DETAILED ACTION
The present application (Application No. 18/731,822), filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
This Office action is in reply to filing dated 03 June, 2024.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-22, are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 19-22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 14, recite the limitation: “obtaining a customer account based on the processed tracking data; accessing the customer account to assign a high or low risk factor to the OMPA output contained in the mailer; and instructing the operator or a machine to route the mailer to a primary processing line or an alternative processing line based on whether the OMPA output has been assigned a high or low risk factor”; however, it is not clear what applicant is attempting to encompass with said recitation since the instant specification as filed (par. [105]) does not provide a clear definition for “risk factor”, and accordingly does not provide a clear definition for “a high or low risk factor”, and therefore fails to establish the metes and bounds of this expression. The claim likewise does not define what represents “a high or low risk factor”. As per MPEP 2173.05(a)(I), applicants are required to make clear and precise the terms that are used to define the invention whereby the metes and bounds of the claimed invention can be ascertained.
For purposes of examining these claims “high or low risk factor” is taken to refer to to compliance of OMPA output with regards to regulations and/or contaminants; Appropriate clarification, indication of support and correction is required. Dependent claim 15 inherits the deficiencies of the impendent claim.
Claims 19, recite the limitation: “wherein the batch data set comprises the batch number, equipment operating hours, metal detection events, mass of DRHF contained in a sterilization station, and mass of DRHF contained in a shipping bag; and uploading the batch data set to the back end server”, however, recitation of all these data types all these data types necessarily apply to all DRHF output produced at the recycling facility. This means that if processing waste into a type DRHF output does not require or comprise one or more of these data types, any such DRHF output would be excluded from the claimed invention. In other words only DRHF output that positively underwent sterilization.
Claim 20, recite the limitation: “wherein the marker enhances a statistical probability that the first OMPA output is traceable to a particular mailer;” however, this limitation is vague since it is not clear how the marker enhances a statistical probability and what type of enhancement is being claimed, and furthermore it not clear what definition of “a statistical probability” the claim is referring to, since the instant specification as filed (par. 107) does not explain how “a statistical probability” is calculated. As per MPEP 2173.05(a)(I), Applicants are required to make clear and precise the terms that are used to define the invention whereby the metes and bounds of the claimed invention can be ascertained.
For purposes of examining these claims any teaching of traceability is taken to meet this limitation “enhances a statistical probability that the first OMPA output is traceable” Appropriate clarification, indication of support and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: In the instant case, claims 11-22, are directed to a method, and claims 1-10, are directed to a system, therefore the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A- Prong 1:
Independent claim 1 comprises steps of: tracking data obtained by a scan of the tracking number by a first peripheral device; identifying a customer account based on the tracking data; processing user input received via the user interface and data received from the plurality of peripheral devices; populating a data set based on the evaluation; and adding the data set to the DRHF data associated with the customer account.
Independent claim 11 recites substantially similar subject matter and the same subsequent analysis should be applied thereto:
The independent claims are directed to a method and a system for implementing the method, for performing a chain of custody dried-recovered household food (hereinafter DRHF) produced from organic matter that has been preprocessed by an organic matter processing apparatus (hereinafter “OMPA”). In particular, the independent claims are directed to a method and system for tracking OMPA output as it transitions through recycling conversion operations , said tracking being performed by an operator operating in a processing facility operative to convert OMPA output to dried recovered household food (DRHF). Accordingly, the claimed steps represent a method of organizing commercial interactions and/or fundamental economic principles or practices, which falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” abstract idea grouping, wherein all the claim steps can be seen as being part of the abstract idea of performing a chain of custody.
In addition, it is noted, all the above claimed steps of tracking data, identifying a customer account, populating a data set, and adding the data, are, but for the use of generic computer components that execute them, generic functions performed by general-purpose computers, which relate to concepts that can be performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgements or opinions.
Step 2A- Prong 2: Additional elements include: a system comprising: a DRHF processing facility comprising a primary processing line and an alternative processing line; and a front end device comprising: a user interface for processing user input; a communications interface for receiving data from a plurality of peripheral devices; and a processor.
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and the steps that they execute represent generic functions which can be performed by a general purpose computer without any novel programming or improvement in the operation of the computer itself. These additional elements are merely invoked as tools to perform an abstract idea (mere instructions to apply the exception) as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The mere nominal recitation of generic computer components does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping (see 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)). The recycling facility environment including the OMPA itself and the primary and/or alternative processing lines, and the communication (internet/network) features of the invention only represent a particular technological environment, merely a particular technical field of use to which the “chain of custody” judicial exception is linked to, and this technological environment is used to merely transmit, receive, store, track, analyze, make determinations, and display data. Accordingly, the additional elements when the claim elements are viewed individually and as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, the additional elements when the claim elements are viewed as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Based on the reasoning provided under Step 2A- Prong 2, the claims under Step 2B do not recite “significantly more” than the abstract idea. In addition, there has been no characterization of any additional element representative of insignificant extra-solution activity which needed to be reevaluated under Step 2B. At this point, either under the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping scenario where all the claim steps can be seen as being part of the abstract ideas, , the analysis is terminated because the same analysis with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 applies here in Step 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
That is, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and the steps that they execute represent conventional functions which can be performed by a general purpose computer without any improvement to the programming technique or improvement in the operation of the computer itself.
The dependent claims have been considered. Further additional limitations recited in the dependent claims include:
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-18, 22, only just generally add limits to: collecting/tracking data (transmitting, receiving, storing, gathering), analyzing data, making determinations/correlations (threshold determinations, determinations based on regulations or rules, etc), and displaying/presenting data, with no improved technology. Only data manipulation. Some of these limits include, Plurality of inspection/contamination criteria fall into these characterizations.
Dependent claims 19, 21, recites the additional element of “a sterilization station”, however this sterilization station is outside the scope of the claim. This claim is used in relation to this sterilization station to only add limits to: collecting/tracking data (transmitting, receiving, storing, gathering), analyzing data, making determinations/correlations (threshold determinations, determinations based on regulations or rules, etc), and displaying/presenting/reporting data, with no improved technology.
When considered as a whole, the same analysis with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 and step 2B, apply to these additional elements. They cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US 20170010149) (hereinafter “Whitman0149”) in view of Moon et al. (KR 200435928).
Examiner’s note: For the purpose of examining the instant claims, an PE2E Search Tool English machine-translation of Moon et al. (KR 200435928) (hereinafter “Moon5928”) is used.
Regarding claim 1, Whitman0149 discloses:
System for tracking waste or recyclable material in a transported material stream and providing at least one of billing information, credit information, and reporting information with respect to the material, wherein the system may include a label associated with a batch of waste or recyclable material at an originating site, the label including label information and being associated with at least one of the batch of material and a container for the material at the originating site, the label information comprising at least one of identifier information identifying the originating site and information about the material, a label reader at a material handling site that is remote from the originating site and is capable of reading the label information on the label, and a communications facility for communicating to a server the label information read by the label reader, wherein the server uses the label information to report or determine, with respect to the material, specific information about at least one of the type and the amount of the material. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶9, 20, 48).
(processing tracking data obtained by a scan of the tracking number by a first peripheral device of the plurality of peripheral devices). Tracking, Label and label reader (see at least Whitman0149, ¶9, 20, 48, 158).
