DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suhling (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0381614).
Regarding claim 22, Suhling teaches a mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools, comprising in combination:
a first mounting rail (3) with a first pre-determined length with a first pre-determined shape including a first locking component (1,2, 4, 5)(Figure 3) to lock the first mounting rail in a first rail (6) of a rail system for a cutting saw (Figure 1; Paragraph 0019);
one or more material holding components (8, 9,10,11,12,14,15) dynamically attachable to and removable from to the first mounting rail (Figures 1-2 and 4), the one or more material holding components movable up and down vertically on a vertical threaded component (12) (Figures 2 and 4; Paragraph 0019 noting threaded engagement) for engaging and holding materials of varying thickness at a plurality of different vertical positions for cutting with the cutting saw, and
the one or more material holding components including a plurality of individual material holding components (9,10,11) movable up and down vertically (Paragraph 0019) on the vertical threaded component to create one more vertical distances in between selected ones of the plurality of individual material holding components for engaging and holding the materials of varying thicknesses at a plurality of different vertical positions in between the plurality of individual material holding components within the one or more created vertical distances of the selected ones of the plurality of individual material holding components for cutting with the cutting saw, the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools dynamically attachable to, and removable from the rail system for the cutting saw at a plurality of different positions on the rail system for the cutting saw for safely cutting the materials of varying thicknesses (Figure 1; Examiner notes the workpiece component and saw are not positively claimed, and the prior art is capable of working with a workpiece and a saw device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suhling (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0381614) in view of Oetlinger (U.S. Patent No. 8,454,259).
Regarding claim 1, Suhling teaches a mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools, (Figure 1) comprising in combination:
a first mounting rail (3) with a first pre-determined length with a first pre-determined shape including a first locking component (1,2,4,5)(Figures 1-3) to lock the first mounting rail in a first rail (6) of a rail system for a cutting saw (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0019);
a second mounting rail (3) with a second pre-determined length with a second pre-determined shape including a second locking component (1,2,4,5)(Figures 1-3) to lock the second mounting rail in a second rail of the rail system for the cutting saw (Figure 1-Note the locking component is capable of locking to a second rail of a rail system of a cutting saw);
the first mounting rail connected to the second mounting rail (Figure 1)
one or more material holding components (8,9,10,11,12,14,15) dynamically attachable to and removable from to the first mounting rail and the second mounting rail, the one or more material holding components movable up and down vertically on a vertical threaded component (12)(Figure 2 and Paragraph 0019) for engaging and holding materials of varying thickness at a plurality of different vertical positions for cutting with the cutting saw (Figures 1-2 and Paragraph 0019 noting the threaded component allowing for movement), and
the one or more material holding components including a plurality of individual material holding components (9,10,11) movable up and down vertically on the vertical threaded component to create one more vertical distances in between selected ones of the plurality of individual material holding components for engaging and holding the materials of varying thicknesses at a plurality of different vertical positions in between the plurality of individual material holding components within the one or more created vertical distances of the selected ones of the plurality of individual material holding components for cutting with the cutting saw, the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools dynamically attachable to, and removable from, the rail system for the cutting saw at a plurality of different positions on the rail system for the cutting saw for safely cutting the materials of varying thicknesses (Figure 1; Examiner notes the workpiece component, rail system and saw are not positively claimed, and the prior art is capable of working with a workpiece, rail system and a saw device).
Suhling teaches the first mounting rail connected to the second mounting rail (Figure 1 via an elevation track 13) but does not provide connection with a plurality of rollers for rolling materials towards to be cut towards the cutting saw.
Oetlinger teaches it is known in the art of guides to provide a first mounting rail (502) and a second mounting rail (504) with a connection via a plurality of rollers (506/528,508/560) capable of rolling materials to be cut towards a cutting saw (Figure 1; Col. 18, Lines 14-25 and Col. 18 Lines 57-67 and Col. 19, Lines 1-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device of Suhling to incorporate the teachings of Oetlinger to provide connection of the first/second mounting rails via rollers. In doing so, it allows for various removable connection types of the two mounting rails.
