (hereinafter referred to as Takeshi).
As to claim 1, Komanduri teaches (Figs. 1-14) a device for displaying a time multiplexed light field (100, para [0018], AR eyewear display system 100 capable of pixel shifting a time-division multiplexed display, Fig. 1) comprising:
a pixel array comprising a plurality of pixels, each pixel in the pixel array generating a light beam (304, para [0023], RGB micro-display 304, Fig. 3);
a time division multiplexing system (300, para [0022], the device 300 operates by generating virtual pixels at different locations based on each individual pixel of a light engine that provides a time-division multiplexed display synchronized with the generation of the virtual pixels, Fig. 3) for deflecting the light beam by a deflection angle (306, 504, paras [0024] and [0027], the pixel shifter 306 includes birefringent slab 504 that shift the P-polarized light, as shown in figures 5-6 the birefringent slab 504 deflects the P-polarized light at an angle, Figs. 4-6) by shifting a virtual pixel position (Shift A1, Shift A2, para [0029], a first shift A1 is produced when the half-wave plate 502 is off, producing a virtual pixel to the left, a second shift A2 is produced when the switchable half-wave plate 502 is on, producing a virtual pixel to the right, Figs. 5-6) by a factor of one or more of one half and one quarter of pixels in the pixel array (800, para [0035], diagrams 800-1, 800-2, and 800-3 show pixels shifted using a unidirectional pixel shifter, diagram 800-4 show pixels shifted using bidirectional pixel shifter, as shown in figure 8 the unidirectional pixel shift is between one and one half pixel and the bidirectional pixel shift is one quarter pixel, Fig. 8): and
a directional optical element for receiving the deflected light beam to generate a light field (314, para [0025], projection lens 314, Fig. 3).
Komanduri does not teach shifting a virtual pixel position by a factor of one or more of one half of an angular pitch (φ/2) and one quarter of the angular pitch (φ/4) of pixels in the pixel array.
Komanduri and Takeshi are related as time-division multiplexing systems for shifting pixels.
However, Takeshi teaches a device for displaying a time multiplexed light field (paras [0039]-[0040], imaging device wherein each frequency component output is time-division multiplexed, Fig. 2), comprising: a time division multiplexing system that shifts a virtual pixel position by a factor of one or more of one half of an angular pitch (φ/2) and one quarter of the angular pitch (φ/4) of pixels in the pixel array (G1, G2, and G1LL, para [0040], output pixel G1 has the same vertical spatial position as the pixel G, pixel G2 has a spatial position shifted by ½ pixel in the vertical direction. G1, G2, and G1LL are also interpolated horizontally, pixels Ga have the same horizontal spatial position as he input G pixels and pixels Gb have a spatial position shifted by ½ pixels horizontally, Figs. 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Komanduri with the ½ pixel shifting of Takeshi, because doing so provides an imaging device with excellent frequency characteristics and create a luminance signal with excellent high-frequency response (para [0007]).
As to claim 2, Komanduri in view of Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Komanduri further teaches the device, wherein the time division multiplexing system comprises a polarization sensitive optical system (305-1, 305-2, para [0024], first PBS arm 305-1 and second PBS arm 305-2, Figs. 3-6) and a polarization sensitive beam deflector (504, para [0027], birefringent slab 504, Figs. 5-6).
As to claim 10, Komanduri in view of Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Komanduri further teaches the device, wherein the polarization sensitive beam deflector comprises a birefringent material element, liquid crystal device, polarizing beam splitter, electrooptic or acousto-optic device, chromatic beam deflector, achromatic beam deflector, or Pancharatnam-Berry optical element (504, para [0027], birefringent slab 504, Figs. 5-6).
As to claim 11, Komanduri in view of Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Komanduri further teaches the device, wherein the directional optical element comprises one or more of a lens, lens array, mirror, prism, diffraction grating, waveguide, optical fiber, beam splitter, metasurface, and metalens (314, para [0025], projection lens 314, Fig. 3).
