DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“magnetic field applying unit” which reads on a magnet or other known functionally equivalent structure (see paragraph [0040])
“scraper position control unit” which reads on a mechanical sliding rail or other known functionally equivalent structure (see Fig. 1A:105)
“scraper holding portion” which reads on a holding pen or chamber or other known functionally equivalent structure (see Figure 6A:107 and paragraphs [0050]-[0053])
“scraper moving unit” which reads on a pivoting mechanism (see Figs. 5A-5B), a magnet (see Figs. 5C-5D), a valve (see Figs. 6A-6B), or another known functionally equivalent structure
“image pickup apparatus” which reads on a camera or other known optical device (see paragraph [0054])
“information processing unit” which reads on a programmed computer or other known device (see paragraphs [0055]-[0061])
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “scraper moving unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It is not clear what a “scraper moving unit” fundamentally is. The specification shows it could be a pivoting surface (see paragraph [0050] and Figs. 5A and 5B), a magnet (see paragraph [0051] and Figs. 5C and 5D), or a valve (see paragraphs [0052]-[0053] and Figs. 6A and 6B). These features are dissimilar and not linked by a shared method of operation. It is impossible to know what prior art structures read on the broad and ambiguous term “scraper moving unit” when it is not defined, and when the provided examples are entirely different and wide ranging in function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f);
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto-Nagels (US 5900374) in view of Wagner (US 20240253032).
With respect to claim 1, Otto-Nagels discloses a cell detachment device comprising a scraper (Figure 1a:1) having magnetism and configured to detach cells from a culture surface (Figure 1a:2). A magnetic field applying unit (Figure 1a:3) is configured to apply a magnetic field to the scraper. When the magnetic field is applied to the scraper 1, the scraper does not move via a rotational movement, but rather moves without rotating due to the operation of the magnetic field applying unit. This is described in column 6, line 39 to column 7, line 15. However, when the magnetic field is not applied by unit 3, the scrapers 1 are free to move in independently across the culture surface. Otto-Nagels states that the scrapers may be essentially any shape, including “rod” shaped and cylindrical. See, for example, column 7, lines 16-30. Because the Otto-Nagels scrapers may be round, cylindrical and/or rod shaped, the scrapers are configured to roll along the culture surface (“configured to move while rotating”) when no specific electric field is applied. Otto-Nagels, however, does not expressly state that the magnetic field applying unit is controlled using a scraper position control unit.
Wagner discloses a cell detachment system comprising a scraper (Figure 39:3908) having magnetism and in operable communication with a magnetic field applying unit (Figure 39:3910). When the magnetic field applying unit is activated, the scraper 3908 is made to detach adherent cells on a culture surface without rotating. A scraper position control unit (Figure 39:3912) is configured to control a position of the scraper by controlling the magnetic field applying unit. This is described in paragraphs [0363]-[0409].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that a scraper position control unit is utilized when operating the cell detachment system of Otto-Nagels. Wagner teaches that the provision of a scraper position control unit enables precise automation of the cell detachment process and detailed control over the movement of each scraper. Wagner teaches that the scraper position control unit may receive feedback from sensors to respond to detected changes throughout the cell culture process and better identify which cells should be detached at a desired time.
With respect to claim 2, Otto-Nagels and Wagner disclose the combination as described above. As previously discussed, Otto-Nagels states that the scraper may be a columnar shape (“rod”) or cylindrical shape.
With respect to claims 3, 4, 11 and 12, Otto-Nagels and Wagner disclose the combination as described above. Otto-Nagels further describes the use of a scraper holding portion (see Fig. 4) configured to hold the scraper 1 at a position out of contact with the culture surface 2. The elastic holders (Figure 4:12) of Otto-Nagels are analogous to the valve-like scraper moving unit 108 shown in Fig. 6A and 6B and are therefore understood to read on this limitation (or are an obvious variant thereof).
With respect to claims 5, 6, 13 and 14, Otto-Nagels and Wagner disclose the combination as described above. Wagner further teaches that an image pickup apparatus and an information processing unit are used to obtain and evaluate information regarding a state of cells adhering to the culture surface. Wagner states in paragraphs [0446]-[0481] and [0850]-[0858] that the scraper is moved based on this acquired information.
With respect to claims 7, 8 and 15, Otto-Nagels and Wagner disclose the combination as described above. It would have been obvious to form the Otto-Nagels culture surface and scraper according to a variety of corresponding shapes and sizes. As previously discussed, Otto-Nagels shows a variety of different scraper configurations in Fig. 1b, and Wagner shows a culture surface having recessed curved surfaces in Fig. 56. Absent a showing of criticality, mere changes in shape and size that produce a negligible or predictable change in device operation are considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04. It is additionally noted that the culture surface and adherent cells are not positively recited limitations in independent claim 1. Rather, independent claim 1 is drawn to a cell detachment system usable with (“for detaching cells adhering to a culture surface”) a theoretical culture device having a culture surface.
With respect to claims 9, 10, 16 and 17, Otto-Nagels and Wagner disclose the combination as described above. Each of the Otto-Nagels and Wagner cell detachment systems are associated with an accompanying culture vessel and cell culture unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Tajima (US 20160137967), Mogi (US 20210115371), Fuhr (US 20080038806) and McAllister (US 20020188349) references teach the state of the art regarding cell detachment systems.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799