DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the RCE filed on 10/10/2025, in which claims 1-20 are presented for the examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,530,139 respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant application
Referenced patent (12,530139)
1. (Previously Presented) A memory device, comprising: one or more hardware components or a controller configured to:
read one or more bits, before performing a memory built-in self-test, that are stored in a mode register of the memory device,
wherein the one or more bits indicate one or more memory resources of the memory device for performing the memory built-in self-test; and
perform the memory built-in self-test using the one or more memory resources.
8. (Previously Presented) A system, comprising: a host device comprising one or more hardware components that are configured to:
transmit, to a memory device, a command to write one or more bits to a mode register of the memory device to indicate one or more memory resources of the memory device for performing a memory built-in self-test; and
the memory device, comprising one or more hardware components or a controller configured to:
read the one or more bits from the mode register of the memory device before performing the memory built-in self-test; and
perform the memory built-in self-test using the one or more memory resources of the memory device.
16. (Original) A method comprising:
reading one or more bits, before performing a memory built-in self-test, that are stored in a mode register of a memory device, wherein the one or more bits indicate one or more rows of the memory device for performing the memory built-in self-test; and performing the memory built-in self-test using the one or more rows of the memory device.
1. A memory device, comprising: one or more components configured to:
read one or more bits, associated with a memory built-in self-test, that are stored in a mode register of the memory device;
based on reading the one or more bits that are stored in the mode register of the memory device, perform the memory built-in self-test;
perform the memory built-in self-test for one or more memory sections of the memory device based on reading the one or more bits that are stored in the mode register of the memory device, wherein performing the memory built-in self-test comprises testing for single-bit errors associated with the one or more memory sections of the memory device; identify a plurality of single-bit errors associated with the one or more memory sections of the memory device based on performing the memory built-in self-test, wherein the plurality of single-bit errors includes a first quantity of time-zero single-bit errors that exist in the one or more memory sections prior to the memory device being accessed by a user and a second quantity of single-bit errors that are identified after the memory device has been accessed by the user; repair one or more time-zero single-bit errors of the first quantity of single-bit errors based on identifying the plurality of single-bit errors; write a value that indicates the second quantity of single-bit errors to a location in the memory device after repairing the one or more time-zero single-bit errors; and transmit, to a host device, an indication of the location to which the value was written.
12. A system, comprising: a host device configured to:
transmit a mode register write command to write one or more bits, associated with a memory built-in self-test, to a mode register of a memory device; and
the memory device configured to: read the one or more bits that are stored in the mode register of the memory device;
perform the memory built-in self-test for one or more memory sections of the memory device based on reading the one or more bits that are stored in the mode register of the memory device, wherein performing the memory built-in self-test comprises testing for single-bit errors associated with the one or more memory sections of the memory device; identify a plurality of single-bit errors associated with the one or more memory sections of the memory device based on performing the memory built-in self-test, wherein the plurality of single-bit errors includes a first quantity of time-zero single-bit errors that exist in the one or more memory sections prior to the memory device being accessed by a user and a second quantity of single-bit errors that are identified after the memory device has been accessed by the user; repair one or more time-zero single-bit errors of the first quantity of single-bit errors based on identifying the plurality of single-bit errors; write a value that indicates the second quantity of single-bit errors to a location in the memory device after repairing the one or more time-zero single-bit errors; and transmit, to the host device, an indication of the location to which the value was written.
20. A method comprising:
reading one or more bits, associated with a memory built-in self-test, that are stored in a mode register of a memory device; performing the memory built-in self-test for one or more memory sections of the memory device based on reading the one or more bits that are stored in the mode register of the memory device, wherein performing the memory built-in self-test comprises testing for single-bit errors associated with the one or more memory sections of the memory device; completing the memory built-in self-test; repairing all time-zero single-bit errors that are identified by the memory built-in self-test, wherein the time-zero single-bit errors include single-bit errors that exist in the one or more memory sections prior to the memory device being accessed by a user; writing, to a location in the memory device, a value that indicates a number of single-bit errors associated with the one or more memory sections of the memory device based on completing the memory built-in self-test and after repairing the time-zero single-bit errors that are identified by the memory built-in self-test, wherein the number of single-bit errors includes single-bit errors that are identified after the memory device has been accessed by the user; and transmitting an indication of the location to which the value was written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-12, 16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2022/0113889, referred herein after Park).
