DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filled 07/06/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MISHIMA (JP 2003248056 A) in view of Trotta(US20160306034A1).
Regarding claim 1, MISHIMA discloses
A system comprising: a first antenna module comprising a first radar circuit […], and at least a transmit antenna […] (FIG.7, Part.TR1); a second antenna module comprising a second radar circuit […], and at least a receive antenna (FIG.7, Part.TR2) […]; and a third antenna module comprising a third radar circuit […], a transmit antenna […], and a receive antenna […](FIG.7, Part.TR3), wherein the transmit antenna of the first antenna module is configured to transmit an electromagnetic wave […] to a first area between the first antenna module and the third antenna module (“transmitting and receiving station TR3 synchronously scans its electron beam over areas 2A and 2B of its coverage area 2 to form a bistatic radar” [0050] & FIG.7, Part.2A), the transmit antenna of the third antenna module is configured to transmit an electromagnetic wave to a second area between the second antenna module and the third antenna module (“transmitting and receiving station TR3 synchronously scans its electron beam over areas 2A and 2B of its coverage area 2 to form a bistatic radar” [0050] & FIG.7, Part.2B), the receive antenna of the second antenna module is configured to receive an electromagnetic wave from the second area (“When the second transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a third area of its own coverage area, the third transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a fourth area of its own coverage area that overlaps with the third area, and performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the second transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting /receiving station” [0015]), and the receive antenna of the third antenna module is configured to receive an electromagnetic wave from the first area (“when the first transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a first area of its own coverage area, the third transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a second area of its own coverage area that overlaps with the first area, and performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the first transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting/receiving station” [0015]).
MISHIMA discloses a first antenna module, second antenna module, and a third antenna module. MISHIMA does not explicitly disclose the explicit configuration of each antenna module. Trotta discloses, a first radar circuit arranged on a first substrate (“FIG. 2c illustrates an embodiment radar transceiver device 250 that includes RF chip 251 disposed on redistribution layer or substrate 253” [0036]) […]and at least a transmit antenna arranged at a first end portion of the first substrate and connected to the first radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.252) […] radar circuit arranged on a second substrate, and at least a receive antenna arranged at a first end portion of the second substrate and connected to the second radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.262) a third radar circuit arranged on a third substrate(“FIG. 2c illustrates an embodiment radar transceiver device 250 that includes RF chip 251 disposed on redistribution layer or substrate 253” [0036]), a transmit antenna arranged at a first end portion of the third substrate and connected to the third radar circuit(FIG.2C, Parts.252), and a receive antenna arranged at a second end portion of the third substrate and connected to the third radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.258 & 260) the transmit antenna of the first antenna module is configured to transmit an electromagnetic wave parallel to the substrate (“Yagi-Uda antennas 258 and 260” [0036]).
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of a first second and third antenna arranged on separate ends of respective substrates so as to gain the advantage of reducing antenna system size [0130, Trotta]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta disclose all the limitations of claim 1. MISHIMA discloses a third antenna module but does not appear to disclose the explicit configuration of the antenna module. Trotta discloses wherein, the radar circuit of the […] module is arranged between the first end portion and the second end portion of the third substrate (FIG.2c, Part.251).
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of a radar circuit arranged between the first end portion and the second end portion of the substrate so as to gain the advantage of reducing antenna system size [0130, Trotta]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta discloses
The system of claim 1 wherein, an angle formed by a direction of a main lobe of the transmit antenna of the third antenna module and a direction of a main lobe of the receive antenna of the third antenna module is 90 degrees or more (FIG.7, parts. 2A, 2B &TR3).
Regarding claim 4, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta disclose all the limitations of claim 3. MISHIMA discloses a wherein the angle is greater than 90 degrees, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the angle is 170 degrees or more and 180 degrees or less. Trotta discloses wherein, the angle is 170 degrees or more and 180 degrees or less (“Yagi-Uda antenna 252” [0036] & “Yagi-Uda antennas 258 and 260” [0036]).