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Suhling teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 1 wherein, the one or more individual material components of the plurality of material holding components include a hexagon shape (See element 12, Suhling Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Suhling teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 1 wherein, two or more of the mounting position assembly apparatus are added to the rail system for the cutting saw in two or more different locations on the rail system for the cutting saw to securely hold the materials as the materials are moved toward the cutting saw (Suhling Figure 1 and 2; Noting the mounting position assembly apparatus is capable of use with a cutting saw and movable on a fence to a variety of positions).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Suhling teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 1 wherein, the first pre-determined shape and the second pre-determined shape include a T-shaped channel or a dove-tail shaped channel (Suhling Figure 1 noting the dovetail shape of the channel of the tracks (3)).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Suhling teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 1 wherein, disconnecting the first mounting rail from the second mounting rail by removing the plurality of rollers connecting the first mounting rail and the second mounting rail; installing the first mounting rail including all the first mounting rail components into a single rail in a single rail system including a cutting saw (Suhling Figure 1 noting the plurality of rollers may be connected to the first/second rail and disconnected as desired and are capable of use with a saw as these limitations are not positively recited within the above method steps).
Claims 6-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suhling (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0381614) in view of Zhang (U.S. Patent No. 9,347,213) in view of Oetlinger (U.S. Patent No. 8,454,259) in view of Suhling (U.S. Patent No. 2021/0394319) hereinafter Suhling-319.
Regarding claim 6, Suhling teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools, comprising in combination:
a first mounting rail (3) with a first pre-determined length (Figure 1), including:
one or more first threaded bottom connection receptacles for accepting one or more first bottom connection components in a first bottom surface of the first mounting rail to connect the first mounting rail to a first fence rail in a rail system for a cutting saw (Figures 1 and 4; Paragraph 0019 noting the threaded male component through the first mounting rail 3),
the first mounting rail including a first channel (3) with a first pre-determined shape (Figures 1 and 3);
a first fence rail locking component (1, 2, 4, 5)(Figures 1 and 3) including:
a first male
a first
a first support component extending upwards (18) from a first end surface of the first handle support component to engage and provide support on a side surface of the first mounting rail, and
a second support component extending downward (19) from a second end surface of the first
a threaded female central receptacle (2) for accepting the threaded male component (5) of the first male
a second mounting rail (3) with a second pre-determined length (Figure 1), including:
a second fence rail locking component (1,2,4,5) including:
a second male
a second
a first support component (18) extending upwards from a first end surface of the second handle support component to engage and provide support on a side surface of the second mounting rail, and a second support component (19) extending downward from a second end surface of the second
a second threaded female central receptacle (2) for accepting the second threaded male component (5) of the second male
one or more material holding components (9,10,11,12,14,15)(Figures 1 and 2), an individual material holding component including:
a first material holding component with a first threaded male component (12) for engaging a second material holding component (11) with a second threaded female receptacle (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0019; noting the bolt 12 threaded into nut 11 allowing for vertical movement): the second material holding component movable up and down on the first threaded male component of the first material holding component for engaging and holding materials of varying thickness at a plurality of different vertical positions on the first threaded male component (Figures 1, 2 and 4; Paragraph 0019);
a third material holding component (10) with a top third threaded female receptacle in a top surface of the third material holding component for engaging the first threaded male component of the first material holding component for engaging and holding materials of varying thickness and a bottom third threaded female receptacle in a bottom surface of the third material holding component for engaging a second threaded male component from a fourth material holding component (12)(Figure 4 and Paragraph 0019); the third material holding component movable up and down on the first threaded male component of the first material holding component for engaging and holding materials of varying thickness at a plurality of different vertical positions on the first threaded male component (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0019);
a material holding support component (9) with a central receptacle extending through the material holding support component for engaging the second threaded male component from the fourth material holding component, the material holding support component including a diameter wider than a first width of the first mounting rail and a second width the second mounting rail providing support for the individual material holding component on a first top surface on the first mounting rail and a second top surface on the second mounting rail (Figure 4 and Paragraph 0019); and
