DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 5/26/2026.The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The objections to the specification have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US4095438A) in view of Toshiyuki (JPH02247456A) and Neumann et al. (US20070137239A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kramer teaches an air conditioning unit [a refrigeration system where the invention relates to the application of refrigeration to cool spaces; col. 1, lines 5-21] comprising:
a compressor [compressor 102, Figure 1] configured to pump a refrigerant [where compressor 102 conveys compressed and high temperature refrigerant to condenser 120; col. 2, lines 8-14];
a valve [hot gas solenoid 143, Figure 1] configured to receive the refrigerant from the compressor [where vapor, driven by the compressor, passes through gas solenoid valve 143 when open; col. 3, line 7-16];
a heat exchanging coil [evaporator 154, Figure 1] configured to receive the refrigerant from the valve in a defrosting mode [where a hot gas line is provided bypassing the expansion device during defrost, a hot gas line is provided bypassing the expansion device and delivering hot gas directly from the liquid line; col. 1, lines 59-65] and melt ice formed on the heat exchanging coil into condensate [where hot gas flows via conduit 149 distributed to evaporator coil 154, Figure 1; col. 3, lines 23];
a drip pan [drain pan 155, Figure 1] arranged to receive the condensate from the heat exchanging coil [where evaporator drain pan 155 is located directly under the frost-laden evaporator coil; col. 3, lines 16-19];
a heating element [heating coil 147, Figure 1] disposed within the drip pan to heat the condensate received in the drip pan [where heating coil 147 is located in evaporator drain pan 155, Figure 1; col. 3, lines 16-19];
wherein the heating element comprises piping comprising the refrigerant [where the heating coil 147 Figure 1 is a coil, where the vapor driven by the compressor follows the liquid line 138 and enters heating coil 147 via conduit 142, col. 3, lines 12-23 ];
Kramer does not teach a second valve configured to regulate a predetermined amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element;
However, Toshiyuki teaches a protective device for a refrigerating device [0001] where a second valve [hot gas control valve 2, Figure 1; 0011;0012] is configured to regulate a predetermined amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element [where the hot gas control valve 2 consists of a three-way proportional valve with a bypass port 2C and the larger the degree of opening of the connection of the bypass the more hot gas discharged from the compressor flows to the evaporator 5; 0011; where the controller 21 includes a hot gas control means to control the amount of hot gas bypass by PID control; 0013] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, bypassing a portion of hot gas flowing from the compressor rather than the entire amount. 0005, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to have where a second valve configured to regulate a predetermined amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element in view of the teachings of Toshiyuki where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Kramer, as modified, does not teach a condensate pump configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan.
However, Neumann teaches a refrigeration device equipped with means for evaporating condensed water accumulating in the device [0001] where a condensate pump [pump vaporizer 14 where suction connecting pipe 13 opens up into a pump chamber 16; 0022] configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan [evaporation tray 12; 0021], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., preventing damage or leaks by providing a driving force to reliably drain water accumulating in the device [Neumann;0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to have a condensate pump configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan in view of the teachings of Neumann where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., preventing damage or leaks by providing a driving force to reliably drain water accumulating in the device [Neumann;0005].
Regarding Claim 2, Kramer, as modified, and further teaches where the heating element [gas heating coil 147, Figure 1] comprises piping comprising refrigerant [where the vapor driven by the compressor leaves liquid line 138 to enter hot gas heating coil 147; col. 3, lines 12-16].
Regarding Claim 3, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 and further teaches the air conditioning unit, further comprising:
heat exchanging coil piping [conduits 142, 145, 149, Figure 1] configured to provide the refrigerant as a compressed gas from the valve [hot gas solenoid 143, Figure 1] to the heat exchanging coil [where hot gas passes through the open gas solenoid valve 143 to heating coil 147 to flow via conduit 149 to evaporator coil 154, Figure 1; col. 3, lines 12-23 ]; and does not teach the second valve connecting the heat exchanging coil piping with the piping of the heating element, wherein the second valve is configured to regulate an amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping.
