DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the Applicant’s filing on January 2, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
The previous rejections of claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, and 11-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are withdrawn in consideration of amended independent claims 1, 14 and 18. However, new rejections of claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-15 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are set forth below.
The previous rejections of claims 3, 7 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in consideration of amended independent claim 1. However, new rejections of claims 3, 7 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0129682 by Edwards (herein after "Edwards"), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0381665 by Storr (herein after "Storr").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 1, Edwards discloses a golf vehicle system comprising: a golf vehicle (Edwards ¶ [0018]: For example, according to certain embodiments, the utility vehicle 110 is a motorized golf car or cart; utility vehicle 110 in Fig. 1) including an auxiliary system (Edwards ¶ [0022]: the controller 114 can also be connected to a display 116 and one or more audio speakers 118; audio speaker 118 in Fig. 1); and
at least one processing circuit having at least one processor and at least one memory (Edwards ¶ [0023]: the operator computer system 180 can also include a central processing unit (CPU) 182 including at least one hardware-based processor coupled to a memory 184; Edwards ¶ [0045]: one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage/memory media of the respective controller(s) 114; controller 114 and operator computer system 180 in Fig. 1), the at least one memory storing instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
detect that the golf vehicle is in proximity to a location of interest associated with an automated modification of a function of the auxiliary system from a first state to a second state (Edwards ¶ [0032]: the settings associated with an acoustic configuration(s) can, when the acoustic configuration(s) is invoked, take priority over the parameters associated with the acoustic categories; Edwards ¶ [0034]: the acoustic configurations can include geo-fencing, which can relate to the location of the utility vehicle 110, the environment in which the utility vehicle 110 is currently located, and/or the proximity of the utility vehicle 110 to other utility vehicles);
upon detecting that the golf vehicle is in proximity to the location of interest associated with the automated modification (Edwards ¶ [0034]: the acoustic configurations can include geo-fencing, which can relate to the location of the utility vehicle 110, the environment in which the utility vehicle 110 is currently located, and/or the proximity of the utility vehicle 110 to other utility vehicles) (Edwards ¶ [0032]: the settings associated with an acoustic configuration(s) can, when the acoustic configuration(s) is invoked, take priority over the parameters associated with the acoustic categories. Moreover, according to certain embodiments, the acoustic configurations can be configured to adjust the acoustic parameters for some, but not all, of the acoustic categories); and
upon detecting that the golf vehicle is in proximity to the location of interest associated with the automated modification (Edwards ¶ [0034]: the acoustic configurations can include geo-fencing, which can relate to the location of the utility vehicle 110, the environment in which the utility vehicle 110 is currently located, and/or the proximity of the utility vehicle 110 to other utility vehicles) (Edwards ¶ [0030]: a first selectable acoustic arrangement may provide acoustic parameters at which operator announcements have a volume setting of 100%, and the acoustic parameters for social media content, streaming music, or other audio is set at a volume setting of 50%).
It is noted that Edwards discloses an automated modification that modifies an auxiliary system from a first state to a second state when a vehicle is in proximity to a location of interest but fails to explicitly disclose determine whether an automated modification exemption associated with the automated modification applies to the golf vehicle for the location of interest;
determining that the automated modification exemption applies to the golf vehicle, maintain the function of the auxiliary system in the first state; and
determining that the automated modification exemption does not apply to the golf vehicle, modify the function of the auxiliary system from the first state to the second state.
