DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS from 6/3/2024 have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular reference in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, lines 2-3, “normal to surface” should be --normal to a surface--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 17, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the skin" and “the recipient” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the direction of the axis of the implantable component" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the direction” and “the axis” in the limitation in the claim as there is no reference for them in relation to the implantable component.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the Northern part…first magnet" in line 8 and “the Northern part…second magnet” in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the cross section" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the claim to depend on claim 25 would resolve the issue.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the cross section" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the claim to depend on claim 25 would resolve the issue.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,003,925. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 12,003,925 discloses a species that anticipates the current genus claim. The mapping is as follows:
Present Application
US 12,003,925
1. A hearing prosthesis, comprising:
a component, including:
a plurality of magnets, wherein
the plurality of magnets collectively form a circular shape and are configured to
establish magnetic attraction between an external component and an implantable component of the hearing prosthesis sufficient to hold the external component against the skin of the recipient,
wherein the component is one of the external component or the implantable component,
the plurality of magnets includes at least a first magnet and second magnet,
the first magnet has a North-South pole axis, and
the second magnet has a North-South pole axis extending in a different direction
from the North-South pole axis of the first magnet.
1. A hearing prosthesis, comprising: a component, including: a plurality of magnets, wherein the plurality of magnets collectively form a circular shape and are configured to establish magnetic attraction between an external component and an implantable component of the hearing prosthesis sufficient to hold the external component against skin of a recipient,
the plurality of magnets includes at least a first magnet and second magnet,
the first magnet has a North-South pole axis, the second magnet has a North-South pole axis extending in a different direction from the North-South pole axis of the first magnet, the component is the implantable component of the hearing prosthesis, and the component is configured to channel a magnetic flux from the first magnet to the second magnet, the magnetic flux establishing the magnetic attraction.
1. A hearing prosthesis, comprising:
a component, including:
a plurality of magnets, wherein
the plurality of magnets collectively form a circular shape and are configured to
establish magnetic attraction between an external component and an implantable component of the hearing prosthesis sufficient to hold the external component against the skin of the recipient,
wherein the component is one of the external component or the implantable component,
the plurality of magnets includes at least a first magnet and second magnet,
the first magnet has a North-South pole axis, and
the second magnet has a North-South pole axis extending in a different direction
from the North-South pole axis of the first magnet.
7. A hearing prosthesis, comprising:
a component, including:
a plurality of magnets, wherein the plurality of magnets collectively form a circular shape and are configured to establish magnetic attraction between an external component and an implantable component of the hearing prosthesis sufficient to hold the external component against skin a recipient,
wherein the component is one of the external component or the implantable component,
the plurality of magnets includes at least a first magnet and second magnet,
the first magnet has a North-South pole axis, the second magnet has a North-South pole axis extending in a different direction from the North-South pole axis of the first magnet, and at least one of: (i) the component is configured to redirect, within the component, magnetic flux from the first magnet in a direction normal to the North-South pole axis of the second magnet; or (ii) the component is configured to redirect, within the component, magnetic flux from the first magnet in a direction parallel to a surface of the skin of the recipient at least when the external component is held against the skin of the recipient.
15. A hearing prosthesis, comprising:
a component, including:
a plurality of magnets, wherein
the plurality of magnets collectively form a circular shape and are configured to establish magnetic attraction between an external component and an implantable component of the hearing prosthesis sufficient to hold the external component against skin of a recipient,
wherein the component is one of the external component or the implantable component,
the plurality of magnets includes at least a first magnet and second magnet,
the first magnet has a North-South pole axis, the second magnet has a North-South pole axis extending in a different direction from the North-South pole axis of the first magnet, and the component further includes a ferromagnetic component attached to the first magnet and the second magnet.
2.The hearing prosthesis of claim 1, wherein:
the first magnet is half-circular shaped, and the second magnet is half-circular shaped.
3. The hearing prosthesis of claim 1, wherein the first magnet is half-moon shaped and the
second magnet is half-moon shaped.
9. The hearing prosthesis of claim 7, wherein one of:
i. the first magnet is half-circular shaped, and the second magnet is half-circular shaped; or
ii. the first magnet is semi-circular shaped, and the second magnet is semi-circular shaped.
As shown in the table, the difference between present claim 1 and claim 1 of the patent is the italicized section. The present claim states that the component can either be the implantable or external component while the patent explicitly states that the component is the implantable component and includes further structure. This makes the patent recite a species that anticipates the present genus claim.
As shown by the table, all elements of present claim 1 are disclosed by claims 7 or 15 of the patent. Claims 7 and 15 of the patent recite further specifics which makes the claims species that anticipate the current genus claim.
Claims 2 and 3 of the present application recite shape descriptions. Claim 2 recites a half-circular shape, claim 3 recites a half-moon shape, and claim 9 of the patent recites a half circular or semi-circular shape. Half-moon shape, half-circular shape, or semi-circular shape can be considered as synonyms describing the same shape (a half circle). Thus, the genus claims are anticipated by species claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 4 recites "the North-South pole axes of the first magnet and the second magnet are normal to surface of a skull of the recipient and/or normal to a surface of the skin of the recipient" which is positive recitation to a human organism. The limitation "are normal" should be amended to --are configured to be normal-- in order to not positively recite the human organism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12, 13, 16, 17, 19, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0121450 (Kasic, hereinafter Kasic ‘450).