However, Toshiyuki teaches a protective device for a refrigerating device [0001] where a second valve [hot gas control valve 2, Figure 1; 0011;0012] connecting the heat exchanging coil piping [refrigerant circulation circuit 11, Figure 1] with the piping of the heating element [drain pan heater 13, Figure 1; 0012], wherein the second valve is configured to regulate an amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping [where the hot gas control valve 2 consists of a three-way proportional valve with a bypass port 2C and the larger the degree of opening of the connection of the bypass the more hot gas discharged from the compressor flows to the evaporator 5; 0011, where the controller 21 includes a hot gas control means to control the amount of hot gas bypass by PID control; 0013], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, bypassing a portion of hot gas flowing from the compressor rather than the entire amount. 0005, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to have where the second valve connecting the heat exchanging coil piping with the piping of the heating element, wherein the second valve is configured to regulate an amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping in view of the teachings of Toshiyuki where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Regarding Claim 6, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 and further teaches where the second valve comprises a solenoid valve [where hot gas control valve 2 is a proportional solenoid valve; 0011;0012, refer to Toshiyuki as applied to the rejection of claim 1].
Regarding Claim 7, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach: a water transport system, wherein the condensate pump is configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan via the water transport system.
However, Neumann teaches a refrigeration device equipped with means for evaporating condensed water accumulating in the device [0001] including a water transport system [suction connecting pipe 13, Figure 3] where a condensate pump [pump vaporizer 14 where suction connecting pipe 13 opens up into a pump chamber 16; 0022] is configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan [evaporation tray 12; 0021] via the water transport system [Figure 3, 0021], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., preventing leaks by reliably eliminating large quantities of condensed water that accumulates in the device [Neumann, 0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to have a water transport system, wherein the condensate pump is configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan via the water transport system.in view of the teachings of Nuemann where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., preventing leaks by reliably eliminating large quantities of condensed water that accumulates in the device [Neumann, 0006].
Regarding Claim 8, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1, and further teaches a fan [fan 158, Figure 1] configured to blow air through the heat exchanging coil [where fan 158 draws air over the coil ; col. 2, line 8-15];
But Kramer does not teach a vaporizer, wherein the condensate pump is configured to pump the heated condensate to the vaporizer, and wherein the vaporizer is configured to convert the heated pumped condensate to vapor in air blown by the fan.
However, Neumann teaches a refrigeration device equipped with means for evaporating condensed water accumulating in the device [0001] including a vaporizer [pump vaporizer including vaporizer chamber 22, Figure 2;0022;0023], wherein the condensate pump [pump vaporizer 14 where suction connecting pipe 13 opens up into a pump chamber 16; 0022] is configured to pump the heated condensate to the vaporizer [0023], and wherein the vaporizer is configured to convert the heated pumped condensate [where evaporation tray 12 is heated by compressor 7, Figure 3; 0020] to vapor in air blown [where pump vaporiser 14 produces a fine mist; where the air moisture produced is flushed away by an air flow; 0021] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., preventing leaks by reliably eliminating large quantities of condensed water that accumulates in the device [Neumann, 0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to have a water transport system, wherein the condensate pump is configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan via the water transport system.in view of the teachings of Neumann where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., preventing leaks by reliably eliminating large quantities of condensed water that accumulates in the device [Neumann, 0006].
Claim 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US4095438A) in view of Toshiyuki (JPH02247456A) and Neumann et al. (US20070137239A1) as applied to claim 8 above and in further view of Hsu (US20070101745A1) .
Regarding Claim 9, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 and does not teach wherein the vaporizer is disposed between the fan and the heat exchanging coil.
However, Hsu teaches a cooling device with an aerosol capable of nebulizing water [0001] where the vaporizer [nozzle 21, Figure 1; where aerosol 2 will nebulize water into fine droplets by the fan, Figure 1; 0013] is disposed between the fan [Fan 1, Figure 2;0013] and the heat exchanging coil [heat exchanger 3, Figure 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improving efficiency by repurposing condensate for cooling internal components [Hsu, 0013]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to have a water transport system, wherein the vaporizer is disposed between the fan and the heat exchanging coil in view of the teachings of Hsu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improving efficiency by repurposing condensate for cooling internal components [Hsu, 0013]
Regarding Claim 10, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 and does not teach wherein the heat exchanging coil is disposed between the fan and the vaporizer.
