Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted 06/03/2024 and 01/09/2026 were received and have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted 06/03/2024 were received and are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (U.S. 20250368534).
With respect to claim 1, Yin discloses a cathode (positive electrode) composite material ([abstract]), containing a cathode active material made of a lithium transition metal oxide with a layered crystalline structure ([0071]), a binder ([0062]), and a conductivity aid (conductive agent) ([0062]), wherein:
the lithium transition metal oxide contains nickel, cobalt, and manganese ([0081-0084]);
the binder contains polyvinylidene fluoride ([0062]);
the conductivity aid contains carbon nanotubes ([0062]); and
an amount of lithium hydroxide (LiOH) contained in the cathode active material, as to a total amount of the cathode active material, is 0.05 wt % to 0.40 wt% ([0100]), thus encompassing the claimed range of no less than 0.15% by weight and no more than 0.35% by weight.
Applicant is reminded that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
With respect to claim 2, Yin discloses a lithium secondary battery ([abstract]), comprising:
a cathode (positive electrode) ([0061]);
an anode (negative electrode) ([0061]);
a separator disposed between the cathode and the anode ([0061]); and
a non-aqueous electrolyte solution ([0066-0068]), wherein
the cathode includes a cathode composite material layer that contains the cathode composite material according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dumont et al. (U.S. 20200266492).
With respect to claims 3-4, Yin discloses the cathode composite material layer as limited by claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1), but does not disclose the grammage of the cathode composite mixture.
Dumont discloses a cathode composite mixture (positive electrochemically active material) and teaches the cathode composite mixture has a grammage (weight per unit area) of at least 20 mg/cm2 ([0042]), thus encompassing the claimed range of 35 mg/cm2 to 46 mg/cm2 (claim 3) and 35 mg/cm2 to 40 mg/cm2 (claim 4). Dumont further teaches that the increase in grammage (weight per unit area) in electrodes leads to an increase in the capacity of the electrochemical cell ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to ensure the cathode composite material layer disclosed by Yin had a grammage in the range taught by Dumont in order to increase the capacity of the electrochemical cell.
Applicant is reminded that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
It is noted that while the cited US patent publication uses the phrase “weight per unit area,” the foreign publication (FR 3071957) to which the US publication claims priority uses the claimed phrase “grammage.” Since the US publication uses the same unit of measurement (mg/cm2), it is clear that “weight per unit area” inherently equates to grammage across this patent family.
Conclusion
/J.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727