Regarding claims 11, 12, 16, and 19, Kasic ‘450 discloses a magnetic abutment system (see title and abstract) that includes the following components (see figure 14; paragraphs 42 and 55):
an implantable component having only two magnets (plate with 60/63a and 60/63b), wherein
a first magnet of the two magnets (60/63b) having a North-South pole axis in a first direction;
a second magnet of the two magnets (60/63a) having a North-South axis extending in a different direction different from the first direction (North-South alignment of second magnet is antiparallel/ parallel to but opposite to the first direction),
wherein the implantable component is configured to hold an external component (57 and 55/58a and b) of the hearing prosthesis on a recipient of the hearing prosthesis via magnetic coupling between the first and second magnet of the implantable component and one or more permanent magnets of the external component (paragraphs 42 and 55); and
the external component (spacer 50; paragraph 55) comprising
a third magnet (55b) with a North-South pole axis;
a fourth magnet (55a) with a North-South pole axis extending in a different direction from the North -South pole axis of the third magnet (alignments of the third and fourth magnet correspond to the first and second magnet, which makes the axes of the third and fourth magnet extend in different directions),
wherein the third and fourth magnet make up at least some of the magnetic material of the external component (paragraph 55; the magnetic members are ferrous members which make them all contain iron).
Regarding claim 13, Kasic ‘450 discloses the limitations of claim 11. In addition, the DSP (80) can be considered as an actuator as it drives the transducer and spacer for the hearing aid device (10) (paragraphs 32-35 describe the operation and structure of the hearing aid device (10) that will be coupled to the implantable component)
Regarding claim 17, Kasic ‘450 discloses the limitations of claim 11. It can be seen in figure 14 that the implantable component has a bone facing interface and an axis normal to the bone facing surface (figure 14; bone plate (20) has face that interfaces with the skill (70); paragraphs 32-33 and 55). It can also be seen in figure 14 that the first magnet (60/63b) has the northern part of the magnet facing the plate and the northern part of the second magnet (60/63a) faces the spacer (50), which makes the northern part of the first magnet lower relative to the northern part of the second magnet.
Regarding claims 29-30. Kasic ‘450 discloses the limitations of claim 11. Kasic ‘450 further shows the presence of a microphone (85) and sound processor (80) used in an external hearing aid device (10) that is coupled to the implantable component (paragraphs 32-35)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0121449 (Kasic hereinafter Kasic ‘449).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Kasic ‘449 discloses an adjustable magnetic systems used for bone conduction hearing aids (see title and abstract) that includes the following components (see figures 4(a-d), 5(a-f), 6(a-f), 7(a-h), 8(a-f), and 10(a-c); paragraphs 54-99 give descriptions of different embodiments of the implant plate and the spacer of the hearing prosthesis):
an internal/implantable component (implant plate (20 -internal component) with 60(a-f)), including:
a plurality of magnets (60(a-f)),
wherein the plurality of magnets are configured to establish magnetic attraction/magnetic coupling between an magnetic material of an external component and the implantable component of the hearing prosthesis sufficient to hold the external component against the skin of the recipient (see paragraphs 55-99),
the plurality of magnets includes at least a first magnet (55a or 60a) and second magnet (55b or 60b),
the first magnet has a North-South pole axis, and the second magnet has a North-South pole axis extending in a different direction from the North-South pole axis of the first magnet (the first and second magnets each have a pole axis that extend in different directions due to differences in their North-South orientation as shown in figure 4(a-b), 5(a-c), 6(a-c), 7(a-d), and 8(a-c)).
an external component (55(a-c) of spacer (50 – the external component)) including:
a third magnet (55a) with a North-South pole axis;
a fourth magnet (55b) with a North-South pole axis extending in a different direction from the North-South pole axis of the third magnet (the third and fourth magnets each have a pole axis that extend in different directions due to differences in their North-South orientation as shown in figure 4(a-b), 5(a-c), 6(a-c), 7(a-d), and 8(a-c)).
However, Kasic ‘449 does not disclose that the magnets form a circular shape. Kasic does have a shape configuration. Applicant has not disclosed the criticality of the claimed shape. A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence of its criticality, would be considered as a matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the shapes of Kasic and the claimed shape would perform in the same manner, as they would both perform the same function of magnetic attachment.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kasic ‘449 discloses the limitations of claim 1. However, Kasic ‘449 does not disclose that the magnets have a half-circular or half-moon shape. Kasic ‘449 does have magnet shapes. Applicant has not disclosed the criticality of the claimed shape. A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence of its criticality, would be considered as a matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the shapes of Kasic ‘449 and the claimed shape would perform in the same manner, as they would both perform the same function of magnetic attachment.