(a dried recovered household food (DRHF) processing facility comprising a primary processing line). One or more of: a material handling site, a distribution center, a recycling center, a disposal location, a recovery and processing center (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶158-160). Some materials, such as organic food waste, may be turned into food, such as for pigs and other livestock (see at least Whitman0149, ¶164), wherein this process of converting organic food waste to animal feed represents a primary processing line (a primary processing line).
(a dried recovered household food (DRHF) processing facility comprising an alternative processing line).
Compliance analysis such as determining the presence or absence of certain contaminants in the material (see at least Whitman0149, ¶16, 189, 226). Identify recyclables that are not in compliance with regulations regarding contamination, identify materials associated with different departments, and the like. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶213). Organics may be diverted to composting facilities, animal agriculture facilities, energy facilities, landfills, and the like (see at least Whitman0149, ¶285).
The material may be waste for disposal or non-traditional recycling such as food donation, organic waste, coffee grounds, garbage, and the like. These materials may be sent to a waste stream, incinerated, composted, or the like. Some materials, such as organic food waste, may be turned into food, such as for pigs and other livestock, used for compost, or sent to a landfill or waste disposal site, and the like. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶164).
It is noted, this determination in Whitman0149 of diverting organic waste received at the recycling facility to processing facilities other than animal feed conversion (representative of DRHF), including: composting facilities, animal agriculture facilities, energy facilities, or landfills, if/when the organic waste is non-compliant for this specific DRHF purpose and contains certain contaminants, represents an alternative processing line (an alternative processing line).
(a front end device comprising: a user interface for processing user input; a communications interface for receiving data from a plurality of peripheral devices; and a processor). A server front end receives user input from users who are both, at source locations and/or at processing locations, (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶158-160). tools and dashboards (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 4A-4B, ¶240
(a processor operative to: process tracking data obtained by a scan of the tracking number by a first peripheral device). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶9, 20, 48, 158).
(identify a customer account based on the tracking data). Owner identification so that the system associates each batch of collected organic waste with an owner of the facility that produced the waste material (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 72, 81, 91, 158, 160).
The identifying label 108 information together with information characterizing the units of material 102 may be processed to generate a series of reports 118 which may be shared with one or more report recipients 120 such as an individual source location 102 or store, a division manager, a company manager, sustainability managers, other management, shareholders, tax reporting, one or more regulatory agencies, or the like. The reports may include information about one or more of credits or obligations owed or reporting information associated with the material and the transportation of the material. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶158)
The analysis system 110 may be used to produce reports, bills, reimbursements, summaries, assessments, guidance and the like for different source locations 102, as well as for collections of source locations 102, and for various groups, divisions and chains, regulatory agencies, and the like. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶160).
Since owners are specifically identified, and reports on individual performance , reports 118 and incentives are transmitted to these owners, then, an account. (a customer account) associated with these owners is implicit.
(wherein the customer account is associated with a customer account database comprising OMPA data and DRHF data). Databases (see at least Whitman0149, ¶237-239, 382, 384)
(process user input received via the user interface and data received from the plurality of peripheral devices as part of an evaluation of the OMPA output contained therein). A server front end receives user input from users who are both, at source locations and/or at processing locations (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶158-160).
(populate a data set based on the evaluation, wherein the data set comprises observed characteristics of the OMPA output contained in the mailer). Compliance analysis (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶16, 158, 160, 189, 213).
(add the data set to the DRHF data associated with the customer account). Since in Whitman0149, as indicated above, data received by a server front end and is further stored, and analyzed and processed by the server to generate reports, incentives and other computations, then it is implicit that the data set is indeed uploaded to a back end server.
Whitman0149 does not disclose: (organic matter processing apparatus (OMPA) output produced by an OMPA).
However, Moon5928 discloses:
The present invention relates to a food waste disposal system for allowing food waste to be collected after dehydration. (see at least Moon5928, ¶3:24-28).
The present invention allows a long transport facility (discharging facility) to be installed from the upper floor to the lower floor of a multi-story building such as an apartment, and a dehydration device (an OMPA) is installed at the lower part of the outlet so that the food waste can be thrown away at the place where food waste is generated. It is characterized in that it is made to be dehydrated by a dehydration device, but automatically dehydrated three times a day by a time-time device. (see at least Moon5928, ¶6:6-10).
The present invention can easily dispose of food waste generated in each home and restaurant, and reduce the amount of food waste, and install equipment inside or outside the building before and after building to discharge food waste through the inlet at home. The discharged food waste is automatically dehydrated three times a day in accordance with the common time of washing dishes in the morning, lunch, and dinner by the set time device, so that food waste can be easily and collectively handled. (see at least Moon5928, abstract).
The present invention collects food wastes generated from homes and restaurants in a container, separates them into a common storage container designated by the city, and collects them in one place while making it easy to dispose of food wastes in a system where the collection truck is collected and transported.
Because it is possible to collect fresh food waste that is not corrupt, it can be recycled as a resource. (see at least Moon5928, ¶9:14-15).
In order to utilize the food waste as a resource, the present invention provides a transport facility (1) inside a multi-story building (H) of a multi-unit house such as an apartment. The dehydration loss device 60 is installed below the outlet 11, and the dehydration loss device 50 is set to operate to automatically dehydrate at least three times a day. It is to be quickly collected by food waste collection vehicles so that food waste can be recycled as a resource (see at least Moon5928, fig. 1-2, ¶6:14-19).
Therefore, the constitution of the present invention is made by the transfer equipment 1 and the dehydration reduction device 60 having a long sanitary tube 10. A sanitary pipe 10 and an extended inlet 20 are provided for each floor, and the inlet 20 is to be installed in the sink (S) provided for each furniture or to be provided in a boiler room or a utility room. (see at least Moon5928, fig. 1, ¶6:23-28).
As per above, Whitman0149 and Moon5928, they are both directed to comparable system and method for collecting food waste to be further recycled and used as a resource. Moon5928 further teaches the improvement of dehydrating the food waste in site prior to being transported to the recycling facility. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the food waste collection and recycling processing methodology of Whitman0149, the known technique of Moon5928 of dehydrating the food waste in site prior to being transported to the recycling facility, since doing so is applying a known technique to improve a similar known technique/method in the same way, thereby obtaining the predictable result of reducing the volume, weight, and risk of corruption of the collected food waste that needs to be transported to the recycling facility, and the modification produces no new and unexpected result.
Regarding claims 2-4, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claims 1-3;) as per the above rejection statements.
As explained, the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1 teaches: (wherein the primary processing line converts the OMPA output to DRHF),
Whitman0149 further discloses: Historical data (see at least Whitman0149, ¶63, 85, 170, 177, 261, 277). The system of clause 3, wherein the server uses historical data from a plurality of batches of the same material type as the batch of material to determine a weight for the batch of the material (see at least Whitman0149, ¶277). In some cases, the identification information from the missing or unreadable labels may be inferred based on an analysis of historic patterns, scheduled pickups, and the like (see at least Whitman0149, ¶261). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Whitman0149 to perform compliance analysis (to determine the presence or absence of certain contaminants) based in part on historical data, since taking historical data into consideration helps the host recycling system to better understand trends associated with the sources and their owners (as it is generally the case when using historical data to learn more about a process). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶160).