However, Hsu teaches a cooling device with an aerosol capable of nebulizing water [0001] where the heat exchanging coil [heat exchanger 3, Figure 3] is disposed between the fan [fan 1, Figure 1] and the vaporizer [nozzle 21, Figure 1; where aerosol 2 will nebulize water into fine droplets by the fan, Figure 1; 0013] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improving efficiency by repurposing condensate for cooling internal components [Hsu, 0013]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to wherein the heat exchanging coil is disposed between the fan and the vaporizer in view of the teachings of Hsu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improving efficiency by repurposing condensate for cooling internal components [Hsu, 0013]
Claims 11-13 and 16-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US4095438A) in view of Toshiyuki (JPH02247456A) and Neumann et al. (US20070137239A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Kramer teaches a method of operating an air conditioning unit [a refrigeration system where the invention relates to the application of refrigeration to cool spaces; col. 1, lines 5-21], the method comprising:
pumping, via a compressor [compressor 102, Figure 1], a refrigerant [where compressor 102 conveys compressed and high temperature refrigerant to condenser 120; col. 2, lines 8-14];
providing, via a valve [hot gas solenoid 143, Figure 1], the refrigerant from the compressor to a heat exchanging coil in a defrosting mode [where a hot gas line is provided bypassing the expansion device during defrost, a hot gas line is provided bypassing the expansion device and delivering hot gas directly from the liquid line; col. 1, lines 59-65],
receiving, via the heat exchanging coil [evaporator 154, Figure 1], the refrigerant from the valve to melt frost or ice formed on the heat exchanging coil into condensate [where a hot gas line is provided bypassing the expansion device during defrost, a hot gas line is provided bypassing the expansion device and delivering hot gas directly from the liquid line; col. 1, lines 59-65];
receiving, via a drip pan [drain pan 155, Figure 1], the condensate from the heat exchanging coil [where evaporator drain pan 155 is located directly under the frost-laden evaporator coil; col. 3, lines 16-19];
heating [heating coil 147, Figure 1], via a heating element disposed within the drip pan , the condensate received in the drip pan [where heating coil 147 is located in evaporator drain pan 155, Figure 1; col. 3, lines 16-19];
wherein the heating element comprises piping comprising the refrigerant [where the heating coil 147 Figure 1 is a coil, where the vapor driven by the compressor follows the liquid line 138 and enters heating coil 147 via conduit 142, col. 3, lines 12-23];
Kramer does not teach regulating, via a second valve, a predetermined amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element.
However, Toshiyuki teaches a protective device for a refrigerating device [0001] including regulating, via a second valve [hot gas control valve 2, Figure 1; 0011;0012], a predetermined amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element [where the hot gas control valve 2 consists of a three-way proportional valve with a bypass port 2C and the larger the degree of opening of the connection of the bypass the more hot gas discharged from the compressor flows to the evaporator 5; 0011; where the controller 21 includes a hot gas control means to control the amount of hot gas bypass by PID control; 0013]where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, bypassing a portion of hot gas flowing from the compressor rather than the entire amount. 0005, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kramer to have regulating, via a second valve, a predetermined amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element in view of the teachings of Toshiyuki where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Kramer, as modified, does not teach pumping, via a condensate pump, the condensate from the drip pan.
However, Neumann teaches a refrigeration device equipped with means for evaporating condensed water accumulating in the device [0001] including pumping, via a condensate pump, [pump vaporizer 14 where suction connecting pipe 13 opens up into a pump chamber 16; 0022] the condensate from the drip pan [evaporation tray 12; 0021], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., preventing damage or leaks by providing a driving force to reliably drain water accumulating in the device [Neumann;0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to have pumping, via a condensate pump, the condensate from the drip pan in view of the teachings of Neumann where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., preventing damage or leaks by providing a driving force to reliably drain water accumulating in the device [Neumann;0005].