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of an angle being 170 degrees or more and 180 degrees or less so as to gain the advantage of increasing beam directionality. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 5, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein: each of the transmit antenna of the first antenna module and the transmit antenna of the third antenna module comprises a transmit antenna array including antennas (“a first transmitting/receiving station having a first phased array antenna and a first scheduler for synchronously controlling electron beam scanning, a second transmitting /receiving station having a second phased array antenna and a second scheduler for synchronously controlling electron beam scanning” [0070] & transmitting and receiving station TR3 synchronously scans its electron beam over areas 2A and 2B of its coverage area 2 to form a bistatic radar” [0050] ),
MISHIMA does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and third antenna module comprises receive antenna arrays independent from each respective transmit array. Trotta discloses, each of the receive antenna of the second antenna module and the receive antenna of the third antenna module comprises a receive antenna array including antennas (FIG.2C, Parts.258 & 260)
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of a receive antenna array so as to gain the advantage of simultaneous transmit and receive functionality. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 6, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta discloses
The system of claim 5, wherein: each of the first radar circuit, the second radar circuit, and the third radar circuit comprises transmitter circuits, receiver circuits, (“a first transmitting/receiving station having a first phased array antenna and a first scheduler for synchronously controlling electron beam scanning, a second transmitting /receiving station having a second phased array antenna and a second scheduler for synchronously controlling electron beam scanning” [0070] & transmitting and receiving station TR3 synchronously scans its electron beam over areas 2A and 2B of its coverage area 2 to form a bistatic radar” [0050] ), […],at least a part of the antennas of the transmit antenna array is connected to each of the transmitter circuits (FIG.8, parts. 6 & 24).,at least a part of the antennas of the receive antenna array is connected to each of the receiver circuits (FIG.8, parts. 6 & 24)
MISHIMA does not explicitly disclose a clock generation circuit. Trotta discloses, a clock generation circuit […] the transmitter circuits and the receiver circuits are connected to the clock generation circuit (“The transmit path includes clock generation circuits that may be shared between various elements of radar system” [0058 & Fig.9a, Parts.902, 908 & 910])
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of a clock generation circuit so as to gain the advantage of improving circuit operation synchronization. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein; the third antenna module is configured to transmit the electromagnetic wave to the first area in a first time period, the third antenna module is configured to receive the electromagnetic wave from the second area in a second time period, and the second time period overlaps with at least a part of the first time period (‘When transmitting/receiving station TR1 is pointing towards area 2A of coverage area 2, a bistatic radar is formed between it and transmitting/receiving station TR3, and transmitting /receiving station TR2 is controlled to point towards an area other than area 2B of coverage area 2. Then, when the transmitting/receiving station TR2 is pointing towards area 2B of coverage area 2, the opposite is done.” [0066])
Regarding claim 9, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta discloses
The system of claim 1, further comprising: a processor unit connected to the first radar circuit (“This received signal is then frequency-converted by the Stullow signal from the stabilized local oscillator 18 and the mixer 17, then discriminated by the target's Doppler frequency by the moving target detector 20, and finally detected by the target detector 21.” [0029] & FIG.7, Part.TR1), the second radar circuit, and the third radar circuit (“the moving target detector 20, and finally detected by the target detector 21.” [0029] & FIG.7, Part.TR2), wherein the processor unit is configured to perform an inspection of the first area based on a transmission signal used for transmitting the electromagnetic wave by the transmit antenna of the third antenna module and a received signal obtained by the receive antenna of the third antenna module (“performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the first transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting/receiving station. […]performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the second transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting /receiving station.” [0015]).
Regarding claim 10, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta disclose all the limitations of claim 9. MISHIMA discloses target detection in a first and second area, but does not appear to disclose presence or absence detection of a predetermined item in the first area. Trotta discloses wherein, the inspection includes obtaining information regarding presence or absence of a first object in the first area and presence or absence of a predetermined item in the first area (“target detection algorithm
1106 provides digital signal processing (DSP) functions for post-processing sampled IF data, and may be configured to detected targets and gestures” [0095] & “the position and gestures of hand 732 may be detected by radar transceiver device” [0052]).