As to claim 13, Komanduri teaches (Figs. 1-14) a method for creating a time multiplexed light field (300, para [0022], the device 300 operates by generating virtual pixels at different locations based on each individual pixel of a light engine that provides a time-division multiplexed display synchronized with the generation of the virtual pixels, Fig. 3) comprising:
receiving a light beam from a pixel array (304, para [0023], RGB micro-display 304, Fig. 3);
deflecting the light beam by a deflection angle (306, 504, paras [0024] and [0027], the pixel shifter 306 includes birefringent slab 504 that shift the P-polarized light, as shown in figures 5-6 the birefringent slab 504 deflects the P-polarized light at an angle, Figs. 4-6) by shifting a virtual pixel position (Shift A1, Shift A2, para [0029], a first shift A1 is produced when the half-wave plate 502 is off, producing a virtual pixel to the left, a second shift A2 is produced when the switchable half-wave plate 502 is on, producing a virtual pixel to the right, Figs. 5-6) by a factor of one or more of one half and one quarter of pixels in the pixel array (800, para [0035], diagrams 800-1, 800-2, and 800-3 show pixels shifted using a unidirectional pixel shifter, diagram 800-4 show pixels shifted using bidirectional pixel shifter, as shown in figure 8 the unidirectional pixel shift is between one and one half pixel and the bidirectional pixel shift is one quarter pixel, Fig. 8): and
directing the deflected light beam at a directional optical element to generate a light field (314, para [0025], projection lens 314, Fig. 3).
Komanduri does not teach shifting a virtual pixel position by a factor of one or more of one half of an angular pitch (φ/2) and one quarter of the angular pitch (φ/4) of pixels in the pixel array.
Komanduri and Takeshi are related as time-division multiplexing systems for shifting pixels.
However, Takeshi teaches a time multiplexed light field (paras [0039]-[0040], imaging device wherein each frequency component output is time-division multiplexed, Fig. 2), comprising: a time division multiplexing system that shifts a virtual pixel position by a factor of one or more of one half of an angular pitch (φ/2) and one quarter of the angular pitch (φ/4) of pixels in the pixel array (G1, G2, and G1LL, para [0040], output pixel G1 has the same vertical spatial position as the pixel G, pixel G2 has a spatial position shifted by ½ pixel in the vertical direction. G1, G2, and G1LL are also interpolated horizontally, pixels Ga have the same horizontal spatial position as he input G pixels and pixels Gb have a spatial position shifted by ½ pixels horizontally, Figs. 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Komanduri with the ½ pixel shifting of Takeshi, because doing so provides an imaging device with excellent frequency characteristics and create a luminance signal with excellent high-frequency response (para [0007]).
As to claim 14, Komanduri in view of Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13, and Komanduri further teaches the method, further comprising transforming the light beam received from the pixel array into a linearly polarized light beam (302, paras [0017] and [0023], the polarizing beam splitter (PBS) 302 divides input unpolarized display light into two perpendicular polarization components, Fig. 3).
As to claim 15, Komanduri in view of Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13, and Komanduri further teaches the method, further comprising transforming the linearly polarized light beam into a circularly polarized light beam having a rotational handedness (308, para [0029], the quarter wave plate (QWP) 308 converts the S-polarized beam into a left circularly polarized (LCP) beam, which is converted to a right circularly polarized (RCP) beam by mirror reflection, the RCP light is then converted to P-polarized light by the QWP 308, Figs. 5-6).
As to claim 17, Komanduri in view of Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Komanduri further teaches the method, wherein the circularly polarized light beam is deflected and directed to the directional optical element to generate the light field (310, para [0025], the circularly polarized light is reflected by the mirror 310 and directed to the projection lens 314, Fig. 3).
As to claim 18, Komanduri in view of Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13, and Komanduri further teaches the method, wherein the deflection angle is based on a rotational handedness of the circularly polarized light beam (504, para [0027], the birefringent slab 504 shifts the P-polarized light while the S-polarized light does not shift, Figs. 5-6).
As to claim 22, Komanduri in view of Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13, and Komanduri further teaches the method, wherein the light beam is received from a Light Emitting Diode (LED), projector device, Organic Light Emitting Diode (OLED), active-matrix organic light emitting diode (AMOLED) array, or electroluminescent (EL) device (304, para [0023], RGB micro-display 304, Fig. 3).
Claims 3-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komanduri et al., US 2025/0147330 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Komanduri), in view of Takeshi JP 2003143617 A (hereinafter referred to as Takeshi), and further in view of Jamali et al., US 2021/0181557 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Jamali).