However, Storr, in the same field endeavor, teaches a system comprising a processor arranged to receive a command and review the command against information in a database to determine whether the command is suitable for execution by the at least one robotic device, wherein the command is provided to the robotic device if the command is suitable for execution (Storr ¶ [0008]). Storr further teaches determine whether an automated modification exemption associated with the automated modification applies to the golf vehicle for the location of interest (Storr ¶ [0180]: whether a user, owner or client has any special waivers, permissions, authorisations or exemptions listed in or stored against their identity on their account file, not limited to, a waiver to have their robot, device or vehicle operate a surveillance application to allow a parent to supervise their child walking or catching the bus to/from school, or to allow their robot, device or vehicle to carry a particular payload or undertake a certain ‘restricted’ function; Storr ¶ [0328]: waivers are obtainable to allow robots and participating devices to not be constrained by the ‘privacy protocol’. In one embodiment, ‘exclusion zones’, ‘shrouding (fixed)’ and ‘Profile shrouding (mobile)’ may be waived for approved parents (running approved dedicated apps), so parents may monitor their children, for example);
upon detecting that the golf vehicle is in proximity to the location of interest associated with the automated modification (Storr ¶ [0211]-[0212]: An Operational Spaces Database 326 is provided which includes an entire inventory of environments, places, areas or spaces approved for particular robots, devices or vehicles. The Tasks/Activities/Programs Module 312 interfaces with this database to transmit information to the robots, devices or vehicles. In more detail, the Operational Spaces Database 326 regulates particular assignments, operations or functions of robots, devices or vehicles. For example, a particular (air)space may be permanently excluded-for-use by all or particular robots, devices or vehicles for safety, security or privacy considerations) and determining that the automated modification exemption applies to the golf vehicle, maintain the function of the auxiliary system in the first state (Storr ¶ [0328]: waivers are obtainable to allow robots and participating devices to not be constrained by the ‘privacy protocol’. In one embodiment, ‘exclusion zones’, ‘shrouding (fixed)’ and ‘Profile shrouding (mobile)’ may be waived for approved parents (running approved dedicated apps), so parents may monitor their children, for example); and
upon detecting that the golf vehicle is in proximity to the location of interest associated with the automated modification (Storr ¶ [0211]-[0212]: An Operational Spaces Database 326 is provided which includes an entire inventory of environments, places, areas or spaces approved for particular robots, devices or vehicles. The Tasks/Activities/Programs Module 312 interfaces with this database to transmit information to the robots, devices or vehicles. In more detail, the Operational Spaces Database 326 regulates particular assignments, operations or functions of robots, devices or vehicles. For example, a particular (air)space may be permanently excluded-for-use by all or particular robots, devices or vehicles for safety, security or privacy considerations) and determining that the automated modification exemption does not apply to the golf vehicle, modify the function of the auxiliary system from the first state to the second state (Storr ¶ [0136]: The Proposed & Active Assignments/Functions Travel Plans & Tracks Module 305 also confirms that proposed or active assignments, operations or functions are permissible or authorised according to information in the Robot ‘Apps’/Functions Database 325 and/or information in the Operational Spaces Database 326, which contains approved, ‘restricted’ or disallowed assignments, operations or functions; Storr ¶ [0143]: The Exclusion/Privacy Protocol Module 307 may also impose changes to a Robot ‘Apps’/ Functions Database 325, for example, by altering or amending aspects of robot apps or functions, not limited to disallowing robots to travel into or within a particular space when executing a particular assignment, operation or function).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for vehicle acoustic control of Edwards to include the waivers for allowing a vehicle to undertake a restricted action of Storr with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow a vehicle control system to avoid privacy, safety, security, liability, technical and ethical issues by requiring vehicles to obtain relevant clearance before an operation is allowed, particularly if that operation is to occur in a public space (Storr ¶ [0412]).
Regarding claim 2, Edwards discloses wherein detecting that the golf vehicle is in proximity to the location of interest is performed based on at least one of global positioning system (GPS) data of the golf vehicle or a geofence associated with the location of interest (Edwards ¶ [0021]: the NPS 112 is a global position system (GPS) device that is mounted external to the utility vehicle 110; Edwards ¶ [0021]: other additional information can be can be transmitted to/from the NPS 112 and the controller 114, such as, for example, information pertaining to the utility vehicle’s 110 proximity to other utility vehicles; Edwards ¶ [0034]: the acoustic configurations can include geo-fencing, which can relate to the location of the utility vehicle 110, the environment in which the utility vehicle 110 is currently located, and/or the proximity of the utility vehicle 110 to other utility vehicles).