Since the process of Whitman0149 performs compliance analysis to determine the presence or absence of certain contaminants in the material (see at least Whitman0149, ¶16, 189, 226), and further identifies recyclables that are not in compliance with regulations regarding contamination and identifies materials associated with different departments (alternative departments) (see at least Whitman0149, ¶213), and based on these analysis results, organic waste received at the recycling facility may be diverted to processing facilities other than animal feed conversion (i.e., representative of a primary DRHF), including: composting facilities, animal agriculture facilities, energy facilities, or landfills, if/when the organic waste is non-compliant for this specific “primary” DRHF purpose and contains contaminants, then it is apparent that the methodology of Whitman0149 knows what regulations pertain to animal feed, what regulations pertain to composting, and what regulations pertain to dumping in a landfill, and it is further apparent that when organics do not comply with the “primary” regulations for animal feed conversion, they are diverted to compost conversion or sent to a landfill or waste disposal site, wherein processing collected product if/when the organic waste is non-compliant for the specific DRHF purpose, represents one or more “alternative processing lines”. It is further noted, each one of these three processes (animal feed, composting and landfill dumping) represent a first, a second and a third distinct and separate processing lines.
Regarding claim 5, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 1) as per the above rejection statements.
As explained, the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1 teaches: (wherein the processor is further operative to direct the OMPA output to the primary processing line when the data set meets predetermined criteria).
Regarding claim 6, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 1) as per the above rejection statements.
As indicated, Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination) teaches: Different compliance tests (a standard evaluation to populate the data set) are performed based on different processing facilities and regulations to determine whether the received organic material “meets or exceeds predetermined criteria” (see at least Whitman0149, ¶16, 189, 213, 226). In some embodiments in addition, previous historical batch data may be used to determine compliance using “a lite evaluation to populate the data set”, such as for example: a weight may be assigned to a batch of material based on previous historical data of weights associated with that material from the same source location, such as an average weight or median weight of batches of the same material, or another statistical calculation of weight based on historical data (see at least Whitman0149, ¶85, 170), and identification information from the missing or unreadable labels may be inferred based on an analysis of historic patterns, scheduled pickups, and the like (see at least Whitman0149, ¶261).
It is apparent from the above, that if historic data is not available, then standard compliance determinations (a standard evaluation to populate the data set) are required; however, if historic data is available then a lite evaluation procedure (a lite evaluation to populate the data set) may instead be used to determine compliance (i.e., weight compliance). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any historic batch property (not just weight historic batch information), as the basis for compliance determination, since such seemingly “liter” evaluations would facilitate and streamline the compliance efforts. Moreover, this modification would have been obvious, since this would be a simple substitution of one known element (i.e., any historic batch property) for another known historic batch data element (i.e., weight), wherein, given that using historic batch data and performing standard compliance determinations, are already implemented in the system of Whitman0149, then this improved functionality is a predictable result within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 1) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1 further in view of Whitman0149 discloses: (wherein the processor is further operative to: generate, based on the data set, a report for the customer account; and transmit the report to a front end device associated with the customer account). Reports (see at least Whitman0149, ¶158, 160, 257).
Regarding claim 10, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 1) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1 further in view of Whitman0149 discloses: (wherein the data set comprises the tracking number, a time stamp, a mass value, a batch number, a photograph, indication of presence of contaminants, and acceptance or rejection of the OMPA input).
(tracking number) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160, 167, 203).
(timestamp). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶83, 93, 275, 370),
(a mass value). Weight value (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 14, 54, 194, 198, 212).
(a batch number) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160, 167, 203).
(a photograph). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶189, 216, 253).
(indication of presence of contaminants, and acceptance or rejection). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶16, 189, 213, 226).
Regarding claim 11, Whitman0149 discloses:
Whitman0149 discloses:
System for tracking waste or recyclable material in a transported material stream and providing at least one of billing information, credit information, and reporting information with respect to the material, wherein the system may include a label associated with a batch of waste or recyclable material at an originating site, the label including label information and being associated with at least one of the batch of material and a container for the material at the originating site, the label information comprising at least one of identifier information identifying the originating site and information about the material, a label reader at a material handling site that is remote from the originating site and is capable of reading the label information on the label, and a communications facility for communicating to a server the label information read by the label reader, wherein the server uses the label information to report or determine, with respect to the material, specific information about at least one of the type and the amount of the material. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶9, 20, 48).
(processing tracking data obtained by a scan of the tracking number by a first peripheral device of the plurality of peripheral devices). Tracking, Label and label reader (see at least Whitman0149, ¶9, 20, 48, 158).
(a processing facility operative to convert output to dried recovered household food (DRHF)). One or more of: a material handling site, a distribution center, a recycling center, a disposal location, a recovery and processing center (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶158-160).
(the method implemented in a front end device that receives user input from an operator and data from a plurality of peripheral devices operating in a processing facility operative to convert OMPA output to dried recovered household food (DRHF), the method comprising). A server front end receives user input from users who are both, at source locations and/or at processing locations, (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶158-160).
(a mailer comprising a tracking number and organic matter output produced by an OMPA)
Label associated with a batch number and tracking number (see at least Whitman0149, ¶9, 20, 48).
(populating a data set tied to an entry of the tracking number based on an inspection of the output contained in the mailer). Compliance analysis (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶16, 158, 160, 189, 213).
(wherein the data set is populated with at least one of user inputs and data received from the plurality of peripherals). (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶158-160).
(wherein the data set comprises the tracking number) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160).
(mass value obtained from a second peripheral device of the plurality of devices) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶11, 14, 49, 54, 158, 160).
(a batch number) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160,).
(status of whether contaminants are present), (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶16, 158, 160, 189, 226).
(status of whether output is accepted). Compliance analysis (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶16, 158, 160, 189, 213).
(uploading the data set to a back end server comprising a database for storing data sets tied to each mailer processed by the front end device). Since in Whitman0149, as indicated above, data received by a server front end and is further stored, and analyzed and processed by the server to generate reports, incentives and other computations, then it is implicit that the data set is indeed uploaded to a back end server.
Whitman0149 does not disclose: (organic matter processing apparatus (OMPA) output produced by an OMPA).
However, Moon5928 discloses:
The present invention relates to a food waste disposal system for allowing food waste to be collected after dehydration. (see at least Moon5928, ¶3:24-28).
The present invention allows a long transport facility (discharging facility) to be installed from the upper floor to the lower floor of a multi-story building such as an apartment, and a dehydration device (an OMPA) is installed at the lower part of the outlet so that the food waste can be thrown away at the place where food waste is generated. It is characterized in that it is made to be dehydrated by a dehydration device, but automatically dehydrated three times a day by a time-time device. (see at least Moon5928, ¶6:6-10).
The present invention can easily dispose of food waste generated in each home and restaurant, and reduce the amount of food waste, and install equipment inside or outside the building to discharge food waste through the inlet at home. The discharged food waste is automatically dehydrated three times a day in accordance with the common time of washing dishes in the morning, lunch, and dinner by the set time device, so that food waste can be easily and collectively handled. (see at least Moon5928, abstract).
The present invention collects food wastes generated from homes and restaurants in a container, separates them into a common storage container designated by the city, and collects them in one place while making it easy to dispose of food wastes in a system where the collection truck is collected and transported.