Regarding Claim 12, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 and further teaches where the heating element [gas heating coil 147, Figure 1] comprises piping having refrigerant [where the vapor driven by the compressor leaves liquid line 138 to enter hot gas heating coil 147; col. 3, lines 12-16].
Regarding Claim 13, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention claim 12 and further teaches,
providing, via heat exchanging coil piping [conduits 142, 145, 149, Figure 1], the refrigerant from the valve [hot gas solenoid 143, Figure 1] as a compressed gas and to the heat exchanging coil [where hot gas passes through the open gas solenoid valve 143 to heating coil 147 to flow via conduit 149 to evaporator coil 154, Figure 1; col. 3, lines 12-23]; and
does not teach regulating, via the second valve connecting the heat exchanging coil piping with the piping of the heating element, an amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping.
However, Toshiyuki teaches a protective device for a refrigerating device [0001] including regulating, via the second valve [hot gas control valve 2, Figure 1; 0011;0012] connecting the heat exchanging coil piping [refrigerant circulation circuit 11, Figure 1] with the piping of the heating element [drain pan heater 13, Figure 1; 0012], an amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping [where the hot gas control valve 2 consists of a three-way proportional valve with a bypass port 2C and the larger the degree of opening of the connection of the bypass the more hot gas discharged from the compressor flows to the evaporator 5; 0011, where the controller 21 includes a hot gas control means to control the amount of hot gas bypass by PID control; 0013] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, bypassing a portion of hot gas flowing from the compressor rather than the entire amount. 0005, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have regulating, via the second valve connecting the heat exchanging coil piping with the piping of the heating element, an amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping in view of the teachings of Toshiyuki where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Regarding Claim 16, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 13 and further teaches where the second valve comprises a solenoid valve [where hot gas control valve 2 is a proportional solenoid valve; 0011;0012, refer to Toshiyuki as applied to the rejection of claim 11].
Regarding Claim 17, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 and does not teach pumping, via the condensate pump, the condensate from the drip pan comprises pumping the condensate from the drip pan via a water transport system.
However, Neumann teaches a refrigeration device equipped with means for evaporating condensed water accumulating in the device [0001] including pumping, via the condensate pump, [pump vaporizer 14 where suction connecting pipe 13 opens up into a pump chamber 16; 0022] the condensate from the drip pan [evaporation tray 12; 0021] comprises pumping the condensate from the drip pan via a water transport system [Figure 3, 0021] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., preventing leaks by reliably eliminating large quantities of condensed water that accumulates in the device [Neumann, 0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to have a water transport system, wherein the condensate pump is configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan via the water transport system.in view of the teachings of Neumann where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., preventing leaks by reliably eliminating large quantities of condensed water that accumulates in the device [Neumann, 0006].
Claim 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US4095438A) in view of Toshiyuki (JPH02247456A) and Neumann et al. (US20070137239A1) as applied to claim 11 above and in further view of Hsu (US20070101745A1) .
Regarding Claim 18, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 and further teaches blowing, via a fan [fan 158, Figure 1], air through the heat exchanging coil [where fan 158 draws air over the coil ; col. 2, line 8-15]; but does not teach pumping, via the condensate pump, the condensate to a vaporizer; and converting, via the vaporizer, the heated pumped condensate to vapor in the air blown by the fan.
However, Hsu teaches a cooling device with an aerosol capable of nebulizing water [0001] including pumping, via the condensate pump, [pump 231, Figure 2] the condensate to a vaporizer [nozzle 21, Figure 1; where aerosol 2 will nebulize water into fine droplets by the fan, Figure 1; 0013]; and converting, via the vaporizer, the heated pumped condensate to vapor in the air blown by the fan [Figure 1;0013] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improving efficiency by repurposing condensate for cooling internal components [Hsu, 0013]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have pumping, via the condensate pump, the condensate to a vaporizer; and converting, via the vaporizer, the heated pumped condensate to vapor in the air blown by the fan in view of the teachings of Hsu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improving efficiency by repurposing condensate for cooling internal components [Hsu, 0013]
Regarding Claim 19 Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 18 and does not teach where the vaporizer is disposed between the fan and the heat exchanging coil, and wherein the heat exchanging coil is disposed between the fan and the vaporizer.