Regarding claim 4, Kasic ‘449 discloses the limitations of claim 1. In addition, it can be shown in figures 10(a-c) that the North-South pole axes of the first and second magnets are normal to the surface of the skill (70) or normal to the skin (75) of the recipient (paragraph 93).
Regarding claim 5, Kasic ‘449 discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kasic ‘449 further shows that the first magnet is spaced apart from the second magnet in a direction normal to the North-South pole axis of the first magnet (see figures 4(a-b), 5(a-c), 6(a-c), 7(a-d), and 8(a-c) and 10(a-c)).
Regarding claim 9, Kasic ‘449 discloses the limitations of claim 3. Kasic ‘449 further shows that the first magnet can be spaced away from the second magnet in a direction normal to the North-South pole axis of the first magnet (see figures 5(a-c), 7(a-d), and 10(a-c)).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0121449 (Kasic hereinafter Kasic ‘449) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2011/0264172 (Zimmerling et al., hereinafter Zimmerling).
Regarding claim 8, Kasic ‘449 discloses the limitation of claim 1 but does not state that the presence of a magnet that has a North-South pole axis that is parallel to a surface of a skill of the recipient when the hearing prosthesis is used with the recipient. In a related area, Zimmerling discloses magnets used in implants, specifically hearing prosthesis (paragraphs 3-43). Of note are the configurations shown in figures 11-15 (paragraphs 37-38) which use a magnet (402) in an implant housing that is free to rotate in the plane of the implant housing that is parallel to a surface of a skull of the recipient that interacts with magnets in an external housing. Zimmerling states that this configuration allows the implant magnet to orient itself to magnetically interact with external attachment magnets. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kasic ‘449 to use a magnet with a North-South pole axis that is parallel to a surface of a skull using the configuration of Zimmerling to allow the implant magnet to orient itself to magnetically interact with external attachment magnets.
Claim(s) 14-15, 18, 20, 22-24, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0121450 (Kasic, hereinafter Kasic ‘450).
Regarding claims 14-15, Kasic ‘450 discloses the limitations of claim 11. However, Kasic ‘450 does not disclose that the magnets have a half-circular shape, half-moon shape, or semi-circular shape. Kasic ‘450 does show that the magnets have shapes. Applicant has not disclosed the criticality of the claimed shape. A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence of its criticality, would be considered as a matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the shapes of Kasic ‘450 and the claimed shape would perform in the same manner, as they would both perform the same function of magnetic attachment.
Regarding claim 18, Kasic ‘450 discloses the limitations of claim 11. The magnets disclosed by Kasic ‘450 disclose that the magnets have curved outer profiles and form a magnet assembly with a shape but does show curved outer profiles and a magnet assembly of a circular shape. Applicant has not disclosed the criticality of the claimed shape. A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence of its criticality, would be considered as a matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the shapes of Kasic ‘450 and the claimed shape would perform in the same manner, as they would both perform the same function of magnetic attachment.
Regarding claims 20, 22, and 23, Kasic ‘450 discloses the limitations of claim 19. However, Kasic ‘450 does not disclose that the third and four magnets have a half-circular shape, half-moon shape, or semi-circular shape. Kasic ‘450 does show that the magnets have shapes. Applicant has not disclosed the criticality of the claimed shape. A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence of its criticality, would be considered as a matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the shapes of Kasic ‘450 and the claimed shape would perform in the same manner, as they would both perform the same function of magnetic attachment.
Regarding claim 24, Kasic ‘450 discloses the limitations of claim 23. In addition, as shown in figure 14 the third and fourth magnets (55a/58a and 55b/58b) are spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Kasic ‘450 discloses the limitations of claim 24. In addition, without any additional guiding limitations as to how the cross section is made, such as its relation to the pole axis, a cross section of the third magnet of Kasic ‘450 can be made in such a way that it lies on and is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the third magnet or the external component, which would allow Kasic ‘450 to meet the limitations of the claims.
Regarding claim 28, Kasic ‘450 discloses the limitation of claim 11. The magnets disclosed by Kasic ‘450 disclose that the first and second magnets form a magnet assembly with a shape but does show a magnet assembly of a circular shape. Applicant has not disclosed the criticality of the claimed shape. A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence of its criticality, would be considered as a matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the shapes of Kasic ‘450 and the claimed shape would perform in the same manner, as they would both perform the same function of magnetic attachment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a device, as claimed by Applicant, where the component includes a ferromagnetic component attached to the first magnet and the second magnet and extends normal to a longitudinal axis of the component.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a device, as claimed by Applicant, where the component includes a ferromagnetic component attached to the first magnet and the second magnet and channels magnetic flux generated by at least the first magnet in a direction horizontally to the second magnet.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a device, as claimed by Applicant, where the external component includes a ferromagnetic component spanning a distance from the third magnet to the fourth magnet.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a device, as claimed by Applicant, where the third magnet has a cross-section with outer profile that has a length longer than the width, and the North-South pole axis of the third magnet is parallel to the length.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791