Because it is possible to collect fresh food waste that is not corrupt, it can be recycled as a resource. (see at least Moon5928, ¶9:14-15).
In order to utilize the food waste as a resource, the present invention provides a transport facility (1) inside a multi-story building (H) of a multi-unit house such as an apartment. The dehydration loss device 60 is installed below the outlet 11, and the dehydration loss device 50 is set to operate to automatically dehydrate at least three times a day. (see at least Moon5928, fig. 1-2, ¶6:14-19).
Therefore, the constitution of the present invention is made by the transfer equipment 1 and the dehydration reduction device 60 having a long sanitary tube 10. A sanitary pipe 10 and an extended inlet 20 are provided for each floor, and the inlet 20 is to be installed in the sink (S) provided for each furniture or to be provided in a boiler room or a utility room. (see at least Moon5928, fig. 1, ¶6:23-28).
As per above, Whitman0149 and Moon5928, they are both directed to comparable system and method for collecting food waste to be further recycled and used as a resource. Moon5928 further teaches the improvement of dehydrating the food waste in site prior to being transported to the recycling facility. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the food waste collection and recycling processing methodology of Whitman0149, the known technique of Moon5928 of dehydrating the food waste in site prior to being transported to the recycling facility, since doing so is applying a known technique to improve a similar known technique/method in the same way, thereby obtaining the predictable result of reducing the volume, weight, and risk of corruption of the collected food waste that needs to be transported to the recycling facility, and the modification produces no new and unexpected result.
Regarding claim 12, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 11) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 11, further in view of Whitman0149 discloses: (wherein the data set comprises: a photograph of the OMPA output taken by a third peripheral of the plurality of peripherals; and a plurality of contamination sources, wherein each contamination source is identified as present or not present, and optionally can include quantitative values).
(plurality of contamination sources). (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶16, 158, 160, 189, 226).
(a photograph of the OMPA output taken by a third peripheral of the plurality of peripherals) (see at least Whitman0149, ¶189, 216, 253).
Regarding claim 13, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 11) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 11, further in view of Whitman0149 discloses: (contamination sources are selected from the group consisting of wet/oily, mold, rock and inert object, compostable plastic, paper, metal or foil, and produce label contaminants). (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 2-3, ¶105-106, 164).
Regarding claims 14-15, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 11) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 11, further in view of Whitman0149 discloses:
(obtaining a customer account based on the processed tracking data; accessing the customer account to assign a high or low risk factor to the OMPA output contained in the mailer) (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 72, 81, 91, 158, 160).
(accessing the customer account to assign a high or low risk factor to the OMPA output contained in the mailer; and instructing the operator or a machine to route the mailer to a primary processing line or an alternative processing line based on whether the OMPA output has been assigned a high or low risk factor). Since the process of Whitman0149 performs compliance analysis/tests to determine the presence or absence of certain contaminants in the material (see at least Whitman0149, ¶16, 189, 226), and further identifies recyclables that are not in compliance with regulations regarding contamination and identifies materials associated with different departments (alternative departments) (see at least Whitman0149, ¶213), and based on the results of these compliance analysis/tests, organic waste received at the recycling facility may be designated (assigned a high or low risk factor) and diverted to processing facilities other than animal feed conversion (i.e., representative of a primary DRHF), including: composting facilities, animal agriculture facilities, energy facilities, or landfills, if/when the organic waste is non-compliant for this specific “primary” DRHF purpose and contains contaminants, then it is apparent that the methodology of Whitman0149 knows what regulations pertain to animal feed, what regulations pertain to composting, and what regulations pertain to sending to a landfill, and it is further apparent that when organics do not comply with the “primary” regulations for animal feed conversion, they are diverted to compost conversion or sent to a landfill or waste disposal site, wherein processing collected product if/when the organic waste is non-compliant for the specific DRHF purpose, represents one or more “alternative processing lines”. It is further noted, each one of these three processes (animal feed, composting and landfill dumping) represent a first, a second and a third distinct and separate processing lines.
(wherein the alternative processing line subjects the OMPA input to extra inspection scrutiny than the primary processing line). Since Whitman0149 identifies recyclables that are not in compliance with regulations regarding contamination and identifies materials associated with different departments (alternative departments), then it follows that when recyclables are not in compliance with regulations for “primary line” conversion, additional compliance tests (extra inspection scrutiny) must be performed to determine to which “alternative processing lines” this food/organic waste will be diverted to.
Regarding claim 16, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 11) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 11, further in view of Whitman0149 discloses: (wherein when the OMPA output is accepted, routing the OMPA output to a primary processing line that is operative to convert the OMPA output to DRHF, and wherein when the OMPA output is not accepted, routing the OMPA output to one of a compost processing line, a black soldier fly larva processing line, and a secondary processing line that subjects the OMPA output to extra evaluation scrutiny before allowing the OMPA output to be converted to DRHF).
Since the process of Whitman0149 performs compliance analysis/tests to determine the presence or absence of certain contaminants in the material (see at least Whitman0149, ¶16, 189, 226), and further identifies recyclables that are not in compliance with regulations regarding contamination and identifies materials associated with different departments (alternative departments) (see at least Whitman0149, ¶213), and based on the results of these compliance analysis/tests, organic waste received at the recycling facility may be designated (assigned a high or low risk factor) and diverted to processing facilities other than animal feed conversion (i.e., representative of a primary DRHF), including: composting facilities, animal agriculture facilities, energy facilities, or landfills, if/when the organic waste is non-compliant for this specific “primary” DRHF purpose and contains contaminants, then it is apparent that the methodology of Whitman0149 knows what regulations pertain to animal feed, what regulations pertain to composting, and what regulations pertain to sending to a landfill, and it is further apparent that when organics do not comply with the “primary” regulations for animal feed conversion, they are diverted to compost conversion or sent to a landfill or waste disposal site, wherein processing collected product if/when the organic waste is non-compliant for the specific DRHF purpose, represents one or more “alternative processing lines”. It is further noted, each one of these three processes (animal feed, composting and landfill dumping) represent a first, a second and a third distinct and separate processing lines.
Claims 7-8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US 20170010149) (hereinafter “Whitman0149”), in view of Moon et al. (KR 200435928), and further in view of Choate et al. (US 2009/0095673) (hereinafter “Choate5673”).
Examiner’s note: For the purpose of examining the instant claims, an PE2E Search Tool English machine-translation of Moon et al. (KR 200435928) (hereinafter “Moon5928”) is used.
Regarding claim 7, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 1) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1, further in view of Whitman0149 discloses:
The images captured by the imaging system may be analyzed to estimate: a type of material, the temperature of organic material, the age of organic material, the presence of inorganic material, a percentage of inorganic material present, a number of inorganic items, an estimate of the type of inorganic items, a volume of material, a weight of the material, a quality of the material, a presence of contamination, a number of containers within a single batch of material 104, and the like. These images may also be used to for compliance analysis such as determining the presence or absence of certain contaminants in the material, determination regarding whether the temperature of the material was within a predetermined range, and other compliance issues. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶189),
However, even if Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1) is not used alone to teach the limitation: (wherein the processor is further operative to: compare a subset of the data set to a subset of the OMPA data to determine whether at least one discrepancy exists that exceeds a tolerance threshold; and direct the OMPA output to the primary processing line or the alternative processing line based on the comparison);
Choate5673 discloses: Systems and methods for converting solid and liquid organic waste materials from various municipal waste streams having a wide range of compositions such as, for example, yard waste, food waste, paper, and the organic fraction of municipal solid waste (MSW), into a uniform biomass that is suitable for conversion to useful products (see at least Choate5673, ¶18). Screening apparatus 115 configured to screen the organic waste materials into a fraction of the smaller and more desirable "unders" that pass through a mesh of the screening apparatus 115 and a residual fraction of "overs" that do not pass through the screen mesh (see at least Choate5673, fig. 1, ¶26).