However, Hsu teaches a cooling device with an aerosol capable of nebulizing water [0001] where the vaporizer [nozzle 21, Figure 1; where aerosol 2 will nebulize water into fine droplets by the fan, Figure 1; 0013] is disposed between the fan [fan 1, Figure 2] and the heat exchanging coil [heat exchanger 3, Figure 1], and wherein the heat exchanging coil is disposed between the fan and the vaporizer [embodiment of Figure 3] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improving efficiency by repurposing condensate for cooling internal components [Hsu, 0013]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have where the vaporizer is disposed between the fan and the heat exchanging coil, and wherein the heat exchanging coil is disposed between the fan and the vaporizer in view of the teachings of Hsu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improving efficiency by repurposing condensate for cooling internal components [Hsu, 0013]
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US4095438A) in view of Neumann et al. (US20070137239A1) as applied to claim 3 and 13 above and in further view of Broadbent (US20160054043A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 and further teaches a controller [controller 21, Figure 1; 0013 of Toshiyuki] configured to (i) instruct the second valve to shuttle the refrigerant as a compressed gas to the heat exchanging coil in the defrosting mode [where the controller 21 includes a hot gas control means to control the amount of hot gas bypass by PID control; 0013 of Toshiyuku], and (iii) instruct the second valve to regulate the amount of the hot refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the hot refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping [where the hot gas control valve 2 consists of a three-way proportional valve with a bypass port 2C and the larger the degree of opening of the connection of the bypass the more hot gas discharged from the compressor flows to the evaporator 5; 0011; where the controller 21 includes a hot gas control means to control the amount of hot gas bypass by PID control; 0013 of Toshiyuki, refer to the rejection of claim 3 above] but does not teach does not teach a controller configured to (ii) instruct the condensate pump to operate.
However, Broadbent teaches a method to empty liquid water from a water reservoir of an ice making machine comprising a refrigeration system [0005] where the controller [controller 80, Figure 2;0030] is configured to instruct the second valve [hot gas valve HGV, Figure 1] to shuttle the refrigerant as a compressed gas to the heat exchanging coil in the defrosting mode [where controller 80 communicates with hot gas valve 24, Figure 2, 0031; where hot gas valve 24 is used to direct warm refrigerant from compressor 15 directly to evaporator 21; 0026] (ii) instruct the condensate pump [water pump 62 in sump 70 below freeze plate 22, Figure 1] to operate [0031], and (iii) instruct the second valve to regulate the amount of the hot refrigerant [0031] to enter into the piping of the heating element [ice formation device 20, Figure 1] from the hot refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping [refrigerant lines 28a, Figure 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing a more reliable system by automating and coordinating the operation of the refrigeration system
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have where a controller is configured to (i) instruct the valve to shuttle the refrigerant as a compressed gas to the heat exchanging coil in the defrosting mode, (ii) instruct the condensate pump to operate and (iii) instruct the valve to regulate the amount of the hot refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the hot refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping in view of the teachings of Broadbent where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing a more reliable system by automating and coordinating the operation of the refrigeration system.
Regarding Claim 14, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 13, and further teaches instructing, via a controller, the second valve to shuttle the refrigerant in a defrosting mode [where the controller 21 includes a hot gas control means to control the amount of hot gas bypass by PID control; 0013 of Toshiyuku]; and instructing, via the controller, the second valve to regulate the amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping [where the hot gas control valve 2 consists of a three-way proportional valve with a bypass port 2C and the larger the degree of opening of the connection of the bypass the more hot gas discharged from the compressor flows to the evaporator 5; 0011; where the controller 21 includes a hot gas control means to control the amount of hot gas bypass by PID control; 0013 of Toshiyuki, refer to the rejection of claim 13 above] but does not teach instructing, via the controller, the condensate pump to operate.