a fourth material holding component, including the second threaded male component (12) for engaging the bottom third threaded female receptacle in the bottom surface of the third material holding component, the second threaded male component extending from a bottom portion of the fourth material component, the fourth material component including the bottom portion of the fourth material component for attaching the individual material holding component within the first channel of the first mounting rail including or within the second channel of the second mounting rail at a plurality of different positions within the first mounting rail or within the second mounting rail (Figure 4 and Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 6, Suhling does not provide a plurality of first side receptacles for accepting a plurality of first side connection components in one or more first side surfaces of the first mounting rail or a plurality of rollers including: threaded female receptacles in ends of the plurality of rollers for attaching the plurality of rollers to the first mounting rail at one end and to a second mounting rail with a second pre-determined length at a second end, a plurality of roller connection components including threaded male components for engaging the threaded female receptacles in ends of the plurality of rollers through the one or more first side connection components in the one or more first side surfaces of the first mounting rail, and through one or more second side connection components in one or more second side surfaces of the second mounting rail, and the plurality of rollers allowing materials to be cut with the cutting saw to be easily rolled along the rail system for the cutting saw with the mounting position assembly apparatus; a plurality of second side receptacles for accepting a plurality of second side connection components in one or more second side surfaces of the second mounting rail.
Zhang teaches it is known in the art of mounting frames to provide a mounting rail (18) with a side surface having a threaded coupling (60) for a rod (63) (Figures 4-5 and Col. 3, Lines 58-57 and Col. 4, Lines 1-8).
Oetlinger teaches it is known in the art of guides to provide a first mounting rail (502) and a second mounting rail (504) with a connection via a plurality of rollers (506/528,508/560) capable of rolling materials to be cut towards a cutting saw (Figure 1; Col. 18, Lines 14-25 and Col. 18 Lines 57-67 and Col. 19, Lines 1-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device of Suhling to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to provide threaded couplings and Oetlinger to provide connection of the first/second mounting rails via rollers. In doing so, it allows for various removable connection types of the two mounting rails.
Thus, the modified device of Sulhing, in view of Zhang and Oetlinger teaches a plurality of first side receptacles (Sulhing Figure 1 noting the mounting rail 3 and Zhang Figures 4-5 noting threaded connections for rods) for accepting a plurality of first side connection components (Oetlinger Figure 1; Col. 18, Lines 14-25 and Col. 18 Lines 57-67 and Col. 19, Lines 1-31) in one or more first side surfaces of the first mounting rail or
a plurality of rollers (Oetlinger Figure 1) including: threaded female receptacles in ends of the plurality of rollers for attaching the plurality of rollers to the first mounting rail at one end and to a second mounting rail with a second pre-determined length at a second end, a plurality of roller connection components including threaded male components for engaging the threaded female receptacles in ends of the plurality of rollers through the one or more first side connection components in the one or more first side surfaces of the first mounting rail (Sulhing Figure 1 noting the mounting rail 3 and Zhang Figures 4-5 noting threaded connections for rods and Oetlinger Figure 1), and through one or more second side connection components in one or more second side surfaces of the second mounting rail, and the plurality of rollers allowing materials to be cut with the cutting saw to be easily rolled along the rail system for the cutting saw with the mounting position assembly apparatus; a plurality of second side receptacles for accepting a plurality of second side connection components in one or more second side surfaces of the second mounting rail (Sulhing Figure 1 and Oetlinger Figure 1; Col. 18, Lines 14-25 and Col. 18 Lines 57-67 and Col. 19, Lines 1-31).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Suhling does not provide the first support component and the second support component as a first handle support component and a second handle support component (Examiner notes Paragraph 0019 and 0020 of Suhling detail similar component structures providing for the claimed functions as noted above, with only the “handle” component missing).
Suhling-319 teaches it is known in the art of mounting systems (Figure 15) to provide a first handle support component (12’) and a second handle support component (12’) wherein the handle component includes a gripable handle portion (14a) connected to a ratchet portion (14b) and a threaded male end (14c)(Figure 2 and Paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified the device of Suhling to incorporate the teachings of Suhling-319 to provide the first and second support components with a handle gripping portion. Doing so provides the user with an easy to grasp handle component to remove the connected components in a rail system.
