DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 23 December 2025
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6, 8, 11 and 13-15 are pending;
Claims 1, 8, 13 and 15 are currently amended;
Claims 2-6, 11 and 14 were previously presented;
Claims 7, 9, 10 and 12 are cancelled;
Claims 1-6, 8, 11 and 13-15 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 23 December 2025 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive. The term “platform” and “plant components” are broad. Regarding the I-beam limitation, examiner explained how under the broadest reasonable interpretation the limitations are being claimed. Applicant is not positively claiming the connection and rather is stating that the structural elements are “configured to” be connected to form an I-beam which only requires capability and, in this case, examiner explained how they can be arranged to form an “I”. Positively claiming this connection by stating that the elements are actually connected to form an I-beam in order to form the support frame would actually make a difference and overcome the cited art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 15, the structural elements recite “a” which makes unclear if the structural elements refer to those already claimed in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Day et al (U.S. Patent No. 2,915,819).
As to Claim 1, O’Day discloses an internal platform support structure for an offshore foundation structure comprising:
A plurality of structural elements (26) for supporting a platform (120) for supporting plant components (12, 40) within the foundation structure (30) interior, the plurality of structural elements comprising beams (26) formed from sheet metal bent to form C-beams (Each beam 26 has two bends, one on each end, making the beam shaped like a “C”), and wherein the C-beams are configured to be connected together in pairs by fasteners to form an I-beam (They are capable of being connected to form an I-beam by disconnecting the beams, then placing the bodies abutting together and the bent ends facing away from each other resulting in a shape similar to ][ and then welding or bolting them as the claim merely requires capability due to the use of “configured to” without positively claiming the connection), and wherein the plurality of structural elements (26) are assembled together and connected by fasteners (28) to form a support frame for supporting the platform (120) thereon.
As to Claim 15, O’Day discloses a kit for forming the internal platform support structure (Figure 2) according to claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion) comprising:
A plurality of structural elements (26) which, when assembled together, form a support frame for supporting a platform thereon within the interior of the foundation structure (30), the platform for supporting plant components, wherein the plurality of structural elements comprise beams formed from sheet metal bent to form C-beams, and wherein the C-beams are configured to be connected together in pairs by fasteners to form an I-beam, and wherein the plurality of structural elements are configured to be assembled together and connected by fasteners (28) for forming a support frame for supporting the platform thereon.
Claims 1-6, 8 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sherer et al (U.S. Patent No. 3,859,877).
As to Claim 1, Sherer discloses an internal platform support structure for an offshore foundation structure comprising:
A plurality of structural elements (26, 31) for supporting a platform (14, 16) for supporting plant components (35, 35a, 36) within the foundation structure (P) interior, the plurality of structural elements (26, 31) comprising beams formed from sheet metal bent to form C-beams (Elements 31 and 26 when bent via their pivot points form a “<” shape which under the broadest reasonable interpretation can be interpreted as a “C”), and wherein the C-beams are configured to be connected together in pairs by fasteners to form an I-beam (They are capable of being connected to form an I-beam by disconnecting two elements 26 from the structure and then connecting the ends of each 26 together which leaves elements 25 at opposite ends. Each 25 would for the top and bottom flat portions of an “I” and the two 26 connected and aligned would form the middle portion of an “I” that connects the top and bottom flat portions), and wherein the plurality of structural elements (26, 31) are assembled together and connected by fasteners (27, 28, 26c, 35b) to form a support frame for supporting the platform (14, 16) thereon.
As to Claim 2, Sherer discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Sherer also discloses wherein the plurality of structural elements is further configured for supporting one or more further platforms (15, 17) within the foundation structure interior.
As to Claim 3, Sherer discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Sherer also discloses wherein the plurality of structural elements (26, 31) comprises a plurality of subsets (Each 26 and Each 31), and wherein structural elements within each subset are substantially the same.
As to Claim 4, Sherer discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Sherer also discloses wherein the plurality of structural elements (26, 31) comprises structural elements having a first end and a second end, wherein the first and second ends comprise apertures (31c, 31a, 26a) configured to receive the fasteners.
As to Claim 5, Sherer discloses the invention of Claim 4 (Refer to Claim 4 discussion). Sherer also discloses wherein the structural elements (26, 31) are configured such that, when assembled, their apertures (31c, 31a, 26a) align for allowing the fasteners to connect respective structural elements together.
As to Claim 6, Sherer discloses the invention of Claim 4 (Refer to Claim 4 discussion). Sherer also discloses wherein the structural elements (26, 31) comprise structural elements having a body between the first and second ends (Each structural element 26, 31 has a body between two ends), and wherein the first and second ends are provided as angled projections relative to the body for connecting the structural elements at an angle (Figure 1).
As to Claim 8, Sherer discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Sherer also discloses wherein the structural elements (26, 31) further comprise connector parts for connecting the beams, each connector part comprising a bracket (31a, 26a).
As to Claim 13, Sherer discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Sherer also discloses wherein a plate (30) is secured between the pairs of C-beams.
As to Claim 14, Sherer discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Sherer also discloses wherein the plurality of structural elements is configured to be connected by rivet fasteners (27, 28, 26c, 35b).
As to Claim 15, Sherer discloses a kit for forming the internal platform support structure (Figure 2) according to claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion) comprising:
A plurality of structural elements (26, 31) which, when assembled together, form a support frame for supporting a platform (A) thereon within the interior of the foundation structure (P), the platform for supporting plant components, wherein the plurality of structural elements (26, 31) comprise beams formed from sheet metal bent to form C-beams, and wherein the C-beams are configured to be connected together in pairs by fasteners to form an I-beam, and wherein the plurality of structural elements are configured to be assembled together and connected by fasteners (27, 28, 26c, 35b) for forming a support frame for supporting the platform thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherer et al (U.S. Patent No. 3,859,877) alone.
As to Claim 11, Sherer discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). However, Sherer is silent about wherein the structural elements comprise galvanised steel. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the elements comprise galvanised steel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678