However, Broadbent teaches a method to empty liquid water from a water reservoir of an ice making machine comprising a refrigeration system [0005] instructing, via a controller, [controller 80, Figure 2;0030] the valve [hot gas valve, Figure 1] to shuttle the refrigerant in a defrosting mode [where controller 80 communicates with hot gas valve 24, Figure 2, 0031; where hot gas valve 24 is used to direct warm refrigerant from compressor 15 directly to evaporator 21; 0026]; instructing, via the controller, the condensate pump to operate [water pump 62 in sump 70 below freeze plate 22, Figure 1 and Figure 2;0031]; and instructing, via the controller, the valve [0031] to regulate the amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element [ice formation device 20, Figure 1] from the refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping [refrigerant lines 28a, Figure 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing a more reliable system by automating and coordinating the operation of the refrigeration system
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have where a controller instructing, via a controller, the valve to shuttle the refrigerant in a defrosting mode; instructing, via the controller, the condensate pump to operate; and instructing, via the controller, the valve to regulate the amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element from the refrigerant in the heat exchanging coil piping in view of the teachings of Broadbent where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing a more reliable system by automating and coordinating the operation of the refrigeration system
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US4095438A) in view of Toshiyuki (JPH02247456A), Neumann et al. (US20070137239A1) and Broadbent (US20160054043A1) as applied to claim 4 and 14 above and in further view of Obara et al. (JPH0933091A).
Regarding Claim 5, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4 and does not teach where the controller is configured to instruct the condensate pump to operate
(i) for a first predetermined period of time and
(ii) a second predetermined period of time after instructing the compressor to pump the refrigerant in the defrosting mode.
However, Obara teaches a drain pump control device for an air conditioner [0001] where the controller [control device 104, Figure 4 and Figure 2] is configured to instruct the condensate pump to operate [drain pump 103, Figure 4; 0005] (i) for a first predetermined period of time [where the drain pump 103 is operated for a predetermined time t1, Figure 3;0007] and (ii) a second predetermined period of time [t2, Figure 3] after instructing the compressor to pump the refrigerant in the defrosting mode [where t1 is the operation of the compressor 5 for simultaneous operation with the pump, Figure 3;0011;0019; where the drain pump 3 is stopped at time c, after a predetermined time T2 after the compressor 5 has stopped, Figure 3; 0020] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing leakage by ensuring condensed water drains even when the amount of condensed water becomes large by changing in operating time [Obara;0023]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Kramer to have where the controller is configured to instruct the condensate pump to operate (i) for a first predetermined period of time and (ii) a second predetermined period of time after instructing the compressor to pump the refrigerant in the defrosting mode in view of the teachings of Obara where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing leakage by ensuring condensed water drains even when the amount of condensed water becomes large by changing in operating time [Obara;0023]
Regarding Claim 15, Kramer, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 14, and does not teach instructing, via the controller, the condensate pump to operate for a first predetermined period of time and after a second predetermined period of time after instructing the compressor to pump the refrigerant in the defrosting mode.
However, Obara teaches a drain pump control device for an air conditioner [0001] including instructing, via the controller [control device 104, Figure 4 and Figure 2], the condensate pump [drain pump 103, Figure 4; 0005] to operate for a first predetermined period of time [where the drain pump 103 is operated for a predetermined time t1, Figure 3;0007] and after a second predetermined period [t2, Figure 3] of time after instructing the compressor [compressor 5, Figure 4] to pump the refrigerant in the defrosting mode [where the drain pump 3 is stopped at time c, after a predetermined time T2 after the compressor 5 has stopped, Figure 3; 0020; where t1 is the operation of the compressor 5 for simultaneous operation with the pump, Figure 3;0011;0019] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing leakage by ensuring condensed water drains even when the amount of condensed water becomes large by changing in operating time [Obara;0023]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Kramer to have instructing, via the controller, the condensate pump to operate for a first predetermined period of time and after a second predetermined period of time after instructing the compressor to pump the refrigerant in the defrosting mode in view of the teachings of Obara where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing leakage by ensuring condensed water drains even when the amount of condensed water becomes large by changing in operating time [Obara;0023]
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US4095438A) in view of Toshiyuki (JPH02247456A) and Riello ( EP0268776B1).