Regarding claim 4, Edwards discloses wherein the location of interest is a stationary location of interest (Edwards ¶ [0034]: Similar to the above-discussed timed audio settings, the geo-fencing can facilitate a change in acoustic parameters, such as, for example, volume limits, in an acoustic arrangement for one or more, but not necessarily all, acoustic categories. Thus, for example, according to certain embodiments, when a utility vehicle 110 is in relatively close proximity to a particular location, such as, for example, a tee box or putting green on a golf course, or in relatively close proximity to another utility vehicle 110).
Regarding claim 5, Edwards discloses wherein the golf vehicle is a first golf vehicle and the location of interest is a second golf vehicle (Edwards ¶ [0034]: Similar to the above-discussed timed audio settings, the geo-fencing can facilitate a change in acoustic parameters, such as, for example, volume limits, in an acoustic arrangement for one or more, but not necessarily all, acoustic categories. Thus, for example, according to certain embodiments, when a utility vehicle 110 is in relatively close proximity to a particular location, such as, for example, a tee box or putting green on a golf course, or in relatively close proximity to another utility vehicle 110).
Regarding claim 8, Edwards discloses wherein the auxiliary system includes an audio system (Edwards ¶ [0022]: the controller 114 can also be connected to a display 116 and one or more audio speakers 118), the function is an audio output of the audio system, the first state is a first volume level of the audio system, and the second state is a second volume level of the audio system (Edwards ¶ [0027]: the acoustic arrangements can comprise one or more acoustic parameters that can control the characteristics or properties, or other settings, of the audio that is, or can be, emitted from the speakers 118 of the utility vehicle 110. Moreover, the selectable acoustic arrangements can, for example, be based on one or more acoustic parameters, such as, for example, allowable volume, bass, and/or treble levels, ranges, and/or limits, for audio that is, or will be, emitted through the speakers 118).
Regarding claim 9, Edwards discloses wherein the second volume level is lower than the first volume level (Edwards ¶ [0033]: the timed audio settings can be configured to reduce the volume at which streaming music can be played through the speakers 118 during at least certain morning and/or evening hours; Edwards ¶ [0035]: the acoustic configurations can include a fleet volume mute, which can, for example, at a particular time reduce a volume level setting of a plurality, or fleet, of utility vehicles 110, including reducing the volume settings such that little or no noise is to be emitted through the speakers 118).
Regarding claim 11, Edwards discloses wherein the instructions cause the at least one processor to receive an indication of the location of interest from a user via a user interface (Edwards ¶ [0054]: For example, according to certain embodiments in which the utility vehicle 110 is a golf car, the pressing or otherwise activation of a button on the audio control panel 310 associated with geo-fence settings can result in the display of a map of the associated golf course. In an example, the operator can be able to use a computer mouse or his/her finger to establish a boundary, or geo-fence, for a particular acoustic arrangement).
Regarding claim 12, Edwards discloses wherein the indication of the location of interest defines a geofence associated with the location of interest (Edwards ¶ [0054]: For example, according to certain embodiments in which the utility vehicle 110 is a golf car, the pressing or otherwise activation of a button on the audio control panel 310 associated with geo-fence settings can result in the display of a map of the associated golf course. In an example, the operator can be able to use a computer mouse or his/her finger to establish a boundary, or geo-fence, for a particular acoustic arrangement).