For some source separated organic waste streams, such as source separated food waste, the unders from the screening apparatus 115 will include the most organics-rich material, in other words, the material with the highest volatile solids content. The overs, on the other hand, will include more of the less desirable cellulostic material and plastics. Depending on the thoroughness of the sorting, the overs can also include unsuitable materials. Thus, the optimum mesh size for a given organic waste stream is the one that will pass the largest fraction of the organic waste stream without causing the unders to drop below a minimum quality threshold. (see at least Choate5673, fig. 1, ¶27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination) with Choate5673 since this modification would be a simple substitution of one known element (i.e., tolerance threshold criteria as taught by Choate5673) for another known element (i.e., the compliance requirements of Whitman0149), to obtain the predictable result of more clearly defining the compliance criteria, wherein the substitution produces no new and unexpected result.
As indicated in the rejection of claim 1, Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination) teaches: (direct the OMPA output to the primary processing line or the alternative processing line based on the comparison).
Regarding claim 8, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 and Choate5673 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 1) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1 further in view of Whitman0149 discloses:
Temperature, weight, density, humidity, odors, the presence of certain chemicals (including volatile chemicals), the presence of particulates, the presence of organic material, the presence of biological organisms, and the like. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶213).
(a mass value). Weight value (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 14, 54, 194, 198, 212).
(a moisture value) (see at least Whitman0149, ¶213, 285),
(timestamp). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶83, 93,275, 370),
Regarding claim 17, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 11) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 11, further in view of Whitman0149 discloses: (obtaining a customer account based on the processed tracking data; accessing the customer account to obtain OMPA data from the OMPA that produced the OMPA output contained in the mailer). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 72, 81, 91, 158, 160).
Whitman0149 further discloses: The images captured by the imaging system may be analyzed to estimate: a type of material, the temperature of organic material, the age of organic material, the presence of inorganic material, a percentage of inorganic material present, a number of inorganic items, an estimate of the type of inorganic items, a volume of material, a weight of the material, a quality of the material, a presence of contamination, a number of containers within a single batch of material 104, and the like. These images may also be used to for compliance analysis such as determining the presence or absence of certain contaminants in the material, determination regarding whether the temperature of the material was within a predetermined range, and other compliance issues. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶189).
However, even if Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1) is not used alone to teach the limitation: (comparing a subset of the data set to a subset of the OMPA data to determine whether at one discrepancy exists that exceeds a tolerance threshold; and direct the OMPA output to a primary processing line or an alternative processing line based on the comparison).
Choate5673 discloses: Systems and methods for converting solid and liquid organic waste materials from various municipal waste streams having a wide range of compositions such as, for example, yard waste, food waste, paper, and the organic fraction of municipal solid waste (MSW), into a uniform biomass that is suitable for conversion to useful products (see at least Choate5673, ¶18). Screening apparatus 115 configured to screen the organic waste materials into a fraction of the smaller and more desirable "unders" that pass through a mesh of the screening apparatus 115 and a residual fraction of "overs" that do not pass through the screen mesh (see at least Choate5673, fig. 1, ¶26).
[0027] For some source separated organic waste streams, such as source separated food waste, the unders from the screening apparatus 115 will include the most organics-rich material, in other words, the material with the highest volatile solids content. The overs, on the other hand, will include more of the less desirable cellulostic material and plastics. Depending on the thoroughness of the sorting, the overs can also include unsuitable materials. Thus, the optimum mesh size for a given organic waste stream is the one that will pass the largest fraction of the organic waste stream without causing the unders to drop below a minimum quality threshold. (see at least Choate5673, fig. 1, ¶27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination) with Choate5673 since this modification would be a simple substitution of one known element (i.e., tolerance threshold criteria as taught by Choate5673) for another known element (i.e., the compliance requirements of Whitman0149), to obtain the predictable result of more clearly defining the compliance criteria, wherein the substitution produces no new and unexpected result.
As indicated in the rejection of claim 1, Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination) teaches: (direct the OMPA output to a primary processing line or an alternative processing line based on the comparison).
Regarding claim 18, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 and Choate5673 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claims 11 and 17) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1 further in view of Whitman0149 discloses:
Temperature, weight, density, humidity, odors, the presence of certain chemicals (including volatile chemicals), the presence of particulates, the presence of organic material, the presence of biological organisms, and the like. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶213).
(a mass value). Weight value (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 14, 54, 194, 198, 212).
(timestamp). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶83, 93,275, 370).
Claims 19-22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US 20170010149) (hereinafter “Whitman0149”), in view of Moon et al. (KR 200435928), further in view of Sira et al. (EP 3579157) (hereinafter “Sira9157”), and further in view of Takahashi et al. (JP 2008284461) (hereinafter “Sira9157”).
Examiner’s note: For the purpose of examining the instant claims, PE2E Search Tool English machine-translations of Moon et al. (KR 200435928) (hereinafter “Moon5928”), and of Takahashi et al. (JP 2008284461) (hereinafter “Takahashi4461”), are used.
Regarding claim 19, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 11) as per the above rejection statements.
Compact prosecution: Claims 19, recites the limitation: “wherein the batch data set comprises the batch number, equipment operating hours, metal detection events, mass of DRHF contained in a sterilization station, and mass of DRHF contained in a shipping bag; and uploading the batch data set to the back end server”. It is noted that recitation of all these data types, suggest that they all necessarily apply to all DRHF output produced at the claimed recycling facility. This means that if processing waste into a type DRHF output does not require or comprise one or more of these data types, any such DRHF output would be excluded from the claimed invention. In other words, this claim is only about DRHF output that positively underwent sterilization.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1 further in view of Whitman0149 discloses: (wherein the batch data set comprises the batch number, equipment operating hours, metal detection events, mass of DRHF contained in a sterilization station, and mass of DRHF contained in a shipping bag; and uploading the batch data set to the back end server).
The images captured by the imaging system may be analyzed to estimate: a type of material, the temperature of organic material, the age of organic material, the presence of inorganic material, a percentage of inorganic material present, a number of inorganic items, an estimate of the type of inorganic items, a volume of material, a weight of the material, a quality of the material, a presence of contamination, a number of containers within a single batch of material 104, and the like. These images may also be used to for compliance analysis such as determining the presence or absence of certain contaminants in the material, determination regarding whether the temperature of the material was within a predetermined range, and other compliance issues. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶189),
(a batch number). (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160, 167, 203).