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of presence or absence detection of a predetermined item in the first area so as to gain the advantage of improving target recognition. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 11, MISHIMA discloses
A method executed by a system including (i) a first antenna module including a first radar circuit […], and at least a transmit antenna (FIG.7, Part.TR1) […], (ii) a second antenna module including a second radar circuit […] and at least a receive antenna (FIG.7, Part.TR2) […], (iii) a third antenna module including a third radar circuit […] a transmit antenna […], and a receive antenna (FIG.7, Part.TR3) […], and (iv) a signal generator module connected to the first antenna module, the second antenna module, and the third antenna module (“pulse generator 19” [0028]), the method comprising: transmitting an electromagnetic wave from the transmit antenna of the first antenna module to a first area between the first antenna module and the third antenna module (“transmitting and receiving station TR3 synchronously scans its electron beam over areas 2A and 2B of its coverage area 2 to form a bistatic radar” [0050] & FIG.7, Part.2A);transmitting an electromagnetic wave from the transmit antenna of the third antenna module to a second area between the second antenna module and the third antenna module (“transmitting and receiving station TR3 synchronously scans its electron beam over areas 2A and 2B of its coverage area 2 to form a bistatic radar” [0050] & FIG.7, Part.2B); receiving an electromagnetic wave from the second area by the receive antenna of the second antenna module; (“When the second transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a third area of its own coverage area, the third transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a fourth area of its own coverage area that overlaps with the third area, and performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the second transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting /receiving station” [0015])and receiving an electromagnetic wave from the first area by the receive antenna of the third antenna module (“when the first transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a first area of its own coverage area, the third transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a second area of its own coverage area that overlaps with the first area, and performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the first transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting/receiving station” [0015]).
MISHIMA discloses a first antenna module, second antenna module, and a third antenna module. MISHIMA does not explicitly disclose the explicit configuration of each antenna module. Trotta discloses, a first radar circuit arranged on a first substrate (“FIG. 2c illustrates an embodiment radar transceiver device 250 that includes RF chip 251 disposed on redistribution layer or substrate 253” [0036]), and at least a transmit antenna arranged at a first end portion of the first substrate and connected to the first radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.252) […] radar circuit arranged on a second substrate, and at least a receive antenna arranged at a first end portion of the second substrate and connected to the second radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.262) […]radar circuit arranged on a third substrate (“FIG. 2c illustrates an embodiment radar transceiver device 250 that includes RF chip 251 disposed on redistribution layer or substrate 253” [0036]), a transmit antenna arranged at a first end portion of the third substrate and connected to the third radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.252), and a receive antenna arranged at a second end portion of the third substrate and connected to the third radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.258 & 260).
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of a first second and third antenna arranged on separate ends of respective substrates so as to gain the advantage of reducing antenna system size [0130, Trotta]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, MISHIMA discloses
(i) a first antenna module including a first radar circuit […] and at least a transmit antenna (FIG.7, Part.TR1) […], (ii) a second antenna module including a second radar circuit […], and at least a receive antenna (FIG.7, Part.TR2) […], (iii) a third antenna module including a third radar circuit […], a transmit antenna […], and a receive antenna […](FIG.7, Part.TR3), and (iv) a signal generator module connected to the first antenna module, the second antenna module, and the third antenna module(“pulse generator 19” [0028]), wherein the program is executable to control the computer to execute functions comprising: transmitting an electromagnetic wave from the transmit antenna of the first antenna module to a first area between the first antenna module and the third antenna module(“transmitting and receiving station TR3 synchronously scans its electron beam over areas 2A and 2B of its coverage area 2 to form a bistatic radar” [0050] & FIG.7, Part.2A); transmitting an electromagnetic wave from the transmit antenna of the third antenna module to a second area between the second antenna module and the third antenna module (“transmitting and receiving station TR3 synchronously scans its electron beam over areas 2A and 2B of its coverage area 2 to form a bistatic radar” [0050] & FIG.7, Part.2B); receiving an electromagnetic wave from the second area by the receive antenna of the second antenna module (“When the second transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a third area of its own coverage area, the third transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a fourth area of its own coverage area that overlaps with the third area, and performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the second transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting /receiving station” [0015]); and receiving an electromagnetic wave from the first area by the receive antenna of the third antenna module (“when the first transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a first area of its own coverage area, the third transmitting/receiving station is directed towards a second area of its own coverage area that overlaps with the first area, and performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the first transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting/receiving station” [0015]).