Regarding claim 13, Edwards discloses wherein the at least one processing circuit includes at least one of a first processing circuit remote from the golf vehicle (Edwards ¶ [0023]: the operator computer system 180 can also include a central processing unit (CPU) 182 including at least one hardware-based processor coupled to a memory 184; operator computer system 180 in Fig. 1) or a second processing circuit onboard the golf vehicle (Edwards ¶ [0045]: one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage/memory media of the respective controller(s) 114; controller 114 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Edwards discloses a vehicle system comprising: at least one processing circuit having at least one processor and at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor (Edwards ¶ [0023]: the operator computer system 180 can also include a central processing unit (CPU) 182 including at least one hardware-based processor coupled to a memory 184; Edwards ¶ [0045]: one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage/memory media of the respective controller(s) 114; controller 114 and operator computer system 180 in Fig. 1), cause the at least one processor to:
detect that a first vehicle is in proximity to a second vehicle (Edwards ¶ [0021]: other additional information can be can be transmitted to/from the NPS 112 and the controller 114, such as, for example, information pertaining to the utility vehicle’s 110 proximity to other utility vehicles);
determine that the first vehicle qualifies for an automated modification of a function of the first vehicle from a first state to a second state based on detecting that the first vehicle is in proximity to the second vehicle (Edwards ¶ [0032]: the settings associated with an acoustic configuration(s) can, when the acoustic configuration(s) is invoked, take priority over the parameters associated with the acoustic categories; Edwards ¶ [0034]: the acoustic configurations can include geo-fencing, which can relate to the location of the utility vehicle 110, the environment in which the utility vehicle 110 is currently located, and/or the proximity of the utility vehicle 110 to other utility vehicles);
upon detecting that the first vehicle qualifies for the automated modification (Edwards ¶ [0034]: the acoustic configurations can include geo-fencing, which can relate to the location of the utility vehicle 110, the environment in which the utility vehicle 110 is currently located, and/or the proximity of the utility vehicle 110 to other utility vehicles) (Edwards ¶ [0032]: the settings associated with an acoustic configuration(s) can, when the acoustic configuration(s) is invoked, take priority over the parameters associated with the acoustic categories. Moreover, according to certain embodiments, the acoustic configurations can be configured to adjust the acoustic parameters for some, but not all, of the acoustic categories); and
upon detecting that the first vehicle qualifies for the automated modification (Edwards ¶ [0034]: the acoustic configurations can include geo-fencing, which can relate to the location of the utility vehicle 110, the environment in which the utility vehicle 110 is currently located, and/or the proximity of the utility vehicle 110 to other utility vehicles) second state (Edwards ¶ [0030]: a first selectable acoustic arrangement may provide acoustic parameters at which operator announcements have a volume setting of 100%, and the acoustic parameters for social media content, streaming music, or other audio is set at a volume setting of 50%).
It is noted that Edwards discloses an automated modification that modifies an auxiliary system from a first state to a second state when a vehicle is in proximity to a second vehicle but fails to explicitly disclose determine whether an automated modification exemption associated with the automated modification applies to the first vehicle for the second vehicle;
determining that the automated modification exemption applies to the first vehicle, maintain the function in the first state; and
determining that the automated modification exemption does not apply to the first vehicle, modify the function from the first state to the second state.