As to claim 3, Komanduri in view of Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Komanduri further teaches the device, wherein the polarization sensitive optical system comprises:
a circular polarizer comprising a quarter wave plate for receiving incoming light and providing a circularly polarized light beam (308, para [0029], the quarter wave plate (QWP) 308 converts the S-polarized beam into a left circularly polarized (LCP) beam, which is converted to a right circularly polarized (RCP) beam by mirror reflection, the RCP light is then converted to P-polarized light by the QWP 308, Figs. 5-6);
a polarization switcher comprising a switchable half wave plate (502, para [0027], switchable half-wave plate 502, Figs. 5-6).
Komanduri does not teach a circular polarization switcher comprising a switchable half wave plate; and a control system for controlling current to the circular polarization switcher.
Komanduri and Jamali are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Jamali teaches (Figs. 1-14) a display (1200, para [0067], near-eye display 1200, Fig. 12) comprising polarization sensitive optical system (100, para [0034], optical waveplate 100, Fig. 1) comprising a circular polarizer comprising a quarter wave plate for receiving incoming light (1462, para [0069], quarter-wave plate 1462, Fig. 14) and providing a circularly polarized light beam (1461-3, para [0070], the PBP LC lens 1461-3 transmits circularly polarized light, thus the varifocal block 1460 of the optical waveplate provides circularly polarized light, Fig. 14);
a circular polarization switcher comprising a switchable half wave plate (1463, paragraph [0070], switchable optical waveplate 1463, Fig. 14); and
a control system for controlling current to the circular polarization switcher (1463, paragraph [0070] and [0075], the switchable optical waveplate 1463 outputs an RHCP or an LHCP light in accordance with a switching state, i.e. a voltage-on state or a voltage-off state, of the optical waveplate 1463, Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Komanduri with the circular polarization switcher of Jamali, because doing so results in broad-band performance, a large acceptance angle, a low residual retardance, a fast response, and a capability of providing various optical powers to adapt for human eye vergence-accommodation in a fast and accurate fashion over a wide range of incident angles and a wide range of incident wavelengths (para [0071]).
As to claim 4, Komanduri in view Takeshi and further in view of Jamali teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Komanduri further teaches the device, wherein the circular polarizer further comprises a linear polarizer before the quarter waveplate (312, paras [0031] and [0033], half-wave plate 312, Fig. 6).
As to claim 5, Komanduri in view Takeshi and further in view of Jamali teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4.
Komanduri does not teach the device, wherein the linear polarizer comprises an absorptive polarizer, beam-splitting polarizer, linear polarizing film, dichroic polarizer, wire grid polarizers, birefringent polarizer, or dichroic polymer thin film polarizer.
Komanduri and Jamali are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Jamali teaches a linear polarizer comprising an absorptive polarizer, beam-splitting polarizer, linear polarizing film, dichroic polarizer, wire grid polarizers, birefringent polarizer, or dichroic polymer thin film polarizer (101, para [0034], the optical component 101 is the positive-A film, Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Komanduri with the linear polarizer of Jamali, because desirable optical properties of the optical waveplate can be achieved (para [0034]).
As to claim 6, Komanduri in view Takeshi and further in view of Jamali teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Komanduri further teaches the circular polarization switcher is a switchable liquid crystal half wave plate (502, para [0027], the switchable half-wave plate 502 is a liquid crystal half-wave plate, Figs. 5-6).
As to claim 8, Komanduri in view Takeshi and further in view of Jamali teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Komanduri further teaches the circular polarization switcher comprises a birefringent material selected from one of liquid crystals, quartz, and magnesium fluoride (502, para [0027], the switchable half-wave plate 502 is a liquid crystal half-wave plate, thus comprises liquid crystals, Figs. 5-6).
As to claim 9, Komanduri in view Takeshi and further in view of Jamali teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3.
Komanduri does not teach the circular polarization switcher comprises a switchable liquid crystal half wave plate comprising a liquid crystal material comprising one or more of a birefringent material and a thermotropic material with a rod-like molecular shape.
