DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
switching device,
condensing unit.
The aforementioned limitation meets the three-prong test outlined herein since:
the term “device” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “switching”), and (C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
the term “unit” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “condensing”), and (C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
A review of the specification shows that the following appear to be the corresponding structures for the aforementioned 112(f) limitation(s):
The disclosure defines switching device as a 16-way valve, see 500 in Figure 1. Therefore, the switching device will be construed as a 16-way valve, and/or equivalents thereof.
The disclosure defines condensing unit as condenser, see 443 in Figure 8. Therefore, the condensing unit will be construed as condenser, and/or equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
heat exchange device.
temperature adjustment target apparatus.
The aforementioned limitation does not meet the three-prong test outlined herein since:
the term “device” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “switching”), and (C) the generic placeholder is modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function (i.e. that performs heat exchange between outside air and the heat medium and includes a first heat exchanger, a second heat exchanger, and a third heat exchanger).
the term “apparatus” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is not modified by functional language since temperature adjustment target is not pure functional language of the form “ apparatus for [performing X]”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation of “the condensing unit and the supercooling unit are connected to the switching device through a third flow path and a fourth flow path, respectively” is unclear since a first and a second flow path were not defined in order to have a third flow path and a fourth flow path. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as if Applicant is reciting “a third flow path and a fourth flow path” as names.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by ENOMOTO (JP2014020280A: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, ENOMOTO teaches a thermal management circuit (10: see Figure 1) installed in an electrical apparatus, the thermal management circuit (10) comprising: an apparatus arrangement circuit (circuit of the battery 40) through which a heat medium that exchanges heat with a temperature adjustment target apparatus (40) is circulated (see Figure 1), the temperature adjustment target apparatus (40) being an apparatus that is a target of temperature adjustment ( see ¶ [0013] i.e. “If it is estimated or detected that the battery (40) Apparatus and method of manufacturing. is below a predetermined temperature, or if it is necessary to heat the battery (40)”); a refrigeration cycle (41) that is connected to a chiller (35) and a water-cooled capacitor (37); a heat exchange device (26, 27 and 39 or battery cooling heat exchanger of 41a) that performs heat exchange between outside air and the heat medium ( see ¶ [0046]); and
a switching device (21 and 22) that is able to switch a circulation route of the heat medium (see Figure 1 and ¶ [0013]), wherein: the heat exchange device (26, 27 and 39 or battery cooling heat exchanger of 41a) includes a first heat exchanger (27), a second heat exchanger (26), and a third heat exchanger (39) that are provided separately from each other (see Figure 1); and a connection state between each of the first heat exchanger (27), the second heat exchanger (26), and the third heat exchanger (39 or battery cooling heat exchanger of 41a) and each of the apparatus arrangement circuit (circuit of the battery 40) and the refrigeration cycle (41) is switched by the switching device (see Figures 10-13).
Regarding claim 2, ENOMOTO further teaches wherein: the third heat exchanger (39) is connected to the refrigeration cycle (41: see Figure 1); the water-cooled capacitor (37) includes a condensing unit that changes the heat medium from a vapor phase to a liquid phase; and in the third heat exchanger, the heat medium changed to the liquid phase in the condensing unit and the outside air exchange heat (see ¶ [0043], it’s implicit that condenser includes condensing unit that changes the heat medium from a vapor phase to a liquid phase).
Regarding claim 3, ENOMOTO further teaches wherein: the water-cooled capacitor (37) includes a condensing unit that changes the heat medium from a vapor phase to a liquid phase (see ¶ [0043], it’s implicit that condenser includes condensing unit that changes the heat medium from a vapor phase to a liquid phase), and a supercooling unit (39) that cools the heat medium changed to the liquid phase in the condensing unit (see ¶ [0045]); the condensing unit and the supercooling unit are connected to the switching device (21 and 22) through a first flow path and a second flow path, respectively; and each of the first flow path and the second flow path includes a first direction flow path through which the heat medium circulates toward the switching device, and a second direction flow path through which the heat medium circulates in a direction opposite to a direction in which the heat medium circulates in the first direction flow path (see Figure 1 where 39 and the condensing unit of 37 include are connected to the switching device (21 and 22) through a first flow path and a second flow path (19 and 20) wherein each of 19 and 20 includes a first direction flow path through which the heat medium circulates toward the switching device, and a second direction flow path through which the heat medium circulates in a direction opposite to a direction in which the heat medium circulates in the first direction flow path).
Regarding claim 4, ENOMOTO further teaches wherein: the water-cooled capacitor (37) includes a condensing unit that changes the heat medium from a vapor phase to a liquid phase (see ¶ [0043], it’s implicit that condenser includes condensing unit that changes the heat medium from a vapor phase to a liquid phase), and a supercooling unit (39) that cools the heat medium changed to the liquid phase in the condensing unit (see ¶ [0045]); the condensing unit and the supercooling unit are connected to the switching device through a third flow path and a fourth flow path, respectively (see Figure 1 where 39 and the condensing unit of 37 include are connected to the switching device (21 and 22) through a third flow path and a fourth flow path (19 and 20)); the third flow path (19) is constituted by a third direction flow path through which the heat medium circulates from the condensing unit (the condensing unit of 37 ) toward the switching device (21 and 22: see Figure 1); and the fourth flow path (20) is constituted by a fourth direction flow path through which the heat medium circulates from the switching device (21 and 22) toward the supercooling unit (39: see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENOMOTO (JP2014020280A: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 5, ENOMOTO further teaches wherein the first heat exchanger (27) is disposed on an upstream side of the second heat exchanger (26) in a circulation direction of the outside air flowing into the heat exchange device (see ¶ [0034]).
ENOMOTO discloses the claimed invention except for the third heat exchanger is disposed on an upstream side of the second heat exchanger (26) in a circulation direction of the outside air flowing into the heat exchange device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the heat exchangers in order to position the third heat exchanger on an upstream side of the second heat exchanger in a circulation direction of the outside air flowing into the heat exchange device. The third heat exchanger performs the same function whether located upstream or downstream the second heat exchanger since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763