(equipment operating hours). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 14, 22, see also ¶54, 72, 79, 81)
Whitman0149, further discloses: Detection event associated with: inorganics contaminants ((see at least Whitman0149, ¶49, 189, ”a presence of inorganic material, an estimate of the percent of inorganic material, an estimate of the number of inorganic items, an estimate of the type of inorganic items, an estimate of volume of material, an estimate of weight of the material, an estimate of the quality of the material, and an estimate of the age of the organic material”), wherein it is noted, that since metal is inorganic material, then “metal detection events” are comprised by this teaching. (metal detection events).
In any event, Takahashi4461(see below) explicitly disclose: (metal detection events).
Regarding the limitation: (mass of DRHF contained in a sterilization station, and mass of DRHF contained in a shipping bag; and uploading the batch data set to the back end server); since in Whitman0149, batches of organic material received at a recycling facility are precisely tagged and identified and further sorted and converted to recycled/converted DRHF product, it would have been totally within the predictable skills and common sense (obvious) of one of ordinary skill in the art to also tag the final recycled/converted DRHF product (i.e., DRHF) for the purpose of tracking the entire recycling life cycle. However, even if Whitman0149 is not used alone to teach tagging the DRHF finished product and subproducts, Sira9157 teaches this limitation.
In particular Sira9157 discloses: A recycling management system for products and/or packages configured to monitor individual products and/or packages/containers at different stages of their life cycle, preferably through the whole life cycle (from the moment they are manufactured until they are recycled), (see at least Sira9157, ¶20). Server system (see at least Sira9157, ¶68). The waste sorting and recycling stations are provided with means which are configured to receive the products and/or packages and sorting them according to given instructions, preferably according to the type of waste generated by said products and/or packages (plastic, organic matter, glass, etc.). In a preferred embodiment, the sorting means may be any programmable logic controller, and/or any processing means capable to receive electronic data by any communication means and/or technology (wire, wireless, Bluetooth, RF signals, etc.). (see at least Sira9157, ¶26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination) with Sira9157, to include tracking, using tags, the output of the various processing stations/steps of the DRHF recycling facility, including the final recycled/converted product (i.e., DRHF), to gain the benefit of tracking the entire recycling life cycle (see at least Sira9157, ¶20, 81).
The above formulated Whitman0149/Sira9157 combination does not specifically teach that the recycling facility comprises a sterilization station (a sterilization station), and metal detection events (metal detection events), but Takahashi8446 teaches these limitations.
Takahashi4461 discloses: The present invention collects waste foods with expired or expired expiry dates that occur in large quantities in food stores such as convenience stores, and can be recycled as high-value-added recycled products by appropriately processing them. It relates to the waste food recycling system. (see at least Takahashi4461, ¶1:13-16). Recycling facility comprising sterilization equipment (sterilizer 52) (see at least Takahashi4461, fig. 12, “52”, ¶16:1-24, 17:25). Metal removal (metal detection events) (see at least Takahashi4461, fig. 5-7, ¶12:34-35, 14:26-34). Weight percent determination and compliance (see at least Takahashi4461, ¶15:20-22, 15:38-41).
When the recycling methodology facility in the above formulated Whitman0149/Sira9157 system is further modified with Takahashi8446 to include sterilization equipment, then any sterilization output will also be tracked using tags.as part of the entire recycling life cycle, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include sterilization equipment (sterilizer 52)in the Whitman0149/Sira9157 system to ensure that no harmful bacteria is present in the end product (see at least Takahashi4461, ¶16:1-24).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the batch identification and compliance determinations (weight/mass determination, etc) further to any DRHF output including the sterilization output to gain the benefit of total DRHF determination and characterization.
Regarding claim 20, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928, Sira9157 and Takahashi8446 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claims 11 and 19) as per the above rejection statements.
Compact prosecution: Although the limitation “wherein the marker enhances a statistical probability that the first OMPA output is traceable to a particular mailer”.
As explained, the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 11 teaches: Labels (a marker) that are inserted into the OMPA batches, wherein said OMPA labels move with the OMPA to the recycling facility, and
As explained, the Whitman0149/Sira9157 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 19 discloses: Labels (a marker) inserted into the different DRHF processing stations that are part of the final DRHF product.
These labels/tags in both the OMPA and/or DRHF output enable these different OMPA and DRHF processing steps and specific outputs to be accurately traced (the marker enhances a statistical probability that the first OMPA output is traceable to a particular mailer; identifying an issue with the first OMPA output at one of the plurality of stations; updating the data set associated with the first OMPA output to incorporate the identified issue; and uploading the updated data set to the back end server).
Regarding claim 21, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928, Sira9157 and Takahashi8446 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claims 11 and 19) as per the above rejection statements.
As explained, the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 11 teaches: (uploading the received data to the back end server for inclusion into the batch data set), and Sira9157 likewise discloses this limitation: Server system (see at least Sira9157, ¶68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the back end server architecture of Whitman0149 in association with the DRHF contained in the sterilization station in the Whitman0149/Moon5928/Sira9157/Takahashi8446 system formulated in the rejection of claim 19, since the server enables data associated with DRHF contained in the sterilization station to be stored and retrieved and tracked as needed.
Regarding claim 22, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928, Sira9157 and Takahashi8446 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claims 11 and 19) as per the above rejection statements.
Whitman0149 discloses:
Reports (see at least Whitman0149, ¶158, 160, 257).
Owner identification so that the system associates each batch of collected organic waste with an owner of the facility that produced the waste material (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 72, 81, 91, 158, 160).
The identifying label 108 information together with information characterizing the units of material 102 may be processed to generate a series of reports 118 (a report for each of a plurality of customer accounts) which may be shared with one or more report recipients 120 such as an individual source location 102 or store, a division manager, a company manager, sustainability managers, other management, shareholders, tax reporting, one or more regulatory agencies, or the like. The reports may include information about one or more of credits or obligations owed or reporting information associated with the material and the transportation of the material. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶158)
The analysis system 110 may be used to produce reports, bills, reimbursements, summaries, assessments, guidance and the like for different source locations 102, as well as for collections of source locations 102, and for various groups, divisions and chains, regulatory agencies, and the like (see at least Whitman0149, ¶160) (wherein the report specifies the DRHF utilization partner; and providing the report to each of the plurality of customer accounts).
Since owners are specifically identified, and reports on individual performance , reports 118 and incentives are transmitted to these owners, then, an account. (a customer account) associated with these owners is implicit.
Since in Whitman0149, as indicated above, data received by a server front end and is further stored, and analyzed and processed by the server to generate reports, incentives and other computations, then it is implicit that the data set is indeed uploaded to a back end server.
ALTERNATIVE Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11, 19-22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US 20170010149) (hereinafter “Whitman0149”), in view of Moon et al. (KR 200435928), and further in view of Schwabe et al. (WO 2025108866) (hereinafter “Schwabe8866”).
Examiner’s note: For the purpose of examining the instant claims, an PE2E Search Tool English machine-translation of Moon et al. (KR 200435928) (hereinafter “Moon5928”) is used.
Regarding claim 10, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claims 1; claim 15; and claims 25 and 30; respectively) as per the above rejection statements.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1 further in view of Whitman0149 discloses: (wherein the data set comprises the tracking number, a time stamp, a mass value, a batch number, a photograph, indication of presence of contaminants, and acceptance or rejection of the OMPA input).
(tracking number) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160, 167, 203).
(timestamp). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶83, 93, 275, 370),
(a mass value). Weight value (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 14, 54, 194, 198, 212).