Komanduri and Jamali are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Jamali teaches a circular polarization switcher comprises a switchable liquid crystal half wave plate comprising a liquid crystal material comprising one or more of a birefringent material and a thermotropic material with a rod-like molecular shape (1463, paras [0064] and [0070], the optical waveplate 1463 has comprises the LC cell, the LC cell in the optical waveplate is made of birefringent material, Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Komanduri with the liquid crystal material of Jamali, because desirable optical properties of the optical waveplate can be achieved (para [0034]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komanduri et al., US 2025/0147330 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Komanduri), in view of Takeshi JP 2003143617 A (hereinafter referred to as Takeshi), in view of Jamali et al., US 2021/0181557 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Jamali), and further in view of Woodgate et al., US 2019/0215509 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Woodgate).
As to claim 12, Komanduri in view Takeshi and further in view of Jamali teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4.
Komanduri does not teach the device, wherein the linear polarizer is designed for maximum efficiency versus extinction ratio, p.
Komanduri and Woodgate are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Woodgate teaches a device, wherein the linear polarizer is designed for maximum efficiency versus extinction ratio, p (930, 932, 934, 936, paras [0214] and [0264], the spatial light modulator 48 comprising the input polarizer 210 is arranged to increase transmission efficiency versus the contrast ratios (extinction ratios) from 1000:1 to 50:1, Fig. 15B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Komanduri with the efficiency of Woodgate, because doing so improves the spatial resolution of autostereoscopic displays (para [0162]).
Claims 16, 20-21, 23, and 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komanduri et al., US 2025/0147330 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Komanduri), in view of Takeshi JP 2003143617 A (hereinafter referred to as Takeshi), and further in view of Asatani et al., US 2025/0076656 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Asatani).
As to claim 16, Komanduri in view Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15.
Komanduri does not teach the method, further comprising, at a circular polarization switcher, reversing the rotational handedness of the circularly polarized light beam or retaining the rotational handedness of the circularly polarized light beam.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches a method for creating a light field (1, para [0040], “a retinal projection device 1,” Fig. 1) comprising, at a circular polarization switcher, reversing the rotational handedness of the circularly polarized light beam or retaining the rotational handedness of the circularly polarized light beam (43, para [0066], the wave plate 43 is an optical element capable of switching between a state in which the polarization state of the circularly polarized light passing through the wave plate 43 is preserved or converted into a circularly polarized light having an opposite polarity in accordance with a voltage applied to the wave plate 43, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Komanduri with a circular polarization switcher of Asatani, because the spherical aberration caused by the change in the traveling direction of the beam is reduced, stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced, the quality of the imaging on the retina is maintained, and the user can correctly recognize the image (paras [0014] and [0022]).
As to claim 20, Komanduri in view Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16.
Komanduri does not teach the method, wherein the circular polarization switcher is a switchable liquid crystal half wave plate, and wherein retaining the rotational handedness comprises applying a threshold voltage to the switchable liquid crystal half wave plate sufficient to retain the handedness of the circularly polarized light beam.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches a method wherein the circular polarization switcher is a switchable liquid crystal half wave plate, and wherein retaining the rotational handedness comprises applying a threshold voltage to the switchable liquid crystal half wave plate sufficient to retain the handedness of the circularly polarized light beam (437, para [0066], “the wave plate 43 is an optical element capable of switching between a state in which the polarization state (polarity) of the circularly polarized light passing through the wave plate 43 is preserved (maintained) and a state in which the circularly polarized light passing through the wave plate 43 is converted into a circularly polarized light having an opposite polarity in accordance with a voltage applied to the wave plate 43… the wave plate 43 includes a liquid crystal layer 437,” Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Komanduri with the circular polarization switcher of Asatani, because the spherical aberration caused by the change in the traveling direction of the beam is reduced, stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced, the quality of the imaging on the retina is maintained, and the user can correctly recognize the image (paras [0014] and [0022]).
As to claim 21, Komanduri in view Takeshi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17.
