DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12000158 in view of Ayambem et al. (US 2015/0158999). Claim 1 of '158 recites a low-dust joint compound composition comprising a dust reduction additive emulsion comprising colloidally protected wax- based microstructures and a first water which reads of claim 1 of the current application. ‘158 fails to teach the low dust compound has at least about 90% bond according to an ASTM C474 peel test. Ayambem et al. discloses a low dust joint compound composition used for drywall finishing application (see abstract, 0056) comprising water and wax emulsion (see 0011-0013) wherein the compound has at least 99% bond according to an ASTM C474 peel test (see 0075). The wax emulsion comprises polyvinyl alcohol; paraffin wax; a base; and a dispersant (see claim 6, 0049). Ayambem et al. states the wax emulsion can act as a dedusting agent (see 0056). It would have been obvious to form the composition of ‘694 to have a bond of at least 99% as taught by Ayambem et al. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to low dust compounds where Ayambem et al. teaches a composition that has improved bonding to a substrate which is desired when bonding to materials together.
Claim 16 of '158 recites a method of using the low dust joint compound composition by applying said composition to a joint between adjacent wallboard panels; and allowing the composition to dry; and sanding the dried composition reading on claim 16 of the current application. Claim 17 of '158 recites a method of reducing the quantity of dust generated by a joint compound composition comprising providing a join compound composition a filler, a water, binder and at least one of a defoamer, wetting agent, preservative, fungicide, thickener, non-leveling agent, surfactant, and a solvent; subsequently adding a sufficient quantity of dust reduction additive emulsion to the composition to reduce the quantity of dust generated by sanding the hardened joint compound composition by at least 5% which reads on claim 18 of the current application.
The dependent claims 2-16 and 19-20 are anticipated by the claims of '158.
Claims 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10801217. Although the claims at issue are
not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 18 of '217 recites a
method of reducing the quantity of dust generated by a joint compound composition, the method
comprising providing a joint compound composition comprising a filler, a first water, binder, and
at least one of a deformer, wetting agent, preservative, fungicide, thickener, non-leveling agent,
surfactant, and a solvent; and subsequently adding a sufficient amount of dust reductional
additive emulsion to the compound to reduce the quantity of dust generated by sanding the
hardened joint compound composition by at least 5% which anticipates claim 18 of the current
application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-17, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayambem et al. (US 2015/0158999) in view of Sasantani (US 6987137).
As to claim 1, Ayambem et al. discloses a low dust joint compound composition used for drywall finishing application (see abstract, 0056) comprising water and wax emulsion (see 0011-0013) wherein the compound has at least 99% bond according to an ASTM C474 peel test (see 0075). The wax emulsion comprises polyvinyl alcohol; paraffin wax; a base; and a dispersant (see claim 6, 0049). Ayambem et al. states the wax emulsion can act as a dedusting agent (see 0056).
Ayambem et al. fails to teach the composition comprises colloidally protected wax-based microstructures as required by claim 1.
Sasantani discloses a grindable composition comprising microcapsules having an encapsulated material in a liquid state such as liquid paraffin and a wall material such as a thermoplastic film. Sasantani states the use of such materials decreases the amount of scattered dust during the grinding process (dust reduction) while the strength isn’t comprised (see abstract, col. 1, lines 45-59, line 61 – col. 2, line 2 and col. 3, line 46 – col. 4, line 35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Ayambem et al. to include using the microcapsules disclosed by Sasatani as the dust reductive material. One would have bene motived to do so since both are directed providing a material include paraffin used to prevent airborne dust during grinding or cutting where Sasatani states the use of the encapsulated wax results in reduction of dust, the wax is securely fixed within the compound without sacrificing the strength of the joint compound.
As to claim 3, Sasatani states the shell material is a polymer but is not limited and gives examples of materials. Sasatani fails to teach a polyvinyl alcohol as claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art use such materials as shell materials since Ayambem et al. show that the polymer materials of Sasatani are alternatives to polyvinyl alcohol and can be used in such compositions. It has been established that the mere substitution of one known element for a known alterative has a prime facie case of obviousness.
As to claim 4, the composition further comprises a rheology modifier (see 0041 of Ayambem et al.) and filler (see 0041-0042)
As to claim 5, the filler is selected from calcium carbonate, calcium sulfate hemihydrate, diatomaceous earth or silica (see 0042 of Ayambem et al.).
As to claim 6, the composition can further comprise of micro-roughened filler or clay (see 0021 of Ayambem et al.).
As to claims 7-9, Sasatani disclose the use of a base of diethanol amine as a hardening agent (see col. 7 lines 42-50). Langford teaches a dispersing agent such as a surfactant and water.
As to claims 10-11, the dust reduction additive is provided at 0.1 to 10% by weight of the composition (see 0051 and Ayambem et al.).
As to claim 12, the low dust composition has a peak air-borne dust generation of less than 100 mg/m3(see 0052 of Ayambem et al.).
As to claims 13-14, states the amount of dust is reduced by at least 80% (see Ayambem et al. 0063-64).
As to claims 15-16, the joint compound comprises metal siliconate salt (see 0026-0028 of Ayambem et al.).
As to claim 17, the composition is applied between wallboards, dried and sanded (see 0057 of Ayambem et al.).
As to claims 21-23, Ayambem et al. teaches the compound has a bond of 100% (see 0185).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant amended claims to overcome the previous written description requirement, which broadened what is encompassed by the clam, thereby requiring a new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
There are no prior art rejections over claims 2 and 18-20. As to claims 2 and 18-20, the prior art fails to teach or suggest forming a dust reducing additive emulsion having a core of paraffin and nonparaffin component as claimed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CACHET I. PROCTOR/
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/CACHET I PROCTOR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712