(a batch number) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160, 167, 203).
(a photograph). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶189, 216, 253).
(indication of presence of contaminants, and acceptance or rejection). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶16, 189, 213, 226).
However, even if Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1) is not used alone to teach the limitation: (tracking number) and (a batch number);
Schwabe8866 discloses: Assigning or attributing at least one environmental attribute related to recyclable material(s) to produced chemical product(s) may include the linking of a chemical product identifier associated with the respective produced chemical product with an amount of recyclable material stored in a virtual material account, such amount being related to or correspond to the environmental attribute. The chemical product identifier may be associated with the physical entity of the chemical product. This way the virtual identifier of a chemical product may be uniquely linked to the physical entity of the chemical product. Such linking may include a physical or virtual link of identifiers uniquely associated with the physical chemical product. For physical linking a tag or code may be physically connected to the chemical product, e.g. by printing a QR code on the packaging. For virtual linking different identifiers associated with the physical chemical product may be linked. For example, an order number, a batch number, LOT number or a combination thereof may be linked. (see at least Schwabe8866, ¶18:31-19:4).
Regarding claim 11, Whitman0149 discloses:
Whitman0149 discloses:
System for tracking waste or recyclable material in a transported material stream and providing at least one of billing information, credit information, and reporting information with respect to the material, wherein the system may include a label associated with a batch of waste or recyclable material at an originating site, the label including label information and being associated with at least one of the batch of material and a container for the material at the originating site, the label information comprising at least one of identifier information identifying the originating site and information about the material, a label reader at a material handling site that is remote from the originating site and is capable of reading the label information on the label, and a communications facility for communicating to a server the label information read by the label reader, wherein the server uses the label information to report or determine, with respect to the material, specific information about at least one of the type and the amount of the material. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶9, 20, 48).
(processing tracking data obtained by a scan of the tracking number by a first peripheral device of the plurality of peripheral devices). Tracking, Label and label reader (see at least Whitman0149, ¶9, 20, 48, 158).
(a processing facility operative to convert output to dried recovered household food (DRHF)). One or more of: a material handling site, a distribution center, a recycling center, a disposal location, a recovery and processing center (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶158-160).
(the method implemented in a front end device that receives user input from an operator and data from a plurality of peripheral devices operating in a processing facility operative to convert OMPA output to dried recovered household food (DRHF), the method comprising). A server front end receives user input from users who are both, at source locations and/or at processing locations, (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶158-160).
(a mailer comprising a tracking number and organic matter output produced by an OMPA)
Label associated with a batch number and tracking number (see at least Whitman0149, ¶9, 20, 48).
(populating a data set tied to an entry of the tracking number based on an inspection of the output contained in the mailer). Compliance analysis (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶16, 158, 160, 189, 213).
(wherein the data set is populated with at least one of user inputs and data received from the plurality of peripherals). (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶158-160).
(wherein the data set comprises the tracking number) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160).
(mass value obtained from a second peripheral device of the plurality of devices) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶11, 14, 49, 54, 158, 160).
(a batch number) (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160,).
(status of whether contaminants are present), (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶16, 158, 160, 189, 226).
(status of whether output is accepted). Compliance analysis (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶16, 158, 160, 189, 213).
(uploading the data set to a back end server comprising a database for storing data sets tied to each mailer processed by the front end device). Since in Whitman0149, as indicated above, data received by a server front end and is further stored, and analyzed and processed by the server to generate reports, incentives and other computations, then it is implicit that the data set is indeed uploaded to a back end server.
Whitman0149 does not disclose: (organic matter processing apparatus (OMPA) output produced by an OMPA).
However, Moon5928 discloses:
The present invention relates to a food waste disposal system for allowing food waste to be collected after dehydration. (see at least Moon5928, ¶3:24-28).
The present invention allows a long transport facility (discharging facility) to be installed from the upper floor to the lower floor of a multi-story building such as an apartment, and a dehydration device (an OMPA) is installed at the lower part of the outlet so that the food waste can be thrown away at the place where food waste is generated. It is characterized in that it is made to be dehydrated by a dehydration device, but automatically dehydrated three times a day by a time-time device. (see at least Moon5928, ¶6:6-10).
The present invention can easily dispose of food waste generated in each home and restaurant, and reduce the amount of food waste, and install equipment inside or outside the building to discharge food waste through the inlet at home. The discharged food waste is automatically dehydrated three times a day in accordance with the common time of washing dishes in the morning, lunch, and dinner by the set time device, so that food waste can be easily and collectively handled. (see at least Moon5928, abstract).
The present invention collects food wastes generated from homes and restaurants in a container, separates them into a common storage container designated by the city, and collects them in one place while making it easy to dispose of food wastes in a system where the collection truck is collected and transported.
Because it is possible to collect fresh food waste that is not corrupt, it can be recycled as a resource. (see at least Moon5928, ¶9:14-15).
In order to utilize the food waste as a resource, the present invention provides a transport facility (1) inside a multi-story building (H) of a multi-unit house such as an apartment. The dehydration loss device 60 is installed below the outlet 11, and the dehydration loss device 50 is set to operate to automatically dehydrate at least three times a day. (see at least Moon5928, fig. 1-2, ¶6:14-19).
Therefore, the constitution of the present invention is made by the transfer equipment 1 and the dehydration reduction device 60 having a long sanitary tube 10. A sanitary pipe 10 and an extended inlet 20 are provided for each floor, and the inlet 20 is to be installed in the sink (S) provided for each furniture or to be provided in a boiler room or a utility room. (see at least Moon5928, fig. 1, ¶6:23-28).
As per above, Whitman0149 and Moon5928, they are both directed to comparable system and method for collecting food waste to be further recycled and used as a resource. Moon5928 further teaches the improvement of dehydrating the food waste in site prior to being transported to the recycling facility. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the food waste collection and recycling processing methodology of Whitman0149, the known technique of Moon5928 of dehydrating the food waste in site prior to being transported to the recycling facility, since doing so is applying a known technique to improve a similar known technique/method in the same way, thereby obtaining the predictable result of reducing the volume, weight, and risk of corruption of the collected food waste that needs to be transported to the recycling facility, and the modification produces no new and unexpected result.
Even if Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1) is not used alone to teach the limitation: (tracking number) and (a batch number);
Schwabe8866 discloses: Assigning or attributing at least one environmental attribute related to recyclable material(s) to produced chemical product(s) may include the linking of a chemical product identifier associated with the respective produced chemical product with an amount of recyclable material stored in a virtual material account, such amount being related to or correspond to the environmental attribute. The chemical product identifier may be associated with the physical entity of the chemical product. This way the virtual identifier of a chemical product may be uniquely linked to the physical entity of the chemical product. Such linking may include a physical or virtual link of identifiers uniquely associated with the physical chemical product. For physical linking a tag or code may be physically connected to the chemical product, e.g. by printing a QR code on the packaging. For virtual linking different identifiers associated with the physical chemical product may be linked. For example, an order number, a batch number, LOT number or a combination thereof may be linked. (see at least Schwabe8866, ¶18:31-19:4).