Komanduri does not teach the method, wherein deflecting the circularly polarized light beam angle comprises receiving the circularly polarized light beam at a polarization sensitive beam deflector, the polarization sensitive beam deflector configured to deflect the circularly polarized light beam of a first handedness by a first angle in a first direction and to deflect the circularly polarized light beam of the reversed handedness by a second angle in a second direction.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches a method, wherein deflecting the circularly polarized light beam angle comprises receiving the circularly polarized light beam at a polarization sensitive beam deflector, the polarization sensitive beam deflector configured to deflect the circularly polarized light beam of a first handedness by a first angle in a first direction and to deflect the circularly polarized light beam of the reversed handedness by a second angle in a second direction (θ1, θ2, para [0079], the PBOE 44 functions as a diffraction grating and the diffraction directions of the left-handed circularly polarized light and the right-handed circularly polarized light are opposite to each other, when the deflector 41 includes a plurality of PBOEs 44, the diffraction angle by the PBOEs 44 is different from each other. Examples of beam deflection are described in paragraphs [0084]-[0092] with reference to Figs. 6 to 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Komanduri with the deflection angles of the circularly polarized light beams of Asatani, because the spherical aberration caused by the change in the traveling direction of the beam is reduced, stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced, the quality of the imaging on the retina is maintained, and the user can correctly recognize the image (paras [0014] and [0022]).
As to claim 23, Komanduri teaches (Figs. 1-14) a time division multiplexing (TDM) optical system (300, para [0022], the device 300 operates by generating virtual pixels at different locations based on each individual pixel of a light engine that provides a time-division multiplexed display synchronized with the generation of the virtual pixels, Fig. 3) comprising:
a pixel array comprising a plurality of pixels, each pixel in the pixel array generating a light beam (304, para [0023], RGB micro-display 304, Fig. 3);
a circular polarizer (308, para [0029], the quarter wave plate (QWP) 308 converts the S-polarized beam into a left circularly polarized (LCP) beam, which is converted to a right circularly polarized (RCP) beam by mirror reflection, the RCP light is then converted to P-polarized light by the QWP 308, Figs. 5-6) comprising:
a linear polarizer for receiving the light beam and providing a linearly polarized light beam (312, paras [0031] and [0033], half-wave plate 312, Fig. 6); and
a quarter wave plate for receiving the linearly polarized light beam and providing a circularly polarized light beam (308, para [0029], the quarter wave plate (QWP) 308 converts the S-polarized beam into a left circularly polarized (LCP) beam, which is converted to a right circularly polarized (RCP) beam by mirror reflection, the RCP light is then converted to P-polarized light by the QWP 308, Figs. 5-6);
a polarization sensitive beam deflector configured to deflect the circularly polarized light based on its handedness (504, para [0027], the birefringent slab 504 shifts the P-polarized light while the S-polarized light does not shift, Figs. 5-6); and
a directional optical element configured to receive the deflected circularly polarized light from the polarization sensitive beam deflector and generate a light field (310, para [0025], the circularly polarized light is reflected by the mirror 310 and directed to the projection lens 314, Fig. 3),
wherein deflected light is shifted by a virtual pixel position (Shift A1, Shift A2, para [0029], a first shift A1 is produced when the half-wave plate 502 is off, producing a virtual pixel to the left, a second shift A2 is produced when the switchable half-wave plate 502 is on, producing a virtual pixel to the right, Figs. 5-6) by a factor of one or more of one half and one quarter of pixels in the pixel array (800, para [0035], diagrams 800-1, 800-2, and 800-3 show pixels shifted using a unidirectional pixel shifter, diagram 800-4 show pixels shifted using bidirectional pixel shifter, as shown in figure 8 the unidirectional pixel shift is between one and one half pixel and the bidirectional pixel shift is one quarter pixel, Fig. 8).
Komanduri does not teach the system comprising: a circular polarization switcher for receiving the circularly polarized light beam and alternately switching between a first circularly polarized light beam of a first handedness and a second circularly polarized light beam of a second handedness, the circular polarization switcher connected to a control system to control current to the circular polarization switcher; and
wherein the deflected circularly polarized light is shifted by a virtual pixel position by a
factor of one or more of one half of an angular pitch (φ/2) and one quarter of the angular pitch
(φ/4) of the plurality of pixels in the pixel array.
Komanduri and Takeshi are related as time-division multiplexing systems for shifting pixels.
However, Takeshi teaches a device for displaying a time multiplexed light field (paras [0039]-[0040], imaging device wherein each frequency component output is time-division multiplexed, Fig. 2), comprising: a time division multiplexing system that shifts a virtual pixel position by a factor of one or more of one half of an angular pitch (φ/2) and one quarter of the angular pitch (φ/4) of pixels in the pixel array (G1, G2, and G1LL, para [0040], output pixel G1 has the same vertical spatial position as the pixel G, pixel G2 has a spatial position shifted by ½ pixel in the vertical direction. G1, G2, and G1LL are also interpolated horizontally, pixels Ga have the same horizontal spatial position as he input G pixels and pixels Gb have a spatial position shifted by ½ pixels horizontally, Figs. 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Komanduri with the ½ pixel shifting of Takeshi, because doing so provides an imaging device with excellent frequency characteristics and create a luminance signal with excellent high-frequency response (para [0007]).
