DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I (claims 1-13) and Species I (Figures 2-7) is acknowledged. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed December 29, 2025. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) for being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13, line 1 recites “wherein preset tightened state,” which should be amended to recite “wherein the preset tightened state” for purposes of proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pub No. 2009/0272007 Beers et al. in view of US Pub No. 2013/0104429 Torres.
To claim 1, Beers discloses an article of footwear (100) (see all Figures; paras. 0078-0178), comprising:
an upper portion (102) including a lace (122) (para. 0086) to adjust fit of the upper portion against a foot (see for example Figures 1-13; paras. 0079-0092), the lace being adjustable between a plurality of positions based at least in part on manipulation of an effective length of the lace (see for example Figures 1-13; 0102-0105);
a lower portion (104) including a mid-sole and an out-sole (see Figures 1-3; para. 0081);
a motor (1230) configured to manipulate the effective length of the lace (see Figures 12-13; paras. 0115-0116); and
an electronic control unit (1650), operatively coupled to the motor (see Figures 16-17; paras. 0142-0143, 0156), configured to cause the motor to transition the lace between and among a plurality of preset positions (see for example Figures 17-21; paras. 0153-0161), the plurality of preset positions including a preset tightened state (see Figure 19; para. 0158; fully tightened configuration of lace 122), a preset loosened state (see Figure 17; para. 0152; fully loosened configuration of lace 122), and a plurality of discrete transitory states (see for example Figures 17-21; paras. 0153-0161; lace 122 is capable of being transitioned between a plurality of discrete transitory states to accommodate feet of different users).
Beers does not explicitly disclose an article of footwear wherein the electronic control unit is configured to cause the motor to transition the lace between and among a plurality of discrete transitory states that are predetermined discrete transitory states.
However, Torres teaches an article of footwear (10 or 36) (see all Figures; paras.0040-0072) comprising an electronic control unit (24) configured to cause a motor (M1-M4) to transition a lace (18 or 38) (para. 0017) between and among a plurality of preset positions including a plurality of predetermined discrete transitory states (paras. 0046-0067; article of footwear 10 or 36 is capable of transitioning lace 18 or 38 between and among a variety of different states that are preset by the user and stored by memory 24a based on desired fit characteristics of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the article of footwear of Beers to be capable of transitioning the lace between and among a plurality of predetermined discrete transitory states as taught by Torres because Torres teaches that this configuration is known in the art and allows a user to tighten the footwear to a preprogrammed, comfortable level of tightness (para. 0007).
To claim 2, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches an article of footwear wherein the electronic control unit is configured to switch among the plurality of preset positions based on interaction with a control device (26 of Torres) (see Figures 1-3 and paras. 0043, 0046-0067 of Torres).
To claim 3, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches an article of footwear further comprising the control device (see Figures 1-3 and paras. 0043, 0046-0067 of Torres).
To claim 4, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches an article of footwear wherein the control device is configured to generate an output based on a touch of the control device by a user (see Figures 1-3 and paras. 0043, 0046-0067 of Torres; via buttons of Torres).
To claim 5, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches an article of footwear wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to transition among the plurality of transitory states to incrementally increase or decrease the effective length of the lace (see for example Figures 17-21 and paras. 0153-0161 of Beers; see Figures 1-3 and paras. 0043, 0046-0067 of Torres).
To claim 6, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches an article of footwear wherein a decrease of the effective length of the lace corresponds to a tightening of the lace and an increase of the effective length of the lace corresponds to a loosening of the lace (see for example Figures 17-21 and paras. 0153-0161 of Beers; see Figures 1-3 and paras. 0043, 0046-0067 of Torres).
To claim 7, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches an article of footwear wherein the preset tightened state corresponds to a state including a shortest effective lace length and the preset loosened state corresponds to a state including a longest effective lace length (see especially Figures 17 and 19 and paras. 0152 and 0158 of Beers).
To claim 8, Beers discloses system (see all Figures; paras. 0078-0178), comprising:
an upper portion (102) including a lace (122) (para. 0086) to adjust fit of the upper portion against a foot (see for example Figures 1-13; paras. 0079-0092), the lace being adjustable between a plurality of positions based at least in part on manipulation of an effective length of the lace (see for example Figures 1-13; 0102-0105);
a lower portion (104) including a mid-sole and an out-sole (see Figures 1-3; para. 0081);
a motor (1230) configured to manipulate the effective length of the lace (see Figures 12-13; paras. 0115-0116); and
an electronic control unit (1650), operatively coupled to the motor (see Figures 16-17; paras. 0142-0143, 0156), configured to cause the motor to transition the lace between and among a plurality of preset positions (see for example Figures 17-21; paras. 0153-0161), the plurality of preset positions including a preset tightened state (see Figure 19; para. 0158; fully tightened configuration of lace 122), a preset loosened state (see Figure 17; para. 0152; fully loosened configuration of lace 122), and a plurality of discrete transitory states (see for example Figures 17-21; paras. 0153-0161; lace 122 is capable of being transitioned between a plurality of discrete transitory states to accommodate feet of different users).