Claims 19-22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US 20170010149) (hereinafter “Whitman0149”), in view of Moon et al. (KR 200435928), further in view of Sira et al. (EP 3579157) (hereinafter “Sira9157”), further in view of Takahashi et al. (JP 2008284461) (hereinafter “Sira9157”), and further in view of Schwabe et al. (WO 2025108866) (hereinafter “Schwabe8866”).
Examiner’s note: For the purpose of examining the instant claims, PE2E Search Tool English machine-translations of Moon et al. (KR 200435928) (hereinafter “Moon5928”), and of Takahashi et al. (JP 2008284461) (hereinafter “Takahashi4461”), are used.
Regarding claim 19, Whitman0149 in view of Moon5928 discloses: All the limitations of the corresponding parent claims (claim 11) as per the above rejection statements.
Compact prosecution: Claims 19, recites the limitation: “wherein the batch data set comprises the batch number, equipment operating hours, metal detection events, mass of DRHF contained in a sterilization station, and mass of DRHF contained in a shipping bag; and uploading the batch data set to the back end server”. It is noted that recitation of all these data types, suggest that they all necessarily apply to all DRHF output produced at the claimed recycling facility. This means that if processing waste into a type DRHF output does not require or comprise one or more of these data types, any such DRHF output would be excluded from the claimed invention. In other words, this claim is only about DRHF output that positively underwent sterilization.
The Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1 further in view of Whitman0149 discloses: (wherein the batch data set comprises the batch number, equipment operating hours, metal detection events, mass of DRHF contained in a sterilization station, and mass of DRHF contained in a shipping bag; and uploading the batch data set to the back end server).
The images captured by the imaging system may be analyzed to estimate: a type of material, the temperature of organic material, the age of organic material, the presence of inorganic material, a percentage of inorganic material present, a number of inorganic items, an estimate of the type of inorganic items, a volume of material, a weight of the material, a quality of the material, a presence of contamination, a number of containers within a single batch of material 104, and the like. These images may also be used to for compliance analysis such as determining the presence or absence of certain contaminants in the material, determination regarding whether the temperature of the material was within a predetermined range, and other compliance issues. (see at least Whitman0149, ¶189),
(a batch number). (see at least Whitman0149, fig. 1A-1B, ¶9, 20, 48, 158, 160, 167, 203).
(equipment operating hours). (see at least Whitman0149, ¶11, 14, 22, see also ¶54, 72, 79, 81)
Whitman0149, further discloses: Detection event associated with: inorganics contaminants ((see at least Whitman0149, ¶49, 189, ”a presence of inorganic material, an estimate of the percent of inorganic material, an estimate of the number of inorganic items, an estimate of the type of inorganic items, an estimate of volume of material, an estimate of weight of the material, an estimate of the quality of the material, and an estimate of the age of the organic material”), wherein it is noted, that since metal is inorganic material, then “metal detection events” are comprised by this teaching. (metal detection events).
In any event, Takahashi4461(see below) explicitly disclose: (metal detection events).
Regarding the limitation: (mass of DRHF contained in a sterilization station, and mass of DRHF contained in a shipping bag; and uploading the batch data set to the back end server); since in Whitman0149, batches of organic material received at a recycling facility are precisely tagged and identified and further sorted and converted to recycled/converted DRHF product, it would have been totally within the predictable skills and common sense (obvious) of one of ordinary skill in the art to also tag the final recycled/converted DRHF product (i.e., DRHF) for the purpose of tracking the entire recycling life cycle. However, even if Whitman0149 is not used alone to teach tagging the DRHF finished product and subproducts, Sira9157 teaches this limitation.
In particular Sira9157 discloses: A recycling management system for products and/or packages configured to monitor individual products and/or packages/containers at different stages of their life cycle, preferably through the whole life cycle (from the moment they are manufactured until they are recycled), (see at least Sira9157, ¶20). Server system (see at least Sira9157, ¶68). The waste sorting and recycling stations are provided with means which are configured to receive the products and/or packages and sorting them according to given instructions, preferably according to the type of waste generated by said products and/or packages (plastic, organic matter, glass, etc.). In a preferred embodiment, the sorting means may be any programmable logic controller, and/or any processing means capable to receive electronic data by any communication means and/or technology (wire, wireless, Bluetooth, RF signals, etc.). (see at least Sira9157, ¶26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination) with Sira9157, to include tracking, using tags, the output of the various processing stations/steps of the DRHF recycling facility, including the final recycled/converted product (i.e., DRHF), to gain the benefit of tracking the entire recycling life cycle (see at least Sira9157, ¶20, 81).
The above formulated Whitman0149/Sira9157 combination does not specifically teach that the recycling facility comprises a sterilization station (a sterilization station), and metal detection events (metal detection events), but Takahashi8446 teaches these limitations.
Takahashi4461 discloses: The present invention collects waste foods with expired or expired expiry dates that occur in large quantities in food stores such as convenience stores, and can be recycled as high-value-added recycled products by appropriately processing them. It relates to the waste food recycling system. (see at least Takahashi4461, ¶1:13-16). Recycling facility comprising sterilization equipment (sterilizer 52) (see at least Takahashi4461, fig. 12, “52”, ¶16:1-24, 17:25). Metal removal (metal detection events) (see at least Takahashi4461, fig. 5-7, ¶12:34-35, 14:26-34). Weight percent determination and compliance (see at least Takahashi4461, ¶15:20-22, 15:38-41).
When the recycling methodology facility in the above formulated Whitman0149/Sira9157 system is further modified with Takahashi8446 to include sterilization equipment, then any sterilization output will also be tracked using tags.as part of the entire recycling life cycle, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include sterilization equipment (sterilizer 52)in the Whitman0149/Sira9157 system to ensure that no harmful bacteria is present in the end product (see at least Takahashi4461, ¶16:1-24).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the batch identification and compliance determinations (weight/mass determination, etc) further to any DRHF output including the sterilization output to gain the benefit of total DRHF determination and characterization.
Even if Whitman0149 (and/or the Whitman0149/Moon5928 combination formulated in the rejection of claim 1) is not used alone to teach the limitation: (tracking number) and (a batch number);
Schwabe8866 discloses: Assigning or attributing at least one environmental attribute related to recyclable material(s) to produced chemical product(s) may include the linking of a chemical product identifier associated with the respective produced chemical product with an amount of recyclable material stored in a virtual material account, such amount being related to or correspond to the environmental attribute. The chemical product identifier may be associated with the physical entity of the chemical product. This way the virtual identifier of a chemical product may be uniquely linked to the physical entity of the chemical product. Such linking may include a physical or virtual link of identifiers uniquely associated with the physical chemical product. For physical linking a tag or code may be physically connected to the chemical product, e.g. by printing a QR code on the packaging. For virtual linking different identifiers associated with the physical chemical product may be linked. For example, an order number, a batch number, LOT number or a combination thereof may be linked. (see at least Schwabe8866, ¶18:31-19:4).
Regarding claims 20-22; the corresponding ALTERNATIVE rejections of these claims consist of the same rejection arguments presented above in the primary rejection, only that Schwabe8866 is further combined with the other prior art references in the rejection of the parent claim 19, to also alternatively teach the following limitations which in the primary rejection is
(tracking number) and (a batch number);
The full rejection statements are not repeated here to avoid cluttering the instant document with redundant writing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 20250217780 (Yamine), KR200196996 (Um)
/Mario C. Iosif/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621