Komanduri in view of Takeshi does not teach the system comprising: a circular polarization switcher for receiving the circularly polarized light beam and alternately switching between a first circularly polarized light beam of a first handedness and a second circularly polarized light beam of a second handedness, the circular polarization switcher connected to a control system to control current to the circular polarization switcher.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches an optical system (1, para [0040], “a retinal projection device 1,” Fig. 1) comprising:
a circular polarization switcher for receiving the circularly polarized light beam and alternately switching between a first circularly polarized light beam of a first handedness and a second circularly polarized light beam of a second handedness (43, para [0066], the wave plate 43 is an optical element capable of switching between a state in which the polarization state of the circularly polarized light passing through the wave plate 43 is converted into a circularly polarized light having an opposite polarity in accordance with a voltage applied to the wave plate 43, Fig. 3), the circular polarization switcher connected to a control system to control current to the circular polarization switcher (10, 41, para [0063], the controller 10 adjusts the traveling direction of the beam by the deflector 41 by changing the voltage applied to the deflector 41, Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Komanduri with the circular polarization switcher of Asatani, because the spherical aberration caused by the change in the traveling direction of the beam is reduced, stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced, the quality of the imaging on the retina is maintained, and the user can correctly recognize the image (paras [0014] and [0022]).
As to claim 26, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23.
Komanduri does not teach the optical system, wherein the polarization sensitive beam deflector comprises a birefringent material element, liquid crystal device, polarizing beam splitter, electro-optic or acousto-optic device, chromatic beam deflector, achromatic beam deflector, or Pancharatnam-Berry optical element.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches an optical system wherein the polarization sensitive beam deflector comprises a birefringent material element, liquid crystal device, polarizing beam splitter, electro-optic or acousto-optic device, chromatic beam deflector, achromatic beam deflector, or Pancharatnam-Berry optical element (41, 44, paras [0048] and [0065], the deflector 41 includes one or more Pancharatnam-Berry phase optical elements (PBOE) 44, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Komanduri with the polarization sensitive beam deflector of Asatani, because stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced (para [0022]).
As to claim 27, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23.
Komanduri does not teach the optical system, wherein the polarization sensitive beam deflector is a controllable polarization sensitive beam deflector that can further control the deflection angle of the emitted light beam.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches an optical system wherein the polarization sensitive beam deflector is a controllable polarization sensitive beam deflector that can further control the deflection angle of the emitted light beam (41, paras [0063] and [0082]-[0092], the controller 10 adjusts the traveling direction of the beam, describe the beam deflection angles θ1 and θ2 by deflector 41 depending on the voltage application state, Figs. 6-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Komanduri with the polarization sensitive beam deflector is a controllable polarization sensitive beam deflector that can further control the deflection angle of the emitted light beam of Asatani, because stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced (para [0022]).
As to claim 28, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 27.
Komanduri does not teach the optical system, wherein the controllable polarization sensitive beam deflector is a controllable Pancharatnam-Berry (PB) beam deflector.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches an optical system wherein the controllable polarization sensitive beam deflector is a controllable Pancharatnam-Berry (PB) beam deflector (41, 44, paras [0048] and [0065], the deflector 41 includes one or more Pancharatnam-Berry phase optical elements (PBOE) 44, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Komanduri with the controllable polarization sensitive beam deflector is a controllable Pancharatnam-Berry (PB) beam deflector of Asatani, because stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced (para [0022]).
As to claim 29, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23.
Komanduri does not teach the optical system, wherein the polarization sensitive beam deflector is connected to an electrical current source.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches an optical system wherein the polarization sensitive beam deflector is connected to an electrical current source (433, 434, para[0066], the deflector 41 comprises waveplate 43 which includes electrodes 433 and 434 across which a voltage is applied, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Komanduri with the polarization sensitive beam deflector is connected to an electrical current source of Asatani, because stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced (para [0022]).
