DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Double patenting rejections:
The amendment does not overcome the references applied, therefore the double patenting rejection is likewise not overcome.
Rejections under 35 USC § 102: Kalinitchenko
The remarks take the position that Kalinitchenko does not teach both a capillary channel and a capillary tube guided through the capillary channel. Specifically arguing that while Kalinitchenko incudes channels (passages 60), Kalinitchenko does not further disclose a separate tube extending through the passages 60.
This has not been found persuasive. The claimed capillary channel is not specifically defined except that the capillary is guided therethrough. As seen in figures 10-11, a passage is formed by the interior conical parts 182/184 by annular plate 186 (see paragraph [0059]). In the modified example in figures 12a-12B, the passage 190/194 (ending at outlet) are guided through the passage formed by interior surfaces of conical parts 182/184 and annular plate 186 by positioning of the partitions to form passages 194. Therefore interpreting the passage formed by interior surfaces of 182/184 and annular plate as the claimed capillary channel (i.e. any channel may accommodate a capillary) and the passage 60 (i.e. segmented into multiple passages 194 in figure 12 or claimed capillary tube), the limitation is met because in order for the passages 194 of figure 12a to be formed the partitions must be guided in the space between the annular plate 186 and conical parts 182/184 in figure 10. See annotated figures below for clarity in claim interpretation.
Therefore, the amendment is insufficient to distinguish the claimed invention over that of Kalinitchenko and the rejection stands as reiterated herein below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 13-14 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,984,310 in view of US pgPub 2005/0082471 to Kalinitchenko.
Application claims
US11984310
Claim 1 A mass spectrometer for analyzing an analyte sample,
the mass spectrometer comprising: a plasma ion source configured to generate a plasma;
an interface arrangement configured to form a plasma flux from the plasma and to direct the plasma flux in a flow toward a mass analyzer,
wherein the interface arrangement comprises at least one cone and at least one capillary tube,
wherein the at least one cone includes an orifice through which the plasma flux is flowed,
wherein the at least one capillary tube includes an inlet and an outlet and is arranged and configured to introduce the analyte sample into the plasma flux at the orifice detector configured to detect the generated ions from the analyte sample.
Claim 1 A method of operating an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry apparatus for analyzing an analyte sample,
wherein the mass spectrometry apparatus comprises: a plasma ion source; (note plasma ion sources inherently generate a plasma)
an interface arrangement disposed between the plasma ion source and the mass analyzer…generating a plasma using the plasma ion source and forming a plasma flux to flow towards the mass analyzer; supplying the analyte sample into the reaction zone via the passage[[of the interface]] such that the analyte sample interacts with the plasma flux(note since the plasma flux interacts with the analyte sample, the plasma flux is formed separately from the plasma and the interface is between the plasma source and MS, the interface inherently forms a plasma flux)
the interface arrangement comprising … at least one cone and a passage (the passage is equivalent to a capillary tube)
an interface arrangement disposed between the plasma ion source and the mass analyzer…generating a plasma using the plasma ion source and forming a plasma flux to flow towards the mass analyzer (since the interface (including the cone) is between the source and mass analyzer such that the plasma flux flows towards the analyzer, the cone inherently has an orifice)
a passage having an inlet and an outlet, wherein the passage extends from an exterior of the interface structure into a reaction zone defined in an area surrounding the outlet of the passage, the method comprising: generating a plasma using the plasma ion source and forming a plasma flux to flow towards the mass analyzer; supplying the analyte sample into the reaction zone via the passage such that the analyte sample interacts with the plasma flux; and analyzing the analyte sample using the mass analyzer.
(note a mass analyzer inherently has a detector and since the mass analyzer analyzes the analyte sample (i.e. introduced by passage) the analyte is inherently ionized via reaction with plasma flux)
Claim 8. The mass spectrometer according to claim 1, wherein the at least one cone is a skimmer cone, a sampler cone, or a hyper-skimmer cone.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one cone of the interface arrangement includes a sampling cone or a skimmer cone.