Beers does not explicitly disclose a system wherein the electronic control unit is configured to cause the motor to transition the lace between and among a plurality of discrete transitory states that are predetermined discrete transitory states.
However, Torres teaches a system (see all Figures; paras.0040-0072) comprising an electronic control unit (24) configured to cause a motor (M1-M4) to transition a lace (18 or 38) (0017) between and among a plurality of preset positions including a plurality of predetermined discrete transitory states (paras. 0046-0067; article of footwear 10 or 36 is capable of transitioning lace 18 or 38 between and among a variety of different states that are preset by the user and stored by memory 24a based on desired fit characteristics of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the system of Beers to be capable of transitioning the lace between and among a plurality of predetermined discrete transitory states as taught by Torres because Torres teaches that this configuration is known in the art and allows a user to tighten the footwear to a preprogrammed, comfortable level of tightness (para. 0007).
To claim 9, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches a system further comprising a control device (26 of Torres), wherein the electronic control unit is configured to switch among the plurality of preset positions based on interaction with the control device (see Figures 1-3 and paras. 0043, 0046-0067 of Torres).
To claim 10, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches a system wherein the control device is configured to generate an output based on a touch of the control device by a user (see Figures 1-3 and paras. 0043, 0046-0067 of Torres; via buttons of Torres).
To claim 11, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches a system wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to transition among the plurality of transitory states to incrementally increase or decrease the effective length of the lace (see for example Figures 17-21 and paras. 0153-0161 of Beers; see Figures 1-3 and paras. 0043, 0046-0067 of Torres).
To claim 12, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches a system wherein a decrease of the effective length of the lace corresponds to a tightening of the lace and an increase of the effective length of the lace corresponds to a loosening of the lace (see for example Figures 17-21 and paras. 0153-0161 of Beers; see Figures 1-3 and paras. 0043, 0046-0067 of Torres).
To claim 13, the modified invention of Beers (i.e., Beers in view of Torres, as detailed above) further teaches a system wherein the preset tightened state corresponds to a fully tightened state and the preset loosened state corresponds to a fully loosened state (see especially Figures 17 and 19 and paras. 0152 and 0158 of Beers).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,000,099.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they each recite footwear/systems comprising substantially the same elements including footwear having a lace/tensioning system and a motor, the lace/tensioning system and the motor being controlled by a control device configured to transition the lace/tensioning system between differing preset levels of tension/tightness.
PRESENT APPLICATION
USPN 11,000,099
CLAIMS
1
1,12-13,15,21
2
2,18,23
3
2,18,23
4
2,18,23
5
3-4
6
3-4
7
1,12-13,15,21
8
1,12-13,15,21
9
2,18,23
10
2,18,23
11
1,12-13,15,21
12
3-4
13
1,12-13,15,21
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,044,968.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they each recite footwear/systems/methods comprising substantially the same elements including an upper portion, a lower portion with a mid-sole and an out-sole, and a lace configured to be transitioned between preset tensions/states via a motor and control unit.
PRESENT APPLICATION
USPN 11,044,968
CLAIMS
1
1-2,4-5,7,11-12,14-15
2
1,4-5,11,14-15
3
1,4-5,11,14-15
4
1,4-5,11,14-15
5
5-7,15-17
6
5-7,15-17
7
5-7,15-17
8
1-2,4-5,7,11-12,14-15
9
1,4-5,11,14-15
10
1,4-5,11,14-15
11
5-7,15-17
12
5-7,15-17
13
5-7,15-17
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,998,086.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they each recite footwear/systems/methods comprising substantially the same elements including an upper portion, a lower portion with a mid-sole and an out-sole, a lace, a motor, and an electronic control unit operatively coupled to the motor and the lace to transition between and among a plurality of preset positions including a preset tightened state, a preset loosened state, and a plurality of predetermined discrete transitory states.
PRESENT APPLICATION
USPN 11,998,086
CLAIMS
1
1,8,14
2
2-4,9-10,15-17
3
2-4,9-10,15-17
4
2-4,9-10,15-17
5
5-6,11-12,18-20
6
5-6,11-12,18-20
7
5-6,11-12,18-20
8
1,8,14
9
2-4,9-10,15-17
10
2-4,9-10,15-17
11
5-6,11-12,18-20
12
5-6,11-12,18-20
13
5-6,11-12,18-20
Conclusion
/F Griffin Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732