DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being (a1) by Roeschlein et al. (US 4,334,732).
Regarding claim 1, Roeschlein et al. disclose a wiring device, comprising:
a housing (40); and
an electrical contact (44) disposed at least partially within the housing, the electrical contact arranged and configured to accept a plug blade (7, as shown in Fig. 5);
wherein, when the plug blade is inserted into the electrical contact, the electrical contact is arranged and configured to apply a compressive force against the plug blade inserted therein; wherein the electrical contact includes first and second arms and first and second extending members;
wherein the first and second extending members extend from the first and second arms, respectively; and
wherein, when the plug blade is inserted into the electrical contact, each of the first and second extending members cooperate with the first and second arms, respectively to provide compressive force to the plug blade.
[AltContent: textbox (Walls or surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st and 2nd extending members)][AltContent: textbox (1st and 2nd arms)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Roeschlein et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except to mention each of the first and second extending members are arranged and configured to contact a wall or a surface of the housing.
This feature is seen to be an inherent teaching since the plug thickness will contact the arms and move the extending members outwardly to contact the walls.
Regarding claim 2, Roeschlein et al. disclose the housing includes a pocket (47), one or more of the first and second extending members are arranged and configured to selectively contact a surface of the pocket.
Regarding claim 3, Roeschlein et al. disclose the first and second extending members are each arranged and configured to selectively contact a respective surface of the pocket.
Regarding claim 4, Roeschlein et al. disclose the electrical contact, the first and second arms, and the first and second extending members are monolithically formed.
Claims 5-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being (a1) by Yamashima et al. (US 2023/0034324).
Regarding claim 5, Yamashima et al. disclose an electrical contact (see Fig. 8) comprising:
a terminal portion;
an axis along which a plug blade (11) can be inserted; and
first and second wipes positioned about the axis, each of the first and second wipes include first, second, and third segments;
wherein the first segments of the first and second wipes extend from the terminal portion, wherein each first segment projects from the terminal portion in a respective direction towards the axis; wherein each of the second segments extend from a respective first segment, the second segment projecting from the respective first segment in a respective direction away from the axis;
wherein each of the third segments extend from a respective second segment, the third segment projecting from the respective second segment at a respective reflex angle with respect to the second segment, the third segment projecting from second segment in a direction away from the axis.
[AltContent: textbox (Convex surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st and 2nd wipes)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st segment)][AltContent: textbox (3rd segment)][AltContent: textbox (2nd segment)][AltContent: textbox (Terminal portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 6, Yamashima et al. disclose the terminal portion is an arm configured to be engaged by a terminal block (PCB, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Yamashima et al. disclose the terminal portion is a tang configured to be engaged by a terminal block (PCB, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Yamashima et al. disclose the first and second wipes are positioned symmetrically about the axis.
Regarding claim 9, Yamashima et al. disclose each of the second segments extends from the respective first segment at a blade contact region (a), the blade contact region configured to receive and engage a plug blade when the plug blade is inserted along the axis.
Regarding claim 10, Yamashima et al. disclose the first segments are configured as primary springs; the second segments are configured as helper springs; and wherein when a plug blade is inserted along the axis: the primary springs each exert a respective force on the plug blade at the blade contact region; and the helper springs are each configured to increase the respective force exerted by the respective primary spring.
Regarding claim 11, Yamashima et al. disclose each of the first and second wipes includes a convex surface in the blade contact region.
Regarding claim 14, Yamashima et al. disclose the first segments are primary springs and the second segments are secondary springs.
Regarding claim 15, Yamashima et al. disclose the terminal portion and the first, second, and third segments are monolithically formed.
Claims 5, 11-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being (a1) by Roeschlein et al. (US 4,334,732).
Regarding claim 5, Roeschlein et al. disclose an electrical contact (44) comprising:
a terminal portion;
an axis along which a plug blade (7) can be inserted; and
first and second wipes positioned about the axis, each of the first and second wipes include first, second, and third segments;
wherein the first segments of the first and second wipes extend from the terminal portion, wherein each first segment projects from the terminal portion in a respective direction towards the axis; wherein each of the second segments extend from a respective first segment, the second segment projecting from the respective first segment in a respective direction away from the axis;
wherein each of the third segments extend from a respective second segment, the third segment projecting from the respective second segment at a respective reflex angle with respect to the second segment, the third segment projecting from second segment in a direction away from the axis.
[AltContent: textbox (3rd segment)]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd segment)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1st segment)][AltContent: textbox (Terminal portion)]
Regarding claim 12, Roeschlein et al. disclose when the electrical contact is positioned at least partially within a housing (5), one or more of the third segments is in contact with a surface of the housing.
Regarding claim 13, Roeschlein et al. disclose when the electrical contact is positioned at least partially within a housing (5), each of the third segments is in contact with one or more surfaces of the housing.
Regarding claim 16, Roeschlein et al. disclose a wiring device, comprising:
a housing (5); and
an electrical contact (44) disposed at least partially within the housing, the electrical contact arranged and configured to accept a plug blade (7), the electrical contact including:
a terminal portion;
an axis along which the plug blade can be inserted;
first and second wipes (44) positioned about the axis, wherein each of the first and second wipes include first, second, and third segments;
wherein the first segments of the first and second wipes extend from the terminal portion, wherein each first segment projects from the terminal portion in a respective direction towards the axis;
wherein each of the second segments extend from a respective first segment, the second segment projecting from the respective first segment in a respective direction away from the axis; wherein each of the third segments extend from a respective second segment, the third segment projecting from the respective second segment at a respective reflex angle with respect to the second segment, the third segment projecting from second segment in a direction away from the axis.
Regarding claim 17, Roeschlein et al. disclose the terminal portion is selected from one of an arm configured to be engaged by a terminal block and a tang configured to be engaged by a terminal block (41).
Regarding claim 18, Roeschlein et al. disclose the first and second wipes are positioned symmetrically about the axis.
Regarding claim 19, Roeschlein et al. disclose each of the second segments joins with the respective first segment at a blade contact region, the blade contact region configured to receive and engage a plug blade when the plug blade is inserted along the axis.
Regarding claim 20, Roeschlein et al. disclose the terminal portion and the first, second, and third segments are monolithically formed.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834