10. The mass spectrometer according to claim 1, wherein the at least one cone is arranged adjacent to the plasma ion source.
Claim 1. An interface arrangement disposed between the plasma ion source and the mass analyzer, the interface arrangement comprising an interface structure including at least one cone (note since the interface comprises a cone between the source and mass analyzer, it is adjacent to the plasma ion source)
While 11984310 fails to claim the instant claims 2-7, 13-14 and 16. US pgPub 2005/0269506 teaches these limitations as discussed herein below. It would have been obvious to modify the patent to include such limitations because it would facilitate the implementation of the claimed capillary or capillaries into the interface structure so as to provide the gases to the reaction region.
Claims 11-12 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,984,310 in view of US pgPub 2005/0082471 to Kalinitchenko and further in view of Kalinitchenko (US pgPub 2015/0034816).
While the ‘310 in view of ‘471 fails to disclose claims 11-12 and 15. These limitations were known to ‘816 as discussed herein below. The rational to combine is also disclosed herein below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalinitchenko (US pgPub 2005/0269506).
Regarding claim 1, Kalinitchenko teaches a mass spectrometer (figures 1-2) for analyzing an analyte sample (inherent), the mass spectrometer comprising:
a plasma ion source (20) configured to generate a plasma (28);
an interface arrangement (32) configured to form a plasma flux from the plasma (plasma received by interface structure 32, thus forming a flux see paragraph [0047]) and to direct the plasma flux in a flow toward a mass analyzer ([0047] 32 introduces plasma into mass analyzing part of the spectrometer), wherein the interface arrangement comprises at least one cone (34/40) and at least one capillary tube (60,62,63),
wherein the at least one cone includes an orifice (36/42) through which the plasma flux is flowed (as seen in figure 2 from 28 to 58),
wherein the cone comprises at least one capillary channel (fig. 10, interior surfaces of 184/182 and annular plate 186 ([0059])) through which the at least on one capillary tube is guided (figure 12 194 is guided through 182/184/186 by placement of partitions (see annotated figure in response to arguments section above). Note 194 is a modified example of 60);
wherein the at least one capillary tube includes an inlet (fig. 2, 62) and an outlet (63) and is arranged and configured to introduce the analyte sample into the plasma flux at the orifice or in a plasma expansion zone downstream of the orifice such that the analyte sample is ionized by the plasma flux and ions are thereby generated (Paragraph [0049] teaches a reaction/collision substance is supplied directly into the plasma via inlet 62, passage 60 and outlet 63. The claim is written as an apparatus. MPEP 2114 (II) recites: “"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)”. Here, the capillary tube is only required to have an inlet and an outlet. Since the inlet/passage and outlet are arranged and configured to introduce a reaction/collision substance into the plasma downstream of orifice 42, the device is capable of introducing an analyte sample instead of the reaction substance into the plasma flux (i.e. downstream of the orifice 42) which would result in ionization because paragraph [0046] teaches the plasma ionizes the analyte),
wherein the outlet is in contact with the plasma flux (plasma fills the hole 42 (i.e. orifice) as the plasma flows from pressure region 38 to 44 see paragraph [0049], thus in contact with outlet 63);
the mass analyzer (50), which is configured to filter and/or separate the generated ions (inherent to a mass analyzer to separation generated ions); and
a detector (52) configured to detect the generated ions from the analyte sample ([0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the at least one capillary tube is arranged in a plane parallel to a plane in which the at least one cone is arranged (60 is located in cone 40 thus parallel to a plane in which the cone is arranged (i.e. plane of cone 40 where channel 60 exists)).
Regarding claim 3, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the at least one cone includes a first cone (40), and wherein the at least one capillary tube is arranged in a plane parallel to a plane in which the first cone is arranged (60 see discussion above in claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the at least one capillary tube includes two or more capillary tubes, and wherein the interface arrangement comprises the two or more capillary tubes (modified embodiments in figure 6 showing two channels 60/88 and figures 9a-9E showing two passages to provide separate/overlapping reaction zones at the holes ([0088]) or figure 12a-12d showing radial passages or ducts 194).