As per claim 1, 16, Park discloses a memory device, comprising: one or more hardware components or a controller configured to:
read one or more bits, before performing a memory built-in self-test, that are stored in a mode register of the memory device (Fig. 1, 2, [0076], The control circuit 124 may include a mode register MRS providing a plurality of operational options of the memory device 120 and a test mode register TMRS providing test operational options. An MRS/TMRS 212 may program various functions, characteristics, and modes of the memory device 120. Test mode options (e.g., a DDR test mode or a PBT test mode) to be performed by the MBIST circuit 126, may be selectively set by the MRS/TMRS 212 ) wherein the one or more bits indicate one or more memory resources of the memory device for performing the memory built-in self-test; and (MRS/TMRS 212 selectively set to perform MBIST);
perform the memory built-in self-test using the one or more memory resources (Fig. 2, 3, [0094], Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, an MBIST option may be set in operation S310 and, according to set MBIST option, a PBT test may be performed by the MBIST circuit 126 in operation S320 or a DDR test may be performed by the MBIST circuit 126 in operation S330.).
As per claim 2, Park discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein the one or more memory resources are associated with performing standard memory operations of the memory device (Fig. 2, [0071], [0072], [0075], memory device 120 performs standard memory operations as claimed).
As per claim 3, 11, Park discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more memory resources are not used for performing standard memory operations of the memory device based on the one or more bits ([0104], [0105], memory resources are disabled by programming using patterns and in test mode, memory resources are not used to perform standard memory operations as claimed).
As per claim 4, Park discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein the one or more memory resources correspond to one or more rows of the memory device ([0059], memory cell has corresponding rows and columns).
As per claim 8, Park discloses a system, comprising: a host device comprising one or more hardware components that are configured to: transmit, to a memory device, a command to write one or more bits to a mode register of the memory device to indicate one or more memory resources of the memory device for performing a memory built-in self-test; (Fig. 2, [0076], [0077], MRS program (writes) various modes of the memory) and the memory device, comprising one or more hardware components or a controller to:
read the one or more bits from the mode register of the memory device before performing the memory built-in self-test; and (Fig. 1, 2, [0076], The control circuit 124 may include a mode register MRS providing a plurality of operational options of the memory device 120 and a test mode register TMRS providing test operational options. An MRS/TMRS 212 may program various functions, characteristics, and modes of the memory device 120. Test mode options (e.g., a DDR test mode or a PBT test mode) to be performed by the MBIST circuit 126, may be selectively set by the MRS/TMRS 212 );
perform the memory built-in self-test using the one or more memory resources of the memory device (Fig. 2, 3, [0094], Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, an MBIST option may be set in operation S310 and, according to set MBIST option, a PBT test may be performed by the MBIST circuit 126 in operation S320 or a DDR test may be performed by the MBIST circuit 126 in operation S330.).
As per claim 9, Park discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more memory resources are addressable memory resources ([0059], memory controller access memory device and physical address is provided to access the memory).
As per claim 10, Park discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more memory resources are no longer addressable based on the one or more bits ([0104], [0105], memory resources are disabled by programming using patterns).
As per claim 12, Park discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more bits are included in a plurality of bits indicated by the command and read from the mode register of the memory device (Fig. 3, [0094], MBIST option set by programming MRS).
As per claim 18, Park discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the mode register of the memory device includes one or more other bits indicating whether the memory built-in self-test is enabled ([0014], [0076], [0077], setting patterns in enable state indicates MBIST is enabled).
As per claim 19, Park discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the one or more other bits further indicate whether an error-correcting code is enabled for the memory built-in self-test ([0141], MRS setting error correction code (ECC) function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 13-14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Nale (US 2020/0176072).