As to claim 30, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 27.
Komanduri does not teach the optical system, wherein the controllable polarization sensitive beam deflector is connected to an electrical current source.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches an optical system wherein the controllable polarization sensitive beam deflector is connected to an electrical current source (433, 434, para [0066], the deflector 41 comprises waveplate 43 which includes electrodes 433 and 434 across which a voltage is applied, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Komanduri with the controllable polarization sensitive beam deflector is connected to an electrical current source of Asatani, because stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced (para [0022]).
As to claim 31, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23, and Komanduri further teaches the optical system further comprising a linear polarization switcher configured to receive and alter an orthogonal orientation of the linearly polarized light beam (502, para [0027], switchable half-wave plate 502, Figs. 5-6).
As to claim 32, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 31, and Komanduri further teaches the optical system, wherein the linear polarization switcher is an Electro-Optic Modulator (EOM), Liquid Crystal Device (LCDs), Acousto-Optic Modulator (AOM), Magneto-Optic Modulator, Mechanical Polarization Switch, or Digital Polarization Rotator (502, para [0027], switchable half-wave plate 502 is a liquid crystal half-wave plate, Figs. 5-6).
As to claim 33, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 31, and Komanduri further teaches the optical system, wherein the linear polarization switcher switches a plane of linearly polarized light by +/- 45° (502, para [0027], switchable half-wave plate 502 is a liquid crystal half-wave plate switches +45° in-plane, Figs. 5-6).
As to claim 34, Komanduri teaches (Figs. 1-14) a time division multiplexing (TDM) optical system (300, para [0022], the device 300 operates by generating virtual pixels at different locations based on each individual pixel of a light engine that provides a time-division multiplexed display synchronized with the generation of the virtual pixels, Fig. 3) comprising:
a linear polarization switcher (502, para [0027], switchable half-wave plate 502, Figs. 5-6) connected to a control system configured to receive a linearly polarized light beam and alternately switch between the linearly polarized light beam between a first orthogonal direction and a second orthogonal direction (Shift A1, Shift A2, para [0029], a first shift A1 is produced when the half-wave plate 502 is off, producing a virtual pixel to the left, a second shift A2 is produced when the switchable half-wave plate 502 is on, producing a virtual pixel to the right, Figs. 5-6);
a quarter wave plate for receiving the linearly polarized light beam and providing a circularly polarized light beam (308, para [0029], the quarter wave plate (QWP) 308 converts the S-polarized beam into a left circularly polarized (LCP) beam, which is converted to a right circularly polarized (RCP) beam by mirror reflection, the RCP light is then converted to P-polarized light by the QWP 308, Figs. 5-6);
a polarization sensitive beam deflector configured to deflect the circularly polarized light based on its handedness (504, para [0027], the birefringent slab 504 shifts the P-polarized light while the S-polarized light does not shift, Figs. 5-6); and
a directional optical element configured to receive the deflected circularly polarized light from the polarization sensitive beam deflector and generate a light field (310, para [0025], the circularly polarized light is reflected by the mirror 310 and directed to the projection lens 314, Fig. 3),
wherein the deflected circularly polarized light is shifted by a virtual pixel position by a factor of one or more of one half of an angular pitch (φ/2) and one quarter of the angular pitch (φ/4) of the plurality of pixels in the pixel array.
Komanduri does not teach the system comprising: a circular polarization switcher for receiving the circularly polarized light beam and alternately switching between a first circularly polarized light beam of a first handedness and a second circularly polarized light beam of a second handedness, the circular polarization switcher connected to a control system to control current to the circular polarization switcher; and
wherein the deflected circularly polarized light is shifted by a virtual pixel position by a
factor of one or more of one half of an angular pitch (φ/2) and one quarter of the angular pitch
(φ/4) of the plurality of pixels in the pixel array.
Komanduri and Takeshi are related as time-division multiplexing systems for shifting pixels.