Regarding claim 5, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the two or more capillary tubes are arranged radially adjacent to each other (fig. 12a-12DE radial ducts 194).
Regarding claim 6, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the outlet of the at least one capillary tube is arranged at a distance to the plasma ion source (distance from outlet 63 to source of plasma 28 (i.e. ICP 20 in figure 1))
Regarding claim 7, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the at least one capillary tube is arranged within the at least one cone or adjacent thereto (skimmer cone 40 includes a passage 60 ([0048]), thus within the skimmer 40).
Regarding claim 8, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the at least one cone is a skimmer cone, a sampler cone, or a hyper-skimmer cone (skimmer cone 40).
Regarding claim 9, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the at least one cone is disposed in a vacuum (40 is located in low pressure region 38).
Regarding claim 10, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the at least one cone is arranged adjacent to the plasma ion source (40 is adjacent to 20 as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the analyte sample comprises organic, particulate, and/or biological matter (samples are nebulized ([0046]), thus are particulate).
Regarding claim 14, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the at least one capillary tube is connectable to a gas chromatograph, a liquid chromatograph, or a biological sample introduction system (note: connectable provides no structural limitation to the capillary. Since the passage 62/60/63 is connectable to a reaction/collision substance source (i.e. for the substance to be supplied [0049]), it is capable of being connected to any of the above introduction systems).
Regarding claim 16, Kalinitchenko teaches wherein the plasma ion source is configured to produce a plasma at atmospheric pressure ([0047] plasma 28 at atmospheric pressure, thus ICP is at atmospheric pressure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalinitchnko in view of Kalinitchnko (US pgPub 2015/0034816) (herein K2).
Regarding claim 11, Kalinitchenko fails to disclose wherein the mass spectrometer comprises a voltage source configured to apply a positive or negative voltage to the at least one cone.
However, K2 teaches wherein the mass spectrometer comprises a voltage source configured to apply a positive or negative voltage to the at least one cone ([0177] 25 V applied to the skimmer ).
K2 modifies Kalinitchnko by suggesting applying a voltage to the skimmer.
Since both inventions are directed towards skimmer cones in an ICP MS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the voltage as suggested in K2 in the device of Kalinitchnko because it would compensate for kinetic energy loss of the ions within the collisional/reaction region for additional benefits of reduction of collisional scatter in the MS ([0177]).
Regarding claim 12, Kalinitchenko in view of K2 teach wherein the voltage source is configured to adjust the positive and/or negative voltage at the at least one cone between 0 to ±200 V with respect to a potential of the plasma flux ([0177] suggests grounding skimmer conventionally thus at 0V relative to plasma)1.
Regarding claim 15, Kalinitchenko fails to disclose wherein the mass spectrometer comprises two or more detectors.
However, K2 teaches wherein the mass spectrometer comprises two or more detectors ([0146]).
K2 modifies Kalinitchenko by suggesting a mass analyzer array for the detection of ions.
Since both inventions are directed towards ICP MS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the mass analyzer array (including two or more detectors) as suggested by K2 in the device of Kalinitchenko because it would provide for a reduction of measurement time and improvement in isotropic ratio precision and accuracy, thus lessening the time for a particular measured spectrum while improving precision and accuracy ([0021])
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalinitchnko in view of Thalmann et al. (US pgPub 2024/0153752).
Regarding claim 11, Kalinitchenko fails to disclose wherein the mass spectrometer comprises a voltage source configured to apply a positive or negative voltage to the at least one cone.
However, Thalmann teaches wherein the mass spectrometer comprises a voltage source configured to apply a positive or negative voltage to the at least one cone ([0109]).
Thalmann modifies Kalinitchnko by suggesting applying a voltage to the skimmer.
Since both inventions are directed towards skimmer cones in an ICP MS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the voltage as suggested in Thalmann in the device of Kalinitchnko because it would keep the skimmer clean by deflecting away contaminants ([0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881
1 Note as evidenced by 5,068,534 to Bradshaw it was known that plasma is typically at -10 to 30V relative to ground (col. 2, lines 1-7).