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6 but does not provide wherein, individual components of the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools comprise: metal components including iron, steel, stainless steel or aluminum metal components, rubber, wood, plastic or composite materials components or combinations thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified the device of Suhling to provide the components as a variety of different materials. In doing so, it allows for the user to design the structural components as desired for the appropriate use.
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6 and the components of the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools comprise are capable of being individually manufactured, machined, 3D printed by a 3D printer, extruded or pultruded including metal, rubber, wood, plastic or composite materials, or combinations thereof (Suhling Figure 1; Examiner notes the language is directed to an apparatus and the components are capable of being created through a variety of methods and processes).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6 wherein, the first pre-determined shape for the first channel and the second pre-determined shape for second channel includes a T-shaped channel or a dove-tail shaped channel (Suhling Figure 1 noting the dovetail shape of the channel of the tracks (3)).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6 wherein, the first handle support component and the second handle support component include an S-shaped component or a U-shaped component (Sulhing Figures 1, 2 and 8 noting the S shape of component 1).
Regarding claim 11, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6 but does not provide wherein, the first pre-determined shape for the first channel and the second pre-determined shape for second channel includes a different shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified the device of Suhling to provide various channel shapes. In doing so, it allows for connection of various shaped connection components to be attached to the mounting assembly as desired by the user.
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6 wherein, the first mounting rail with the first pre-determined length (L1) includes a shorter length than the second pre-determined length (L2) of the second mounting rail or the first mounting rail with the first pre-determined length includes a longer length than the second pre-determined length of the second mounting rail (See annotated Figure 1 below; Examiner notes there are a plurality of different “lengths” associated with each mounting rail and this visualizes one example).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6 wherein, the first mounting rail with the first pre-determined length includes a length identical to the second pre-determined length of the second mounting rail (Sulhing Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6 wherein, one or components of the one or more material holding components include a hexagon shape (Suhling Figure 2 noting the shape of element 12).
Regarding claim 15, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 14 wherein, the one or more material holding components include the hexagon shape are dynamically rotatable and adjustable to a plurality of different angles, to hold materials to be cut with the cutting saw including a plurality of different shapes with a plurality of different surface angles (Suhling Figures 1-2; Paragraph 0019 noting the elements are capable of movement via the threads of bolt 14 and capable of use with a variety of materials and capable of use with a saw).
Regarding claim 16, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 14 wherein, the one or more material holding components including the hexagon shape hold a material to be cut at a hexagon edge where two hexagon sides meet or an individual side surface of the hexagon for the one or more material holding components (Sulhing Figure 2; noting the shape of capable of use with a variety of workpieces and the shape of element 12 is capable of having two hexagon sides engage a workpiece as currently claimed).
Regarding claim 17, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6, wherein, the second material holding component is movable up and down vertically on the first threaded male component of the first material holding component (Paragraph 0019 and Figure 2) for engaging and holding materials of varying thickness at a plurality of different vertical positions on the first threaded male component and for engaging and holding materials of varying thickness in between the first material holding component and the second material holding component and in between the second material holding component and the third material holding component of the individual material holding component from the one or more material holding components (Sulhing Figure 2; noting the shape of capable of use with a variety of workpieces and the shape of element 12 is capable of having two hexagon sides engage a workpiece as currently claimed)..
Regarding claim 18, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 17, wherein neither a first material held in between the first material holding component and the second material holding component and a second material held in between the second material holding component and the third material holding component of the individual material holding component from the one or more material holding components is in contact with any of the plurality of rollers on the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools (Figure 1; Examiner notes the mounting assembly is capable of performing the limitation above and is capable of use with a variety of products as desired by the user).
Regarding claim 19, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6, including one individual material holding component on the first mounting rail and two individual material holding components on the second mounting rail (Sulhing Figure 1; Examiner notes the material holding components to be removable and interchangeable as noted in claim 6 above).