However, Takeshi teaches a device for displaying a time multiplexed light field (paras [0039]-[0040], imaging device wherein each frequency component output is time-division multiplexed, Fig. 2), comprising: a time division multiplexing system that shifts a virtual pixel position by a factor of one or more of one half of an angular pitch (φ/2) and one quarter of the angular pitch (φ/4) of pixels in the pixel array (G1, G2, and G1LL, para [0040], output pixel G1 has the same vertical spatial position as the pixel G, pixel G2 has a spatial position shifted by ½ pixel in the vertical direction. G1, G2, and G1LL are also interpolated horizontally, pixels Ga have the same horizontal spatial position as he input G pixels and pixels Gb have a spatial position shifted by ½ pixels horizontally, Figs. 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Komanduri with the ½ pixel shifting of Takeshi, because doing so provides an imaging device with excellent frequency characteristics and create a luminance signal with excellent high-frequency response (para [0007]).
Komanduri in view of Takeshi does not teach the system comprising: a circular polarization switcher for receiving the circularly polarized light beam and alternately switching between a first circularly polarized light beam of a first handedness and a second circularly polarized light beam of a second handedness, the circular polarization switcher connected to a control system to control current to the circular polarization switcher.
Komanduri and Asatani are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Asatani teaches an optical system (1, para [0040], “a retinal projection device 1,” Fig. 1) comprising:
a circular polarization switcher for receiving the circularly polarized light beam and alternately switching between a first circularly polarized light beam of a first handedness and a second circularly polarized light beam of a second handedness (43, para [0066], the wave plate 43 is an optical element capable of switching between a state in which the polarization state of the circularly polarized light passing through the wave plate 43 is converted into a circularly polarized light having an opposite polarity in accordance with a voltage applied to the wave plate 43, Fig. 3), the circular polarization switcher connected to a control system to control current to the circular polarization switcher (10, 41, para [0063], the controller 10 adjusts the traveling direction of the beam by the deflector 41 by changing the voltage applied to the deflector 41, Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Komanduri with the circular polarization switcher of Asatani, because the spherical aberration caused by the change in the traveling direction of the beam is reduced, stray light due to chromatic aberration can be reduced, the quality of the imaging on the retina is maintained, and the user can correctly recognize the image (paras [0014] and [0022]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komanduri et al., US 2025/0147330 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Komanduri), in view of Takeshi JP 2003143617 A (hereinafter referred to as Takeshi), in view of Asatani et al., US 2025/0076656 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Asatani), and further in view of Jamali et al., US 2022/0026721 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Jamali721).
As to claim 24, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23.
Komanduri does not teach the optical system of claim 23, wherein the pixel array is in an active-matrix organic light emitting diode (AMOLED) array.
Komanduri and Jamali are related as display devices with optical systems.
However, Jamali721 teaches an optical system (500, para [0060], “an optical system 500,” Fig. 4) wherein the pixel array is in an active-matrix organic light emitting diode (AMOLED) array (502, paragraph [0061], “the optical system… includes an electronic display 502,” paragraph [0053], examples of electronic displays include an active-matrix organic light-emitting diode display (AMOLED), Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Komanduri with the pixel array is in an active-matrix organic light emitting diode (AMOLED) array of Jamali721, because the AMOLED electronic display emits image light to the user that includes multiple color channels (para [0053]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komanduri et al., US 2025/0147330 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Komanduri), in view of Takeshi JP 2003143617 A (hereinafter referred to as Takeshi), in view of Asatani et al., US 2025/0076656 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Asatani), and further in view of Trisnadi et al., US 2022/0171190 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Trisnadi).
As to claim 25, Komanduri in view of Takeshi and further in view of Asatani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23.
Komanduri does not teach the optical system, wherein the circular polarization switcher alternates between the circularly polarized light beam of the first handedness and the second circularly polarized light beam of the second handedness at least every 30Hz.
Komanduri and Trisnadi are related as display devices with optical systems
However, in the same field of endeavor Trisnadi teaches an optical system (Trisnadi, Fig. 33, 3201, paragraph [0319], “an optical router 3201”) wherein the circular polarization switcher alternates between the circularly polarized light beam of the first handedness and the second circularly polarized light beam of the second handedness at least every 30Hz (3304, paras [0321]-[0322], the polarization rotator 3304 is electrically-switchable and outputs image light at a frame rate of 30 Hz, Fig. 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Komanduri with the circular polarization switcher alternates between the circularly polarized light beam of the first handedness and the second circularly polarized light beam of the second handedness at least every 30Hz of Trisnadi, because reliability and performance is improved (para [0330]).
Conclusion
/J.A.J./JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
10/3/2026
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872