Regarding Claim 20, Kramer teaches an air conditioning unit [a refrigeration system where the invention relates to the application of refrigeration to cool spaces; col. 1, lines 5-21] comprising:
a compressor [compressor 102, Figure 1] configured to pump a refrigerant [where compressor 102 conveys compressed and high temperature refrigerant to condenser 120; col. 2, lines 8-14];
a valve [hot gas solenoid 143, Figure 1] configured to receive the refrigerant from the compressor [where vapor, driven by the compressor, passes through gas solenoid valve 143 when open; col. 3, line 7-16];
a heat exchanging coil [evaporator 154, Figure 1] configured to receive the refrigerant from the valve to melt ice formed on the heat exchanging coil [where a hot gas line is provided bypassing the expansion device during defrost, a hot gas line is provided bypassing the expansion device and delivering hot gas directly from the liquid line; col. 1, lines 59-65];
a drip pan [drain pan 155, Figure 1] arranged to receive condensate from the heat exchanging coil [where evaporator drain pan 155 is located directly under the frost-laden evaporator coil; col. 3, lines 16-19];
a heating element [heating coil 147, Figure 1] disposed within the drip pan to heat the condensate received in the drip pan [where heating coil 147 is located in evaporator drain pan 155, Figure 1; col. 3, lines 16-19];
wherein the heating element comprises piping comprising the refrigerant [where the heating coil 147 Figure 1 is a coil, where the vapor driven by the compressor follows the liquid line 138 and enters heating coil 147 via conduit 142, col. 3, lines 12-23 ];
and does not teach
a second valve configured to regulate a predetermined amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element;
However, Toshiyuki teaches a protective device for a refrigerating device [0001] where a second valve [hot gas control valve 2, Figure 1; 0011;0012] is configured to regulate a predetermined amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element [where the hot gas control valve 2 consists of a three-way proportional valve with a bypass port 2C and the larger the degree of opening of the connection of the bypass the more hot gas discharged from the compressor flows to the evaporator 5; 0011; where the controller 21 includes a hot gas control means to control the amount of hot gas bypass by PID control; 0013] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, bypassing a portion of hot gas flowing from the compressor rather than the entire amount. 0005, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kramer to have where a second valve configured to regulate a predetermined amount of the refrigerant to enter into the piping of the heating element in view of the teachings of Toshiyuki where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing the internal temperature from rising and preventing the internal cooling operation from becoming impossible even in the event of a malfunction [Toshiyuki; 0005].
Kramer, as modified, does not teach a condensate pump configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan; a vaporizer configured to vaporize the condensate; and a fan configured to blow the vaporized condensate outside.
However, Riello teaches a system for draining condensate formed in air conditioners during their operation [col. 1, lines 1-6] a condensate pump [pump 5, Figure 1] configured to pump the condensate from the drip pan [condensate collection tray;col.3, lines 11-14]; a vaporizer [atomizing nozzle 8, Figure 1] configured to vaporize the condensate [col.3, lines 15-27]; and a fan [ventilator 6, Figure 1; 20-31] configured to blow the vaporized condensate outside [where the atomizing nozzle is arranged so as to lie in the trajectory of ventilator 6, Figure 1; col. 3, lines; where the outdoor unit comprises the condenser; col.3, lines 6-11 ] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., minimizing maintenance by avoiding hand drainage from the air conditioner [Riello, col. 2, lines 3-11].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have where the vaporizer is disposed between the fan and the heat exchanging coil, and wherein the heat exchanging coil is disposed between the fan and the vaporizer in view of the teachings of Riello where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., minimizing maintenance by avoiding hand drainage from the air conditioner [Riello, col. 2, lines 3-11].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on page 10 of the remarks regarding “a water transport system” in claim 7 being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) filed on 5/26/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the interpretation is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/26/2026 with respect to claims 1, 11 and 20 on pages 11-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant does not separately argue the rejection of claims 2-10 and 12-19 except for their dependence upon claim 1 and claim 11. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763