Regarding claim 20, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6, wherein first side surfaces of the first mounting rail, second side surfaces of the second mounting rail, a plurality of surfaces on the one or more material holding components provide a plurality of separate individual side holding surfaces to hold the materials to be cut with the cutting saw (Sulhing Figure 1; Examiner notes all of the claimed surfaces are capable of contact with a material to be cut).
Regarding claim 21, the modified device of Sulhing teaches the mounting position assembly apparatus for cutting tools of claim 6, but does not provide further including a female fence rail locking component, comprising: a female handle component; a threaded female component within the female handle component for engaging a first threaded male connection means; the first male connection means extending upwards though a trapezoidal handle connection component; the trapezoidal handle connection component including a trapezoidal shape, the trapezoidal handle connection component including a threaded female central receptacle extending through the trapezoidal handle connection component for engaging the first threaded male connection means and including two or more female receptacles extending through the trapezoidal handle connection component for accepting two or more second male connection means, the trapezoidal handle connection component engaging a bottom surface of a block support connection component, the trapezoidal handle connection component engaging a selected rail in the rail system for the cutting saw; the block support component including a central female receptacle extending through the block support component for engaging the first threaded male connection means and including two or more threaded female receptacles extending through the block support component, for accepting the two or more second male connection means, the block support component engaging a top surface of the trapezoidal handle connection component; the female handle component rotatable in a clockwise and counterclockwise direction for tightening and loosening the female fence rail locking component at another desired position in the rail system for the cutting saw.
Suhling-319 teaches it is known in the art of mounting systems (Figure 15) to provide a male fence rail locking component, comprising: a male handle component (14c)(Figures 1-2); a threaded male component extending from the handle component for engaging a first threaded female connection means (16)(Figure 1); the first male connection means extending downwards towards a semi-circular handle connection component (24); the semi-circular handle connection component including a semi-circular shape, the semi-circular handle connection component including a threaded female central receptacle (24c) extending through the semi-circular handle connection component for engaging the first threaded male connection means and including one female receptacle (24d) extending through the semi-circular handle connection component for accepting one second male connection means (Figure 7 and Paragraph 0094), the semi-circular handle connection component engaging a bottom surface of a block support connection component (16), the semi-circular handle connection component engaging a selected rail in the rail system for the cutting saw (Figure 10B); the block support component including a central female receptacle (16b) extending through the block support component for engaging the first threaded male connection means and including one threaded female receptacle (16e) extending through the block support component, for accepting the one second male connection means, the block support component engaging a top surface of the semi-circular handle connection component; the male handle component rotatable in a clockwise and counterclockwise direction for tightening and loosening the female fence rail locking component at another desired position in the rail system for the cutting saw (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified the device of Suhling to incorporate the teachings of Suhling-319 to provide a fence locking component as provide above. Doing so provides the user with an easy to grasp handle component to remove the connected components in a rail system.
The modified device of Sulhing, in view of Sulhing-319 does not provide the trapezoidal handle connection component including a trapezoidal shape. As both Suhling and Sulging-319 have provided different connection shapes for engagement of the mounting rail channel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified the device of Suhling to provide various channel connection shapes, including trapezoidal. In doing so, it allows for connection of various shaped connection components to be attached to the mounting assembly as desired by the user.
The modified device of Sulhing, in view of Sulhing-319 does not provide a female handle component; a threaded female component within the female handle component for engaging a first threaded male connection means; the first male connection means extending upwards though a trapezoidal handle connection component and instead provides the reverse as noted above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have good reason to pursue handle connections means which are known to be useful for a particular attachment function. There are a finite number of possible threading engagements which pertain to a handle and allow for the threading of appropriate members. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try any reasonable combinations of male/female threading attachments in an attempt to provide an improved attachment function for the handle assembly, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR Int' l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. _, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR).
Related Prior Art
Below is an analysis of the relevance of references cited but not used
- "892 cited references C-G,I-M on page 1 and A-M on Page 2 establish the state of the art with a variety mounting assemblies capable of attachment to cutting tools.
Conclusion
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 03/19/2026Examiner, Art Unit 3724