As per claim 5, Park does not specifically disclose the memory device of claim 1, wherein the one or more bits are indicative of a quantity of memory resources of the memory device that are associated with performing the memory built-in self-test;
However, Nale discloses the one or more bits are indicative of a quantity of memory resources of the memory device that are associated with performing the memory built-in self-test ([0031]-[0034]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Nale’s DRAM BIST power fail mitigation system into Park’s method of testing a memory device, a MBIST circuit because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve reliability and reducing test time.
As per claim 6, Park does not specifically disclose the memory device of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware components or a controller are configured to perform the memory built-in self-test using one or more other memory resources of the memory device that are configured only for performing the memory built-in self-test;
However, Nale discloses the one or more hardware components or a controller are configured to perform the memory built-in self-test using one or more other memory resources of the memory device that are configured only for performing the memory built-in self-test ([0031], [0033], [0036], 0037]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Nale’s DRAM BIST power fail mitigation system into Park’s method of testing a memory device, a MBIST circuit because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve reliability and reducing test time.
As per claim 7, Park does not specifically disclose the memory device of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware components or a controller are configured to perform the memory built-in self-test for one or more memory sections of the memory device that do not include the one or more memory resources;
However, Nale discloses the one or more hardware components or a controller are configured to perform the memory built-in self-test for one or more memory sections of the memory device that do not include the one or more memory resources ([0032], [0034], [0036]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Nale’s DRAM BIST power fail mitigation system into Park’s method of testing a memory device, a MBIST circuit because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve reliability and reducing test time.
As per claim 13, Park does not specifically disclose the system of claim 12, wherein the plurality of bits includes at least a first bit that corresponds to a first memory section of the memory device and a second bit that corresponds to a second memory section of the memory device;
However, Nale discloses the plurality of bits includes at least a first bit that corresponds to a first memory section of the memory device and a second bit that corresponds to a second memory section of the memory device ([0025]-[0026]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Nale’s DRAM BIST power fail mitigation system into Park’s method of testing a memory device, a MBIST circuit because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve reliability and reducing test time.
As per claim 14, Park discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the second memory section includes the first memory section and one or more other memory sections ([0025]-[0026]).
As per claim 17, Park does not specifically disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the one or more rows include an initial set of one or more rows of the memory device or a last set of one or more rows of the memory device;
However, Nale discloses the one or more rows include an initial set of one or more rows of the memory device or a last set of one or more rows of the memory device ([0002], [0025]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Nale’s DRAM BIST power fail mitigation system into Park’s method of testing a memory device, a MBIST circuit because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve reliability and reducing test time.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Gallgher et al. (US 10,706,950, referred herein after Gallagher).
As per claim 15, Park does not specifically disclose the system of claim 8, wherein one or more hardware components or the controller of the memory device are configured to perform the memory built-in self-test for fewer than all memory sections associated with the memory device;
However, Gallagher discloses one or more hardware components or the controller of the memory device are configured to perform the memory built-in self-test for fewer than all memory sections associated with the memory device (Col. 4, lines 9-31, Col. 6, lines 11-28);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Gallagher’s testing for memory error correction code logic into Park’s method of testing a memory device, a MBIST circuit because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide improved testing of memory error correction code (“ECC”) logic with memory built-in self-test (“MBIST”).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Fischer et al. (US 2010/0157703, referred herein after Fishcher).
As per claim 20, Park does not specifically disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the mode register of the memory device includes one or more other bits indicating whether a repair mode of the memory device is enabled;
However, Fischer discloses the mode register of the memory device includes one or more other bits indicating whether a repair mode of the memory device is enabled ([0038]-[0040]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Fischer’s embedded memory repair method into Park’s method of testing a memory device, a MBIST circuit because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide improved testing of memory error correction code (“ECC”) logic with memory built-in self-test (“MBIST”).
Conclusion
/KAMINI B PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114