However, Storr, in the same field endeavor, teaches a system comprising a processor arranged to receive a command and review the command against information in a database to determine whether the command is suitable for execution by the at least one robotic device, wherein the command is provided to the robotic device if the command is suitable for execution (Storr ¶ [0008]). Storr further teaches determine whether an automated modification exemption associated with the automated modification applies to the first vehicle for the second vehicle (Storr ¶ [0180]: whether a user, owner or client has any special waivers, permissions, authorisations or exemptions listed in or stored against their identity on their account file, not limited to, a waiver to have their robot, device or vehicle operate a surveillance application to allow a parent to supervise their child walking or catching the bus to/from school, or to allow their robot, device or vehicle to carry a particular payload or undertake a certain ‘restricted’ function; Storr ¶ [0328]: waivers are obtainable to allow robots and participating devices to not be constrained by the ‘privacy protocol’. In one embodiment, ‘exclusion zones’, ‘shrouding (fixed)’ and ‘Profile shrouding (mobile)’ may be waived for approved parents (running approved dedicated apps), so parents may monitor their children, for example);
upon detecting that the first vehicle qualifies for the automated modification and determining that the automated modification exemption applies to the first vehicle, maintain the function in the first state (Storr ¶ [0328]: waivers are obtainable to allow robots and participating devices to not be constrained by the ‘privacy protocol’. In one embodiment, ‘exclusion zones’, ‘shrouding (fixed)’ and ‘Profile shrouding (mobile)’ may be waived for approved parents (running approved dedicated apps), so parents may monitor their children, for example); and
upon detecting that the first vehicle qualifies for the automated modification and determining that the automated modification exemption does not apply to the first vehicle, modify the function from the first state to the second state (Storr ¶ [0136]: The Proposed & Active Assignments/Functions Travel Plans & Tracks Module 305 also confirms that proposed or active assignments, operations or functions are permissible or authorised according to information in the Robot ‘Apps’/Functions Database 325 and/or information in the Operational Spaces Database 326, which contains approved, ‘restricted’ or disallowed assignments, operations or functions; Storr ¶ [0143]: The Exclusion/Privacy Protocol Module 307 may also impose changes to a Robot ‘Apps’/ Functions Database 325, for example, by altering or amending aspects of robot apps or functions, not limited to disallowing robots to travel into or within a particular space when executing a particular assignment, operation or function).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for vehicle acoustic control of Edwards to include the waivers for allowing a vehicle to undertake a restricted action of Storr with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow a vehicle control system to avoid privacy, safety, security, liability, technical and ethical issues by requiring vehicles to obtain relevant clearance before an operation is allowed, particularly if that operation is to occur in a public space (Storr ¶ [0412]).
Regarding claim 15, Edwards discloses wherein detecting that the first vehicle is in proximity to the second vehicle is performed based on at least one of (a) global positioning system (GPS) data of the first vehicle and the second vehicle or (b) a short-range wireless communication between the first vehicle and the second vehicle (Edwards ¶ [0021]: the NPS 112 is a global position system (GPS) device that is mounted external to the utility vehicle 110; Edwards ¶ [0021]: other additional information can be can be transmitted to/from the NPS 112 and the controller 114, such as, for example, information pertaining to the utility vehicle’s 110 proximity to other utility vehicles; Edwards ¶ [0034]: the acoustic configurations can include geo-fencing, which can relate to the location of the utility vehicle 110, the environment in which the utility vehicle 110 is currently located, and/or the proximity of the utility vehicle 110 to other utility vehicles).
Regarding claim 17, Edwards discloses wherein the function includes at least one of a speed of the first vehicle, an audio output of an audio system of the first vehicle, or a light intensity of a light system of the first vehicle, and wherein the first state is an elevated state and the second state is a lesser state (Edwards ¶ [0027]: the acoustic arrangements can comprise one or more acoustic parameters that can control the characteristics or properties, or other settings, of the audio that is, or can be, emitted from the speakers 118 of the utility vehicle 110. Moreover, the selectable acoustic arrangements can, for example, be based on one or more acoustic parameters, such as, for example, allowable volume, bass, and/or treble levels, ranges, and/or limits, for audio that is, or will be, emitted through the speakers 118).
Claim 18 recites analogous limitations to claim 1, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 19 recites analogous limitations to claim 2, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0129682 by Edwards (herein after "Edwards"), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0381665 by Storr (herein after "Storr"), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0264792 by Ren et al. (herein after "Ren").
Regarding claim 3, Edwards fails to particularly disclose wherein detecting that the golf vehicle is in proximity to the location of interest is performed based on a short-range wireless communication between the golf vehicle and a device associated with the location of interest.