MISHIMA discloses a first antenna module, second antenna module, and a third antenna module. MISHIMA does not explicitly disclose the explicit configuration of each antenna module. Trotta discloses, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which is executable by a computer for controlling a system including (“firmware that is stored in a programmable non-volatile memory,” [0081]) a first radar circuit arranged on a first substrate (“FIG. 2c illustrates an embodiment radar transceiver device 250 that includes RF chip 251 disposed on redistribution layer or substrate 253” [0036]), […] and at least a transmit antenna arranged at a first end portion of the first substrate and connected to the first radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.252) […]radar circuit arranged on a second substrate, and at least a receive antenna arranged at a first end portion of the second substrate and connected to the second radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.262) […] radar circuit arranged on a third substrate (“FIG. 2c illustrates an embodiment radar transceiver device 250 that includes RF chip 251 disposed on redistribution layer or substrate 253” [0036]), a transmit antenna arranged at a first end portion of the third substrate and connected to the third radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.252), and a receive antenna arranged at a second end portion of the third substrate and connected to the third radar circuit (FIG.2C, Parts.258 & 260)
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of a first second and third antenna arranged on separate ends of respective substrates so as to gain the advantage of reducing antenna system size [0130, Trotta]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta disclose
The system of claim 1, further comprising: a clock […] connected to the first antenna module (“a first antenna and a first scheduler for synchronously controlling electron beam scanning” [0019]), the second antenna module (“a second transmitting/receiving station having […] a second scheduler for synchronously controlling electron beam scanning” [0019]), and the third antenna module (“a third transmitting/receiving station disposed between the first and second transmitting […] and a third scheduler for synchronously controlling electron beam scanning” [0019]), the clock […] being configured to synchronize transmission by the transmit antenna of the first antenna module and the transmit antenna of the third antenna module and reception by the receive antenna of the second antenna module and the receive antenna of the third antenna module (“the first, second, and third Based on the synchronous control of the scheduler” [0019])
Regarding claim 14, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta disclose
The system of claim 1, further comprising :a processor unit connected to the first radar circuit(“This received signal is then frequency-converted by the Stullow signal from the stabilized local oscillator 18 and the mixer 17, then discriminated by the target's Doppler frequency by the moving target detector 20, and finally detected by the target detector 21.” [0029] & FIG.7, Part.TR1), the second radar circuit(“the moving target detector 20, and finally detected by the target detector 21.” [0029] & FIG.7, Part.TR2), and the third radar circuit, wherein the processor unit is configured to perform an inspection of the second area based on a transmission signal used for transmitting the electromagnetic wave by the transmit antenna of the third antenna module and a received signal obtained by the receive antenna of the third antenna module (“performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the first transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting/receiving station. […]performs target detection as a bistatic radar between the second transmitting/receiving station and the third transmitting /receiving station.” [0015]).
Regarding claim 15, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta disclose all the limitations of claim 14. MISHIMA discloses target detection in a first and second area, but does not appear to disclose presence or absence detection of a predetermined item in the first area. Trotta discloses wherein, the inspection includes obtaining information regarding presence or absence of a second object in the second area and presence or absence of a predetermined item in the second area (“target detection algorithm 1106 provides digital signal processing (DSP) functions for post-processing sampled IF data, and may be configured to detected targets and gestures” [0095] & “the position and gestures of hand 732 may be detected by radar transceiver device” [0052]).
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of presence or absence detection of a predetermined item in the first area so as to gain the advantage of improving target recognition. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 16, MISHIMA as modified by Trotta disclose all the limitations of claim 1. MISHIMA discloses a first second and third antenna module each comprising a transmit and receive antenna. MISHIMA does not appear to disclose the direction of signal transmission relative to each respective substrate. Trotta discloses wherein, the transmit antenna of the […] is configured to transmit the electromagnetic wave parallel to the first substrate (“Yagi-Uda antenna 252” [0036]); the transmit antenna of […] is configured to transmit the electromagnetic wave parallel to the third substrate (“Yagi-Uda antenna 252” [0036]); the receive antenna […] is configured to receive the electromagnetic wave parallel to the second substrate (“Yagi-Uda antennas 258 and 260” [0036]); and […] is configured to receive the electromagnetic wave parallel to the third substrate (“Yagi-Uda antennas 258 and 260” [0036]).
Trotta teaches in the same field of endeavor of antenna system design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MISHIMA with the teachings of Trotta to incorporate the features of transmitting and receiving electromagnetic waves parallel to each respective substrate so as to gain the advantage of improving signal directivity. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646