However, Ren, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein detecting that the golf vehicle is in proximity to the location of interest is performed based on a short-range wireless communication between the golf vehicle and a device associated with the location of interest (Ren ¶ [0038]: base station 201 creates geofence 216 from person count 213 and reference locations 214; Ren ¶ [0039]: base station 201 can notify vehicles 403 about geofence 216).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for vehicle acoustic control of Edwards modified by the waivers for allowing a vehicle to undertake a restricted action of Storr to further include the base station that notifies a vehicle about a geofence of Ren with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to restrict vehicle operation for safety when the vehicle is in proximity of a geofence (Ren ¶ [0056]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0129682 by Edwards (herein after "Edwards"), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0381665 by Storr (herein after "Storr"), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0101998 by Pierce et al. (herein after "Pierce").
Regarding claim 7, Edwards fails to particularly disclose wherein the first golf vehicle includes a driveline, and wherein the instructions cause the at least one processor to limit a speed of the driveline upon detection of the second golf vehicle within a certain range of the first golf vehicle.
However, Pierce, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first golf vehicle includes a driveline (Pierce: vehicle motor in Fig. 2), and wherein the instructions cause the at least one processor to limit a speed of the driveline upon detection of the second golf vehicle within a certain range of the first golf vehicle (Pierce ¶ [0084]: The rules may be based on current time and geographic region, or on dynamic rules that use external data such as traffic conditions, nearby hazards including other vehicles, maintenance equipment, warning and hazard wireless beacons, to slow and/or stop the motor of recreational vehicle 12, or allowing engaging of the reverse direction switch in the vehicle 12 or to cause a change to the maximum speed of vehicle 12 through the use of pre-set speed profiles already existent in a speed sensor comprising one of the sensors 14 of vehicle 12).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for vehicle acoustic control of Edwards modified by the waivers for allowing a vehicle to undertake a restricted action of Storr to further include the driveline and speed control based on proximity to nearby vehicles of Pierce with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to control vehicle speed and ensure safe use of a vehicle (Pierce ¶ [0096]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0129682 by Edwards (herein after "Edwards"), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0381665 by Storr (herein after "Storr"), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0273159 by Akselrod et al. (herein after "Akselrod").
Regarding claim 10, Edwards fails to particularly disclose wherein the auxiliary system is a lighting system, the function is a light output of the lighting system, the first state is a first light intensity level of the lighting system, and the second state is a second light intensity level of the lighting system.
However, Akselrod, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the auxiliary system is a lighting system (Akselrod: light source 130 in Fig. 1; smart headlights 330A in Fig. 3A), the function is a light output of the lighting system, the first state is a first light intensity level of the lighting system, and the second state is a second light intensity level of the lighting system (Akselrod ¶ [0028]: Light source 130 (e.g., a smart light source) may upon entering the vicinity of the light zone 120 change the emitted light intensity or the emitted light color of projected light from light source 130; Akselrod ¶ [0029]: FIG. 3A is an illustration 300A depicting one example of stationary light zones in accordance with at least one embodiment of the present invention. As depicted, FIG. 3A includes rural light zone 310A, low light zone 320A, smart headlights 330A, car 340A, and observatory 350A; Akselrod ¶ [0030]: High light zone 310A is an example of a low population density area or a rural area where a high level of emitted light may occur; Akselrod ¶ [0031]: Low light zone 320A is an example of an area with a low or reduced emitted light level).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for vehicle acoustic control of Edwards modified by the waivers for allowing a vehicle to undertake a restricted action of Storr to further include the light source and lighting control using light zones of Akselrod with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to avoid light pollution and adjust a light source based on a desired light level in a light zone (Akselrod ¶ [0002] & [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 16 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0206303 by Glissmeyer et al. discloses a system for limiting speed and sound of a vehicle using GPS or Wi-Fi based geofencing (Glissmeyer ¶ [0026] & [0030]).
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0076783 by Clary discloses a system for volume control based on a location of a golf cart (Clary Abstract).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666